Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What to do with Level 3 - Parramatta Leagues Club

That's kind of my point Stags...

How are those other Sydney clubs that also support NRL teams coping financially, if they are further down this ladder of operational success which puts ours 4th?

They aren't making as big losses as we are (I think there was a comparison table posted in a recent newspaper article?), so they must have some different strategies in place, to cope with those same taxes and laws that are all we have heard about from our club's administrators. Some of them must have been getting on with the job...

If some of us were full-time employees of the club or directors, then we'd be able to that research and have the answers, and some knowledge of future plans (beyond pokies). Until then we just have to wait to be told by those who are in that position, I guess...

well some are obviously not contributing as much to their NRL side and juniors than we are, we then need to look at our marketing, sponsorship and membership strategies to our NRL side which is something I and several others have been encouraging for a while.

if we fix that side of it than the leagues club becomes less an issue as we won't need fund the juniors and seniors as much as we have been.

spiderdan

from memory i think we put in 2.5 million...
we should just let the arl take that over. that's a pretty big chunk for us to invest in the future of other nrl clubs. if we aren't going to get some sort of salary cap exemption for developing so much junior talent then we shouldn't pay for it. just my opinion anyway.

well some are obviously not contributing as much to their NRL side and juniors than we are, we then need to look at our marketing, sponsorship and membership strategies to our NRL side which is something I and several others have been encouraging for a while.

if we fix that side of it than the leagues club becomes less an issue as we won't need fund the juniors and seniors as much as we have been.

No sh*t sherlock.

That question was put to Ovo at the meeting I went to and no answer was given, besides "we're looking for ideas. Does anyone have any ideas? That's what I'm here for." :? (not actual quote but gist of comment).
I was appalled to be honest.

spiderdan

when we talk depreciation .... what is depreciating in value? are we talking about property values? or other assets?
value of all assets including property, buildings, etc..... (but not land as apparently it gains value). the thing is that a half decent accountant can make us look better or worse depending on what story it is the club is trying to tell. same goes for any company. if you look through an annual report and look at all the asterisks and footnotes it paints a very different picture to the numbers at face value.

i don't think we are doing nearly as bad as the books show but we still do need to find more sources of profit.

we should just let the arl take that over. that's a pretty big chunk for us to invest in the future of other nrl clubs. if we aren't going to get some sort of salary cap exemption for developing so much junior talent then we shouldn't pay for it. just my opinion anyway.

I completely agree Dan, that we are seriously subsidising the development of junior players for other clubs, and due to Salary Cap restrictions, cannot keep hold of them.
There surely, must be some compensation allowed for in the salary cap for those clubs that develop their own juniors, to give them more chance of keeping them.
I'm sick to death of providing youngens for other clubs, as I'm sure St George and Penrith are as well.

TheRam

No mate we needto tighten our belts and work hard to attract more people into the club.

Mate I am happy to listen to any good suggestions that i can get we have many people out there that are happy to bag us but not many prepared to get in and help.

Ovo, Mate, Pal,

Maybe the reason why there are plenty of people happy(don't thinks so) to bag you is because you guys have resided over a club that used to be one of the most successful leagues clubs in the country in every category, and have managed to some how slowly but surely squander that success to the point that we now are facing some sort of insolvency.

I mean years of massive profits, and what the hell have we got to show for it? A litany of failed ventures that's what. Get real mate, if I were you I would not have the front to face the clubs members no matter how hard I think that I have been working for the club.

Failure is failure. In my opinion the lot of you should step down and give someone else a chance. But as we know self preservation is the most powerful motivator here, not what is best for the club and its members.

Sorry but that's how I feel and just my opinion.

Yodaeel

Ovo, will you take on board the ideas that we spoke about at 2 of the "get togethers" you attended?

Yes I was impressed and will fully support some of those ideas that were discussed at our next board meeting.
Please keep informing me of any new ideas we have out there.
The sad thing is that even with our loss due to changes in the smoking laws the additional tax installed by the Govt last year is $6.3 million.

Ovo, Mate, Pal,

Maybe the reason why there are plenty of people happy(don't thinks so) to bag you is because you guys have resided over a club that used to be one of the most successful leagues clubs in the country in every category, and have managed to some how slowly but surely squander that success to the point that we now are facing some sort of insolvency.

I mean years of massive profits, and what the hell have we got to show for it? A litany of failed ventures that's what. Get real mate, if I were you I would not have the front to face the clubs members no matter how hard I think that I have been working for the club.

Failure is failure. In my opinion the lot of you should step down and give someone else a chance. But as we know self preservation is the most powerful motivator here, not what is best for the club and its members.

Sorry but that's how I feel and just my opinion.

I see parrallels with the former Howard Government.

No sh*t sherlock.

That question was put to Ovo at the meeting I went to and no answer was given, besides "we're looking for ideas. Does anyone have any ideas? That's what I'm here for." :? (not actual quote but gist of comment).
I was appalled to be honest.

wasn't the question put to Ovo about how to improve and attract the amount of patronage at the club or how do we improve the footballing side of it to relieve the funding from the leagues club?

I think we emphasised more on the leagues club than the NRL side of it.

wasn't the question put to Ovo about how to improve and attract the amount of patronage at the club or how do we improve the footballing side of it to relieve the funding from the leagues club?

I think we emphasised more on the leagues club than the NRL side of it.

Both, actually.

spiderdan

Yes I was impressed and will fully support some of those ideas that were discussed at our next board meeting.
Please keep informing me of any new ideas we have out there.
The sad thing is that even with our loss due to changes in the smoking laws the additional tax installed by the Govt last year is $6.3 million.
alan from memory you were saying that the football club grant is roughly that same amount?

surely then common sense says that the football club needs to start to generate its own revenue. a big part of that i believe is to have at least part of the control of the nrl team go to the fc or to have the fc usurped by the lc (the latter is the less attractive option). if the fc didn't need to rely on the lc grant then the lc is more or less breaking even.

i understand that there is an increase in tax on the pokies but they should still be generating profits. unless the cost of tax plus running them equates to 100% of what is collected. as i've mentioned elsewhere i think the club should look at setting up another venue elsewhere. possibly even another state depending on what the pokie laws are. the club should also look at investing in areas outside the club and nsw (as hj also said at the last meeting).

yep - cut the juniors funding massively - tell the NRL they have to deal with it ... save a few million there for starters

seriously - what is it giving us apart from a warm fuzzy feeling?

yep - cut the juniors funding massively - tell the NRL they have to deal with it ... save a few million there for starters

Roosters cut their juniors this year. I know this first hand from my sons club. All junior teams have to raise funds for kit, insurance etc . So basically it's the parents who will pay increased fees to put little Johnny on the field.

spiderdan

yup. give it to the arl. apart from origin and a small number of tests each year i am not sure exactly what the nrl's role is in the current landscape of things. i know they have some input in the nrl but from a purely arl side of things, what do they really do? there's no sense in us funding such a large nursery if we can't cash in on it. these days talent scouts and noel cleal tend to sign promising players at a young age to youth rep sides. we should be doing the same.

alan from memory you were saying that the football club grant is roughly that same amount?

surely then common sense says that the football club needs to start to generate its own revenue. a big part of that i believe is to have at least part of the control of the nrl team go to the fc or to have the fc usurped by the lc (the latter is the less attractive option). if the fc didn't need to rely on the lc grant then the lc is more or less breaking even.

i understand that there is an increase in tax on the pokies but they should still be generating profits. unless the cost of tax plus running them equates to 100% of what is collected. as i've mentioned elsewhere i think the club should look at setting up another venue elsewhere. possibly even another state depending on what the pokie laws are. the club should also look at investing in areas outside the club and nsw (as hj also said at the last meeting).

Pretty hard to raise your own funds as a footy club when the NRL get all revenue on merchandise. :crazy: