Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Willie Mason's manager Greg Keenan reveals Japan hit list

Bulldog Force

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/sport/nrl/story/0,26799,25107022-5006066,00.html
Willie Mason's manager Greg Keenan reveals Japan hit list

NRL FANS who sniggered at Cronulla's Japanese turmoil yesterday should stop in their tracks. As of now, no club is immune to the foreign yen for rugby league's marquee players.

The Daily Telegraph can reveal Willie Mason's manager, Greg Keenan, is the secret agent zeroing in on the NRL's biggest names to play in Japan - and he's already drawn up a hit list of the game's elite.

Gallery: See the full list of targeted players here

What's more, Keenan is not alone.

Already, the Japanese rugby powerhouse that employs former Wallabies coach Eddie Jones wants Queensland star Karmichael Hunt to be the next player to switch codes - and the Broncos admit they are powerless to stop it.

As the NRL braced itself for a Japanese raid on its playing ranks after Sharks star Fraser Anderson signed a two-year, $400,000-a-season deal with Kobe Steel, Suntory has its sights set on the representative star.
Related Links

Suntory has already scoffed at Hunt's asking price of $1 million and are wary about his interest in rugby and fear he is being used a bargaining tool to inflate any new deal in the NRL.

But they will table a serious offer should his price come down.

Broncos chief executive Bruno Cullen said the Japanese interest seemed real and admitted he wouldn't begrudge Hunt if he took the money and ran.

"If he received a massive offer from Japanese rugby, he would be mad not to take it," Cullen said. "I spoke to his manager David Riolo today and we will be meeting face-to-face next week. He's got a lot ahead of him in rugby league, at this club. We think our offer will be a competitive one. But at the age of 22, I could understand him going."

Riolo refused to comment last night. "I have never publicly spoken about the contract negotiations of my client because it is unprofessional," he said.

It is understood Riolo has been asking for as much as $600,000 a season with NRL clubs - a figure he is unlikely to receive.

Speaking from London, Jones refused to talk about Suntory's interest but said he was an unashamed fan of Hunt.

"If I was coaching a Super 14 side, I'd want to sign him," he said. "So a Japanese club would be interested. I've done a lot work with Japanese clubs, and the type of player you'd sign is someone who is a star in his own competition. He would definitely be. If he was genuine, you would sign him straight away."

Keenan's hit list of NRL stars being hawked to Japan includes Hunt, Mason, Billy Slater, Braith Anasta and Benji Marshall, with the latter understood to be weighing up a $1 million from Sanyo.

Slater's manager George Mimis confirmed Keenan had been sourcing offers for the champion fullback.

Asked to rate the chances of Slater playing in Japan, Mimis said: "I wouldn't discount it in the future.

"But Billy's only 25 and we're in deep dialogue with Melbourne Storm at the moment about his contract.

"We'll see what happens."

By sheer co-incidence, Slater yesterday met with Peter Sloane, a former All-black who is now coaching Japanese club side Kintetsu. Sloane visited the Storm's base at Princess Park to "share some ideas" with resident clubs Carlton Blues and the Storm.

He told The Daily Telegraph that a young NRL player had also been pitched to the club recently.

"He's not a high profile player, but there could be one or two that we look at for next season," Sloane said. "The whole situation is being driven by managers here in Australia, who are bringing NRL players to the attention of the Japanese corporations that own the teams."

The cashed-up companies who fund Japanese rugby are targeting league players because of changes to rules from next season that demand one of their three imports must be uncapped.

It has the potential for overseas players to represent Japan if they remain in the country for three years and become eligible through residency.

"It's the only reason they'd be looking at league players is that from next season, because it's very hard to find uncapped union players," Jones said. "They are looking for blokes who break the line. In Japan, they want a ball runner. That's why they would have signed Fraser Anderson."

Jones said while league's financial predicament has made Japanese rugby attractive, there would be no rush to sign them.

Lego_Man

And to think their grandfathers fought to keep the Japs from raping and pillaging Australia's fair shores...

Dragonwest

What I want to know do any of the players actually enjoy/love playing the game of rugby league anymore? If i could make for 1 to 400 grand a yr playing league i would give two sh*ts how much some Japanese rubgy club wanted to pay me.

Im waiting for the day when one of our stars comes out and says I wouldnt give up playing league for <insert club>, for anything in the world!

Billy Gunn

I love how the managers are made out to be so terrible

Their sole purpose is to make as much cash as possible for their clients and afford them every opportunity whilst they are marketable

The title of the article is typical Telecrap though - the article has nothing to do with Mason

Union isn't even popular in Japan, just with certain corporates.

My company can beat your company in a game of toff/coma ball pretty much sums it up.

It would be a shame if we lost our best stars to a sham comp like this, but that's life I suppose.

Johnny Bravo

What I want to know do any of the players actually enjoy/love playing the game of rugby league anymore? If i could make for 1 to 400 grand a yr playing league i would give two sh*ts how much some Japanese rubgy club wanted to pay me.

Im waiting for the day when one of our stars comes out and says I wouldnt give up playing league for <insert club>, for anything in the world!
What a load of crap. This isn't just playing footy for the fun of it down the local park for these guys. It's a career, you know, where you actually make money for yourself and your family. I wonder if you would hold the same opinion if someone offered to double or even triple your salary in a similar field to which you currently work in, and you'd knock it back?

Even if you knew you'd enjoy the job less, you'd still very seriously consider it, especially given how short the career span is for your average footy player. It's completely different to a player changing clubs over a couple of thousand dollars. Anyone who says they wouldn't do the same is either lieing or a moron.

Dragonwest

Until somebody offers to double your pay cheque your hardly in a position to talk.

Mate as an engineer i make reasonable coin and I would take a pay cut to be able to do what these guys do. You can never put a value on doing something u love.

The question still stands, do any of the players actually love what they do? and would be willing to so say, I wouldnt trade it for "anything in the world".

Dragonwest

Yes Rugby League is a career to these guys, I understand that. But also, it is alot more to other people and I'm waiting for someone to stand up for that. Alot more to life than making ALOT of money.

Also, anyone who's making +200g for 5-10 yrs should be able with a bit of smarts set themselves up for a long time.

And to think their grandfathers fought to keep the Japs from raping and pillaging Australia's fair shores...

how ignorant of you.

no matter how barbaric, how disgusting, how horrible those guys were to us in war, no matter how terrible they treat their own prisoners/slaves, and how base they treat the enemy....

the horrors they commited.....

get real pal, it was war.

and they have the second largest economy in the world, plus times change, and the world is different.

you sound no better than a neo-nazi, waiting for hitlers burnt(upon his orders) corpse to come back and lead an Arian resurge.

war is war, then people MOVE ON.

they dont sit down and sook about it like you guys seem to do.

Rugby league needs money, and it better work out ways to get it.

I said 10 years ago this would happen, and i didnt get emotional and lanbast it about, i got facts.

work out where you are, where you want to be, then draw up a f-ing plan, you tools, or you wont have a game. each star to go is a weakness.

plus we know people in sydney especially have some great drama with supporting anything thats not just up the road - tools. Well add cultural weakness to our game as well.

when you are pushing crap up hill, you better pray, and hope gods up there.....

let me say it clearly YOU NEED MONEY.

so take our memberships, donate to your club, give them a hint! whatever, money is money, and people dont truly mind what they do to get it, its so easy to detach your mind once you know how

step 1....HAND CONTROL OF GAME OVER TO AN INDPENDANT COMMISION.

Notice the word independant....means they wont be working for the selfish needs of clubs. the word commision: they will make informed and researched decisions not blind guesses which sometimes you guys feel happens.

lesson one for you little nappy-scragglers....in war you kill....in peace you trade, and dont discriminate your fellow man, he's worth something in monetary and cultural terms, to be respected and honored even. What you cast out from yourself, so must lay within you...

The French raids resulted in 2 players leaving that anyone gives too sh*ts about, Spasnier and $BW.
Both have been average, and the French interest seems to have subsided for now...and the player managers have realised this. Next stop Japan! Useless leeching f**kwits.

how ignorant of you.

no matter how barbaric, how disgusting, how horrible those guys were to us in war, no matter how terrible they treat their own prisoners/slaves, and how base they treat the enemy....

the horrors they commited.....

get real pal, it was war.

and they have the second largest economy in the world, plus times change, and the world is different.

you sound no better than a neo-nazi, waiting for hitlers burnt(upon his orders) corpse to come back and lead an Arian resurge.

war is war, then people MOVE ON.

they dont sit down and sook about it like you guys seem to do.

Rugby league needs money, and it better work out ways to get it.

I said 10 years ago this would happen, and i didnt get emotional and lanbast it about, i got facts.

work out where you are, where you want to be, then draw up a f-ing plan, you tools, or you wont have a game. each star to go is a weakness.

plus we know people in sydney especially have some great drama with supporting anything thats not just up the road - tools. Well add cultural weakness to our game as well.

when you are pushing crap up hill, you better pray, and hope gods up there.....

let me say it clearly YOU NEED MONEY.

so take our memberships, donate to your club, give them a hint! whatever, money is money, and people dont truly mind what they do to get it, its so easy to detach your mind once you know how

a) He was just joking, stop bitching
b)You said this 10 years ago? To who, your mates at the pub? Or has John Ribot infiltrated the ranks of LU

a) He was just joking, stop bitching
b)You said this 10 years ago? To who, your mates at the pub? Or has John Ribot infiltrated the ranks of LU

1. he doesnt have much of a high opinion round here...showed a few people. where do you think i work? eh? and how do you think i can spend time doing this when i want? oh i slack off? like you? get real.

2. yeah, over a few drinks, whatever man. I got more nouse than you will ever have, and i deliver off handed comments, and they are nearer the mark than you could ever get with a rifle and scope.

Mate as an engineer i make reasonable coin and I would take a pay cut to be able to do what these guys do. You can never put a value on doing something u love.

The question still stands, do any of the players actually love what they do? and would be willing to so say, I wouldnt trade it for "anything in the world".

I am not disputing that you do, however your shelf live is probably atleast 3-4 times that of a footballer + don't forget injury can ruin their career in a heartbeat.

So Dragonwest, if another employer offered you more than twice your current salary, however you only have to do 1/2 the workload of your current job, you'd refuse the offer ? Bearing in mind your career could be over at any time during your employment, and the your new prospective employer would have to pay you your new salary.

1. he doesnt have much of a high opinion round here...showed a few people. where do you think i work? eh? and how do you think i can spend time doing this when i want? oh i slack off? like you? get real.

2. yeah, over a few drinks, whatever man. I got more nouse than you will ever have, and i deliver off handed comments, and they are nearer the mark than you could ever get with a rifle and scope.

...what? That post is an unintelligable mess.