Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Warriors Team vs Broncos

Albeano

Well, with only a week to go until the NRL finally starts, Ando would be hard at thought about what team he wants to put out against the Broncs.. so lets hear your thoughts.. what would your team be?

1) Brent Webb - on fire against eels
2) Henry Fa'afili - jury's still out on henry
3) Tony Martin - looked very solid against penrith
4) Clinton Toopi - hopefully will combine well with Ali again
5) Francis Meli - looking to improve his defence on last year
6) Thomas Leuluai - first choice 5/8
7) Stacey Jones - automatic selection
8) Jerry Seuseu - looked alot more effective than last year
9) Monty Betham (c) - now first choice hooker, get better soon PJ
10) Iafeta Palea'aesina - definately looked fitter than last year
11) Ali Lauititi - sounds like he's gona be back to his old form
12) Sione Faumuina - what a combo, can't defend against Ali AND Sione
13) Awen Guttenbiel - what a player!

14) Marcus Perenara - awesome against penrith
15) Karl TeMata - great 2nd rower or prop
16) Hame Lauaki - gona be a huge star
17) Matt Jobson - surprised me against penrith

Skinner

I note that a lot of folk are going with Jobson in their armchair selections.
I thought that actually Danny Sullivan in the trial last week looked much
more effective. Admittedly he didn't come on till later and he was fresh
while others were tiring but the way he kept hitting and breaking the line
really impressed me.

Skinner

Phillips

my team would be:

1. Webb
2. Fa'afili
3. Anderson
4. Toopi
5. Meli
6. Hohaia
7. Jones
8. Seuseu
9. Betham (c)
10. Tookey
11. Lauiti'iti
12. Guttenbeil
13. Faumuina

14. Palea'aesina
15. Tuimavave/Temata
16. Koopu
17. Dezolt/Latu/Martin/Leuluai

ripper

I reckon we should we try big Vinnie at Five Eighth one game...

We need to have martin in there somewhere though, Although I reckon Webb is an very underated kicker...

salivor

The Broncos team for the match is:
1. Motu Tony
2. Mick DeVere
3. Tonie Carroll
4. Shaun Berrigan
5. Stu Kelly
6. Darren Lockyer
7. Brett Seymour
8. Shane Webcke
9. Barry Berrigan
10. Petero Civoniceva
11. Gorden Tallis(c)
12. Dane Carlaw
13. Casey Mcguire

14. Corey Parker
15. Karmichael Hunt
16. Brad Meyers
17. Darren Mapp
18. Neale Wyatt
19. Neville Costigan
20. David Stagg
(three to be omitted)

May the better team win i.e. the Broncos.

1 Webb
2 Mellars
3 Martin
4 Toopi
5 Meli
6 Hohaia/Peranara
7 Jones
8 Seuseu
9 Betham
10 Jobson
11 Ali
12 Guttenbiel
13 Faumuina

14 Dezolt
15 Feka
16 Koopu
17 Lauaki

Robster

1 Brett Webb
2 Justin Murphy
3 Martin
4 Toopi
5 Meli
6 Hohia
7 Jones
8 Seu Seu
9 Dezolt
10 effective
11 Ali
12 Sione
13 Bethem

14 Vinnie
15 Peranara
16 Tookey
17 Jobson

AliN

Tough ask, the potential for so many players..here goes

1. Brent Webb
2 Henry Faáfili/ Murph..toss up here..
3. Tony Martin
4. Clinton Toopi
5. Francis Meli
6. Lance Hohaia
7. Stacey Jones
8. Mark Tookey
9. Monty Betham (c)
10. Iafeta Palea'aesina
11. Ali Lauiti'iti
12. Awen Guttenbeil
13. Sione Faumuina

Bench:

Paul Dezolt
Hame Lauaiki
Danny Sullivan
Wairangi Koopu

Bloody hell, every forum I've put up a diferent team...if Stace isn't playing I'd have Hohaia at halfback with Thomas Leuluia to come in at Stand Off.

Go the Warriors!!

ozbash

""2) Henry Fa'afili - jury's still out on henry""
if he,s good enough to play for the kiwis, he,s good enough for me.

is villa fit ? i,m sure webcke is looking forward to meeting up with him.

Palea'aesina and seu seu must run on imo, the warriors will need muscle up front.

martin and zedolt ?? - imposters !

LeagueNut

Skinner from the sideline said:
I note that a lot of folk are going with Jobson in their armchair selections.
I thought that actually Danny Sullivan in the trial last week looked much
more effective. Admittedly he didn't come on till later and he was fresh
while others were tiring but the way he kept hitting and breaking the line
really impressed me.
From the looks of the Warriors/Penrith match, I think Jobson is much more defense-orientated, and Sullivan is more attack-orientated. I saw Danny 'hiding' behind the defensive line a couple of times, whereas Jobson was always getting right in there.

ozbash said:
is villa fit ? i,m sure webcke is looking forward to meeting up with him.
Nah, Villa's out for about six weeks or so. Plenty of time for square-ups later in the season!

salivor said:
May the better team win i.e. the Broncos.
:-s

Skinner

martin and zedolt ?? - imposters !

No mate, both of these guys are the real deal. I'm not sure who else really saw
the try ( the first try scored ) by Martin. The ball was so close to the line that I
thought no one could push it down and get the try. Martin got down on his knees,
slid his body backwards and forced it.....it really showed a bunch of experience.

Desolt came on late.....and looked as good as Tavita....if not just a wee bit
quicker.

Nah, they are not pretenders mate.

Skinner

AliN

This from Stuff, I may have the change my team again...

Stacey Jones passes tests with flying colours
06 March 2004

The New Zealand Warriors completed their National Rugby League (NRL) pre-season build up at Mt Maunganui this week with the best possible news that influential playmaker Stacey Jones passed all tests put to him.

Medicals, fitness tests, the tackle bag, tackling and sand work were all accomplished with no problems from the ankle or groin injuries that hampered him last season and for which he underwent surgery.

Jones will start against the Broncos in Brisbane in the first round of the NRL on March 14.

Prop Richard Villasanti will be the only change from last season's starting squad, with a knee injury keeping him out until about round three.

Hooker Tevita Latu, who missed the last finals games in 2003 because of tuberculosis, is well on the road to recovery and is expected to rejoin full training next week.

But with injured regular hooker PJ Marsh still at least two months away from a return, captain Monty Betham will have to start the season in the No 9 jersey.

Thomas Leuluai has his nose in front of Lance Hohaia at five-eighth, with Hohaia described as "still apprehensive" in his approach after knee reconstruction.

Coach Daniel Anderson said he was happy with the stage the squad were at, describing their fitness as being better than at the start in 2003.

"I expect the competition to go up a notch this season. I know we're better, so it's a matter of where the other teams are at."

He expected the extra fitness and motivation to make a difference in small areas of the game, in individual plays where making an extra metre in back up on attack or getting back on defence might make a difference.

Anderson expects the senior and seasoned players to fill out his 17 for the first six to 10 weeks unless injury or bad form intervene.

The players left Mt Maunganui yesterday for a last weekend off and Warriors staff stayed on, awaiting their families for their last weekend off for seven months.

dazza

1 Webb
2 Faafili
3 Martin
4 Toopi
5 Meli
6 Leuluai
7 Jones
8 Seu Seu
9 Beetham
10 Palea`asina
11 Ali
12 Sione
13 Awen

14 Jobson
15 Vinnie
16 Tookey
17 Lauaki (agree with albeano, gonna be a HUGE star)

cheers dazza

Crusader

I have a feeling this game is going to have a big score for one team, whichever way it goes.

ozbash

well ok then skinner, i guess i should give them a chance :roll:

1- webb ( oz)
2- henry
3-toopi
4- v anderson
5- mr meli
6- looloo
7-god
8-gerry
9-monty (c)
10- feka
11-ali
12-gutts
13- sione the fantastic

bench
14-te mata
15-wai koopu
16-tooki (nz) :p
17-lauaki

NZ Warrior

Wow, the off season's been too long. Thank God the new season's here. I can hardly remember what happened on here last year, but did I piss someone off or something??? I've been lurking around here occasionally during the off season but I found when I tried to reply, I was actually banned for some reason. Very strange, it isn't like me to kick up the dust :D

Anyway, I'm back and I can't wait for possibly the game of the round in the new season. So here's my team...

1] Webb
2] Faafili
3] Martin
4] Toopi
5] Meli
6] Leuluai
7] a fully fit and firing Jones :shock:
8] SeuSeu
9] Betham
10] Palea'asina
11] Lauiti'iti
12] Guttenbiel
13] Faumuina

Reserves:
Dezolt
Sullivan
Jobson
Koopu

I can't wait for this one, next weekend just can't come soon enough.[/list]

carlnz

1. Webb
2. Fa'afili
3. ANDERSON
4. Toopi
5. Meli
6. Leuluai
7. Jones
8. Seu Seu
9. Betham
10. Palea'asina
11. Guttenbiel
12. KOOPU
13. Faumuina

14. Lauititi
15. Lauaki
16. Dezolt
17. Te Mata

Anderson is a NZ rep and had a out standing match in the test last year, he is a solid player who is starting to show his attacking ability. He sh*ts all over Martin....Martin didnt play that good against the Panthers.

Koopu is a must, he is the fitest player in the club (as said by Coach Anderson)

Having Lauititi in the bench is a major plus for the Warriors, leave Faumunia on the feild causeing all the problems down the left hand side as he did against Penrith then brinl in Ali once you start interchanging the forwards...that way we always have an attacking forward on the park.

Faumunia or Webb will be the kicker.

Dezolts is needed to inter change with Betham, will be a dangerous once other players start getting tired....then once he replaces Betham, Betham then can inter change with the props.

ozbash

I found when I tried to reply, I was actually banned for some reason. Very strange, it isn't like me to kick up the dust

news to me NZ Warrior.
you wernt banned.. hotmail acc ??

Skinner

He sh*ts all over Martin....Martin didnt play that good against the Panthers.

I'd have to beg to differ there carlnz. Don't get me wrong, I love the way
Vinnie and his bro Louis play. I've been watching them play since they
were real young fellas.

Tony Martin is an extremely good centre. He has so much experience
it is just not funny - tell me why you thought he played badly against
the Panthers. Don't mention his lack of speed - he was not kicking
because he had a leg injury, hence his lack of pace on the day.

Skinner