Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WCR is awful!

Which is better???

• Stacey Jones Rugby League

• World Championship Rugby

• EA Sports Rugby 2004

mattholme

Just got mine from EB and I'm talking it back.

Did anyone ever see that Lego Soccer Mania EA released a few years back? This should be called Lego Rugby Mania. Because it is so "cartoonish" like it is disgusting. Not to mention how unrealistic the gameplay is.

I mean the RL game has its faults, but it atleast look some part realistic, and can be played like a real game of Rugby League. This is just a cartoon rugby game.

strong_latte

ripper73 said:
Too bad virtually everyone on this board disagrees with you preety much, people like Gol quite like it

hmmm judging by the vote mate I'd say most people disagree with you...
Personally I like both games, but overall SJRL just has so much more to offer than WCR... it's unfortunately too much like JLR and they didn't improve alot of what they could have.

strong_latte

ak47 said:
DvdHntr said:
Obviously you are an idiot as you keep referring to NRL Rugby League by its NZ title.

ur the idiot
look at yourself.....ur avatar etc that is meant to look like u

to come on here and post with an avater that suggests u look like him, thinking we will all get impressed, makes u the worst idiot of them all.
a. u look like a dork - whomever it is in your avatar
b. u boast about it
c. u think we care????
d. !!!!newsflash!!!! - NONE OF US WOULD WASTE TIME TO sh*t ON A SIDE PLATE TO WATCH YOU EAT IT, CAUSE UR MOUTH SO FULL OF sh*t ALREADY, THAT IF U ATE MORE, IT WOULD COME OUT UR ASS WHERE ITS SUPPOSED TOO, UR SO FULL!!!!!

Bloody hell mate, you boys don't hesitate to go for the throat do you? Fair enough you disagree with him, but having a go at him for his avatar is pretty pathetic, especially when you've got some aging upper class prune littered with military badges for yours... at least attack his argument next time mate.

ak47

strong_latte said:
ak47 said:
DvdHntr said:
Obviously you are an idiot as you keep referring to NRL Rugby League by its NZ title.

ur the idiot

to come on here and post with an avater that suggests u look like him, thinking we will all get impressed, makes u the worst idiot of them all.
b. u boast about it
c. u think we care????
d. !!!!newsflash!!!! - NONE OF US WOULD WASTE TIME TO sh*t ON A SIDE PLATE TO WATCH YOU EAT IT, CAUSE UR MOUTH SO FULL OF sh*t ALREADY, THAT IF U ATE MORE, IT WOULD COME OUT UR ASS WHERE ITS SUPPOSED TOO, UR SO FULL!!!!!

Bloody hell mate, you boys don't hesitate to go for the throat do you? Fair enough you disagree with him, but having a go at him for his avatar is pretty pathetic, especially when you've got some aging upper class prune littered with military badges for yours... at least attack his argument next time mate.

coffee boy - if u do not know whom that is in my avatar - your not very bright and in touch with the world today....he has medals like that for a reason and is one of the most infuencial people in war, how wars were fought and won..............he might be old, but u wouldnt want to meet him...he's dead now anyway...i wont divulge into this anymore
I hate war, but seeing war has changed the world as we know it today - this guy has bigger shoes than almost anyone political and/or military in history
p.s his arguement wasnt worth wasting time with - look for yourself, he was just being a pain - so i stepped down to his level of IQ and did the same by slamming his avatar, and his looks.

strong_latte

ak47 said:
strong_latte said:
ak47 said:
DvdHntr said:

ur the idiot

b. u boast about it
c. u think we care????

coffee boy - if u do not know whom that is in my avatar - your not very bright and in touch with the world today....he has medals like that for a reason and is one of the most infuencial people in war, how wars were fought and won..............he might be old, but u wouldnt want to meet him...he's dead now anyway...i wont divulge into this anymore
I hate war, but seeing war has changed the world as we know it today - this guy has bigger shoes than almost anyone political and/or military in history
p.s his arguement wasnt worth wasting time with - look for yourself, he was just being a pain - so i stepped down to his level of IQ and did the same by slamming his avatar, and his looks.

"Coffee boy"... is that basically how you deal with attacks on yourself?
Also, just because I was having a shot at your Avatar (no pun intended), do not presume to know that I do not know who Mikhail Timofeevich Kalashnikov is (back in school we had a very large Russian contingent). I would also disagree that his gun has "bigger shoes than any political and or military history". But just because I know who he is, does not mean I think it's anymore clever to have him as an Avatar than someone with an Avatar of themself.
As for going down to DvdHntr's level, well you should know there is a saying for this considering how "incredibly intelligent you are" that goes like this: "Don't argue with them because they'll just bring you down to their level and beat you with experience"... I might take my own advice on that one, considering the first thing you could think to use was something as base as "coffee boy".

ak47

strong_latte said:
ak47 said:
strong_latte said:
ak47 said:
DvdHntr said:

ur the idiot

b. u boast about it
c. u think we care????

"Coffee boy"... is that basically how you deal with attacks on yourself?
Also, just because I was having a shot at your Avatar (no pun intended), do not presume to know that I do not know who Mikhail Timofeevich Kalashnikov is (back in school we had a very large Russian contingent). I would also disagree that his gun has "bigger shoes than any political and or military history". But just because I know who he is, does not mean I think it's anymore clever to have him as an Avatar than someone with an Avatar of themself.
As for going down to DvdHntr's level, well you should know there is a saying for this considering how "incredibly intelligent you are" that goes like this: "Don't argue with them because they'll just bring you down to their level and beat you with experience"... I might take my own advice on that one, considering the first thing you could think to use was something as base as "coffee boy".

u slammed me first, sticking up for dvdhntr whom said i was the idiot just for calling NRL, SJRL
just cause i call NRL, SJRL ....makes me an idiot???
keep up the good team work!!

theVodkaCircle

DING DING DING DING DING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That's the bell kiddies. Kindy is over for the day.

Go home now and tell mummy how terrible everyone else is and how unfair life is.

strong_latte

theVodkaCircle said:
DING DING DING DING DING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That's the bell kiddies. Kindy is over for the day.

Go home now and tell mummy how terrible everyone else is and how unfair life is.

Your right, it's better not to get dragged into that sort of crap.

Goleel

While I do like WCR, I dont think it has the long term playability of RL, and because of the ability to adjust the RL attributes to make it a 'fairer' multiplayer game, at least on PC, it gets the nod as a better game. If WCR gets some PC editing going to make forwards more useful, then it'll be level with RL, but unfortunately the bad defensive AI in WCR makes it a little hard to work.

As for the rest, well, if you fellas cant have a civil discussion on which game is better dont bother, abusing someone isnt going to make them appreciate why you think one game is better, neither is trashing the other game.

strong_latte

Goleel said:
While I do like WCR, I dont think it has the long term playability of RL, and because of the ability to adjust the RL attributes to make it a 'fairer' multiplayer game, at least on PC, it gets the nod as a better game. If WCR gets some PC editing going to make forwards more useful, then it'll be level with RL, but unfortunately the bad defensive AI in WCR makes it a little hard to work.

As for the rest, well, if you fellas cant have a civil discussion on which game is better dont bother, abusing someone isnt going to make them appreciate why you think one game is better, neither is trashing the other game.

Yeah it deffinately doesn't have NRL's life span. I got WCR about 3 weeks ago and have beaten all the modes and unlocked everything, and I'm already sort of bored of it. I pulled out NRL for the first time since buying WCR yesterday and realised I had forgoten how much fun it is... I don't know when I'll pull out WCR again, maybe if a mate wants to play it or when the TriNations starts.

Raiders Rock

I agree, I bought WCR the day it was released, partly due to the preview videos they released, and I kind of got caught up in the hype.

I had been playing RL almost daily but got sick of it so when WCR was released I ran to EB and slapped my $99.00 down on the counter.

I got home and played it for about 2 hours in total and then realised how much I missed playing the NRL game.

1. The passing engine sucks.

2. The defence AI is crap.

3. The kicking engine is lame.

The only thing that I saw which is positive is that it looks great. But as we all know, graphics can't make up for crap gameplay. In my opinion the gameplay is nowhere near as fun as NRL.

I know you insecure rugger boys will probably bag me for being this honest but when it comes right down to it, this game is a lemon!! I'm actually more pissed off that I fell for the hype and got conned into buying it under false pretenses!!

In it's defence, I've only played against the AI, maybe it's better as a two player game but it would want to improve dramatically for me to buy a sequel.

Congratulations to the programmers of WCR they've done it!! They've managed to capture the world's most tedious sport and turned it into the world's most tedious video game. This is pure simulation, I don't know how they did it... but if that's what they were aiming for, they've acheived all their goals.

:( :( :(

Munky

Raiders Rock said:
1. The passing engine sucks.

The passing engine is great in WCR, it is the only thing that is better than Rugby League. Hell if Rugby League 2 has the WCR passing system it will be awesome.

I also like the WCR pass deep to a playmaker option. On the fourth or fifth tackle in RL the kicker stands way to close and gets charged down easy.

inertia666

i just played this game for a bit now.

cartoon graphics, crappy atmospherics and harldy any real game play. disappointing and particularly as i've got it on order from gameseek.

are these developers of rugby games listening to what the fans want? the serious lack of implementation in these games makes me wonder.

the only thing it has over rugby 2004 is that you aren't spending most of your time stuck in slow menus or off field animations so its not as tedious.

Despite its flaws, RL is the best rugby game out there.

-JJ-

This poll is biased towards league anyway. You go to www.rugbyforum.tk and you'll find most people voting for WCR. Its quite hard to judge which game the general public like more. Anyway.

inertia666

-JJ- said:
This poll is biased towards league anyway. You go to www.rugbyforum.tk and you'll find most people voting for WCR. Its quite hard to judge which game the general public like more. Anyway.

JJ I'm a union fan over league. I only got into league because I was keen to find a rugby game that was playable. I was excited over the hype of WCR and so far it's disappointing. There's no League vs Union bias from me.

ripper

''cartoon graphics, crappy atmospherics and harldy any real game play. disappointing and particularly as i've got it on order from gameseek...''

Mr Interia the developers have said from Square one it is an ARCADE GAME. Theyve repeated it a million times on the forum

inertia666

ripper73 said:
''cartoon graphics, crappy atmospherics and harldy any real game play. disappointing and particularly as i've got it on order from gameseek...''

Mr Interia the developers have said from Square one it is an ARCADE GAME. Theyve repeated it a million times on the forum

Mr Ripper73, i've got no problem with the arcade aspects of the game at all.

The graphics are cartoony, does an arcade game have to look this way? The crowd atmospherics just don't do it for me, does an arcade game have to be this way? When i said "any real game play", i didn't mean realistic game play. But while we are on the subject, my first half game went on for 90 minutes because the ball hadn't been kicked out by anyone.

I've no problem with a good arcade game of rugby, but the implementation is disappointing none the less. There is no such thing as a realistic sim of rugby. Not even RL comes close. It's all ARCADE:

Please don't put words into my sentences that were never there and try to make out i'm some kind of idiot who doesn't read.

ripper

What? All I did was copy and paste because I was too lazy to quote you, I didnt edit what you posted... at least not on purpose