Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wests Tigers Coaches 2025

Nutz

mainly to morris atm, our defence has improved significantly, hodgo still has work to do on our attack

5 tries yesterday

1 from a proper backline movement
2 from dunny half
1 forward crash play
1 from a beautiful Galvin double pump and moon ball, which Turuva still had plenty of work to do
I've been unloading abuse at Morris inability to fix our defense.
Do you think I was a bit harsh Vic?

WA Tiger

I can’t believe how positive and strong Benji was in the Pressor after that gut wrenching loss..how he handled the ref bias and the interruption to the pressor, how he just ran off the list of shit circumstances like he had a list, how he decided on the spot pretty much Fainu L is now part of the team ..Hell even I felt better .. And I was inconsolable after the game..

how he decided on the spot pretty much Fainu L is now part of the team

I think this is the big issue Benji has to sort out. This kid needs more game time. I also don't think Benji deserves credit for sorting this out because he hasn't yet.

We are also 2 and 2 and we could easily be 4 and 0 which suggests to me the team isn't yet performing as well as they can.

I'm starting to think though Benji may figure this all out. We have a much better squad and Benji has played a huge role in building this squad. I also think we've been playing decent footy. That game yesterday was a cracker.

Nutz

I think this is the big issue Benji has to sort out. This kid needs more game time. I also don't think Benji deserves credit for sorting this out because he hasn't yet.

We are also 2 and 2 and we could easily be 4 and 0 which suggests to me the team isn't yet performing as well as they can.

I'm starting to think though Benji may figure this all out. We have a much better squad and Benji has played a huge role in building this squad. I also think we've been playing decent footy. That game yesterday was a cracker.
Except for the part that at half time he should have told them how to play wet weather footy.
We lost because we stopped playing the basics of high completion rate and forcing them to play like we were being forced to play by them, through pressure.
In the wet, speed of the play the ball and a good kick and chase then tackle pressure in their red zone far out weighs throwing the ball around like nut cakes

WA Tiger

Except for the part that at half time he should have told them how to play wet weather footy.
We lost that towards the end because we stopped playing the basics of high completion rate and forcing them to play like were being forced to play by them, through pressure.
In the wet, speed of the play the ball and a good kick and chase then tackle pressure in their red zone far out weighs throwing the ball around like nut cakes
It was the last 10 minutes where we lost.. the rest of the second half we were excellent.

Nutz

It was the last 10 minutes where we lost.. the rest of the second half we were excellent.
I agree it was an exciting game and yes we showed grit like we haven't seen for a long time but mate we made it so hard on ourselves by not playing wet weather footy.
If we played it the way we should have, even with AD and other problems that evolved we could have won that comfortably.
I know the game ànd played it long enough and unless you were sitting with me watching it where I could explain several things that they botched or should have done it differently it's the best way but on a forum..na.

Nutz

Sorry, that last ten minutes doesn’t really cut it for mine.

And the overall lack of discipline shows we still have issues there.

We need to aim higher.

Benji has to knuckle down.

It's a learning process, hence why Benji needed someone like Justin Holebrook who is passive and wouldn't be a threat to Benji's authority but has the coaching nouse to be a good assistant.
Anyway I'm happy that we've recruited well and it's not over, not by a long shot.
But every game you play or coach or train or strap, you learn and if you don't adjust or improve, then you shouldn't be there.
Benji will make a great coach over time but I feel he needs the right support whispering in his ear.
I hope I'm wrong but it's the fear I had when he was awarded the job prematurely and I'm getting a sniff of these things I've mentioned.
Still we are are better side than last year and our depth will now be tested.

It's a learning process, hence why Benji needed someone like Justin Holebrook who is passive and wouldn't be a threat to Benji's authority but has the coaching nouse to be a good assistant.
Anyway I'm happy that we've recruited well and it's not over, not by a long shot.
But every game you play or coach or train or strap, you learn and if you don't adjust or improve, then you shouldn't be there.
Benji will make a great coach over time but I feel he needs the right support whispering in his ear.
I hope I'm wrong but it's the fear I had when he was awarded the job prematurely and I'm getting a sniff of these things I've mentioned.
Still we are are better side than last year and our depth will now be tested.

There’s a lot of good coaching candidates out there. But on your model, I’d go the other way and choose someone to threaten him and his fellowship of the matey.

Id say the number and frequencies of injuries over a season is something you have to 100% expect and plan for.

Which is why I don’t get overly excited about top 17s as they don’t last long!

I’m disappointed with the result, but I also share his respect for the Warriors.

Discipline and errors continue to bite. To not have a dummy half, is rare but frightening at once. It suggests bad organisation and neglect. It’s basic stuff, especially at that moment.

Hopefully we can kick start the engine and make a statement v Broncos. Nothings impossible!

Nutz

There’s a lot of good coaching candidates out there. But on your model, I’d go the other way and choose someone to threaten him and his fellowship of the matey.

Id say the number and frequencies of injuries over a season is something you have to 100% expect and plan for.

Which is why I don’t get overly excited about top 17s as they don’t last long!

I’m disappointed with the result, but I also share his respect for the Warriors.

Discipline and errors continue to bite. To not have a dummy half, is rare but frightening at once. It suggests bad organisation and neglect. It’s basic stuff, especially at that moment.

Hopefully we can kick start the engine and make a statement v Broncos. Nothings impossible!

Some goood points TSP except you can't have that coaching model. The assistant can't be the red guy except when he's got a particular role eg Defensive Coach but when in the box he has to play the role of a supportive wife and be the horse whisperer.
Take a look at Bellyache and Ryles. They were a good combo and Ryles left for money after serving his apprenticeship.
People think Benji is too lovey dovey with his players. Well when he was in Brisbane a few years ago as a player training at Valley's ground I saw him tear strip's off a player who wasn't doing his job. We beat the Broncos that weekend.
He encourages younger players which is good and he'll find a way to let players know when he's pissed off and not to repeat stuff ups. That comes with working together over time.

Some goood points TSP except you can't have that coaching model. The assistant can't be the red guy except when he's got a particular role eg Defensive Coach but when in the box he has to play the role of a supportive wife and be the horse whisperer.
Take a look at Bellyache and Ryles. They were a good combo and Ryles left for money after serving his apprenticeship.
People think Benji is too lovey dovey with his players. Well when he was in Brisbane a few years ago as a player training at Valley's ground I saw him tear strip's off a player who wasn't doing his job. We beat the Broncos that weekend.
He encourages younger players which is good and he'll find a way to let players know when he's pissed off and not to repeat stuff ups. That comes with working together over time.
He also got us some significant talent that maybe wouldn't have come.
It's R4 and we 2-2, and we lost both games by 2 pts, he is doing OK.
We'll have a better idea at the half way mark of the season.
But whatever happens, I think we are committed, you can't keep sacking coaches every season.

There’s no use flogging a dead horse.

He can recruit the Samoan side, but the test is whether we win or not!

Nutz

100% agree Tm.
As far as the recruitment goes Benji was great at selecting players to fill the void but a huge amount of credit has to go to Richo. He's the one who got the deals done.
Our CEO knows the rugby league arena backwards and won't be bullied.
He's the perfect guy to support Benji who is coaching greenish but Richo will give Benji all the tools he needs.

Nutz

I also believe the tramline of player movement between Wests Tigers, Penrith, Cronulla and Manly is because of Richo's history and experience with those clubs. In May's case he basically came home and Richo nows his backyard.

Tiger Ted

100% agree Tm.
As far as the recruitment goes Benji was great at selecting players to fill the void but a huge amount of credit has to go to Richo. He's the one who got the deals done.
Our CEO knows the rugby league arena backwards and won't be bullied.
He's the perfect guy to support Benji who is coaching greenish but Richo will give Benji all the tools he needs.
If not for moving on from the rugby league illiterate bums Hag & Pascoe to Richo we may as well have handed our license back to the NRL.Its going to take a while to fix the mess & become a respectable club but without Richos experience nous & ruthlessness we would continue to be wedged to the foot of the table