Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Westie Indentification......

T

tigger

willow - how many new skateboard tricks did you learn down there!!??

L

legend

Those bloody cameras have me paranoid. I'd love to take to them with an angle grinder and then dump it outside Green Valley pig pen. One of my mates once built himself a black cover for his number plate so he could do the harry from servos without paying. Only problem was he had a bright red Nissan Skyline SV with nice rims. Not all that hard to spot now are they.

Tigger, no I never actually got into skate board riding. I hate to say it but that was before my time.
Instead, we had push bikes and air rifles. But I don't think we want to go there. :eek:)

J

Johnsy

One of my favourite delinquint pastimes was down at the local creek near Campbelltown North primary School, just across from Campbelltown high. We used to break off large pieces of bamboo then grab golf ball sizes of clay from the banks of the creek. Place the clay on top of the bamboo and flick that bamboo like there was no tomorrow and shit did it hurt. We ended up breaking a window at a policemans house, we did not know he was a policeman until he came out and caught us. What a day!!!

Johnsy

H

Hass

I've been a Westie all my life until this year when I moved to the Hurstville area. I caught the train back to East Hills station and it only took me thirty seconds to realise I was back home. Two kids about 16 with the worst mullets you've ever seen walked up to me and said "wouldn't have a spare ciggy on ya mate?"

I said, "Nah, not on me". And grinned knowing that some things never change.

Cheers.

P

pepe

i remember my first trip into the western suburbs of sydney,at the time i was competing in athletics having travelled down with the qld team,i was a naive 17 year old from the conservative suburb of taringa,brisbane.

we had family friends who lived in fairfield so i thought i would visit them,i hopped on the double deckertrain at central and for the duration of the trip i proceeded to shit myself,to me it was hell,i was just waiting for some westie to give me the bashing of my life,or some druggie to hold me for ransom.

this wasa world i had only seen on american tv,i remember going through the train stations like redfern which had old car tyres acting as pot plants,mac donald town and other funny names which i thought would be my final resting place.

when i arrived in fairfield i said to my mate ken,you moved from caloundra to this,and his reply was something like you get used to it.

now when i look backat it, you always feel safe in the area you live!!!!!!

cheers pepe

ps,i never caught the return trip back,i chose the safety of my mates car.

LOL Pepe, i make that trip from Fairfield to Central quite often. If you travel in peak hours you are fine, travelling during the day or at night by yourself is akin to signing a death warrant. Its not as bad as people make out, although u have to have your wits about u and know where to sit. Making sure the carriages have other people in them is also a must. But yeah, its not the best, some of the scuffles i have seen at Granville station are just plain scary
The Fan.

H

Hass

The thing is, I feel a hell of a lot safer roaming the streets of Bankstown then I do roaming the streets of the city. The thing is that the Western Suburbs are an ideal place to raise a family, it's just that at night in some hotspots all the jerks hang out together waiting to pounce on unsuspecting city folk.

Cheers.

H

Hass

Well I don't think this song can realy apply to anyone but Westies so here's Chris Franklin's Bloke
<hr>

I hate the new age guys
I'm a chauvinist
I live on beer and pies
Tried to tell ya
But you look at me like maybe I'm an angel underneef
He, don't brush me teef

Yesterday I lied
But all me mates gave me a real good alibi
Thanks guys
(No worries, mate)

I really went out drinking
I told you I was at work
Don't ask me for commitment
Because it's something I will shirk

CHORUS 1:
I'm a bloke, I'm an ocker
And I really love your knockers
I'm a labourer by day
I piss up all me pay
Watching footy on T.V.
Just feed me more V.B.
Just pour my beer and get my smokes and
go away

Or take me as I am
This may mean you'll have to fetch another can
Rest assured if I start to make you breakfast
I'm going to extremes
But tomorrow I'll get shit-faced
And today won't mean a thing

CHORUS 2:

I'm a bloke, I'm a yobbo
And me best mate's name is Robbo
Winfield is me cigarette
I dress in flannelette
Shearer's singlet that is blue
Throw in a few tattoos
You know you wouldn't want me any other
way

When you think you've got me figured out
The season's already changing
(From footy to cricket)
I think it's cool when I act like a tool
And me mates try to shave me
CHORUS 1 &amp; CHORUS 2 all over again <hr> Cheers.

P

pepe

hass

''that bloke'' song was pre match entertainment at the storm game a couple of years back,you are spot on,he is a born and bred westie andproud,i could'nt imagine the union crowd employing him..

i was in sydney last year and i can tell you it feels alot safer than the melbourne CBD,we have spent a fortune doing up the cbd but it still looks unplanned and dirty.

T

tigger

I suppose everyone heard the shooting in Leichhardt, i ampretty sure it was Norton's. Pubs in Sydney are turning into very dangerous places to be in after 10pm! Ihear aboutat least 2 pubs a week getting held up for pokies money. If i worked at a pub i think i would want 'danger' money like the miners get!
Poor bloke has gone to work planning on a quiet Wednesday night &amp; he gets killed.

There is more &amp; more organised crime in Sydney &amp; it is not from one racial group it is everyone. About 10 years ago there was certain places you wouldn't go late at night by yourself, now it is pretty stupid to go anywhere by yourself late at night.....

When i was in Melbourne last, I was having lunch with a couple of work people &amp; right outside the restaurant window there werethree asians fighting one arabic looking bloke. One of them hit him with a metal pole! The bloke looked a little shaky, but recovered and managed to knock out two of them &amp; the 3rd ran away! This was in broad daylight on a Tuesday afternoon! It is a crazy world we live in now.

S

SpaceMonkey

Its funny but Westies exist in Auckland too, in fact is has a pretty similar sort of four way divide.

Inner Auckland: Young trendy professionals, seriously rich people, and a few pockets of Asian and Indianimmigrants in some of the more run-down bits

West Auckland: The classic white working classwestie, some Indians and Islanders

East Auckland: Rich Asians, middle to upper class europeans

South Auckland: Maori and Pacific Islanders, working class Asians and a few Westies

The North Shore: Middle to upper class europeans

This is a pretty gross generalisation, but most Aucklanders would admit it fits at least roughly! BTW I live in the inner city, but come from a mostly Maori area 4 hours south.
Rugby league is strongest in South Auckland, the Inner West, and some traditional clubs are still based in the old inner working class suburbs where the Wharfies used to live.

Tigger, the shooting at Leichardt was on Parramatta road. It could've been the pub on the corner of Norton and Parramatta, im not 100% sure. But yeah, it is a pretty crazy world. Going out by yourself in Sydney at night is just stupid, and even with a group there are still some places that i wouldn't go near past 10pm. A lot of the club places around Sydney aren't 2 bad, the ones with heaps of security are usually pretty safe. But the pub scene is a worry, any cretin can walk in there and start trouble....
Damn, im sounding like a tourist guide now!
The Fan

The sutherland shire, give me your honest opinion (applies only to sydneyites). I grew up at cronulla, then kurnell. Now live in bundeena. Kurnell and bundeena kids were often the target of many a "two-headed town" joke at school and even now by adult friends. Kurnell and from what I've been told, bundeena were both a bit different from much of the rest of the shire, probably due to the geography but these days plenty of new home owners in both suburbs have seen a change. Sutherland itself, especially around the station , is a hotbed of stereotypical westie activity, plenty of dodgy looking types wearing smackie dacks looking in the back of parked cars, but otherwise the sutherland shire is pretty insular,
cheers, Global13.

Global13. I can actually relate to what you're saying there.
I came from the real Western Suburbs to Cronulla High School when I was 15. I was initially called a 'bankie', as most people from the west were assumed to have come from Bankstown. This confused me as I lived no where near Bankstown and it was obvious that these Cronulla kids had no idea of how big the west was.
But it all came to light one day when I was in the school excursion bus heading out to Royal National Park whenanother school bus from Gymea passed in the opposite direction. All the Cronulla kids stuck their heads out the windows and yelled out 'Bankies!'.
Needless to say Gymea is substantially closer to Cronulla than it is to Bankstown.
That day I realised that anything west of Cronulla is considered the western suburbs.
And the case of Kurnell, well I guess the Cronulla mob thought that was too far east. ;o)
They were a snobby bunch.