Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Where is everyone?

H

hutch

I know a lot of people are posting over at Front Row forums, but why is nobody posting here anymore? It is very sad that there have been only 7 posts since last Friday. What is going on? Moffo, Legend, anyone. Start something good, like a crusade on another message board like the good old days

Sorry Hutch but the success of The Front Row has led to a major drop in posts at LWOS.
It may be that someone will give LWOS a push along but for the moment running one forum is enough work. I hope to LWOS pick up again one day.

Nevertheless, LWOS has a link at TFR and LWOS is still here for looking over should anyone want to read some of the oldthreads. Feel free to be part of TFR... it's the people who make up the community afterall

imported_kier

I keep looking in here most days - unfortunately I haven't much time to post on any forums atm (I've just found out I get charged for using the internet at work!!!! can you believe it!!!).

I hope things keep ticking over here though.

Hand in your badges boys.

If the management of this forum aren't committed enough to post here even occasionally it'd be better off without a team at all. Part of the reason for becoming a Manager or an AM is a commitment to helping things move along when the going gets a bit rough. All you guys have done when the forum slowed to a trickle is deserted it.

I can smell the disappointment of people who used to regularly read this forum coming in these days and finding a ghost community.

Starting to smell like the old WORL where people hold onto their status without contributing.

Don't make me start up on your sorry arses. Don't make me come over to Front Row against my will and make the dope you have moderating the Wests board cry. Don't make me find a cute picture and a witty saying, I'd really hate to have to do that.

Legend, this Forum bears your nickname and you've posted once this month? What's the deal Neil?

I hope the Front Row is a success for whoever needs it but don't just throw the towel in here because it got a bit too hard.

Go the Gumbies!

Javaman

I can smell the disappointment of people who used to regularly read this forum coming in these days and finding a ghost community.
This statement identifies me to a tee. There's too many great discussions here to let it wither away. But nobody seems to care anymore. That saddens me. I was never a frequent poster, but tried to give my all whenever I found the time to post.
I don't see things changing anytime soon, so I'll quitely move along.
Thanks for the fond memories LWOS.
Good-bye and good-luck in your future journeys:--from Javaman
embeer.gif

Boys,

This forum never survived on the odd visit from contributors.The success of LWOS cannot be attributed to the Boxing section or theNRL section or the Controversy Corner section.

LWOS was a sum of its parts and in that, we had a community. It was started by a handfull of people... I mean it - you could count us on one hand. We worked our f**ken rings off to get the place noticed and in that, we had to be the butlers of the forum. I know this more than anyone.

We worked against a background of being black listed by the biggest RL forum in the land and we were as subtle as hellfire in getting our message across. It turned into a fulltime effort and we enjoyed it.

LWOS has now been going for 2 years and it's been great - but the people who contributed have moved onto greener pastures. It's up to you guys if you want to follow through.

Javaman, there is a Boxing section at TFR which you are more than welcomed to contribute to. El Duque is the moderator there.

EA... Lets call a spade a spade, shall we? Its up to you what you want to do. I'll gladly 'hand in my badge' if you're willing to take it up. There you go son. LWOS needs a new butler to look after your 'sorry arse'. I've laid down the challenge. Are you willing to back this comment up or are you just another whinger?

"Starting to smell like the old WORL where people hold onto their status without contributing."
I know your aim is to hand out insults... let me say , you've just succeeded.

"Don't make me come over to Front Row against my will and make the dope you have moderating the Wests board cry. Don't make me find a cute picture and a witty saying, I'd really hate to have to do that."
For f**ks sake, who is making you do anything against your will....?
Diplomacy was never your strong point but don't start being a dumb shit. It's forum thang mate... holding grudges will kill you in real life.

"I hope the Front Row is a success for whoever needs it but don't just throw the towel in here because it got a bit too hard."
Thanks. It is afterall the people and not the software that makes up a community right?
No one has thrown in the towel. Where I come from, we know the difference between givers and takers.

You do know that was mistake, don't you Willow?

Let me preface my reply with a sentence that will put things into perspective in my opinion.

Willow, up until you posted a couple of times yesterday, you had posted more times in the last couple of weeks in WORL than you had at LWOS.

Boys,

This forum never survived on the odd visit from contributors.The success of LWOS cannot be attributed to the Boxing section or theNRL section or the Controversy Corner section.

No. But part of it's success was from part time contributors. Blokes like Javaman, Raging Bulldog and others. Even when those people weren't posting, most of them were still thought of. How many times did you or one of your cronies say "I wish such and such would give us their opinion". Invariably that person would turn up. Raging Bulldog of course, was one of the dumbarses that we had a laugh about. But he was no less important than anyone else.

If it was just you 20 or so people that made up the nucleus of LWOS, this place would have never got off the ground and without you, it has died. It's the same in 99% of communities, take away the nucleus and there's nothing left.

It was the sheer determination to prove MattO wrong that helped you get LWOS going to where it was a couple of weeks ago.

LWOS was a sum of its parts and in that, we had a community. It was started by a handfull of people... I mean it - you could count us on one hand. We worked our f**ken rings off to get the place noticed and in that, we had to be the butlers of the forum. I know this more than anyone.

So? Does everyone else owe you something now? Is that what this is about?

Or did someone threaten you with violence if you didn't get LWOS going? You really sound like you think you're owed something.

Are you going to be the Butlers of The Front Row?

We worked against a background of being black listed by the biggest RL forum in the land and we were as subtle as hellfire in getting our message across. It turned into a fulltime effort and we enjoyed it.

Blacklisted? LOL

You guys decided that WORL was run by a bunch of wankers. You were right. You then decided to start your own forum, right again. I happen to have been a part of a similar scenario. Actually, a very similar scenario.

LWOS has now been going for 2 years and it's been great - but the people who contributed have moved onto greener pastures. It's up to you guys if you want to follow through.

Actually, with the constant badgering about LU and TFR, I'd consider that they've been spammed away more than anything.

Javaman, there is a Boxing section at TFR which you are more than welcomed to contribute to. El Duque is the moderator there.

It <u>always</u> ends up there. You've been like a broken record for weeks.

EA... Lets call a spade a spade, shall we? Its up to you what you want to do. I'll gladly 'hand in my badge' if you're willing to take it up. There you go son. LWOS needs a new butler to look after your 'sorry arse'. I've laid down the challenge. Are you willing to back this comment up or are you just another whinger?

Sure, I'll take the place over. you and every other non contributing Manager/AM hand in your badge and I'll run the place. I will give you a guarantee that I will not remove any old threads, posting or any of the TFR/LU links. But, the first thing I'll do is change the rules about banning and ban oneye. This community is too good to let slide down the gurgler and I'm pissed off that you <u>chose</u> to let that happen.

"Starting to smell like the old WORL where people hold onto their status without contributing."
I know your aim is to hand out insults... let me say , you've just succeeded.

It was meant to succeed. Look at the list of people at WORL who have management status and tell me that LWOS isn't the same right now. Right this very minute, you guys are no better than the people you were pissed off at two odd years ago.

"Don't make me come over to Front Row against my will and make the dope you have moderating the Wests board cry. Don't make me find a cute picture and a witty saying, I'd really hate to have to do that."
For f**ks sake, who is making you do anything against your will....?

I wouldn't go there if you shoved a shotgun up my clacker and threatened to fire it. The sentence was meant to get the repsonse that it got. At least you're still somewhat passionate about LWOS.

But, I would go there before I'd go to rleague.

Diplomacy was never your strong point but don't start being a dumb shit. It's forum thang mate... holding grudges will kill you in real life.

No, I'm not very diplomatic, but you must admit that in certain cases, I am able to be diplomatic. I fond that in communities, not being diplomatic generally saves time.

I dislike certain people but it never turns into a grudge. The only person I have no time for is oneye.

"I hope the Front Row is a success for whoever needs it but don't just throw the towel in here because it got a bit too hard."
Thanks. It is afterall the people and not the software that makes up a community right?
No one has thrown in the towel. Where I come from, we know the difference between givers and takers.

You've thrown the LWOS towel in mate, so have about 20 others. I'm ashamed of each and every one of you. I liked you all, there wasn't a person involved with running this place that I didn't like and I thought I gave you all the respect you deserved.

I'll just keep doing that, giving you the respect I think you deserve.

Don't bother trying to justify the decision any more. And don't bother trying to say that it wasn't a decision to move, everyone knows it was a conscience dicision to let LWOS die in favour of TFR.

And, don't talk to me about giving and taking. Do you think I get paid to post? Do MSN make money from advertisers based on the hit meter that I help go up? f**king oath they do, but I don't care. I'm not in it for the money, I'm not in it for anything other than I enjoy it. You've made into something else for yourself, that's your fault.

Piss off and hand it over. If I can't make a go of it, I'll hand it back and you can log in every now and then, hit the "Back one month" button repeatedly and play "Memories" by Barbra Streisand to your hearts content, knowing that you did the right thing.

LOL... Why? If you've you've got tickets on yourself mate, thats fine. But I'm not that easily impressed.

Willow, up until you posted a couple of times yesterday, you had posted more times in the last couple of weeks in WORL than you had at LWOS.
And how is your business where I make my posts? Are you counting my posts now? Kind of creepy if you ask me.

No. But part of it's success was from part time contributors. Blokes like Javaman, Raging Bulldog and others. Even when those people weren't posting, most of them were still thought of.
Read what I said again and think about it. I said that LWOS was a sum of its parts.

It was the sheer determination to prove MattO wrong that helped you get LWOS going to where it was a couple of weeks ago.
Nope. LWOS was set up as an alternative to WORL but after that it took on a life of it's own and had nothing to do with proving anyone wrong. Sure, we were black listed by the looney but in no way was this the fuel for our determination. Just as we are doing now at TFR, wehave always been more interested in creating a community where people can have discussions... pretty simple really.

Nope again. I never said that and never thought that. Anyone who expects gratitude for doing what they enjoy is a wanker imo. I don't think you've understood anything at all if that's what you think.

Actually, with the constant badgering about LU and TFR, I'd consider that they've been spammed away more than anything.... It <u>always</u> ends up there. You've been like a broken record for weeks.
Oh right, so we're not allowed to tell people where we've moved to. Its a stupid comment to say that we are spamming our own forum on our other own forum. How else are people going to know if we don't advertise it? Or is this another case of you telling people when and where they should make their posts?

You've thrown the LWOS towel in mate, so have about 20 others. I'm ashamed of each and every one of you.
There you go... we now have to care what you think again. I don't give a rats arse if you're ashamed of me or anyone. Get a grip... do you really think anyone cares about your opinion of them?

And, don't talk to me about giving and taking. Do you think I get paid to post? Do MSN make money from advertisers based on the hit meter that I help go up? f**king oath they do, but I don't care. I'm not in it for the money, I'm not in it for anything other than I enjoy it. You've made into something else for yourself, that's your fault.
Not sure what all that was about but I'll talk to you about whatever I like.. you don't have to read it. It's clear that you think this is all about pinning blame on someone. Ofcourse no one gets paid for posting... none of us do. Its interesting that you mention MSN making money out of this forum. Its also true that they can pull the plug on this place anytime they like. We have no control over that. Who's to know when MSN groups will no longer become commercially viable and they decide to shut it down - the point being that nothing lasts forever and none of us will having this discussion in two years time.

As for telling me to piss off, blow it out your arse. If you want to see LWOS succeed, then you don't have to be moderator. It's never been about carrying a big stick, its been about discussion... preferably of a constructive nature. This is something that you don't do much of. There's nothing stopping you kicking off your own forum with your own set of dos and don'ts. But if you want to make a go of it in LWOS, then stop whinging and start up some real discussions.

I reiterate that none of us are in much of a position to dictate terms as to where people should post and shouldn't post. Suffice to say, you're disappointed and want the world to know about it and I understand that. Perhaps I should have been more tactful but that wouldn't have gone down well either. Good luck.

LOL... Why? If you've you've got tickets on yourself mate, thats fine. But I'm not that easily impressed.

What? You got a bait posting and replied? I wouldn't have in your position. You had nothing to gain.

And how is your business where I make my posts? Are you counting my posts now? Kind of creepy if you ask me.

Yep, I clicked on your nic here once and there once, I'm stalking you. Get a grip.

No. But part of it's success was from part time contributors. Blokes like Javaman, Raging Bulldog and others. Even when those people weren't posting, most of them were still thought of.
Read what I said again and think about it. I said that LWOS was a sum of its parts.

Oh, I read it all right. What you said in a round about way is that the sometime posters didn't matter. You were wrong. You picked out that part of your paragraph that wasn't what I replied to.

Nope. LWOS was set up as an alternative to WORL but after that it took on a life of it's own and had nothing to do with proving anyone wrong. Sure, we were black listed by the looney but in no way was this the fuel for our determination. Just as we are doing now at TFR, wehave always been more interested in creating a community where people can have discussions... pretty simple really.

Nope. You did it to get away from MattO and revenge was always part of the agenda. He is mentioned regularly at LWOS and has been ever since I first laid eyes on the place. I believe that LU is part of that revenge as well. There are some people who won't rest until they've proved they are better than him in every way. LWOS v WORL, LU v rleague. I don't know about anyone else, but there is a certain sameness about it....

Nope again. I never said that and never thought that. Anyone who expects gratitude for doing what they enjoy is a wanker imo. I don't think you've understood anything at all if that's what you think.

You sound like you expect something. You said you guys were butlers, that's a pretty simple way of saying that the other posters in your community needed their arses wiped for them. In your opinion.

Actually, with the constant badgering about LU and TFR, I'd consider that they've been spammed away more than anything.... It <u>always</u> ends up there. You've been like a broken record for weeks.
Oh right, so we're not allowed to tell people where we've moved to. Its a stupid comment to say that we are spamming our own forum on our other own forum. How else are people going to know if we don't advertise it? Or is this another case of you telling people when and where they should make their posts?

Nah, post where you like.

The point, if I may explain it is that you and your mates deliberately abandoned LWOS for TFR. It's ok to admit it. But don't just hang onto it, do the right thing and give it away to someone who would like to see it survive. I don't care if it's me or someone else.

You've thrown the LWOS towel in mate, so have about 20 others. I'm ashamed of each and every one of you.
There you go... we now have to care what you think again. I don't give a rats arse if you're ashamed of me or anyone. Get a grip... do you really think anyone cares about your opinion of them?

If you didn't care what I thought, you wouldn't have replied in the first place. Don't bullshit a bullshitter.

Not sure what all that was about but I'll talk to you about whatever I like.. you don't have to read it. It's clear that you think this is all about pinning blame on someone. Ofcourse no one gets paid for posting... none of us do. Its interesting that you mention MSN making money out of this forum. Its also true that they can pull the plug on this place anytime they like. We have no control over that. Who's to know when MSN groups will no longer become commercially viable and they decide to shut it down - the point being that nothing lasts forever and none of us will having this discussion in two years time.

As for telling me to piss off, blow it out your arse. If you want to see LWOS succeed, then you don't have to be moderator. It's never been about carrying a big stick, its been about discussion... preferably of a constructive nature. This is something that you don't do much of. There's nothing stopping you kicking off your own forum with your own set of dos and don'ts. But if you want to make a go of it in LWOS, then stop whinging and start up some real discussions.

So you're withdrawing your offer?

As I see it, you made the offer to hand over control to someone who has given the commitment to trying to help LWOS go forward. Then you withdrew the offer.

Not from Wales are you?

I reiterate that none of us are in much of a position to dictate terms as to where people should post and shouldn't post. Suffice to say, you're disappointed and want the world to know about it and I understand that. Perhaps I should have been more tactful but that wouldn't have gone down well either. Good luck.

Don't overrate the importance of this and don't make it more complicated than it is. It's simple.

1. You and your boys made a conscious decision to move to TFR because you have a vested interest in LU working. Probably monetary.

2. That decision to move to TFR rang the death knell at LWOS.

3. Your only offer to make a go of LWOS was withdrawn because you were told to piss off.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

C

CanadianSteve

So far I have EA ahead on points, but then I'm biased.

I'd like to try to comment on the previous exchange without cutting and pasting. Willow, you did sound like you were saying, IMO, that the infrequent posters weren't important to the success of LWOS. When pressed, you tend to fall back on the point that you and a few others did all the work here and kept it going (as you are now doing at TFR instead).

Here is the managers' list:

<table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=2 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr class=ThmBgStandard> <td nowrap align=left>El Duque</td> <td align=middle>manager</td> <td align=right></td></tr> <tr class=ThmBgAlternate> <td nowrap align=left>legend</td> <td align=middle>manager</td> <td align=right></td></tr> <tr class=ThmBgStandard> <td nowrap align=left>MFC</td> <td align=middle>manager</td> <td align=right></td></tr> <tr class=ThmBgAlternate> <td nowrap align=left>ozbash</td> <td align=middle>manager</td> <td align=right></td></tr> <tr class=ThmBgStandard> <td nowrap align=left>Roopy</td> <td align=middle>manager</td> <td align=right></td></tr> <tr class=ThmBgAlternate> <td nowrap align=left>Willow</td> <td align=middle>manager</td> <td align=right></td></tr> <tr class=ThmBgStandard> <td nowrap align=left>bronco</td> <td align=middle>asst manager</td> <td align=right></td></tr> <tr class=ThmBgAlternate> <td nowrap align=left>eels fan...</td> <td align=middle>asst manager</td> <td align=right></td></tr> <tr class=ThmBgStandard> <td nowrap align=left>SpaceMonkey</td> <td align=middle> asst manager</td></tr></tbody></table>
All are good guys. All have chosen to move to TFR, or become inactive here, as far as I know. I think the crux of the situation has come out in the argument between Willow and EA - that the above managers and some other regular posters were what made LWOS go. Most of these have left and so LWOS has lost much of its life. Some hangers-on, or less frequent (but still important) posters, don't like it much because we preferred this community. So, what next. It's clear the "old gang" isn't coming back. But it would be good if LWOS can bounce back. Can that happen if the above managers are still in those positions? Or does it need new managers to get things going again? If so, who should they be? Willow, these decisions are up to you and the other managers, of course. I believe you want LWOS to survive. I think you and some of the other managers should stay on to retain the institutional memory, but appoint some new AM(s) who would try to get things moving again. So far EA is the only one who's put his hand up. I'd say give him a try. EA, when you quit TFS for a while weeks ago, some there encouraged you to start your own forum. I never thought I'd be saying this, but I hope you can give it a go.

Oh, I read it all right. What you said in a round about way is that the sometime posters didn't matter. You were wrong. You picked out that part of your paragraph that wasn't what I replied to.
LOL, so now you know what I'm thinking as well. If you think I'm of the opinion that some people are less important others than you're wrong. But go ahead and put words into my mouth if that helps you with whatever point it is that you're trying to make. Its my opinion that the whole community makes up the forum not just one or two... not just you and not just me. Put whatever spin you like on it.

You did it to get away from MattO and revenge was always part of the agenda. He is mentioned regularly at LWOS and has been ever since I first laid eyes on the place. I believe that LU is part of that revenge as well.
Thats not how I see it. It's true that we set up LWOS to have a place that was free of the restraints that matto imposed but after that I personally didnt look back. A lot has happened since then.
I can't speak for everyone ofcourse but I have always been been unconcerned about the goings on at other forums and websites. IMO, everyone should be free to contribute or visit websites where they feel most comfortable... surely that's the rational way to go.
It's inevitable that the two will pop up in conversations though because a lot of folk contributed to both forums but you're talking about a minority of the postings here.

As for Leagueunlimited being set up as an act of revenge, I've never heard of anything more riduculous in my life. Why would we spend hours of time and money just to destroy another site? You must have a sick mind. For a start,many people at LU have never been associated with WORL. Also, we get on very well with Yakstorm who partly owns rleague... he even makes the odd contribution to LU.
Tell me to slow down if I'm going too fast here.

You sound like you expect something. You said you guys were butlers, that's a pretty simple way of saying that the other posters in your community needed their arses wiped for them. In your opinion.
Oh God... Butler wasn't meant to offend. Its a very proud and respected profession. I often fell like a butler because forums require a lot of 'house cleaning' so to speak. If I wanted to say people need their arses to be wiped than I would have said just that. To think I've made thousands of posts doing the simple thingsjust to have you come along and tell me that I expect gratitude... talk about a bleak attitude. Never mind, I can relate to grumpy old farts... us geezers should stick together.

If you didn't care what I thought, you wouldn't have replied in the first place. Don't bullshit a bullshitter.
LOL.. I'm just here to answer you're outlandish queries. But don't expect me to read your ill-informed nonsense without at least telling you what I think of it. Bullshitter or not.

As I see it, you made the offer to hand over control to someone who has given the commitment to trying to help LWOS go forward. Then you withdrew the offer.
Not from Wales are you?
lmao... yep, I can't pull the wool over your eyes. I don't think you wanted to do it anyway...all part of the Bullshit imo. But if you are serious, then lets stop the crap. I can call over the other managers and we can decide which way everyone wants to jump.

I agree that a manager should be a contributor first and foremost. I don't agree that a manager's job is to kick heads and ban people.

If you reckon you've got the given committment, then lets see the discussions roll out.

1. You and your boys made a conscious decision to move to TFR because you have a vested interest in LU working. Probably monetary.
Interesting theory. One day I'd like to make money doing something I enjoy... wouldnt we all? Truth is, it'll be a long time before that happens sothaty can't be thedriving reason for all this.
It does makes sense that a website like LU should have its own forum. Previous forums at LU were small affairs and not all that popular. We also had a few technical glitches. We have for some time had a TFR section hereat LWOS which was getting little attention. This is in fact our third format at TFR, and LU's 4th or 5th makeover

For some reason, the new forum which we launched last month just took off. I think it must have been the timing but I'm telling you now, we were all really surprised by it's immediate success and given it's popularity,many forummers at LWOS came over as well. I still made a few posts here at LWOS for a while but it was very apparent that the party had moved into another street.

It wasn't the intention. In fact, there were a few people who said we should delete LWOS. This is something that I fought against. As long as its in our control, deleting LWOS, is something that Legend and I would never allow to happen.
We put up a LWOS section at TFR - it's right at the top of page. Its to give people a link back LWOS should they ever wish to surf between the forums. We are actually making efforts to remind people that LWOS is still here.

I know you think that LWOS was abandoned by the managers but it's not really the case. I repeat that LWOS is just the sum of its parts. I can make a half a dozen posts here like I did 3 weeks ago... but the repsonse level was next to zero. People made a decision en masse to move over to TFR... they were not dragged over kicking and screaming. It just happened. The same forummers are there that used to be here... and more. People who nothing about LWOS are at TFR now.

3. Your only offer to make a go of LWOS was withdrawn because you were told to piss off.
LOL.. no mate, I'm not that petty. Bitter and twisted yes... but petty, never!
I think I covered it in an earlier paragraph in this post.

CS: "Willow, you did sound like you were saying, IMO, that the infrequent posters weren't important to the success of LWOS."
I can't speak ofthe interpretations you have drawn from the several thousand words I've written on the subject.
I'm telling you in as clear a language as I can... I do not think one person is less important than the other. Everyone contributes... some more than others. But forums are a community of people and the place wouldn't survive without everyone putting in.
I hope that clears things up.

CS: Willow, these decisions are up to you and the other managers, of course. I believe you want LWOS to survive. I think you and some of the other managers should stay on to retain the institutional memory, but appoint some new AM(s) who would try to get things moving again. So far EA is the only one who's put his hand up. I'd say give him a try.

Yeah, thats makes sense. I've covered this in my previous post to EA and I'm going to throw it on the table. Oroginally, I didnt think EA was serious. Can't make any sure-fire promises but if EA is fair dinkum, we'll get the wheels in motion.

C

CanadianSteve

Willow #6 This forum never survived on the odd visit from contributors.The success of LWOS cannot be attributed to the Boxing section or theNRL section or the Controversy Corner section.

LWOS was a sum of its parts and in that, we had a community. It was started by a handfull of people... I mean it - you could count us on one hand. We worked our f***** rings off to get the place noticed and in that, we had to be the butlers of the forum. I know this more than anyone.

I took your first paragraph above to mean that infrequent contributers were not important to LWOS's success. I see now that the following point about "the sum of its parts" means that every poster and every topic section was important. But when you right away started talking about the handful who started the forum, I jumped to the idea that they were more important than the "odd visit from contributers," which I took to mean less frequent contributers.

I think I'm interpreting correctly now, aren't I?

LOL, so now you know what I'm thinking as well. If you think I'm of the opinion that some people are less important others than you're wrong. But go ahead and put words into my mouth if that helps you with whatever point it is that you're trying to make. Its my opinion that the whole community makes up the forum not just one or two... not just you and not just me. Put whatever spin you like on it.

Thanks,I did.

You did it to get away from MattO and revenge was always part of the agenda. He is mentioned regularly at LWOS and has been ever since I first laid eyes on the place. I believe that LU is part of that revenge as well.
Thats not how I see it. It's true that we set up LWOS to have a place that was free of the restraints that matto imposed but after that I personally didnt look back. A lot has happened since then.

You're speaking for yourself, that's important.

MattO still is part of the reason for both Forums. He shouldn't be. Fact is that in my time in communities, I have built up a fairl healthy dislike for him due to what happened to myself and a few others at WORL. I understand why LWOS was brought about and applaud it. But I don't applaud what's happening now.

I can't speak for everyone ofcourse but I have always been been unconcerned about the goings on at other forums and websites. IMO, everyone should be free to contribute or visit websites where they feel most comfortable... surely that's the rational way to go.
It's inevitable that the two will pop up in conversations though because a lot of folk contributed to both forums but you're talking about a minority of the postings here.

I'm not arguing that. But it still happened and was mentioned a lot more than it should have been.

As for Leagueunlimited being set up as an act of revenge, I've never heard of anything more riduculous in my life. Why would we spend hours of time and money just to destroy another site? You must have a sick mind. For a start,many people at LU have never been associated with WORL. Also, we get on very well with Yakstorm who partly owns rleague... he even makes the odd contribution to LU.
Tell me to slow down if I'm going too fast here.

Yakstorm? LOL He's a worse spammer than you.

The mind works in mysterious ways. No one said that you were out to destroy rleague. My intimation was that some of you were out to prove you were better and could do it better than MattO. Actually, I didn't intimate it, I said it.

Oh God... Butler wasn't meant to offend. Its a very proud and respected profession. I often fell like a butler because forums require a lot of 'house cleaning' so to speak. If I wanted to say people need their arses to be wiped than I would have said just that. To think I've made thousands of posts doing the simple thingsjust to have you come along and tell me that I expect gratitude... talk about a bleak attitude. Never mind, I can relate to grumpy old farts... us geezers should stick together.

My Depends are slipping.....

LOL.. I'm just here to answer you're outlandish queries. But don't expect me to read your ill-informed nonsense without at least telling you what I think of it. Bullshitter or not.

That's where the problem lies Willow. What you call ill-informed nonsense are opnionion based on what's happened here. I haven't made anything up, I haven't stretched anything, all I've done is told you what I think based on what I've seen.

Where are all the other people? Where are all the people who haven't gone on to TFR?

I know where they are. They're like Javaman. They're annoyed that the Team here let it get to terminal, all they're waiting for is the flatline. Some are hoping it will get going again too.

Not from Wales are you?
lmao... yep, I can't pull the wool over your eyes. I don't think you wanted to do it anyway...all part of the Bullshit imo. But if you are serious, then lets stop the crap. I can call over the other managers and we can decide which way everyone wants to jump.

Nah, I reckon you put a post up and see who the best candidate is and either hand it over or close it.

I agree that a manager should be a contributor first and foremost. I don't agree that a manager's job is to kick heads and ban people.

If you reckon you've got the given committment, then lets see the discussions roll out.

Nope. A little bit of knowlege, just for you. While ever oneye is allowed to post here, I won't start a discussion. There is little point.

Interesting theory. One day I'd like to make money doing something I enjoy... wouldnt we all? Truth is, it'll be a long time before that happens sothaty can't be thedriving reason for all this.
It does makes sense that a website like LU should have its own forum. Previous forums at LU were small affairs and not all that popular. We also had a few technical glitches. We have for some time had a TFR section hereat LWOS which was getting little attention. This is in fact our third format at TFR, and LU's 4th or 5th makeover

For some reason, the new forum which we launched last month just took off. I think it must have been the timing but I'm telling you now, we were all really surprised by it's immediate success and given it's popularity,many forummers at LWOS came over as well. I still made a few posts here at LWOS for a while but it was very apparent that the party had moved into another street.

Well, they weren't given much of a choice were they. It's not like anyone was actually here after that date and every post of yours after that date has a fairly unsubtle "We're over here now" message.

It wasn't the intention. In fact, there were a few people who said we should delete LWOS. This is something that I fought against. As long as its in our control, deleting LWOS, is something that Legend and I would never allow to happen.
We put up a LWOS section at TFR - it's right at the top of page. Its to give people a link back LWOS should they ever wish to surf between the forums. We are actually making efforts to remind people that LWOS is still here.

Deleting it is an option. Actually, it may be your only option if you don't hand it over to someone else. An unmanaged forum will always be one with a short lifespan in MSN.

I know you think that LWOS was abandoned by the managers but it's not really the case. I repeat that LWOS is just the sum of its parts. I can make a half a dozen posts here like I did 3 weeks ago... but the repsonse level was next to zero. People made a decision en masse to move over to TFR... they were not dragged over kicking and screaming. It just happened. The same forummers are there that used to be here... and more. People who nothing about LWOS are at TFR now.

No, it was abandoned by it's Management. I said it smacks of WORL and I meant it.

LOL.. no mate, I'm not that petty. Bitter and twisted yes... but petty, never!
I think I covered it in an earlier paragraph in this post.

Just do it. Give it to someone who is committed. Ignore me, put a post up and find out if anyone would be interested.

If they are, make the decision to hand it over. If your decision is not to hand it over, then you should delete it. We'll live.

I don't think you'll want to put me in charge of LWOS, but I am glad to have done something about it that may help keep this great forum alive.

I wouldn't want to jeopardise someone else's chances.

You can give me a go or ignore me and go for whomever you think will do the job. If that's what you think is best, either way is fine by me.

Steve: I don't mean tosound ungracious but for once can you spend half the amount of time on the rest of what I've said instead of searching for some contradiction? Bloody Nora.. its a battle to get across the simplest of points sometimes. I say this knowing full well the risk that you'll come up with some other ambiguous quote from my oft-confused and rattled grey matter. <hr>

EA: We're just going over old ground now.
I don't think you'll want to put me in charge of LWOS, but I am glad to have done something about it that may help keep this great forum alive.

I wouldn't want to jeopardise someone else's chances.

You can give me a go or ignore me and go for whomever you think will do the job. If that's what you think is best, either way is fine by me.

Doesnt sound too committed to me but I've got the ball rolling and should have something nutted out soon. Bear with me mate.

C

CanadianSteve

Steve: I don't mean tosound ungracious but for once can you spend half the amount of time on the rest of what I've said instead of searching for some contradiction? Bloody Nora.. its a battle to get across the simplest of points sometimes. I say this knowing full well the risk that you'll come up with some other ambiguous quote from my oft-confused and rattled grey matter. Willow

In my last post I was trying to say that I had misinterpreted your earlier statement, and now I realized that you were not saying that infrequent posters were less important. I was trying to put it right.