Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Weyman's long-awaited return giant leap forward

hrundi99

Weyman's long-awaited return giant leap forward
Peter Fitzgerald
Thursday, 30 March 2006

Michael Weyman doesn't want to rush things this time.
The injury prone youngster, who has been restricted to just 12 first-grade matches in the past three years, wants to do thing right.
Weyman has been training with Canberra's senior squad for the majority of this year and after a long wait feels he is finally ready.
The 21-year-old will make his long-awaited return to football this weekend off the bench in the Raiders Premier League side, which plays the St Mary's-Penrith Cougars on Saturday afternoon.
The match will be the 112kg prop's first since fracturing his ankle against the Sydney Roosters in round four of the NRL last year and 12th since bursting onto the first-grade scene in 2003.
Weyman's return was supposed to come last season.
His ankle injury was only meant to sideline him for a couple of months but he suffered two repeats of the fracture after the screws inserted in his foot came loose.
So, after a 12-month rest, Weyman is ready to ease himself back into the sport he has played for as long as he can remember.
"A year is a long time to be out so I won't be charging like a bull too early on," said Weyman, who will today pen a new two-year deal with the Raiders.
"I'm pretty keen to get out there but I don't want to do anything stupid. I'll probably play 20 minutes in the first half and have a chat to the coaches at half-time and see how I'm going before deciding what happens in the second half."
Weyman could prove to be Canberra's much-needed saviour this season.
The side has registered two of its three worst losses in history in the past fortnight and is in desperate need for players to step up.
While he will not be in the senior side to play Penrith on Saturday night, an NRL call-up could come as soon as next week. "I just want to get some games under my belt but if those games are in first grade and [coach] Matty [Elliott] wants me there, then I'll be there," he said. "While match fitness is obviously the key, I'm probably feeling as fit as I ever have.
"Saturday's hit-out will be perfect to blow out any cobwebs and I'm just hoping I'm able to be selected next week, anywhere, and not in a doctor's surgery somewhere waiting for results."
Former league greats have labelled Weyman a future Australian representative but injury has stifled his potential . "It's taken a little while to get everything sorted but I'm glad it's all done now," Weyman said.

He could be a real shining light this season, or he could just add to the trauma. I think a 2 year contract is a good call from management. It's not an over-commitment and I think there is still cause for optimism on what he can bring to the club.

thickos

Weyman re-signs with the Raiders

weyman_426.jpg

March 30, 2006

The Raiders engine room has been re-enforced for the next two seasons, with promising young prop Michael Weyman announcing today he has re-signed with the club until the end of 2008.

Weyman came to the club while still in High School, and has become part of the Raiders youth policy, which has seen the re-signing of other future stars, including William Zillman, David Howell and Adrian Purtell who have already secured their futures in the lime green.

Originally from Moruya on the South Coast, Weyman said Canberra is a great place to live and play football, and he hopes this strong relationship can continue into the future.

“It’s good to be signed up now and have my future secure for the next two years, I love it here, I have a house here, my families nice and close, and I have met some great friends so I’m happy in Canberra,” Weyman said. “I wish I had done it a while ago but that’s the way things have panned out, I’m playing footy again this weekend so it’s great to get it done before I start playing.”

The damaging front rower makes his long awaited return to football this weekend through the Raiders Premier League side, after a horror run of injuries has forced him to spend most of the past two seasons on the side line.

But with the disappointment of being injured now behind him, Weyman said he looks forward to a return to football this weekend, and hopefully a rise into the first grade squad sooner rather than later.

“I feel that I’m ready to go, I have been mentally ready for a while but I have just been working on my physical fitness,” he said. “It’s a matter of getting on the park and getting some games together, its been twelve months since I’ve played footy so I’m looking forward to settling into the game and getting back to first grade as soon as I can.”

Weyman said it is time to prove his worth as a top line player, and will be looking for an impact in his return match this weekend.

“I feel I need to repay the club back a little bit back, I haven’t played much footy in the last couple of years and so I want to look after the club that has looked after me,” he said. “Being on the side line watching footy is not me, so this weekend it’s all guns blazing and I’m ready to go.”

Raider’s general manager Don Furner said the club is happy they have secured Weyman for the future, and his recent run of injuries did not hamper their decision.

“We’re obviously thrilled to get Michael over the line, he’s had a wretched two years with injuries and we believe no player could have as much bad luck in the future as he’s had in the past,” Furner said. “Thankfully his injuries have all been different, and we still think he’s going to be one the best young front rowers in the game.

Sully

WE ARE STILL NOT LEARNING...

Deep down we all love the Horse and think he has super ability but 12 games (20 minutes max. per game) in 2 seasons and with an awful record of injuries (almost season/career ending) does not entitle another 2 year signing.

Why not sign him to match payments and/or no. of 1st grade appearances?

This is what’s wrong with this club. We DO NOT make sound BUSINESS decisions.

Just keep adding up those numbers boys. Hopefully after we get the spoon this year, we can set our sights for 2007 on 2005's result of second last, and you guessed it with the club at the top of the salary cap and players locked in we will be sh*te until 2010!

PLEASE SOMEONE WITH BUSINESS SENSE TAKE OVER!!!

spot on sully, we spoke about this on sunday, your bang on, if he was at the chooks, potential or not sticky would have him on match payments till he proves his worth

dubby

Don't be surprised if his contract contains alot of clauses; ie based on the number of games played, rep honours, etc. I bet it is a pretty basic contract $$ wise, but like i said; clauses galore. Pretty similar to what they offered TLL i bet.

Sully

LUV IT AGAIN.....

I would not even bother with "Rep Honour" clauses!!!!

No clauses at the Raiders mate just have $120K per year to do SFA!!

We are the worst club and to be honest, this frustration makes you want to turn your back!

I can't wait to see the crowd on Saturday night: 6,000 and that will be inflated!

But as long as second rate players and the entire PL side is on $90-300K per year who cares right?

YOU DRIPS!!!

hrundi99

Weyman's probably on $100-120k if that, which is nothing considering his potential.

He has 2 years to prove his worth. I am nervously confident that he will be a pleasant surprise.

I wouldn't be betting my house on it though...

Timbo

Fantastic news. Sully and 69-I have no idea what you blokes are on about. It's not like we've signed him till 2012 or something.

After losing Statue, Muss and Rhino we CAN NOT afford to lose Horse.

edabomb

Timbo said:
Fantastic news. Sully and 69-I have no idea what you blokes are on about. It's not like we've signed him till 2012 or something.

After losing Statue, Muss and Rhino we CAN NOT afford to lose Horse.

:iwstupid:

Honestly, we raise one player who has shown he is definate rep quality and you guys want us to offer him match payments??? :lol::lol:

Ricky Stuart would set him on match payments? The same Ricky who made the shrewd purchases of Finch and Monaghan (at over 200k) :lol:

Even our management have more brains than to offer one of the most promising players in the game match payments.

right and what happens if horse goes down AGAIN?
we once more work behind the rest of the pack because we didnt have the balls to put him on match payments

shouldnt be an issue, if he gets on the park he will get what he deserves in terms of money for quality, if he doesnt we dont lose anything, seems the ideal situation to use match payments ala whats being called for in regards to Craig Frawley

edabomb

But Weyman is in a different class than Frawley. Weyman would have had teams from all over the league offering him guaranteed contracts.

Weyman looks rep calibre when fit. Frawley looks Bartercard Cup calibre when fit.

Timbo

Fair go-Frawley was in origin consideration his last year at Brisbane.

edabomb

I'm talking about now, not two years ago. Plus I don't think he was ever a realistic chance. Plus 69 is also talking about now, as there was no talk of match payments when we initially signed him.