Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who wants cheap tickets?

Mr Sharkie

I have two tickets to Sharks vs. Broncos @ Suncorp this weekend. I was supposed to go but now for reasons frustratingly beyond my control I now cannot.

They are good seats towards the front of the second tier and are not obstructed by the railing. Anyone who wants to meet me somewhere in the Shire and is going to pay a fair price for them can become their new owners. (Am happy to sell below their face value but would like a better offer than 50c).

Submit an offer via post or Private message.

Myself or Fin will post the seats exact loactaion asap.

Mr Sharkie

Sorry to have mislead people prevoiusly but Fin has rightly pointed out that one of the tickets is a student.

If someone needs a student & adult tix then you are welcome other wise I'd be happy to sell just the adult ticket or vice-versa

Say $15 ono for the adult

or

$5 ono for the student

MightySharks

They just scan the tickets when you get there they don't look at them, an adult can get in with a student ticket no problem, as long as it is a valid ticket there will be no dramas.

les norton

MightySharks said:
They just scan the tickets when you get there they don't look at them, an adult can get in with a student ticket no problem, as long as it is a valid ticket there will be no dramas.

I was going to say the same thing...as a uni student who has spent a bit of time at suncorp, i have never been asked to show id.

Mr Sharkie

Yeah and they blow up at you for booking with airlines they "don't fly with" despite the fact that the site picks the airline, not you, and they send you a confirmation email to say that its all ok and then ring you three weeks after the booking was made.

Sorry anger is still to close to the surface.

black_dot

what happened with the flights mate ? sounds like a scam for sure, tell us the story so I can be sure never to book with however you booked with.

Mr Sharkie

Ok here's the story:

Fin & I logon to lastminute.com and go search hotel & flights Syd 2 Bris return leaving July 2nd & returning July 3rd.

We find a deal for roughly $250 each for return airfares & accomodation approx 2km from the stadium. We agree with the flights that lastminute.com generates for us and select our hotel. We then book the filghts and money is taken from my account. At no time in the booking are we told specifically which airline we are flying with merely that it is Qantas "codeshare".

(Leaving 7:30am Sat morning, Departing 6:55pm Sun night)

Shortly after booking I receive a confirmation email with flight numbers stating that my plane tix will be sent to me via registered mail.

14 days later I call them as the tickets have still not arrived. I am told by an operator that contrary to the email lastminute never mail domestic tix and all I need to do is present photo ID at the airport and I will be issued with tix for myself & Fin.

20 minutes later I get a call from the same operator who then proceeds to abuse me for not answering my messages. When I explain that I have received no messages and ask which number she called I get "ahh your home phone or your mobile and we've been calling for three days". Now I am the only one at home and I know neither my answering machine or mobile contain or have ever contained a message from lastminute.com I am told they have been trying to contact to tell me I booked a flight on Air New Guinea. Remembering their website didn't list the specific airline as anything other than "Qantas codeshare". Because I didn't respond earlier to these phantom messages apparently my cheap tickets are gone & since I am "responsible" for booking the flight if I want to go it will now cost AT LEAST an extra $126 per person.

No problem for me but Fin is a student and had to save to get his current holiday budget. I offered to cover his side but he agrees that neither of us should be penalised for lastminute's mistake.

We are getting a full refund on the trip and next time will book through a travel agent.

black_dot

That's a disgraceful story mate, unfortunately believable but nevertheless it's just not acceptable.

I use Lastminute a fair bit but have only ever used it for HOTEL accom, never flights. why would you book with air new guinea ???????? sounds like someone there stuffed up and thought they'd try and make it out to be your fault. If you want to give me the details and who you spoke to I am happy to get in contact with them and see how I go, im sure we can find you tickets for the game if you have already offloaded your others.

I know what has happened, they stuffed up and forgot it was rugby union test weekend in brissy when you booked and have re-sold your package for twice the amount. merkins.

black_dot said:
That's a disgraceful story mate, unfortunately believable but nevertheless it's just not acceptable.

I use Lastminute a fair bit but have only ever used it for HOTEL accom, never flights. why would you book with air new guinea ???????? sounds like someone there stuffed up and thought they'd try and make it out to be your fault. If you want to give me the details and who you spoke to I am happy to get in contact with them and see how I go, im sure we can find you tickets for the game if you have already offloaded your others.

I know what has happened, they stuffed up and forgot it was rugby union test weekend in brissy when you booked and have re-sold your package for twice the amount. merkins.

You think? Would they? Geez.

chili pepper

Terrible luck mate. Thanks for the heads up on those carrnts. We'll make some extra noise to cover you. I'll even manage a couplke of extra beers for you.

Mr Sharkie

black_dot said:

If thats what they did then I am even angrier! #$%&ing Union! 12 man overlap and they still run back into the ruck!

I appreciate the offer black dot but staying in Sydney will mean that I can now attend my mate's wedding on Saturday (which I had previously barred for Footy weekend).

Fin is coming over and we're going to commiserate together while we watch it on channel nine. Should be good listening to Phil Gould choke on his words as the Sharks win another nine game. Hope Lil Kim has a blinder!

black_dot

No worries mate, like I said I'd give em a call and rev it up em if you really wanted to try and turn it around. Look out for us on the screen and we'll be having a beer for you and a cheer.

I reckon there is every chance they've done that Sparrow, only because I know how scarce accom and fllights are this weekend in Brissy. Usually this time of the week last minute and wotif have a bunch of cheap hotels come online as they discover that the rooms they put aside at top rack rate are not sold. but this week most of the city based hotels are chocker block, so either lastminute sold rooms and flights that they didnt yet have and were hoping for some to come available, or they thought bugger it, we can get more for those cheap packages , re-sell guys !!

Mr Sharkie

Those BASTARDS!

Myself and Fin have both called and given them a piece of our mind and I'll send a written complaint this week as well.

Get into the Broncos for us boys! Remind them how lost they are and fire up the Sharkies to make it 2 in a row in Bris-vegas!

Snoop Shark

:shock: Geez i thought car salesman, Real Estate agents and Funeral directors were the only shifty people around:eek:

black_dot

Oh don't worry, they'd have a bucket load of fine-print covering their dodgy asses somewhere on the website basically saying, "oh, by the way, if we can't honour the deal you booked with us, you know, the one we sent you written confirmation saying you had confirmed ? well, we don't be responsible if we have to cancel it later or if we choose to sell it to someone else if we get a better price for it, if you miss your meeting, wedding, 50th birthday, funeral or whatever, we also won't be responsible for any costs you incur trying to rectify our negligence...."