Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What s your pass mark for 2016?

Flapper

I think with a few early season wins confidence will get us to the 8, so missing finals again will be a fail for me.

BuffaloRules

My expectations are no worse than 10th.

If they don't achieve this than the season will be a fail in my eyes.

The depth to me looks better this year than last, and if Brooks and Moses can't step up this year than they are never stepping up - no more excuses for them.

Eddie Lab

12-10th is my pass mark. what I really want to see is this club getting it's Fu##ing finances in order. we are no bloody chance of winning shit until we can spend some money on players or keep any of our good ones. I'm hoping that they stop paying players to play on other teams, or cutting contracts short, paying 3 head coaches because we keep firing them and all the other contract bs that we have seen over the last decade.

but lets be real, this is the Tigers.

Magpies Forever

12-10th is my pass mark. what I really want to see is this club getting it's Fu##ing finances in order. we are no bloody chance of winning shit until we can spend some money on players or keep any of our good ones. I'm hoping that they stop paying players to play on other teams, or cutting contracts short, paying 3 head coaches because we keep firing them and all the other contract bs that we have seen over the last decade.

Agree with thought over finances. I am concerned also that the on-going saga of the Balmain Leagues Club and their request for a further extension, may impact on the general WT finances and ability to actively compete on the player market. If no effect, thats fine, if so, we have to make some hard decisions.

Have we anyone on contract after 2017?

Tigerted

We r @ the mercy of the NRL.If we don't get our house in order soon(over the next 12 mths) the NRL will compel us to relocate somewhere else in OZ most likely Perth.

I also can't c Balmain getting out of the monumental mess they are in & just hope that it doesn't adversely affect the future of WT.

betcats

I am not sure how you guys will go as I don't rate Taylor but I am looking forward to seeing how those two young halves perform this season. I feel like there might be quite a bit of improvement.

We r @ the mercy of the NRL.If we don't get our house in order soon(over the next 12 mths) the NRL will compel us to relocate somewhere else in OZ most likely Perth.

I also can't c Balmain getting out of the monumental mess they are in & just hope that it doesn't adversely affect the future of WT.

It won't Ted. Someone will buy them out and they will move on.

macnaz

Did you all see the list of clubs and the money they are losing ?
Weststigers are a long way of the bottom . Ill save it for another thread but i think Wests Clubs need to do more than they are currently doing to get some coin back on the investment they are making.

macnaz

Breakdown of every NRL club’s finances after combined $42.7 million loss in 2015

ALARMING new financial figures revealed from a leaked NRL document show desperate clubs lost a combined total of $42.7 million on the 2015 season.

The Parramatta Eels were the worst off with a football operations loss of a staggering $8 million before they were bailed out by their Leagues Club.

The Penrith Panthers also lost $6.4 million and the Canberra Raiders $5.4 million in a season that saw only three clubs finish the year with a profit.

RABBITOHS — $1.4 million profit

Financially the most successful club in the competition on the back of winning the 2014 premiership and signing up 35,000 members as a result. Membership income is now worth $4.5 million alone. They also have no junior leagues costs because of the thriving Souths Juniors.

BRONCOS — $800,000 profit*

The $800,000 profit is an estimate figure provided to the NRL. As a privately owned company, the official profit will be revealed to shareholders at the end of the financial year. In a much stronger position than the Sydney clubs from having Brisbane to themselves.

*Estimated

WARRIORS — $600,000 profit

Struggled on the football field for much of the year but have a strong membership base and merchandise sales. Also have a huge advantage, similar to Brisbane, of having no competitors and an entire country to themselves.

COWBOYS — $360,000 loss

Won the premiership but still lost $360,000. Employee costs were $2 million more than the previous year. The club also invested heavily on a new high performance unit. Officials expect a stronger 2016 result on increased crowds, membership and NRL grant.

KNIGHTS — $1 million loss

Considering they finished with the wooden spoon, a $1 million loss was an acceptable result. The NRL has to pick up the shortfall as the owner. Losing Wayne Bennett’s salary saved $1 million. Budgeting to break even this year with the increased NRL grants.

WESTS TIGERS $2.1 million loss

The poor financial result matched the team’s performances on the field which resulted in lower gate takings than previous years. Also had to pay out chief executive Grant Mayer. Financial position will be clearer on March 31, with Balmain’s deadline to pay back $5 million for a share of joint venture.

SHARKS — $2.2 million loss

Lost $2.2 million but will be boosted in future years from sales of the Woolooware Bay unit development next to Remondis Stadium. Would have been a worse result but for increased membership. Also didn’t get a major sponsor until late in the season.

The Dragons are announcing a more difficult year in 2016.
DRAGONS — $2.6 million loss

Lost $2.6 million and will get a leagues club grant of only $700,000. Still heavily relying on funding and support from the NRL. Licensed club is now making $5 million profit. Facing a more difficult year because it is the Roosters’ turn to get Anzac Day gate takings.

SEA EAGLES — $2.9 million loss

Lost $2.9 million in a result that reflects on the poor performances of the team. Also had a huge staff turnover and had to pay out the final year of Geoff Toovey’s contract before hiring Trent Barrett. Have to survive with no leagues club support.

TITANS — $3.3 million loss

Finished with a $3.3 million loss which will have to be covered by the NRL until they find a new owner. Crowds were down last year and sponsors were difficult to find because of a number of serious off-field issues. Also still paying for former coach John Cartwright.

BULLDOGS — $3.5 million loss

Absolutely no alarm bells despite a $3.5 million loss by the football club. A grant of more than $4 million from a thriving Canterbury leagues club will actually leave them with a profit. Also did well from the Back to Belmore games.

STORM — $3.8 million loss

On face value a loss of $3.8 million for a club without the support of a Leagues club would be a worrying result. The fact is it’s a much better result than previous years when losses were reported of up towards $7 million.

The Roosters lost $3.9 million in 2015.
ROOSTERS — $3.9 million loss

No wonder veteran chairman Nick Politis has been at the forefront of the campaign to get the clubs extra funding from the new broadcasting deal. The football club lost $3.9 million which is far worse than the $1 million the previous season after they won the premiership.

RAIDERS — $5.4 million loss

It’s been a huge struggle in the national capital as a loss of $5.4 million would indicate. Fortunate to have the support of a strong Queanbeyan Leagues Club. Need better results and better gate takings this season. Also looking to trim costs.

PANTHERS — $6.4 million loss

So much for that five-year plan — they’ve ended up with a $6.4 million loss and failed to make the finals. Had to pay out Ivan Cleary and also have Phil Gould’s salary which is far greater than general managers at other clubs. Losses will be covered by Panthers Leagues Club.

EELS — $8 million loss

It’s hard to put a positive slant on a club that loses $8 million but the Eels spend $2 million on junior and game development.

«*Previous Thread*|*Next Thread*»

The Rosco

Slightly off topic . . . . does anyone know if the trial against the storm will be broadcast in any shape or form ?

BuffaloRules

As we prepare for the last game I thought this would be an interesting bump...

I encourage the regulars to revisit

BrotherJim05

Looking like we might make top 8 is a pass for me.

Not end of the world if we don't make it but we better damn well try

Quoting myself from the start of the year. Credit given where credit is due, JT well done you get a pass mark in my books.

Let's build on this for 2017 and become a force again

sensesmaybenumbed

I'll admit we've exceeded my expectations. I was expecting a finish around 12th, and though consistency has been a big problem, our young players are improving.

They must make the 8 next year.

I'll admit we've exceeded my expectations. I was expecting a finish around 12th, and though consistency has been a big problem, our young players are improving.

They must make the 8 next year.
While I agree with your thoughts, the trouble is, we say this every year and every year we don't make it.

I think we got lucky this year with some other clubs having disastrous seasons, who you wouldn't expect to have.

Agree with Tigerm. Do we look at the table and say how good was that, we could finish 10th, 9th or 8th after this weekends results. On paper 8th is very good and 10th is good. But,
some other clubs having disastrous seasons
the Eels and Chooks had very disruptive seasons and yes that can happen any year but we are taling about 2016. I believe they are both better than the Tigers. Manly were improving also. Those 3 teams alone, I believe will be better next year all things considered. Defense still a very big issue and then we have the Farah thing.

So back to Tigerm, I think we got lucky this year - love to know what the pass mark for the coach is or was.

Ron's_Mate

I said earlier in the season that any team that doesn't make the 8 has to ask some hard questions. It's been the easiest comp in years for any semi decent team to be able to make the finals. The fact that we are still just in contention but only if other results go our way, is not acceptable. Still, I expect Taylor to be there next year & Farah to be gone.

Making the top 8 for me. I reckon our roster is fine. We have a fast backline with plenty of skill assuming Moses and Brooks perform. I also think our pack is fine assuming Sironen and Lawrence perform. We also have some depth now.

I thought this at the start of the year and I still feel that way. Siro isn't there but we've bought in ET and Aloiai has gone well.