Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Whats your preferred arm?

C

CyberKev

Its impossible to be a fair dinkum football tragic and not have to endure (to varying degrees, depending on your team) those dreaded moments when the boys go awol on the paddock, the opposition runs amok, and your new name becomes Henny J Penny as the blackest of cloudy skies comes crashing down on your sorry head!

There are many varied ways in which an aggrieved individual can respond to such occasions and I'm wondering what the preferred anguish reaction mechanisms (arms) of forum members are?

Perhaps you could be the type of loser who takes personal responsibility for any loss suffered by the team... This type of arm demands ruthless masochism and is best exemplified by driving around the seedy neighbourhoods looking for whores... Not just any whores, mind you, as they have to be "professionals" of the most unprofessional kind; guaranteed to charge inflated prices for the right to laugh themselves sick at your trifling willy while you indulge in self abuse to the uncivilised soundtrack of Ozzy Osbourne humping a Tall Boy... That's a tall boy of the furniture variety and not a tall boy of the organic type, assuming that it even makes a difference either way...

Or maybe instead of taking it personally, you prefer instead to take it PERSONALLY... Declaring a jihad on the offending opposition and its scumbag supporters before taking to the angry streets armed with a cache of stainless steel bread & butter knives and a CD player thumping demonically with the strains of bootlegged Simon & Garfunkel...

Then again you could be the mellow type who prefers to fall back on your "comforts"... Until, of course, the realisation dawns that the only comforts worth a toss in such moments are bottles of the Southernvariety... One thing leads to another and in a (decidedly irregular) heartbeat you find yourself awakening in a puddle of vomit... Just in time for the televised morning sports wrap, just in case the fleeting fluids may have somehow erased the previous day's abject humiliation from the memory banks...

Or it could be that you're one of those hopelessly existentialist types who's deluded enough to think that if you walk aimlessly until a natural process evolves starting with the loss of your bearings, leading to the loss of control over your bladder function (its not uncommon to combine this arm with the one above), moving to the loss of your sense of being, escalating to a merciful loss of memory, ensuring that the whole sorry incident never really happened... To wit - in your head you were neverreally there...

Personally, I've partaken in all of the above... With the obvious exception of the first one, as its hardly possible to pull that one off when you're toting a tockley that's eerily reminiscent of the pendulum on a bloody great Grandfather clock... Yeah, that's right, a clock... But I certainly entered disturbingly new arm territory on Saturday arvo (just gone) when I found myself so brutally traumatised by Hawthorn's horrific capitulation that I spend two solid hours cleaning and vacuuming the house... Of my own volition!!!!

Crushing defeat, its perversely inhumane!

CyberKev

J

Johnsy

My way of coping woul be the classic "well it is only a game of football", bordering on pathetic no doubt kev.

Johnsy

C

CyberKev

Johnsy

It is?!! Sounds a little too left wing extremist for my blood, Old Son! I don't want to think that I've been torturing myself repeatedly over the years for something as trifling as a mere game!!!!

Bronco

Ya Johnsy come lately! I've been tormented by those very same thoughts (as with every other long suffering Dragons tragic) for 24 bloody years! I like to see it as a never-ending apprenticeship in the House of Pain, but then again I always have been a bit of a drama queen....

imported_Kaon

In the past the ref certainly came under my gaze but being a Raiders fan, i can't remember what a loss feels like.:)

L

legend

I think about Greg Wolfgramm and I get into a fit of rage and throw plastic cups at the tv. I did this when Wolfgramm cost us the game against Cronulla a few seasons back. I now smile from ear to ear in the warm realisation he is no longer with the club. Finch also gave me some unwanted grey hairs but int he last couple of seasons, I got used to losing by two points every week against lesser sides, so I wold vent my rage here. For reference, click on the Raiders section for evidence. As for this year, well my life expectancy has increased ten fold.

I went through a very brief period where I would get on the internet and rage about the injustice of it all, but I quickly found that all that does is bring out the hoards who want to dance on your grave.

I now start worrying about the next game immediately, and put a loss down to experience.

El Duque

When I watch footy I tend to swear a lot and if the Ref is a complete idiot I start throwing T.V. controls or whatever else is close by.

I've usually got the shits whether we win or lose as I can't stand Refs.

El Duque

Kelvin Jeffes owes me a stereo control after that game we had against the Drought a few years ago.

He will never be forgiven by me for that performance.

Having been a long suffering St George supporter, I have to say that I've seen the glorious heights and the pitiful lows.

I came to the conclusion that ups and downs do happen and when we lose, I usually just mope about a bit and soon get over it... it depends on the severity of the loss. But its not always that way.

The1999 grand final was won by default by the other mob and I have to say it knocked me about quite a lot. At the beginning of the1999 season, I was watching TV and abusing the referee... I lashed out and broke my toe on the coffee table after a bad call ensured a Saints loss - So you can but imagine the anguish that followed me into the 1999 off-season after Billy committed highway robbery and stole the premiership out from under our noses... (yes, thats right, I'm still holding a grudge).

I was told by concerned family members that I took my footy too seriously.
So I tried, really tried to contain myself. But just when I thought I got things back in order, I again found myself yelling at the refand cheering the lads on. And just a few weeks ago when Saints scored a winning try in the final seconds to beat Parra, I jumped up and caught my elbow on a corner... it took me five minutes to realise that blood was pouring down my arm. It was pleasing to see that the madness had come back with a vengeance.

In any case, Iused to think you'd have to have a heart as big as Pharlap's to be a Saints supporter. But I only have to look at Souths and the Sharks to realise that we don't have it so bad after all. And then there are those poor buggers like Balmain, Norths and Newtown supporters that have to be content with loathing the entire NRL competition... no thanks, I'll stick with Saints.

P

pepe

i'm the quiet type who suffers in silence,only occasionally will i lash out,one such experience was the 7-6 grand final loss to the dogs in 86.

my brothers mate walked in at the wrong time and asked what i was doing watching this rubbish,well i gave him a spray but it did'nt helpas the pain did'nt subdue,my mind kept flickering back to the2nd semi final victory over the dogs and thinking how wecould havelost after completely dominating them all over the park 2 weeks prior,the only thing worse would have been the 99'' grand final but thankgod i was supporting the victors then;).

pepe

A method I use is tip the other team in the tipping contests.

You take some small comfort when they lose.

Granted there are many flaws with this method. If your team wins - you spend all week regretting this method, and occaisionally I stray from the method (like when we played Manly at WIN this season) and spend a week in a deep depression.

When confronted by this situation, the only solutions is some Pan pharmaceutical products and enjoy the trip