Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Warne on Lehmann

undertaker

And so the plot thickens..

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket...-leadership-book-reveals-20150222-13le6g.html

Mark Taylor convinced sceptical Cricket Australia directors led by Matthew Hayden to rubber-stamp the appointment of Michael Clarke as the country's 43rd Test captain in the hours after Ricky Ponting's resignation, a new book reveals.

The subject of Clarke's leadership has been a topic of conversation in the upper reaches of Australian officialdom this summer after a fallout with selectors and senior members of management, and his good friend Shane Warne said at the weekend it should be Clarke and not coach Darren Lehmann who runs the team.

It has emerged that four years ago, when he was announced as Ponting's successor after the last World Cup, there was also uncertainty in the Cricket Australia board room over whether he was the right player to take the reins.

The book Whitewash to Whitewash, written by cricket journalist Daniel Brettig and released this week, explores the often tumultuous period in Australian cricket between the 5-0 series defeats of England in 2006-07 and last summer, and offers a fascinating insight into Clarke's ascent to the top job in 2011.

Since being appointed vice-captain in 2008 after the retirement of Adam Gilchrist, and then leading the team in Ponting's absence in the final Test of the 2010-11 Ashes series in Sydney, it had been assumed that Clarke had long effectively had the green light from the board to take over from the Tasmanian great whenever he stepped aside.

However, the book tells of a telephone hook-up of CA directors arranged to confirm Clarke's captaincy in the aftermath of Ponting's resignation in which concerns were raised about him by Hayden, with fellow board member Ian McLachlan saying the former opener's views should be heard.

Hayden is said to have argued against his former teammate, bringing up his "uneasy" relationship with Ponting, the perception of Clarke as a cause of trouble in the team, his exit from a tour of New Zealand to split with model fiancee Lara Bingle and his infamous run-in with Simon Katich as reasons to question Clarke's candidacy.

It even prompted a last-minute proposal by Victorian director Geoff Tamblyn for Cameron White, Australia's Twenty20 captain, to take over from Ponting instead, the book says, before fellow director Taylor intervened.

"Sure, he thinks differently to Ricky Ponting, Shane Watson, Matthew Hayden and so on, but that doesn't mean he's always wrong," Taylor says. "As a vice-captain you know what it's like, particularly if you're the vice-captain behind a very successful player as I had with Allan Border and I knew Michael would have had with Ricky Ponting.

"You say something that's against the grain, you're almost seen as 'You're not with us, and if you're not with us you're against us'. That's what I felt about that whole side. It got to the stage where you're either in the bubble or outside it. Michael wanted to be outside it – he moves on his own to a certain extent – but he also loves communicating. He doesn't want everyone to move in the same circles, but he wants people to be in touch all the time, which I think is great and how a representative cricket team should work."

Ponting questions in the book why board members had left it so late if they doubts about Clarke.

"How did it get to that, anyway?" Ponting says. "He's been the Test vice-captain for three years; he was the T20 captain before that; he's already captained Australia in a Test match. What had the board been thinking for three years? It should have been debated before that. Before I stood down there should have been some questions asked so they weren't left in that position."

There are also claims that the appointment of Shane Watson as Clarke's vice-captain was effectively made as an afterthought on the teleconference – a decision that would backfire when that relationship would prove unworkable.

undertaker

Can always count on Stallone to sum things up :lol:

Loved the vain merkin reminiscing about the 99 World Cup, and how great it was - he mentioned everyone, including the bag man, and when prompted even Gilchrist... but not the gritty bastard who got a handy century in a key game against SA, and was captain :lol:

:lol:I noticed that as well.

Warne never got over being dropped from the 4th test of the '99 West Indies tour (when he had been bowling completely utter crap after his first shoulder op the previous year), and then threatened to retire during the '99 World Cup if Australia didn't win the World Cup....well, he can thank his 'enemy' for prolonging his ODI career. Talk about biting the hand that fed it. In the context of that '99 test series vs West Indies, Ponting and Clarke would've NEVER, EVER had the guts to make such a big call like that, but it turned out to be the correct one as Miller delivered. I know MacGill wasn't as consistent as Warne was, but funnily enough, MacGill had better bowling stats than Warne in tests where they played together.

We can talk all day about Warne's fantastic bowling performances in the semi-final and final of that tournament. However, neither would've happened had Tugga not pulled off one of the great ODI knocks of all time to keep us alive in that tournament on a lively wicket at Headingley, followed by another gritty innings and game saving partnership with Bevan when we were 4-down early in the semi-final.

Oh, how quickly people forget (or how quickly people are 'selectively' remembering what happened).

undertaker

I laugh so hard at the comment "it was Michael Clarke who taught them how to win"

Bullshite!

We were an absolute, disorganised mess of a side before Boof became coach. Everything that could go wrong did go wrong during that tour of India. I guess Clarke would still prefer Mickey Mouse to be coach, so he could consent to doing more homework. I can tell you, next time we tour India, we will not be losing 4-0 under Boof.

shiznit

I like Boof...

Him and Rig need to have a rematch of there epic lycra clad keg hurdling race....

Maybe without the Lycra... :lol:

My god those were the days... Why on earth did that even happen??

Warnie is an absolute lemon, and this tbh is why I never went along with the "Warnie should have been test captain" brigade. He is a supreme tosser and only ever does anything for Shane Warne.

I wonder if he is just stirring up sh*t so ch9 can keep employing him.

Then again ,looking at what his poor wife had to go through again and again, I just think the bloke is a self centred bogan of the highest order

Im glad to say Warne was never near my favourite player when he was playing, nowhere near it. A lot of that was how he carried himself off the field. I know the two worlds should be left apart, but I often cringed at the bloke, even in his heyday

Just being Warney, says what he thinks......

Cannot say I always agree, but will not hold it against the guy for saying what he thinks.

Boof has been great for Clarke, I do not understand why just because captain and coach sometimes have different views, this is a problem.

Never been in a work place that did not have differing views and some disagreement, but f**k me you get over it and get on with.

I reckon boof and Clarke are doing just that.

undertaker

I just think the bloke is a self centred bogan of the highest order

B6QioDTCIAAp6B6.jpg

B6QioDTCQAEQNjo.jpg

Canard

Just being Warney, says what he thinks......

Cannot say I always agree, but will not hold it against the guy for saying what he thinks.

Boof has been great for Clarke, I do not understand why just because captain and coach sometimes have different views, this is a problem.

Never been in a work place that did not have differing views and some disagreement, but f**k me you get over it and get on with.

I reckon boof and Clarke are doing just that.

For mine nobody really cares what Warne says per se, its whether as some have speculated he is basically speaking for Clarke. Considering they seem to be best buddies it seems likely.

Clarke should come out and say I have no issues with Lehmann, like Smith did, if he disagrees with Warne.

undertaker

Is it a bird??? Is it a plane??? No it's super plastic man!!!!!

Oh come on, man! Look at the fun you're missing out on, not spending the day with him:lol:

For mine nobody really cares what Warne says per se, its whether as some have speculated he is basically speaking for Clarke. Considering they seem to be best buddies it seems likely.

Clarke should come out and say I have no issues with Lehmann, like Smith did, if he disagrees with Warne.

This.

And I highly suspect that given the friction that Clarke has had with the upper echelons at CA in recent times, it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if he was using Warne as his mouthpiece since Warne is involved in the media.

undertaker

So do I.

It's funny to see Steve Waugh's and Kim Hughes' comments there. Warney liked neither of them, especially Steve.

http://www.smh.com.au/news/sport/cr...side-his-top-25/2008/10/06/1223145238839.html

When listing him at no 26. in his top 100 players he played with or against (even rating Merv Hughes higher than him), he had the heart to be a bold-face liar saying

"When I ranked Steve Waugh somewhere in the 20s for my list in The Times, it caused a bit of a stir in Australia, though Waugh himself was fine," Warne wrote in The Times.

"People tried to suggest there was a problem between us when in actual fact we are friends. They also accused me of jealousy because he succeeded Mark Taylor as captain and I was appointed vice-captain."

:lol::lol::lol:

If a friend is someone who you bag out constantly in the media (like what Iain Chappell also does), your friendships must be very shallow