Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

wolfmother today

Frailty

I thought Wolfmother was a poor choice...

But I am biased because I really can't stand them... If I wanted to here their genre I would listen to numerous amounts of stuff from the 70s. As Mike Patton said when hearing Woflmother: "WHAT DECADE ARE WE IN?!"

For Grand Final entertainment, you need mass appeal. John Farnham has that (Paul Kelly not so much), Tina Turner had it, etc. Overseas success is irrelevant because it is an Australian game.

I would love to see some more 'modern' music to pump people up I agree, but you need something with a massive appeal. For me, although completely idealistic, I reckon Metallica would be an awesome choice with their 90s stuff... I could see people getting pumped up for the game to 'Fuel'.

ozjet1

wolfmother were great, and a majority of the ground responded to them.

on the other hand, 'the script' barely got any recognition. i guess people were in the sh*tter, or stocking up on food and piss during the break, but still, they were a poor choice IMO.

Liam

I thought Wolfmother was a poor choice...

But I am biased because I really can't stand them... If I wanted to here their genre I would listen to numerous amounts of stuff from the 70s. As Mike Patton said when hearing Woflmother: "WHAT DECADE ARE WE IN?!"

For Grand Final entertainment, you need mass appeal. John Farnham has that (Paul Kelly not so much), Tina Turner had it, etc. Overseas success is irrelevant because it is an Australian game.

I would love to see some more 'modern' music to pump people up I agree, but you need something with a massive appeal. For me, although completely idealistic, I reckon Metallica would be an awesome choice with their 90s stuff... I could see people getting pumped up for the game to 'Fuel'.
facepalm.jpg

Sonic Youth would have satisfied me.

Bit of Eric Gaffney-era Sebadoh too.

C'mon Gallop get yer act together.

Deisel1976

They should do away with the entertainment. I'd rather them play the games backs to back. The only entertainment I like are the kids games and relays. The signing and dancing are boring as hell.

Pazza

good sydney band playing on sydney's biggest sporting day! wats the problem?

Much better than imports like Billy Idol and Chris Isaak. Its about supporting Aussie culture and i think the NRL did a good job!

lockyno1

The best part was when the cheered when it was over. It was horrible. Mind you BOTH the AFL and NRL entertainment(s) were awful this year!

Lets face it people don't buy tickets due to what band is on! Wolfmother was a good choice.

ME SO HORNBY!

I really enjoyed wolfmother. They are really popular, really successful, really good and are Australian. Couldnt have been a much better choice. I would of fallen asleep if John Farnham was singing.

The Tank

It was interesting seeing F1 Rocks! on MTV. They had Beyonce, Black Eyed Peas, No Doubt and other pretty big names. All sh*t in my eyes (well, my ears actually) but they have mass appeal. NRL can't afford it, but it was interesting to see the difference in the professionalism of the two setups.

Paullyboy

They should have more electro bands, and have more than one stage, and have it going all day, and then let the quality of bands deteriorate over the years and then have half-price pinga's for sale in every dunny and they should call it Big Day in the Park or Out Life or maybe a mix of the two.

OR........we could stop complaining about the pre-game entertainment and just have a day of rugby league.

_snafu_

Could be worse, they could have had Rick Astley - then again, his image would suit AFL better.

Cockadoodledoo

Nah forget it....this is garbage.

You need music which gets everyone going. You need people singing old NRL anthems and tribute songs, as well as af ew classics. Not a song called 'the joker and the thief'. This is very average.

Mate that song was written about the 2 refs..

Ron Jeremy

sh*t, why not get proven International bands over instead of our crappy local talent, yeah Wolfmother aren't too bad, but that's about it, i can't think of anyother good Australian band, a band like Motely Crue would create huge publicity, as well bring an element of talent and success to Rugby Leagues big day.

Enough of the crap local stuff, time to bring in some proven performers on the world stage :)
Poison with 'nothing but a good time' would be sensational.