Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Where are you if your not in the St George area. How far have we spread?

nrlnrl

More market research jasper?

Or is it a school project?

sounds like a club marketing research project

the next thread should be - would you attend more games if the NRL team appointed a new coach ( not currently on the coaching staff )

I posted on the other thread but this one is more appropriate.
As the name suggests i'm in Bourke NSW. Previously lived in the gong and would attend all home games. I exchanged the yellow sand of North Wollongong beach for the red sand and brown snakes on the banks of the Darling.
I miss being able to wander into town to go to the game....

Weipa Dragon

Like back Of Burke the name says it all. Was once a steelers man from port kembla. A good crew of cape yorkers that love their dragons and we really love them. The old schoolers say we should hate cronulla or bulldogs but up here we all hate the broncos. As much as we had a bad year it brought a smile to see the donkeys miss the eight. Dragons are a solid second team for a lot of the indigenous locals. Cowboys first for a lot. We will be back.

Intriguing. So it'd be safe to say that South East QLD is predominately made up of Broncos fans first, and Saints/Titans fans second. Makes me wonder why, despite our fame and aura.
There's not that many Broncos fans on the Gold Coast. There'd be more Saints fans than Broncos fans. In fact, I think it's fair to say that the Broncos are hated on the Gold Coast. That's partly due to what happened with Super League, when the Gold Coast got the flick and the Broncos were delivered the SE Qld franchise for 5 years by the NRL.

Depending on where you are, the two cities are 100-200 kms apart. The divide is even wider in terms of attitudes. Never get Bris and GC mixed up. lol.

Like back Of Burke the name says it all. Was once a steelers man from port kembla. A good crew of cape yorkers that love their dragons and we really love them. The old schoolers say we should hate cronulla or bulldogs but up here we all hate the broncos. As much as we had a bad year it brought a smile to see the donkeys miss the eight. Dragons are a solid second team for a lot of the indigenous locals. Cowboys first for a lot. We will be back.

I train with Vito Gaudiosi old Port boy.
Currently in Kanahooka

Perth. Originally from SE Qld then over 20 years in NT before moving west 8 years ago. Have now converted daughters bf from AFL to following Dragons, though this may actually be the daughters doing. something like change codes or rack off. Attend all NRL games played here.

brissiedragon

Born and raised in Helensburgh. Moved to Brighton le Sands around 1980 for work. Used to stand on the hill near the scoreboard for many many home games in the early 80's and used to go to the other Sydney metro games where STG was playing (Leichhardt, Lidcombe etc)
Moved to Brisbane in '85 and try to get to the Showpony games against the Dragons when I can,
Came to Sydney and saw the magnificient 2010 GF win by the boys.

I believe I can die a happy man!

Brissie

redbreed

Born and raised in Bathurst. Moved to Brisbane about 13 years ago and live at Margate on the redcliffe peninsula. Whole family support the dragons and try to go to all the Dragon v donkey games. Been a member a few times depending on financial situation (have 5 kids so it gets a bit expensive).

Jimmy and his beloved poodle still drop by to spar his young blokes with ours.

Champion bloke and a very handy trainer.

That he is. Had a laugh when i saw him on that secret millionaire show! i haven't spoken to him for a while as I haven't been home. I Still keep in touch with a few guys I used to train with down there.

juanfarkall

South East Qld.

FWIW, I would say that if you compared the number of Bronco supporters in Qld to those who support any other club, the Broncos would have less than 40% of supporters overall.
If you looked at the numbers for those 40 or over, the Broncos hate grows steeply.

One of the greatest Saints fans I have ever met was just a few weeks ago in Longreach. Needed a haircut and stopped in at a place down an arcade named Gaby's. Sat down in the chair only to see a framed and signed Jersey from the early 2000's. Old mate Gaby is an absolute champion and proudly told me how his son had gone to school with the son of a Saints player. Spoke about all things Saints for ages and perhaps if I did not have an appointment with a client, I might have been there for hours.
I can heartily recommend to any who visits Longreach to stop in at Gaby's

saint.nick

South East Qld.

FWIW, I would say that if you compared the number of Bronco supporters in Qld to those who support any other club, the Broncos would have less than 40% of supporters overall.
If you looked at the numbers for those 40 or over, the Broncos hate grows steeply.

One of the greatest Saints fans I have ever met was just a few weeks ago in Longreach. Needed a haircut and stopped in at a place down an arcade named Gaby's. Sat down in the chair only to see a framed and signed Jersey from the early 2000's. Old mate Gaby is an absolute champion and proudly told me how his son had gone to school with the son of a Saints player. Spoke about all things Saints for ages and perhaps if I did not have an appointment with a client, I might have been there for hours.
I can heartily recommend to any who visits Longreach to stop in at Gaby's

Apart from Broncos/Titans, who has the most fans in SE QLD, based on your objective observations?

juanfarkall

Apart from Broncos/Titans, who has the most fans in SE QLD, based on your objective observations?

A little hard to say objectively as I only attend our games against those grubby f**king frauds.

From memory, on the basis of attendances against aforementioned frauds us, Parra, Manly and Tigers. Storm seem to have a decent following as do Souff$ but in my experience many Souff$ fans switched to the Broncs and have only switched back since Rusty bought them enough outsiders to become competitive.

On the basis of seeing jersey/hats, Parra, us, Manly, Roosters and Souff$ although the Roosters and Souff$ stuff is only on display when they are contenders.

For some perverse reason, I am more inclined to wear a jersey after we have been beaten.

saint.nick

Parra is very surprising. It's not like they've had a recent spell of success to develop and sustain a bandwagon. Manly is not surprising because they've jumped on their bandwagon. When I went to rebel sport in Melbourne, they only had 5 different jerseys in the NRL section. They were Melbourne, Saints, Dogs, Souths...can't remember the other one. You know your support base is strong, when despite there only being room for about 5 jerseys in the AFL dominated store, your super struggling team still gets some stock space.

saint.nick

And from memory while watching on tv in years gone by, I think dragons take the cake when it comes to away crowd attendances in SE QLD. GC this year was like our home game, and Saints and Broncos always get big above average crowds.

Jubileeboy

A little hard to say objectively as I only attend our games against those grubby f**king frauds.

From memory, on the basis of attendances against aforementioned frauds us, Parra, Manly and Tigers. Storm seem to have a decent following as do Souff$ but in my experience many Souff$ fans switched to the Broncs and have only switched back since Rusty bought them enough outsiders to become competitive.

On the basis of seeing jersey/hats, Parra, us, Manly, Roosters and Souff$ although the Roosters and Souff$ stuff is only on display when they are contenders.

For some perverse reason, I am more inclined to wear a jersey after we have been beaten.

You're right Juan. Parra has a heap of supporters up here....not sure why?
I reckon every 3rd league follower living here dislikes the Broncos, yet you keep hearing about one team towns, great support...blah, blah, blah. Broncos have more detractors than followers.
Outside of the Broncos/ Titans, I would say:
Cowboys, Parra/Dragons, Storm, Roosters

The Preacher

Born in Coogee, moved to East Hills in '61 and back there now after 5yrs in NT and 8.5yrs in Kingaroy Qld. (home of Matt Ballin & Chris McQueen).
Fell in love with Saints after the '65 GF where I was one of 78,056 official fans at the game.