Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What is it you want me to say?

PJ

It will kill a lot of people here that I have only been wrong about 1 thing in two years
& that being Vaganas club of choice.

There was also the bit about us going broke last year.

Last weeks comments about 3 out of 4 Roosters tries going down Vagana's side.

When you made up a quote out of Rugby League week.

The allready mentioned comments about Berrigan being the best player.

THose are just the ons off the top of my head.

But at least I've worked out one thing. After all your gloating on here in the last 24 hours I've worked out why you hate Anderson so much. You guys are 2 peas in a pod. You hate cause he's so much like you.

Jimbo

blacktip-panther said:
Jimbo Poor Preston? choking? could not do it?

Can you please show me the post where I said Preston was a choker, or couldn't do it?

How you could call anyone 'Anti-Shark' is quite beyond me. But for the record...

- I tipped the Panthers last night. Maybe not on here, but I can back that up if you want me to

- Preston Campbell is a better player now than he was when he was with us. He works a lot harder, and it shows. (I'll resist the temptation of pointing out that the Roosters only try was scored by Hegarty running at him...)

- I am very happy for John and Marty Lang, they deserve their success. But I'm not going to top myself because it wasn't for us. They had their chances here, just as Preston did. Maybe the 'us and them' mentality does work occasionally?

Ahh nice one that Jimbo.
Pretty easy seeing the forums have gone.

Your views on the discards, Anderson & kimmorley have been obvious.
But don't worry about it.

Frenzy

blacktip-reefy said:
Frenzy Losing culture?

Well I actually think the Penrith win went a long way towards reinforcing that. Part of that LC could of been Langy not being good enough, after all he had 8 years and a team full of internationals and SOO players. But that part is out the window now because clearly Langy, as a coach, is good enough. And he did it with a handful of "veterans" and a teamful of kids.

You can have your depth argument, and your injuries argument but when it's all said and done they are merely excuses. The players we have had have never been good enough, hard enough or desperate enough to win.

And as nearly every poster here now agrees the board is a bunch of losers it's easy to see there is some sort of negative culture about. One doesn't have to call it a losing culture, call it what you want, but it's there.

BTR said:
It will kill a lot of people here that I have only been wrong about 1 thing in two years & that being Vaganas club of choice.

new_rofl.gif

Many more times than one reefy :lol:

Frenzy

blacktip-reefy said:
I loved it it when he drove Fitzgibbon into the ground & hurt him.
One on one.
He hurt a few out there last night PC.

I don't know if it was a tactic of Lang's last night but Campbell was on Fitzgibbon all game donw the short side. I reckon at least 10 times PC was first to Fitzy, always at the legs to unbalance him, with either Priddis or Gower or both next over the top. These three gave Fitzy no peace at all.

Consider also that after Gower got injured PC defended at halfback for long stretches. I even saw him hit Morley fair in the guts and drive him back and down.

You all know I'm no pro Presto person but I have to take my hat off to him. Penrith had to change game plans slightly 2 or 3 times last night and he adapted to each change. I had him and Lang level pegging as very close 2nd place getters to Priddis in the CC medal.

Yet not one of them got a guernsey for the tour - odd.

Quint

millersnose said:
cambel was a libility in defence and did jack all in attack
I don't want to get into a long winded arguement with you mate,But what game were you watching??????? :?: :?: :?: :?:

funny how he had to be watched after so many stellar performances throught the year.

Seems some can be a one trick pony & have the worst defensive technique in Rugby league, guide their team to near wooden spoon, and still get picked.
OOhhh thats right I forgeot, that bloke actually helped pick the team, whilst out on the golf course, 2 months ago.

bull shark

Jimbo said:
- Preston Campbell is a better player now than he was when he was with us. He works a lot harder, and it shows.

Just to clarify that:
Preston Campbell is a significantly better player now than he was when he was with us under Chris Anderson.
Preston Campbell is a more mature player now than he was when he was with us under John Lang.

Jimbo said:
(I'll resist the temptation of pointing out that the Roosters only try was scored by Hegarty running at him...)

Actually Hegarty ran around him because they had an overlap - Johnny Raper couldn't have stopped that try. Also, BH made a mistake there - Wing stripped the ball from Wesser and it should have been a scrum with Panthers feed. Yet another occasion when the stripping rule was incorrectly applied because the ref was miles away

bull shark

millersnose said:

Sometimes in this debate people make some exaggerated statements, but this has to be about the silliest thing anyone has written here.

Preston missed quite a few - he also made quite a few - and some on some big forwards. He was there for the full 80 minutes. In defence he never stopped having a go. And his attack was awesome. His kicking was spot on most of the time. He was often first there in chase.

Penrith won because they never gave up. When Roosters hit back I thought they would crumble - like the Sharks did in 99. But they didn't - and Campbell was at the front the whole time.

He played every minute of every game that Penrith played this year. That's an incredible statistic - especially for one of the smallest men in the game.

millersnose

bull shark said:
millersnose said:

Sometimes in this debate people make some exaggerated statements, but this has to be about the silliest thing anyone has written here.

Preston missed quite a few - .

well you said it

to put the record straight the context in the larger debate i am having with reefy was tht prestons defence is not good enough for representative honours

you may not agree

selectors are a bit more astute though

I know I'll cop some for this, but who cares? I've never worried about being sprayed before and I certainly have been done over by better than you. And just when I was starting to warm to you too!!!

BTR,

I can sort of see why you dislike CA given that you appear to be a loyal sharky supporter, but I really think it's starting to be a bit unhealthy.

But BK? That one mystifies me. Are you an ex-halfback sacked by CA somewhere? Are you Sterlo, Alfie or Joey? If not, then I really don't see how you judge him all the time. In my opinion, yes we are all entitled to one, and happen to think BK is one of the finest halfbacks that we have had.

I wish we had kept PC too. I met him up on the Gold Coast a couple of years ago and got in the grog with him and a couple of others. Great night. He also signed an autograph for my son, and it is was personal too, but that's life. I actually come from near his home town so we had a ot in common. Deano was also there. I wish we had him back too. But we don't and aren't likely to get them back, so let's back our coach (whoever it is) and our current players and go from there. It's a start. Imagine if any of the players read these forums. Geez, some of the comments would have me wondering about the calibre or loyalty of some of our supporters.

PS. Congratulations to Langy and the Panthers in beating the Chequebook Chooks.

Can we get on with 2004. Bring it on.

bull shark

millersnose said:
bull shark said:
millersnose said:

well you said it

to put the record straight the context in the larger debate i am having with reefy was tht prestons defence is not good enough for representative honours

you may not agree

On Preston's rep claim: I wouldn't object if he was picked, don't object that he wasn't. Think he's borderline

But I was commenting on the nature of the debate. Just because you don't agree with someone, don't come out making wild, inaccurate statements. Give credit where credit is due, and give someone a serve if you sincerely think they deserve it. Don't just bag a player or a coach because you're arguing with someone else

You might remember on the other forum I said a similar thing to BTR. The two of you get over-emotional and sometimes make outragous claims that you then have to defend against each other

I 'spose I'm just trying to lift the level of the debate 'cause I just don't want this forum to shut down too. :)

Feej

bull shark said:
millersnose said:
Penrith won because they never gave up. When Roosters hit back I thought they would crumble - like the Sharks did in 99. But they didn't - and Campbell was at the front the whole time.

And there my freinds, summed up in one paragraph is the reason why we have never won a GF.

millersnose

bull shark said:
millersnose said:
bull shark said:
millersnose said:

well you said it

you may not agree

On Preston's rep claim: I wouldn't object if he was picked, don't object that he wasn't. Think he's borderline

But I was commenting on the nature of the debate. Just because you don't agree with someone, don't come out making wild, inaccurate statements. Give credit where credit is due, and give someone a serve if you sincerely think they deserve it. Don't just bag a player or a coach because you're arguing with someone else

You might remember on the other forum I said a similar thing to BTR. The two of you get over-emotional and sometimes make outragous claims that you then have to defend against each other

I 'spose I'm just trying to lift the level of the debate 'cause I just don't want this forum to shut down too. :)

i am not bagging preston because i am arguing with reefy

i am saying prestons form is not representative quality

that is my sincere opinion
there was nothing wild or inacurate in what i said

take a deep breath and read the thread again ;-)

imasharkie

I agree with you on this millers.......Preston misses too many tackles to be of rep standard.....I'm happy he missed out,but I'm still dirty on the selectors for leaving geyer out he was the stand out 5/8 this year

If defense is the issue, then why is Kimmorley picked.
His defense is woeful at times & his chase on kicks is not as consistant as PC's or as effective.

I dont think Preston should have been picked for Australia and I dont think he was a standout last night. He's probably more deserving than half the jokers who did get picked though.

As if Anderson was ever going to let PC get picked for Australia! Lunacy.

Same with McCarthy, he basically said a month ago that the selectors havent been watching him and that theyre not going to be going out of their way to do so. He basically said that no one was going to be telling him who to pick.

AAhh good ol Mr Mcarthy.
As a player he was good.

As an official he was bad.

As a coach he was awful.

as a selector he is disgusting. & the issue has nothing to do with football.

Frenzy

blacktip-reefy said:
AAhh good ol Mr Mcarthy.
As a player he was good.

As an official he was bad.

As a coach he was awful.

as a selector he is disgusting. & the issue has nothing to do with football.

Are you referring to something from back in the Gold Coast Charger days?