Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
I used to have a great time with the other bludgers and hangers on down at the St George Leagues Club. But sadly they're trying to flog it off now, Quigs was kind enough to point out the real estate ad...
Good
St. Merge Leagues ($2.50 schooner Happy Hour FTW)
Canterbury
Wests (Leumeah)
Sharkies (like the fact it backs on to the field, perfect for post match schooners)
Not good
Central Coast Leagues
Souths Leagues (the Brewery at Homebush)
Canterbury Leagues (8/10) It's close, has heaps of things to do (I hate gambling) including sports bar with large screen TV and good food. Needs a bit of renovating and outside needs a facelift.
St. George Leagues (6/10)
Closer to home than Canterbury Leagues, however sucks quite a lot, however their outdoor area is decent and the Crown Dragon Chinese restaurant is fantastic. In desperate need of a renovation.
Cronulla Leagues (2/10)
Had a function there so didn't have a choice. Went downstairs for a beer to watch the footy and couldn't wait to get out of there. This was in 2006 thought so not sure if much has changed
Canterbury - Dump. Fountain in the front car park can't cover the fact that it is in Belmore.
Souths Old - Dump. Smell of death. George tried to keep it going by having breakfast, lunch and dinner 365 a year. Didn't work. Obviously the jury is out on the new version which is about to re-open.
Souths Juniors - Light of other days but seems functional. Nice TAB area.
Norths - Used to be good. Nearly got laid in the snooker room so I am probably biased. Haven't been there is 20 years, though.
Manly - Dump. Looked like it was put together as an afterthought. Ditto re time since last visit.
St George - Refer Souths Juniors. Are they really losing as much as people say they are? Is Lovelace Watkins going to be there soon? What about Winifrid Atwell? Always stars in the old days. They say they make more money on a Sunday when Saints aren't over the road because the Chinese like to throw their money away in peace.
Cronulla - went there for the last game of 2009. Couldn't get a feed at 5 in the afternoon. More opposition fans than Sharks. On borrowed time. Maybe the re-development will save them. Maybe not.
Penrith - Depressing. No other word comes close.
Balmain old. Mega dump. Smelt of stale piss. Both types.
Newtown old. Went there ia 1981. Magic season. It was what football clubs were supposed to be. Not ever day that you get to see a front rower asleep standing up, head against the wall and todger hanging out. Yes. It was that kind of place.
Parramatta - See Penrith. But cleaner.
West - Don't speak Korean so I can't really help. Looks good from Carton Cresent though. Same time line as Manly and Norths re last visit.
Easts - Looks like something added onto one of those ubiquitous Bondi Junction malls. About as much class as the Bronka arcade (one for the locals)
Queanbeyan - They sold lots of beer and all I remember is staggering into a Raiders after match presentation and being death stared by Dean Lance. I wouldn't recommend it. The death stare that is. Otherwise, please views of the Molonglo drain.
Illawarra - One of the smallest places I have been. It was midweek beer at lunch time so I never saw Rod Wishart and co liven the joint up.
Central Coast - This club to Illawarra is Central Station to Dundas. And about as interesting.
Souths Newcastle. Don't go there after the Boxing Day races. Newcastle isn't the bogan capital of everything not Campbelltown for a reason.
Broncos - Try hard copy of a Leagues Club. Got a death stare there, as well. But Alan Langer isn't as intimidating as Dean Lance. Or my mother in law.
Seagulls - Is this in Dallas. went once, the year Terry Hill played for Souths. Mr Personality with a few beers in him. Is it still going?
Basically, they all very ordinary and the changes in laws, attitudes have not been kind. Along with old father time...
Had a function there so didn't have a choice. Went downstairs for a beer to watch the footy and couldn't wait to get out of there. This was in 2006 thought so not sure if much has changed
Not major changes although they have been working on it over last couple of years.
However, If we get the development approved, the club will be totally redesigned including the major trading level moved to the top floor, a shopping centre / entertainment area attached on the site of the current car park & bottom 2 floors.
Obviously Parramatta, we need to a build another sports bar, ala Sterlo bar or Cumberland lounge. Mind you the Pizza joint is pretty good.
Panthers, every time I go there, always renovations. Like their Pizza joint and a few other bars.
Central Coast leagues is ok, going up there in Feb before the Tigers/Eels trial game. Close to the Stadium and train station which is always handy.
North Qld, went there in 2004 was quite impressed with their set up, had a nice lunch there. Unfortunately too far from the ground, although they did organise free buses to the game.
Manly, Saints, Illawarra, Wests Campbelltown, Ashfield, Balmain, Penrith, Canterbury, Parramatta, Wests Newcastle. The only one I think was a hole was Balmain, I was there for a work thing and the best thing about it was the mints. Thankfully, it's been demolished.
Best cheap feed was Wests Newy. Campbo had a decent Bistro now as well, so it's not as much of a chore to be dragged there by the missus.
Souths Juniors at Kingsford: 9/10 - Great Chinese Restaurant, Quality Bistro, Excellent Sports Bar with many screens.
The old South Sydney Leagues Club at Redfern: 6/10 - Main draw card was the Chinese Restauraunt which was good, the Bistro was cheap but served its purpose. The type of place you'd only go to on game day (Redfern/SFS)
Canterbury Leagues Club: 8.50/10 - Great Chinese, Pricey bistro which was great until they changed some of the menu/meal quality. Excellent Sports Bar/Snooker area.
Wests Ashfield 7/10: Awkward type of club. The Bistro lacks character and no dedicated sports bar
Wests Lumeah 7/10: Good bistro.
St George Leagues Club 6.5/10: Not much to do except punt. Food is okay.
Central Coast Leagues 8/10; Great buffet and bistro. Great location if there was an NRL team there.
Cronulla Leagues 7/10: Food is good, not much else to do.
Manly Leagues 6/10: Needs more character. Shit bistro.
Panthers 9/10: Great choice of food and great recreation/arcade area.
Balmain Leagues 4/10: Seriously why exist?
Parramatta Leagues 7/10: Food is good but pricey.
Easts Leagues 4/10: Why exist?
Wests Newcastle 7/10: Big club, food area reminds me of a shopping centre food court.
NSW Leagues Club 7/10: Good food but just lacks that leagues club feel to it.