Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Whats your favourite Shark Park moment?

wattsy32

In light of today's decision I'm suffering from a case of nostalgia.

I'm not admitting defeat but the thought of not playing at Shark Park is a bit upsetting, but yes it's sign of the times.

I just want to know what was your best moment watching the classic game at the mighty ground. Whether it was 'Graveyard' Saturday Night or a classic Sunday Afternoon calve up.

Mine would have to be Nick Graham passing it inside to ET for his 300th.

Or against Newcastle I'm thinking about 2001 against Newcastle, Peachey, plucking a pass that O'Davis sent to his winger, and scoring under the stic

spider

noddys game agaisnt newcastle

paul mellor on his destructive run down the western side line to score at the other end

cant remember who the bloke was that got palmed off with each attempt at tackle - lol

Ausguy

oh so many... was at et's 300th as well and the 42-0 half time score against the knights

5 tries from ET against illawarra and souths

ET scoring against canberra and Alan Wilson kicking the goal to win 8-7

a shocking game against knights when day turned to night, worst weather ive ever seen, kick off went backwards

2-2 draw against illawarra on a windy sunday

the pepsi ball...

wally's a wanker....

the old man selling the peanuts... he was at every game every weekend, im not sure how but he was there lol./.. you all know who he is hahaha

Ausguy

paul mellor on his destructive run down the western side line to score at the other end

cant remember who the bloke was that got palmed off with each attempt at tackle - lol

was against the knights, could have been robbie O, mellor palmed off a few on that run

wattsy32

Spider, that one man that Mellor palmed off like a wrecking ball was Newcastle, now Melbourne and NSW winger Anthony Quinn

Barry Russell from the scrum base in 88' scores a try with a few minutes to go, under the posts in a top of the table clash against the Bulldogs.

Steve rogers carving up the Newtown defense in a brilliant solo effort to score under the black dot.

A chant from beer hill against Penrith, when they had lost the game and started to play dirty, resulting in an all in brawl right in front of us "Loooooooseeeers"

Glenn Duffy missing a kick right in front for Balmain, they kick it they win. (My first ever game)

The Newcastle game where we slaughtered them on a sunny Sunday arvo.

I could go on and on and on....

what about any of the whippetts length of the field trys? One of Prestos first games at half back when he turned the season around for the Sharks & just blitzed the Short side time after time.
Kimmorleys getting booed when he came off about $150k into his $2 mil package.

John Maguire turning off Dick Thornetts lights on the north eastern quarter line, I was sitting by yards away from that beautiful right uppercut.

The sharks tearing through the mightiest Souths team ever. Gave them a real flogging - think it was 25 to 5.

Any game featuring the greatest shark of them all - Sir Thomas Bishop.

Ohhh to have one of them right now.

Ray Corcoran and Brian James shaping up for a stink - now that was classic.

Declared Idiot #88

spider

Whippet against Sailor in 2000 down the Western touchline was a classic!
scored in the north western corner

it was doberman on whippet - with the quicker slimline model coming up trumps

but ill give sailor credit - he had some toe back then

DJDL

Some classics mentioned there for sure. My favourite doesn't involve footy though.

It was pre-game at the last game of '94 against the Rabbitohs (the one we won 44-0 and ET scored 5, which should have been 8).

The pre-game entertainment consisted of a procession of the finest vehicles from Greg Ball Automotive doing a lap of the field. So on they come, all these brand-spanking new Holdens of every make. About a dozen all up. Closely followed by some dude in a 1983 Magna, with the kids in the back. I swear he was just driving along Captain Cook drive looking for a park and decided to follow the traffic then ended up on Shark Park :lol:

chiana

1974 Watching Bob Wear score a try against Wests.

Watching Vice Farrar try a chip and chase in the same game.

Bluto

The Peachey try (possibly against Canberra????) where he stepped the entire team, ran around in circles, crossed the field at least twice and almost ran over the dead ball line. Gold!

millersnose

setting eyes of frenzy for the first time and nervously asking reefy 'do you think we will be safe with that guy...he looks like a looney'

then standing next to normally sedate calm dean moriarty as he screamed abuse at the referee

lol and i think the sharks lost that night