Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What's it like sitting on the hills? Also, some fans suck!

For the first ever time, I will be attending tomorrow's game and will be sitting in the Southern Terrace. I have always before sat in the Cronin Stand, and love the view you get.

But I was wondering (n00b question and all) - what is it like to watch the game from behind the try-line? Is it still easy to see what's going on?

T.S Quint

It's great when they're playing up your end of the field.
When they're down the other end though its the worst!

For the first ever time, I will be attending tomorrow's game and will be sitting in the Southern Terrace. I have always before sat in the Cronin Stand, and love the view you get.

But I was wondering (n00b question and all) - what is it like to watch the game from behind the try-line? Is it still easy to see what's going on?

If its the first time there, you'll love the different perspective it brings when watching a game. The opposition side usually warms up that end, make sure you give it to Hodges and co :p

Also you don't really have to turn your head 90 degrees or more every 2 minutes to look at the big screen , as its right ahead

Im pretty sure you will enjoy the change

If its the first time there, you'll love the different perspective it brings when watching a game. The opposition side usually warms up that end, make sure you give it to Hodges and co :p

Also you don't really have to turn your head 90 degrees or more every 2 minutes to look at the big screen , as its right ahead

Im pretty sure you will enjoy the change

Cheers, buddy!

I was at the game last week, and this sweet man in the Cronin Stand got the f**k abused out of him by some bogan piece of white trash NQ fan. It was really upsetting tbh. The guy was loud, but did nothing or said nothing offensive, but this bitch decided to verbally assault him. It was disgusting.

I bleed blue & gold

There were a couple of wanker Cowboys fans who got kicked out of the club after the game, they just started giving it to all us Parra fans out of the blue.

Hero's.

There were a couple of wanker Cowboys fans who got kicked out of the club after the game, they just started giving it to all us Parra fans out of the blue.

Hero's.

Yeah. We were walking down the road, back to our car, disappointed, but swelling with pride, and we were minding our own business - and these three Cowboys fans got in our faces (it was my girlfriend and I only) and started swearing and laughing at us about how much we suck. I just laughed at them and walked off, but really? You're going to try and pick a fight with a guy and his girlfriend after your team won a game?

There are some really scummy supporters of some clubs (and I know we have some ourselves, too).

Cheers, buddy!

I was at the game last week, and this sweet man in the Cronin Stand got the f**k abused out of him by some bogan piece of white trash NQ fan. It was really upsetting tbh. The guy was loud, but did nothing or said nothing offensive, but this bitch decided to verbally assault him. It was disgusting.

Before I am accused of bias by potential Cowboy fans lurkers, 99% of Cowboys fans at the game were perfect fans - really pumped up, but not rude at all.

This man that got abused made one mistake - to support the Eels. Literally, the only things he did all game were:

* chant "tackle, tackle, tackle!" when we were defending;

* stand up and applaud when the team went well;

* cheer when we scored;

* boo the ref when he penalised us.

That's all he did - didn't boo the Cowboys or swear or get aggressive or anything.

And when the Cowboys score the match-winning try, this woman stands up and yells at him, "Up yours, you f**king androtrop! Go f**k ya um, ya f**king tosser! Parra sucks more than youse blow ya mums!" There were kids present, too.

I get really pumped at the footy, but I never swear- families bring their kids to the game for a fun night out, and aggressively rude patrons just ruin it.

^^^^^ Typical Bogan scum, shame every club has them.

Yeah - I was very disappointed.

But on the plus side, the bloke just didn't give her the time of day - he just kept watching the game and enjoying himself.

It was actually really awesome - I thought I was passionate about this team (and I am), but he took it to another level - sitting on his own, not caring if people chant along with him or not. It was magnificent to see.

1 Eyed TEZZA

In the Thornett Stand, during the minute of silence, there was this one woman, obviously drunk who decided to yell out in a thick accent, "go Parramatta" during the minute of silence. Another bloke said to her "shut up you disrespectful bitch". Did the trick. Wasn't even sure what she was doing there. She wasnt wearing any supporter gear and she was on her own.

Later in the night, a Cowboys fan sitting behind us in the corperate boxes was becoming a bit obnoxious but wasn't being anything more than that. And the same Parra fan who told off the woman tried to start a fight with the Cowboys fan. Like seriously mate, grow up. It's a game of footy.

Some people take sport way too seriously.

In the Thornett Stand, during the minute of silence, there was this one woman, obviously drunk who decided to yell out in a thick accent, "go Parramatta" during the minute of silence. Another bloke said to her "shut up you disrespectful bitch". Did the trick. Wasn't even sure what she was doing there. She wasnt wearing any supporter gear and she was on her own.

Later in the night, a Cowboys fan sitting behind us in the corperate boxes was becoming a bit obnoxious but wasn't being anything more than that. And the same Parra fan who told off the woman tried to start a fight with the Cowboys fan. Like seriously mate, grow up. It's a game of footy.

That just it - we all love our team. I love going to watch them play and mingling with fellow fans. But I'm not going to get into a fight over freaking footy.

I love footy and I especially love the Eels, but carrying on like that...It's beneath us all, to be honest.

Alcohol and idiots just don't mix, and nothing pisses me off more than some imbecile yelling out for a minutes silence. How bloody hard is it to shut up for 60 seconds???

I agree, hiney.

I don't want to come across as a massive douche/prude, but why do people go to the footy to get wasted? I go to the footy to watch the footy, not to get wasted.

I agree, hiney.

I don't want to come across as a massive douche/prude, but why do people go to the footy to get wasted? I go to the footy to watch the footy, not to get wasted.
No matter where you go these days, the footy,Cricket even your local. Add alcohol to any situation and dumb people get dumber.

sitting behind the post is different, will take a bit of getting used to so watch some of the 20's game as well. It's great when the play is mostly up your end but when it's down the far end you may as well be home watching on TV.

As for alcohol at the footy, i might have 3 or 4 lights but basically i want to watch the game and remember they tries etc. But some people just get wasted and carry on stupid. It will get to stage where you'll be limited to 4 light beers per person and the 95% drinking responsiably will suffer for the 5% being idiots.