Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What are you eating right now?

IMG_1295.jpeg
Plain Jane Sunday lunch roll.

Casa roll ( made by local Italian manufacturers), long ferment, hints of sourness, fresh truss tomato and pre-sliced chunks of class leading Zammit leg ham ( no, not sliced ham).

American mustard completes the dish, but the pour was lite, so as not to kill the taste of everything else.

The roll was probably the most expensive item, about 85 cents. A bit scandalous for our area, but it has the tasty edge, aesthetics and village presentation to justify it.

Guests here will note I pulled the roll apart instead of cutting it. I often look at people who slice bread rolls with suspicion. It lacks a certain romance.

The next time through, I might add some lemon hints for a tad more zest.

When I was a kid, all take away fish and chips were wrapped in the authentic butchers paper.

And the inside grease paper.

There whole shop had to be extensively humid and uncomfortable too. No chairs at all. Too much salt always and without exception. Had to be family business with huge Mediterranean folk, oil everywhere and the purple fly light thing, sometimes the guys were smoking. The broken down fan did little more than swirl the hot oily air around as we breathed it in.

Any of these things out of whack, it wasn’t going to taste right.

It’s going to take AI centuries to work out Australian food heritage. These Silicon Chip geeks can stick that up their sweaters.

horrie hastings

View attachment 108589
Plain Jane Sunday lunch roll.

Casa roll ( made by local Italian manufacturers), long ferment, hints of sourness, fresh truss tomato and pre-sliced chunks of class leading Zammit leg ham ( no, not sliced ham).

American mustard completes the dish, but the pour was lite, so as not to kill the taste of everything else.

The roll was probably the most expensive item, about 85 cents. A bit scandalous for our area, but it has the tasty edge, aesthetics and village presentation to justify it.

Guests here will note I pulled the roll apart instead of cutting it. I often look at people who slice bread rolls with suspicion. It lacks a certain romance.

The next time through, I might add some lemon hints for a tad more zest.
The local fruit shop/deli at Marrickville Metro called Panetta Mercato do some very nice casa rolls with their various deli meats and veges like eggplant, artichoke, sun dried tomatoes, cheeses etc, they have some pre made or you can order them freshly made.

Sounds good. Marrickville is a bit too far east for me. An interesting area of course.

horrie hastings

When I was a kid, all take away fish and chips were wrapped in the authentic butchers paper.

And the inside grease paper.

There whole shop had to be extensively humid and uncomfortable too. No chairs at all. Too much salt always and without exception. Had to be family business with huge Mediterranean folk, oil everywhere and the purple fly light thing, sometimes the guys were smoking. The broken down fan did little more than swirl the hot oily air around as we breathed it in.

Any of these things out of whack, it wasn’t going to taste right.

It’s going to take AI centuries to work out Australian food heritage. These Silicon Chip geeks can stick that up their sweaters.
I remember the white butchers paper and the inside grease paper but also wrapped in news paper as the out layer sometimes also.

horrie hastings

Sounds good. Marrickville is a bit too far east for me. An interesting area of course.

Also a placed called Lamia at the Marrickville shopping strip where you can get great rolls and wraps, it is Greek owned. Best wraps though i reckon you can't beat Carlton Deli in Glebe, any combination you want and so well priced and filling.

I must say I was tempted to buy a bespoke cheese, can you recommend one to enhance the featured roll?

I’ve got a number of dependents, so I would appreciate something that won’t break the bank!

horrie hastings

I must say I was tempted to buy a bespoke cheese, can you recommend one to enhance the featured roll?

I’ve got a number of dependents, so I would appreciate something that won’t break the bank!
For the rolls i would just get a mild nutty flavoured one like Jarlsberg or a similar Swiss style cheese,

As for other cheeses, i will buy the Ashgrove brand from Tasmania or the Tilba cheese range from the South Coast or for a real surprise the Coles Finest Vintage British Cheddar, i was very surprised how good it was especially for the price, these cheeses i mentioned here are more for cheese boards and nibbles though.

soc123_au

I'd agree with @horrie hastings a nice jarlsberg on that roll would hit the spot. (the presliced or shaved from the deli counter at woolies is fine for the job at hand ) I'd also probably ditch the mustard in favour of a nice tomato relish as well. I make my own, but you can pick up a decent jar at most markets, for store bought the Beerenburg tomato and cracked pepper is pretty good.

Thanks socky.

I did actually think about a relish, but I was shopping at a new (to me) store and wasn’t keen on an exploratory!

One of my sisters is a rusted on woolies ham person, but the Zammit chunks were perfection and my butcher mate swears by them.

I’m standing by my stolen smug (stolen valour) assessment.

IMG_0977.jpeg

horrie hastings

I always try and buy my relishes, pickles and jams from some of our local farmers markets, when i was away this time last year i found a road side stall at Gladstone near Kempsey i got an absolutely divine home made nectarine jam, also some lovely zucchini pickles, another market in a hall at Eungai where i got a delicious home made mandarin jam and also a spicy tomato relish which had sultanas in it.
There is a stall at my local Addison Rd markets run by a lady called Miss Bee and her range of jams and pickles and relishes are good, she hasn't been there for a while now, she was quite frail so i hope nothing has happened to her, i miss her loquat jam.

I should look into making some home made relishes, i do pickle my own fresh beetroot though and it lasts for ages, so much better than the tinned variety.

soc123_au

Thanks socky.

I did actually think about a relish, but I was shopping at a new (to me) store and wasn’t keen on an exploratory!

One of my sisters is a rusted on woolies ham person, but the Zammit chunks were perfection and my butcher mate swears by them.

I’m standing by my stolen smug (stolen valour) assessment.

View attachment 108607
I meant the cheese from Woolies. Woolies ham is also fine, but if you can get hold of some top shelf stuff then it's well worth the few extra sheckles. I'd be keen to try some of the stuff you used on your roll, I'll have to look it up.

horrie hastings

I meant the cheese from Woolies. Woolies ham is also fine, but if you can get hold of some top shelf stuff then it's well worth the few extra sheckles. I'd be keen to try some of the stuff you used on your roll, I'll have to look it up.
The ham from this place is top notch, probably the best ham i have tasted here in Australia. My brother used to order one for Christmas when we had the whole family get together

I ended up winning a half leg of ham at the Coogee Legion club on Monday, picked it up from the butcher near the club yesterday, haven't weighed it yet but it is huge, so going to be plenty of ham for two people coming up. Going to slice some for dinner tonight

The ham from this place is top notch, probably the best ham i have tasted here in Australia. My brother used to order one for Christmas when we had the whole family get together

I ended up winning a half leg of ham at the Coogee Legion club on Monday, picked it up from the butcher near the club yesterday, haven't weighed it yet but it is huge, so going to be plenty of ham for two people coming up. Going to slice some for dinner tonight
Merry Xmas Horrie.

Thanks a lot for sharing your tips and experiences, I’ve really enjoyed them.

I like your nod to esoteric Sydney history as well, it’s good to document and for my personal reflection.

I wonder how long that Ham will keep?