Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Was Brett Kenny underrated?

davi

I think Lewis and Kenny had a mutual respect for each other. I think Kenny also said on the Footy Show that he felt he played his best when he played against Lewis.

I'm pretty sure I heard a story that Kenny wanted Gene Miles to play for Parramatta, but for whatever reason it never happened.

dannyt

I think Lewis and Kenny had a mutual respect for each other. I think Kenny also said on the Footy Show that he felt he played his best when he played against Lewis.

I'm pretty sure I heard a story that Kenny wanted Gene Miles to play for Parramatta, but for whatever reason it never happened.
Not sure if Gene Miles was ever in serious discussions with Parramatta, but Lewis and Miles were actively stopped from playing in the NSW comp by Senator Ron McAulliffe, the chairman of the QRL at the time.

From memory, there were negotiations with Lewis and Miles to go to Manly as a package deal, but this was quashed by the senator. I think Lewis mentioned regret about not going after he retired as Manly won the comp in 1987.

The 80s was a fun time. Mark Ella, the Randwick rugby legend, came close to signing with St George around this time. Rugby was still an amateur sport, but the ARU saw loosing Ella as public relations nightmare and so blocked the move. Not sure how Mark Ella would've gone in the more regimented league- union back then was free-flowing with plenty of tries. Considering how his cousin Steve Ella went in league, my guess is Mark would've been a success, but all the Ella brothers all nominated Steve the best footballer in the family.

Nightward

Not sure if Gene Miles was ever in serious discussions with Parramatta, but Lewis and Miles were actively stopped from playing in the NSW comp by Senator Ron McAulliffe, the chairman of the QRL at the time.

From memory, there were negotiations with Lewis and Miles to go to Manly as a package deal, but this was quashed by the senator. I think Lewis mentioned regret about not going after he retired as Manly won the comp in 1987.

Not even. Wally did go down there but Manly felt no need to pay him. He told them where to go and then went back to Queensland.

Truth is that few Queenslanders played in the NSWRL because they were treated like shit.

dannyt

Not even. Wally did go down there but Manly felt no need to pay him. He told them where to go and then went back to Queensland.

Truth is that few Queenslanders played in the NSWRL because they were treated like shit.
So the Senator didn't have an active hand?

dannyt

I'll bet you and I both know that's bullshit
This was a genuine question.

I believed this was the reason Lewis in particular never left QLD, and I've heard no reports or rumours to the contrary until this thread.

davi

This was Wally Lewis recollection of why he didn't go to Manly.

"When Fulton went to Manly, Kerry wanted Wally Lewis and Gene Miles at Manly. "I walked into Kerry's office with Gene and I still remember the size of his hand and the handshake he gave me," Lewis said.

"He put his feet up on the desk and had a ciggy in his mouth and just said, 'How much do you want, son?' I told him that's not how I was used to negotiating and he just said, 'You are in my office now and that's how I do business'.

"He said he wanted to negotiate with me and Gene separately and we both ended up doing deals — signed off to play with Manly — but then Doug Daley said he couldn't tell the other players we were getting as much as we were. Plus we had a agreement with Ron McAuliffe that if he could match the deals we would stay in Brisbane. They matched half of what we really agreed to and we had to stay. But I'll never forget that."

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ry-packer-the-main-event-20141025-11bttr.html

This was Wally Lewis recollection of why he didn't go to Manly.

"When Fulton went to Manly, Kerry wanted Wally Lewis and Gene Miles at Manly. "I walked into Kerry's office with Gene and I still remember the size of his hand and the handshake he gave me," Lewis said.

"He put his feet up on the desk and had a ciggy in his mouth and just said, 'How much do you want, son?' I told him that's not how I was used to negotiating and he just said, 'You are in my office now and that's how I do business'.

"He said he wanted to negotiate with me and Gene separately and we both ended up doing deals — signed off to play with Manly — but then Doug Daley said he couldn't tell the other players we were getting as much as we were. Plus we had a agreement with Ron McAuliffe that if he could match the deals we would stay in Brisbane. They matched half of what we really agreed to and we had to stay. But I'll never forget that."

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ry-packer-the-main-event-20141025-11bttr.html

Nah mate it was all the nswelshaman trying to keep the queenslanders down, always been that way

JJ

Kenny was my favourite player - just brilliant. And contrary what Bobby said he did have longevity, when he lost his speed and in his later days he was still a fine player at lock.

Not sure whether arguing he or Lewis was better is worthwhile - they were indeed chalk and cheese, and the fact that it's been debated highlights how good Burt was - he was electric, and his Grand Final efforts were astounding.

What staggers me is that neither he nor Sterling are seriously mentioned in 'immortal' debates - don't like the immortal concept, but the 80s era is where Australia were untouchable, which speaks to how good some of those players were

POPEYE

This was a genuine question.

I believed this was the reason Lewis in particular never left QLD, and I've heard no reports or rumours to the contrary until this thread.
Joh Bjelke Petersen > Ron McAuliffe. The bloke was pissed at the way NSW used to flog Qld when Qld players based in NSW weren't allowed to play. No-one would admit it but while he was alive he controlled who would or wouldn't play for Qld after Origin began, Lewis would never be allowed to desert ship and still play Origin . . . not to mention the offers he couldn't refuse

Tommy Smith

Kenny was my favourite player - just brilliant. And contrary what Bobby said he did have longevity, when he lost his speed and in his later days he was still a fine player at lock.

Not sure whether arguing he or Lewis was better is worthwhile - they were indeed chalk and cheese, and the fact that it's been debated highlights how good Burt was - he was electric, and his Grand Final efforts were astounding.

What staggers me is that neither he nor Sterling are seriously mentioned in 'immortal' debates - don't like the immortal concept, but the 80s era is where Australia were untouchable, which speaks to how good some of those players were
Lol Sterling & Kenny Inmortals?!

Sure they dominated the greatest decade of club football in NRL/ARL history, leading arguably the greatest club side of the past 50 years to a 3-peat and 4 Premierships in 6 years; but they didn't do it in today's era of hyperbole!

When Souths won the comp, Greg Inglis was the greatest player in the world and a future Inmortal. A year later JT led the Cowboys to the title and was crowned the greatest ever and a future Immortal. He was also most unjustly awarded the CCM to further enhance the hagiography.

And if the Storm win the comp I look forward to Smith being labelled the new greatest of all-time and the next Immortal. Does he have a CCM? If not, then get on it now.

Of course as great as these players are and as tough as it is winning a Premiership, their feats at club level nevertheless can't match the extraordinary achievements of Kenny & Sterlo.

However, Kenny & Sterling made the amateur hour error of achieving their crowning glory of a dynasty in the 1980s, rather than the current 'sound bite' era where every league personality and commentator can't wait to deify a player and call him the GOAT.

H.H

Lewis for mine, but only just...Kenny was a genius. Could tackle like a mother f**ker too...very underrated in that department.

As for underrated players, Steve Ella as someone else said. Brilliant player and played his career on one leg basically believe it or not. Reckons he lost his pace after a horrific knee injury very early in his career. Hate to see how good he could've been if that wasn't the case.

Canard

Lol Sterling & Kenny Inmortals?!

Sure they dominated the greatest decade of club football in NRL/ARL history, leading arguably the greatest club side of the past 50 years to a 3-peat and 4 Premierships in 6 years; but they didn't do it in today's era of hyperbole!

When Souths won the comp, Greg Inglis was the greatest player in the world and a future Inmortal. A year later JT led the Cowboys to the title and was crowned the greatest ever and a future Immortal. He was also most unjustly awarded the CCM to further enhance the hagiography.

And if the Storm win the comp I look forward to Smith being labelled the new greatest of all-time and the next Immortal. Does he have a CCM? If not, then get on it now.

Of course as great as these players are and as tough as it is winning a Premiership, their feats at club level nevertheless can't match the extraordinary achievements of Kenny & Sterlo.

However, Kenny & Sterling made the amateur hour error of achieving their crowning glory of a dynasty in the 1980s, rather than the current 'sound bite' era where every league personality and commentator can't wait to deify a player and call him the GOAT.

I reckon there would be four posts max, three of them from BunniesMan and one from his alt, about Inglis being an immortal.

Wests is Best

When Kenny made a break (and he often did) you could always put down the glasses. He would find a way to score regardless of who was covering. He was brilliant. Wally was good too, but I loved watching Brett Kenny play from 1981-1985 especially.
One of the plusses for Kenny (and Sterling for that matter) was that the Parramatta pack was never classed as one of the great pack of forwards.

forward pass

All I know is that if Wally had never been born, Kenny would have been close to being an immortal - and one of the greatest origin players ever. He was a sublime player. Best intercept taker I have ever seen.

Nightward

So the Senator didn't have an active hand?

As indicated in the news post, Manly agreed to one figure privately and then publicly claimed it was one substantially lower. Hence my comment about them not paying him; perhaps I should have said "not paying him properly."

I've heard Lewis talk about it and he was angry at Manly for failing to live up to the deal they'd committed to rather than McAuliffe who wasn't even mentioned. The writing in the article is deceptive, but what do you expect from the SMH and Weidler?

Wally presents the sport on tv while kenny cleans rooms at 4am...

He's also probably 9,000,000,000% better at it than Wally is as a presenter. Wally may be good at a great number of things, but doing commentary and presenting the news are not among them.