Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Week 1 Finals: Parra v Penrith GAME DAY THREAD @ Bluebet Stadium 9/9/22

Zoe Palmer

Are you one of these tigers fans with a broom firmly planted up your arse about Moses? .... or something else?

So tell me guru, does your football intellect extend to the point where you think your halfback, game manage has zero runs, zero line engagements is ok😆😆😆

So you were happy with zero runs, zero line engagements. Just stand 10m behind the play the ball and shovel the ball sideways to runners who are easily picked off😆
Any runs he would've made would've been hit ups. Hardly what you want from your smallest player. If Moses is going to run it needs to be off the back of a quick play-the-ball and against a fresh pack there just weren't enough of those.

Cleary does f**k all with no time or space either. We've seen that at Origin level. All halfbacks are downhill skiiers. The difference is that Cleary is big, so he can just hold the ball when the pass isn't on, but usually when there's defensive pressure Yeo doesn't give him the ball.

King-Gutho94

Only downer to tonight was Moses getting injured. If he is good to go next week I back us in to win next week & I reckon we make the GF.

Sharks are cowboys are down another level then Penrith and in reality we went toe to tow for 60 mins before Jakey came on.

Deep down I thought we could only beat Penrith once in the finals it will have to be GF now if we are good enough to get there.

Soto

Simply if we lose next week BA has to be sacked. Not being emotional or alarmist. It Is what it is.
We have the worst bench and worst use of the bench. We were I thought a bit off the pace, not much but a bit until Moses went off and then it was curtains.
Waqa was horrendous and was snatching at the balls.
Also thought luai knocked on in their 1st try.
Zero pressure on Cleary and when we needed some players to step up like dylbro he didn't.
Just hope roiders and storm belt the crap out of each other tomorrow

IFR33K

Losing Moses was shit. That hurt.

Young Arthurs was shit. End of.

Cleary targeted him on that run and just waited for him to make the wrong decision, and that was the start of the rot from there. It aint Jakey's fault we lost, but if he's there to cover the halves and delivers that kind of performance then he needs dropping.

Waqa was more shit though. Catch. The. f**king. Ball. you. Mongy. merkin.

In the end, Penrith's line speed and numbers in the tackle just took the game away, we created no room for our backs, Our forwards will need to be better, except for maybe Matto, who I thought had a pretty good game, he just had no mates

exactly. If that’s the cover ja will offer, then I’d rather another forward or Bryce there on the bench. Ja brings nothing. He’s a nothing player. If we lose another half again we’re already in strife. No point in picking an absolute dud. Pick someone that will at least look decent in grade.

So tell me guru, does your football intellect extend to the point where you halfback, game manage has zero runs, zero line engagements
Ive never been so flattered as to be compared to the great eric grothe

So. Are you a tigers fan or not? I dont know.

Because that's what an impact bench player might be expectd to bring to a team who is down in the final 20mins... some x-factor to help catch-up - otherwise what's the point of them being selected in that role?
He's there for injury cover, not for impact. Most teams don't have the luxury of a difference maker on the bench. The salary cap makes sure of that.

Yeah, nah. We're talking teams that want to be in the top 4 - if you're serious about competing at that level, with a fully fit squad, bench capacity and impact is not a luxury.

Bandwagon

So tell me guru, does your football intellect extend to the point where you think your halfback, game manage has zero runs, zero line engagements is ok😆😆😆

Mrs Palmer.

Apt name for a wanker.

But hey, even though you seem nice and all, why not just f**k off back to the primordial ooze from which you came?

Joshuatheeel

Mate, you’re not getting many opportunities against the Panthers. To be honest, I thought Reed was terrible tonight despite the try assist. As soon as Moses went off I told our table that we’re done with JA I’m the halves. Not only was I correct, our attack and defence turned to absolute mush. Hard to argue but open to your rebuttal.
We were heading towards being gone before Moses went off…..our competition rate was shocking…..

we were down by 5 when Moses was knocked out, JA came on. And Edwards got a try with Gutho out of position (had nothing to do with JA)….11 behind ….game over…

I can see the JA not ready for NRL argument but tonight was hardly his fault…

he really was only on for 1 try, so our defence hardly turned to shit..,and considering when he came on at the 59 min mark, we had only scored 1 try was completing at less then 70% - can’t really say our attack turned to shit, it was already shit and stayed shit!!

If we want to blame anyone, blame blake… ….while drown, lane , Paulo were average and crucial error’s by Gutho / Sivo ..