Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Westie Indentification......

T

tigger

>> > You know you're a Westie when..... >> > >> > >> > >> > 1. You let your twelve-year-old daughter smoke at the dinner table in >> front >> > of her kids. >> > >> > 2. Bikies back down from your mum. >> > >> > 3. You think loading the dishwasher means getting your wife drunk. >> > >> > 4. You've been married 3 times and still have the same in-laws. >> > >> > 5. Jim Beam and Jack Daniels makes your list of "Most Admired People." >> > >> > 6. You've ever had to scratch out your sister's name in a message that >> > begins "For a good time call...." >> > >> > 7. You've ever worn a dress that is strapless with a bra that isn't. >> > >> > 8. Every day someone comes to your door mistakenly thinking you're >having >> a >> > garage sale. >> > >> > 9. You have a working television that sits on top of a non-working >> > television. >> > >> > 10. You think the Nutcracker is something you did off the high dive. >> > >> > 11. Your dog was neutered by court order. >> > >> > 12. Your mum walks out of the bathroom and says, "Come look at this >before >> I >> > flush it!" >> > >> > 13. Your 13 year old daughter and her husband wanted belly button >> piercings >> > and you said no and got them matching tattoos instead. >> > >> > 14. You mow your lawn and find a car. >> > >> > 15. Your tyres are worth more than your car.

P

pepe

good laugh tigger.

i spent a few years in sydney in the late 80's,i lived in the manly area,what i noticed about sydney unlike brisbane, people would always ask what suburb you lived in,there was a big stigma attached to your suburb,my mates in manly would always bag the crap out of the westies who would trek over each weekendaboard the ferries.

manly was a great area to live,but i wonder if the people in that area are true league fans,my visits to brookvale would say no!!,they just don't have the passion for league like the people in the west.

so when it come to league ,westies rule! (ug boots and all )

cheers pepe

J

Johnsy

Well pepe,

My origins are from the westie heartland. I grew up in Campbelltown and left when I was 13. I left for the Gold Coast where the rest oif the family lived (aunts & uncles etc). I am now a Brisbaneite, as for the suburb stigma it is alive and well in brisbane, I live in Tarragindi which is one of the better suburbs and some of the people are exactly what you described. A pack of prententious pricks, the have this strange idea they are better because they went to "the" private school and have a bit of cash. No style whatsoever, money cant buy that my friend. The only difference i can see between the two "types" of people is the opportunities they are available to, and they way "most" people in the respective classes view education. I know this becase I have crossed classes or so my wife says, & I hate people saying that yes you are ..... class. Its a totla crock of shit mate, people are people, money, education, cars will never make someone better. It is a real shame both types of people we are talking about dont reralise this and act accordingly.

Johnsy

P

pepe

johnsy

well it appears brisbane is not the big old country town that i remember from 15 years ago,first of all i lived in taringa which i guesscould be judged as upmarket these days , i attended a gps school, i don't know if i'm in the minority but i never thought i was any better than the kid who lived in woodridge and attended the local high school,and i guess the same could be said about my mates.

you only have to walk around the streets of sydney to see it is a very superficial society,i don't get that feeling wandering the streets of brisbane,that is the charm of brissie.

cheers pepe

T

tigger

Johnsy i know what you mean & this wasn't posted to cause offence!

I have always lived in the inner city, Balmain, Lilyfield & North Sydney. There is a defenite divide in our city, but it is in4 categories

West, North, City & East - all act & dress differently!

My office has people from everywhere in sydney, but they all socialise with the people from their own 'category' even when they have lunch. Quite sad really.

J

Johnsy

Tigger & Pepe

It is sad but that is the way people are, they feel more comfortable with people who act, dress and speak the same. I guess we are the "luckier" ones who are aware of the way it is. I took no offence tigger I have changed so so much since the "westie" days, University was the definitivce factor i guess, If you did see me I can gurantee you would not think westie, anyway cheers boys.

Johnsy

Well, I'm a Westie...all through my 'formative years' till I moved to Cronulla as a 15 year old.
Ask me anything about Liverpool Speedway, Oliveri's Bus Service, Bankstown Bowling Alley, The CabraVale Diggers, Fisher's Ghost, Elizabeth Drive, Green Valley, the Liverpool Theatre awning collapse or the Westfields Fire of 1973 (?).

It's funny how whenever I meet a true Westie,we seem to acknowledge some sort of recognition. It doesn't matter how you speak nowadays, but the mannerisms must still be there. I've never been able to put my finger on it but I'm sure the notion of being a Westie is a real thing.

I always guessed that you were a Westie, Johnsy. :)

J

Johnsy

It must be the love of all things red and white mate. Fishers ghost now that rings some bells, I used to play for Lithgow St Bradbury. Right near our ground was the bridge where Fishers Ghost was seen.

Johnsy

Yeah....count me in as a westie as well. We are considered inferior by most prentenous ppl that eminate out of the Northern and Eastern suburbs, but put simply, we couldn't give a rats! Sure we have more then our share of dropkicks and drongos, but id rather live out here then in a superficial paradise where you are judged by the colour of your poodle that you take for a walk every morning :)
Pet hates about being out west? Westbus! U mentioned oliveris willow, u should see westbus...it is shocking beyond belief. The Elizabeth drive is still the same, except for the stinking speed camera which has already caught me out once!
Oh well..
The Fan.

I lived in Green Valley, Johnsy but went to Campbelltown a lot on my bike.
I have relatives who live in Bradbury and my cousin is the mayor of Campbelltown so I guess I have some connection to the place
Fishers Ghost Creek Bridge... that's the place. Fisher was someone who was murdered there about 100 years ago and they say his ghost would re-appear every Xmas eve on the banks of creek. It became a popular spot forevening picnics and bbqs every year.
Apparentlythe bridge was pulled down years ago and new larger concrete structure was put in it's place and Fishers ghost stopped visiting. According to the locals it was because of the new bridge.

MFC, I'm told by an old school mate that I wouldn't recognise the place anymore. :)

J

Johnsy

Our home ground was the footy field to the left of the bridge and directly behind the campbelltown pool. God, I cant beleive it, we are all westies. Long live the westie, allthough I was never a true westie ie: the mullet.

Johnsy

T

tigger

There is speed camera on the frive home for me that is always broken! everytime they fix it someone spray paints over the lens! It is at the bottom of a really steep hill so you have to sit hard on your brakes the whole way down. It hastaken away the rollercoaster ride effect :eek:( which was the highlight of my journey home!

L

legend

Willow and Johnsy, the Gold Coast and SE QLD is a pseudo westie haven. My dad lives in Elanora and all his mates have moved up there to swill gin with him. I am the pentultimate westie. I was born in Mt Pritchard, moved to Kings Langley then back to Cabramatta, then to Canley Vale, then onto St Johns Park then to Hinchinbrook and now Auburn. I have leg warmers and ug boots in my blood but I don't see myself as any different to anybody else in this city. Willow, my dad used to own the yellow brick road paving centre on Canley Vale Rd so he spent all his time at either the Kooka or at Diggers recruiting labourers.

Someone spray painted over the speed camera lens? LOL. Definitely a Westie ! :)

Legend, I agree that'as there's loads of Westies here on the gold Coast. ...Run into 'em all the time. The same was when I moved into inner city Sydney in the late70s and 80s and 90s....LOL. Westies everywhere!!!
But during my small 3 year stint in Cronulla (15-18) I have to say thatWesties were thin on the ground and I actually copped a fair bit of predujuce. Nothing terrible apart from a few dust ups but it was different place to what I was used to.

I wish someone would spray paint the one on the bloody Elizabeth drive!!! And the hide of them to stick one in on cowpasture road as well! You are just starting to rock up a bit of speed and then....zooooommmmm... back down to 70 :( lol
The species known as the 'westie' doesn't really become apparent anymore until u head west of Liverpool. There are the odd traces of the westie around green valley and casula, although going out to a haunt such as campbelltown will result in many a mullet sightings, and consequently, many a westie....
The fan.