Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

where does oztag stand?

HHH

Hey guys just a quick question, why dont we as a sport count oztag in our particaipation rates.
i know techinically its not rugby league, but i just about as close as you get without the collisions.

The afl count oz kick which is complete rubbish and kids cricket is a modified game as well.

I play in the a monday and wednesday comp where there on average 10 players a team by 10 teams a division by about 3 male divisons, a mixed divison and a womens comp. This probably goes on in many dozens of comps right round NSW and QLD.

Plus the fact that the are heaps of kids comps goin round and it a wonder why the league doesnt jump in a push this thing even further. They dont play it because it close to union, but cause it the closest thing to league.

***MH***

Add to that, soccer include futsal under their umbrella. League should be able to incorporate oztag and touch footy under their numbers.

I could be wrong, but I don't think that rugby league can count Touch Football and OZTAG in participation rates as they don't invest any money towards either at grassroot level and they both have their own bodies so technically Touch and OZTAG are officially different sports to RL. Whereas Auskick is actually run and funded by the AFL.

dimitri

completely agree with the above

i know afl have a tag comp too - and im sure they count those numbers in participation rates.

Lockyer4President!

Sean started a thread on this and it ended up being quite a read. Will be interesting to see if any of the money we land in the new media deal is sent towards OzTag/Touch organisations to try and bring them under the ARL’s umbrella.

The CRL runs League Tag in several parts of NSW for women and girls. But Oztag is trying to stop them with legal action. Pretty rude consiering oztag is just a rip off (no pun intended) of RL to begin with. We should sue them if anything. If they are unsuucessful we should roll it out across the country and use it as a development tool for RL.

Springs

Considering touch and oztag were created/inspired by Rugby League we should have a claim to use them in participation numbers.
Every club in Group 20 has a League Tag team so I guess they are counted in official numbers. It used to be called oztag when it first came in as well.

rooster25

The NRL\ARL really stuffed up on this issue.The creater of oztag is an ex rugby league player(forgot his name) who went to the league telling them of his idea and how its the best way to get young kids and girls into rugby league and that it will grow junior numbers meaning more money from the government and in time will be a huge concept.All he wanted was money to put into his idea and the concept was to be called Leaguetag, however in one of the NRL\ARL s huge mistakes said thanks but no thanks and why the name change to oztag.
This was a huge mistake as oztag is huge all over Australia,New Zealand etc and was the best way of getting league into all primary schools throughout Australia and spreading the game overseas before introducing full rugby league.
I know it will cost huge amounts of money but i still think Rugby league could look at buying out oztag and getting it into the rugby league program.Apart from the benifits of getting rugby league into all schools through this,The government funding through increased juniors and participation would be much greater

Hey guys just a quick question, why dont we as a sport count oztag in our particaipation rates.
i know techinically its not rugby league, but i just about as close as you get without the collisions.

The afl count oz kick which is complete rubbish and kids cricket is a modified game as well.

I play in the a monday and wednesday comp where there on average 10 players a team by 10 teams a division by about 3 male divisons, a mixed divison and a womens comp. This probably goes on in many dozens of comps right round NSW and QLD.

Plus the fact that the are heaps of kids comps goin round and it a wonder why the league doesnt jump in a push this thing even further. They dont play it because it close to union, but cause it the closest thing to league.

I stopped reading here and rolled my eyes.

Thomas

Oztag are a separate sport from rugby league. Sure, it basically is rugby league without the hits but they are a separate sport with their own governing body etc. Rugby league missed the boat years ago to jump on board the Oztag ship.

The question is, would Oztag really want to be associated with rugby league? They have more players across Australia and have infiltration into non-RL areas and have great comps for men, women and mixed teams. What would they gain out of Rugby League tagging along? The only reason I can see rugby league wanting to join with Oztag is to say to Aussie Rules that they have "loads of peoplez playing rugby league now! ZOMFG!"

I reckon there the overwhelming majority of people who play Oztag have never played contact rugby league and never will.

Thomas

The CRL runs League Tag in several parts of NSW for women and girls. But Oztag is trying to stop them with legal action. Pretty rude consiering oztag is just a rip off (no pun intended) of RL to begin with. We should sue them if anything. If they are unsuucessful we should roll it out across the country and use it as a development tool for RL.

Yeah. That'd be a good look. Don't you work in development? FFS...

Red'n'White

The creater of oztag is an ex rugby league player(forgot his name) QUOTE]

That would be Perry Haddock. He was my PE teacher in high school and we use to play it at lunch time. I think we were a test case for the game in Australia. I should contact him and get my cut for the development of the game...lol...

yep Perry pinched the velcro tag concept after seeing NFL players using them in training on a trip to the USA.

Good on him I say.

It is not rugby league....same at touch is not rugby league.

netball is not basketball either.

Rugby league is sh*t scared of any game taking players away from it so I doubt they would give any money to it.

I also doubt Oztag could care less.

Yeah. That'd be a good look. Don't you work in development? FFS...
The point was that they have a bit of cheek suing us considering their game is a rip-off of ours.

Oztag is a business. It is sold in franchises. That's what they are trying to defend. We are just trying to promote RL, not make cash.

babyg

The point was that they have a bit of cheek suing us considering their game is a rip-off of ours.

Oztag is a business. It is sold in franchises. That's what they are trying to defend. We are just trying to promote RL, not make cash.

Probably too late to buy the game but the NRL should be looking at sponsoring the Oztag leagues and strengthening links to it. There is still plenty of reason for ARL development officers to use Leaguetag, touch, or toughrugbyleague to teach rugby league concepts at schools etc. The NRL could easily start up a nationwide schools tournament in any of those variations. The more carnivals the better.

Thomas

Oh I understand where you are coming from. I just think it is too late. What does Oztag gain from a partnership with RL?

I don't give a toss what Oztag wants or thinks. We have LeagueTag. We can expand that to the point where it does the job we want it to do.