Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Weststigers Wasteland 💩

Nutz

Obviously you don't and that makes me feel good.
When are are going to give us some insightful stuff to read instead of waiting to pounce on something that may have a flaw in it.
It's been a long time between drinks with you, sometimes you come out with a good post but 90% it's often just personal attacks or you just talk to yourself because everyone's fed up with you. I don't want to ignore you though and If you thinks it's just me then put me on ignore for heaven's sake.
Or you could just simply try and be nice, it's actually a great feeling when someone speaks respectfully to me, you should try it, you might surprise yourself.
Everything in life has consequences, rewards and being deprived are two WA, but you could just continue to be miserable I guess, your call.

Obviously you don't and that makes me feel good.
When are are going to give us some insightful stuff to read instead of waiting to pounce on something that may have a flaw in it.
It's been a long time between drinks with you, sometimes you come out with a good post but 90% it's often just personal attacks or you just talk to yourself because everyone's fed up with you. I don't want to ignore you though and If you thinks it's just me then put me on ignore for heaven's sake.
Or you could just simply try and be nice, it's actually a great feeling when someone speaks respectfully to me, you should try it, you might surprise yourself.
Everything in life has consequences, rewards and being deprived are two WA, but you could just continue to be miserable I guess, your call.
Mmm.

“ Everything in life has consequences, rewards and being deprived are two..”

Very profound my son and I’m going to think about whether there actually exists any other consequences.

So for every act or omission, there can only be a good or bad outcome for the decision maker.

Whether it be say immediately or later on?

Who here hasn’t had something come back to haunt them?

Or say we were nice to someone and later on, that someone did us a kind favour?

@Tigerm taught me this season to like posts I didn’t agree with. To try to see the contribution as having a value, not just the substance. I’m happier for the insight.

It might be harder for others to discern what I agree with or not, but that’s ok.

Who here can condense and package all the beliefs of anyone else?

We’ve got a club to drag up onto its feet, despite its protests, kicking and screaming if need be.

Under Richo or beyond him.

Nutz

Mmm.

“ Everything in life has consequences, rewards and being deprived are two..”

Very profound my son and I’m going to think about whether there actually exists any other consequences.

So for every act or omission, there can only be a good or bad outcome for the decision maker.

Whether it be say immediately or later on?

Who here hasn’t had something come back to haunt them?

Or say we were nice to someone and later on, that someone did us a kind favour?

@Tigerm taught me this season to like posts I didn’t agree with. To try to see the contribution as having a value, not just the substance. I’m happier for the insight.

It might be harder for others to discern what I agree with or not, but that’s ok.

Who here can condense and package all the beliefs of anyone else?

It’s pretty hard.

Come on WA, the door is open, come inside.
Your talking above my pay grade TSP.
It's pretty simple, if your nice, even if one's critical of what's been said, your likely to be rewarded by a positive outcome, whether it's direct or indirect, if your not nice, well surely that doesn't need to be explained.
I'm getting to the point in my life where I can't tolerate bigotry and hypocrisy.
I'm not over critical like some because if I was to say how I really feel about certain people I would have to leave the forum, or get banned. I have a faith now to compliment my beautiful family and I'm trying my best to be a Christian but it's hard.
Instead I'll keep going with private chats to people who are really nice and post on the forum to try engage in conversation. If they don't like me they can ignore me.
Bed time, good night mate. 👍

WA Tiger

Your talking above my pay grade TSP.
It's pretty simple, if your nice, even if one's critical of what's been said, your likely to be rewarded by a positive outcome, whether it's direct or indirect, if your not nice, well surely that doesn't need to be explained.
I'm getting to the point in my life where I can't tolerate bigotry and hypocrisy.
I'm not over critical like some because if I was to say how I really feel about certain people I would have to leave the forum, or get banned. I have a faith now to compliment my beautiful family and I'm trying my best to be a Christian but it's hard.
Instead I'll keep going with private chats to people who are really nice and post on the forum to try engage in conversation. If they don't like me they can ignore me.
Bed time, good night mate.
Your angelic private chats… mate there is no “they” “we” “us” and “everyone” There’s only you and me. At least pause and contemplate “will my post be of value to this forum” before you thoughtlessly let forth at times.

Nutz

Your angelic private chats… mate there is no “they” “we” “us” and “everyone” There’s only you and me. At least pause and contemplate “will my post be of value to this forum” before you thoughtlessly let forth at times.
WE enjoy ourselves, you could too if you would climb down off your soap box.
Insult me as much as you like, water off a duck's back WA. I love life and your insignificant to me atm unless you change your ways.
Anyway, looks like it's back to the drawing board, enjoy talking to yourself fella.

WA Tiger

WE enjoy ourselves, you could too if you would climb down off your soap box.
Insult me as much as you like, water off a duck's back WA. I love life and your insignificant to me atm unless you change your ways.
Anyway, looks like it's back to the drawing board, enjoy talking to yourself fella.
In reference to my comments about your post I think most of us get it, but you as usual, too busy with the blah blah and Daaah to get it. Particularly the latter.

Nutz

In reference to my comments about your post I think most of us get it, but you as usual, too busy with the blah blah and Daaah to get it. Particularly the latter.
There you go again, you just can't let it go can you 😂.

Nutz

I think Islam wins. My only hope is that Jack can keep it standing and just outbox him. Jack to me is better with his hands.

Islam is to me though a complete martial artist. He has all sorts of takedowns (wrestling and judo styles combined) plus extremely solid striking skills (more complete than Jack) and he can submit you on the ground.

It's a tough fight especially his first defense.

I don't see Islam being smaller than Jack either.

I'm definitely watching it delayed in high def for free.
What time does it start.
It could be over after the first takedown.

What time does it start.
It could be over after the first takedown.

I'm not sure but I'll be off the Internet and telling my son not to tell me the result or scream to loudly as he watches it via some russian stream.

I don't want to know the result until I watch it.

It's a stacked card as well.

The prelim has Bo Nickal vs Rodolfo Viera. To me this is a huge fight. A top tier wrestler vs a top tier jiu-jitsu guy.
Kopylov is a beast on the prelim as well.

Then on the main card:-
Edwards vs Prates is a great fight.
Dariush vs Benoit is another great fight
Brady vs Morales is huge as well. I reckon Brady could win the title. He has a complete game but his takedowns and jiu-jitsu are unreal.

Then the two main events are top tier. I don't really watch much women's MMA but the Jack vs Islam fight is huge.

I reckon Islam is really likable but I'm hopeful Jack pulls off an upset.

The only thing is fighting sometimes is boring. Sometimes great match-ups can lead to boring fights.

It's a huge event though.

Nutz

I'm not sure but I'll be off the Internet and telling my son not to tell me the result or scream to loudly as he watches it via some russian stream.

The prelim has Bo Nickal vs Rodolfo Viera. To me this is a huge fight. A top tier wrestler vs a top tier jiu-jitsu guy.

Brady vs Morales is huge as well. I reckon Brady could win the title. He has a complete game but his takedowns and jiu-jitsu are unreal.

Then the two main events are top tier. I don't really watch much women's MMA but the Jack vs Islam fight is huge.

The only thing is fighting sometimes is boring. Sometimes great match-ups can lead to boring fights.

I won't spoil it dont worry :)
I just hope he puts in a good show. His wrestling and grappling skills aren't as good as they should be. Aussie Aussie Aussie Oi Oi Oi.

Nutz

What about the venue and the exposure, wow.

Nutz

@Tiger05 Poirier was right in that last fight against Makhachev. So the question is, could Maddalena beat Poirier. I think so.
Dustin is 5'9" 155lbs, reach 72" lightweight.
Jack is 5'11" 170lbs, 73" reach welterweight. Bigger and a better hitter.
Makhachev now a welterweight is 5'10" 170lbs, 70 reach.
Jack could be heavier, longer reach and taller.
Against Dustin, Makhachev was tentative when he was set upon in a stand up.
If our boy can stay on his feet and get to his feet then he's powerful enough to spring an upset.

Nutz

Great card. Some great fights.

Islam though was totally dominant which sucks.
To be totally honest Tiger, I know more about boxing than any other combat sport so I'm guessing when it comes to UFC or, at least I'm going by instinct.
You would know more of the technical aspects of the bout with your wrestling background.
My observations were that Makhachev kicked the lead leg repeatedly, which slowed Jack’s movement. Compared to Jack's previous bout when he won the title it looked like this was reversed. Jack was able to box last time because he stopped his opponents advances.....did you see it that way too?
Obviously Makhachev wanted to wrestle Jack from the outset but it seemed to be a game plan to have Jack on his heels to stop him advancing and make it easier to lunge fwd to take Jack down.
Jack lacked urgency. I reckon he would have been better throwing punches on the way in and not to look for openings so much. You limit takedowns too by fighting uptempo wouldn't you?
That's how I saw it, am I way off, as I said I dont have MMA in my blood, but I do now, it's awesome.

Whilst Jack's base salary, without all the bells and whistles was actually higher because he held the belt, and Makhachev went up a div, Makhachev's final estimated total winfall from yesterday's bout is anywhere between $3.5M – $5M US.
UFC don't officially disclose it.
Here is the full estimate in simple form:

Income Category Estimated Amount
Base Salary $700K–$800K

PPV Revenue$2.5M–$4M

Sponsorships $150K–$250K

Total Earnings $3.5M – $5M

This makes UFC 322 one of the biggest paydays of Makhachev’s career, likely surpassing his title defenses against Charles Oliveira and Alexander Volkanovski.
You throw in 3 or more defense bouts a year and keep winning....ching ching.

I'd want more for putting my brain thru all that! It just doesn't seem enough if you compare it to golf!
UFC has been going for over 30 years now and reports of brain related injuries or illnesses are way lower to that of boxing. I found that very interesting and surprising.

Not a wrestler or grappling tech like Islam. I'm glad i didn't pay for it. I decided not to right at the last moment.

Islam had better striking as well. Jack is a great boxer but Islam is a complete martial artist. Islam has it all. I don't think I've seen anyone as complete as Islam.

Striking:- he has a real good kicking and boxing skills.
Wrestling:- He basically used single and double leg takedowns yesterday but he has a bunch of awesome Judo style trips and throws as well.
Ground work:- His top pressure is great and he has a couple of submissions which is all that is required. He basically has a Kimura and an arm-triangle but it's enough.

The one thing we haven't seen from him is guard work (fighting from bottom) but he is basically never taken down anyway.

I have never seen a more rounded fighter. GSP was unreal. Khabib was unreal but his striking was a little sloppy although I wouldn't say it to his face. Jon Jones is just an athletic beast who can snort cocaine and be out of control and still be the best in the world. I suppose Mighty Mouse was all round unreal.

I think Islam could lose to someone more athletic who can knock him out but it's hard to pick against him. I just went surfing and I sometimes see Robert Whittakers coach and we have a chat. He said that he put money on Jack to knock out Islam because there is no way Islam loses by decision.

My observations were that Makhachev kicked the lead leg repeatedly, which slowed Jack’s movement. Compared to Jack's previous bout when he won the title it looked like this was reversed. Jack was able to box last time because he stopped his opponents advances.....did you see it that way too?
Obviously Makhachev wanted to wrestle Jack from the outset but it seemed to be a game plan to have Jack on his heels to stop him advancing and make it easier to lunge fwd to take Jack down.
Jack lacked urgency. I reckon he would have been better throwing punches on the way in and not to look for openings so much. You limit takedowns too by fighting uptempo wouldn't you?

I see it basically this way but Islam isn't just a wrestler. He has really good all round striking. You have to understand that Islam would have done marital arts his whole life. I think he did Taekwondo but I'm not sure. He would have done Judo and wrestling and striking and then competed in Sambo.

Jack probably took the sport up late and had the talent to be a really good boxer in MMA.

I agree that you need to get the other guy on the back foot but as soon as you start swinging Islam will clinch and then he has these Judo takedowns. That didn't happen yesterday but Islam still timed his wrestling shoots so well.

You throw in 3 or more defense bouts a year and keep winning....ching ching.

True but MMA to me is a poorly paid sport.

The top boxers earn heaps more and some guys on the undercards of UFC fights wouldn't earn enough money to pay for their training camps and that is top level.

I'd want more for putting my brain thru all that!

My mum has a friend who is a scientist. She is like CEO of some company in Queensland and has worked for Boston University as a scientist. She specializes in brain damage and she finds this all abhorrent. My understanding is that sometimes a slight whack to the head can lead to brain damage.

My son trains in MMA every so often. I wish he wouldn't. I love watching the sport but I think it's insane. I suppose I think the same thing about league as well. I'm extremelty hypocritical about these things. I don't think it's good for them but I love watching it.

Nutz

Islam had better striking as well. Jack is a great boxer but Islam is a complete martial artist. Islam has it all. I don't think I've seen anyone as complete as Islam.

Striking:- he has a real good kicking and boxing skills.
Wrestling:- He basically used single and double leg takedowns yesterday but he has a bunch of awesome Judo style trips and throws as well.
Ground work:- His top pressure is great and he has a couple of submissions which is all that is required. He basically has a Kimura and an arm-triangle but it's enough.

The one thing we haven't seen from him is guard work (fighting from bottom) but he is basically never taken down anyway.

I have never seen a more rounded fighter. GSP was unreal. Khabib was unreal but his striking was a little sloppy although I wouldn't say it to his face. Jon Jones is just an athletic beast who can snort cocaine and be out of control and still be the best in the world. I suppose Mighty Mouse was all round unreal.

I think Islam could lose to someone more athletic who can knock him out but it's hard to pick against him. I just went surfing and I sometimes I see Robert Whittackers coach and we have a chat. He said that he put money on Jack to knock out Islam because there is no way Islam loses by decision.
That's a pretty good summary tiger.
I don't know if you've seen Islam get caught with a punch but I have seen him in recent fights where he's copped a couple to the head when he's rushed, put off if you like.
That's what I was trying to say about throwing them on the way in.
From my policeboys days we were taught that. You may get what you give but if done right it would be harder imo for Islam to take you down from a frontal assault, sort of supported in a way by Whittaker 's coach too. He wasn't going to win getting set up by Islam, and not being able to circle too.
I mention the kicks because it looked like Islam knew this and wanted to keep him on his heels and take away any threat.
Just an observation as I'm not wrestling background.

I don't know if you've seen Islam get caught with a punch but I have seen him in recent fights where he's copped a couple to the head when he's rushed, put off if you like.

He lost a fight via knockout early in his career in the UFC but that can happen to anyone.

The thing is Jack beat Belal who is also a great grappler. I have heard Belal talking though and he said that Khabib would beat him up and toy with him but Islam was nice about it. The point to me being that he was nowhere near those guys level when he trained with them and he was up a weight class.

I think the main point is these guys are so well rounded and train so hard they are going to be hard do beat.