Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

World's best brains won't fix NRL draw

Sea_Eagles_Rock

You can't avoid who you play. You can avoid SoO to some degree by the purchases you make. International games are 1 per year. No big deal.

While I agree it sucks the draw isn't exactly even, you can't play 30 rounds per year without a break and then expect an 8 team finals.

Is there also not an disadvantage playing a side like Canberra in the middle of winter, or a coastal team with high winds... FMD.. It is the best we can do at the moment.

1 Eyed TEZZA

/thread

This sook comes up every year.

If your team doesn't make the finals, it's because they're shithouse, not because of the draw. The best teams finish at the top, nothing unfair about it. Come finals time it's anyone's game.

Oh please. Everyone knows that if Parra had a more favourable draw, like the Dogs have had, we'd be up there..

docbrown

The author is an idiot.
He gives us 3 options - but neglects a fourth:

Play Origin on Monday night (OR the Sunday night, but at the end of the round, so no Monday night game following)

It's pretty bloody simple. Do that and you immediately go from having 6 Origin affected rounds to only 3.

State of Origin will state rate just as highly on a Monday or Sunday night as it's event television.

And yeah there's the risk that AFL or some other sport can chuck something on at the same time. I hope they do - they'll get massacred (see Lions vs Force as an example).

I still say though that we need shortened rounds on those three weekends. Those weekend slots during ratings season are prime real estate and sure - no other sport would be stupid enough to go up against Origin - but if there's no rugby league on the Friday & weekend then they'll steal some of lead up spotlight.

There's 31 weeks from the first weekend in March to the October long weekend. After you deduct 4 weeks of finals that leaves 27 weeks in which to run the home and away season competition.

If you have 23 full rounds and 1 Anzac bye round you then have to divide 8 games (for a 16 team comp) or 9 games (for an 18 team comp) over the 3 origin weekends. Teams would therefore only play once each during the Origin period and receive 3 rest weekends during the season.

As for the Origin team announcements, I'd be making those at half time during the Sunday afternoon or Sunday night game (whichever the last game of the round is) the weekend prior.

http://m.dailytelegraph.com.au/spor...ont-fix-nrl-draw/story-fni3fh9n-1226664439426

More to the point, if one of the teams that is playing is missing its best players and its opponent is virtually the entire New Zealand Test team, is it a contest?

Now before I'm accused of being a "typical Broncos whinger" let me state that I use the Brisbane-Warriors match only as the most recent example of the insanity of the current system.

The Warriors side was not virtually the entire NZ test side. Far from it. 2 NZ players played in the test V Aus (bolded red) I'll even give him Mannering as he was inured. So a total of 3. At a stretch & a long one at that ad Vatuvei & Hurrell. 5 players.

Kevin Locke Glen Fisiiahi Dane Nielsen Konrad Hurrell Manu Vatuvei Thomas Leuluai Shaun Johnson Sam Rapira Nathan Friend Russell Packer Feleti Mateo Simon Mannering Elijah Taylor Ben Matulino Jacob Lillyman Sebastine Ikahihifo Dominique Peyroux

Bottom line is, he is the Cpt Coach of the "typical broncos whinging" squad.

TheDMC

http://m.dailytelegraph.com.au/spor...ont-fix-nrl-draw/story-fni3fh9n-1226664439426

More to the point, if one of the teams that is playing is missing its best players and its opponent is virtually the entire New Zealand Test team, is it a contest?

Now before I'm accused of being a "typical Broncos whinger" let me state that I use the Brisbane-Warriors match only as the most recent example of the insanity of the current system.

The Warriors side was not virtually the entire NZ test side. Far from it. 2 NZ players played in the test V Aus (bolded red) I'll even give him Mannering as he was inured. So a total of 3. At a stretch & a long one at that ad Vatuvei & Hurrell. 5 players.

Kevin Locke Glen Fisiiahi Dane Nielsen Konrad Hurrell Manu Vatuvei Thomas Leuluai Shaun Johnson Sam Rapira Nathan Friend Russell Packer Feleti Mateo Simon Mannering Elijah Taylor Ben Matulino Jacob Lillyman Sebastine Ikahihifo Dominique Peyroux

Bottom line is, he is the Cpt Coach of the "typical broncos whinging" squad.

Don't be adding Hurrell and Vatuvei. But you can add the Warrior's best player, Ben Matulino..he is a current kiwi. Is Ben Matulino the invisible man or something? One of the best props in the NRL but gets no love outside NZ..

Card Shark

Can't do too much about the draw as it is unfortunately.

Fancy a Broncos supporter criticising the draw....the draw for them is made & then everyone fits around it. It'll be better for them soon with less & less SOO players.

Playing each other once wouldn’t fix anything. You would then have people whinging about the games they are drawn to play away.

The draw isn’t perfect but it is fine how it is.

Card Shark

I'd take two origin players in the Warriors over one easy win against the Broncos.

That's it in a nutshell really.

Whilst the SOO stuffs the comp up for 6 weeks, it's still the teams with the best players that make the semis.

If ya get 9th instead of 7th or 8th because of a rough draw, ya probably don't deserve to be in contention anyway.

SOO in the middle of the year works. The only thing that could be done is move it earlier in the week to less affect the following weekend with players backing up. Even Tuesday night to have 1 extra day's recovery might be worth it.

IF we had a 16 team comp AND IF we did a 15 week draw, you could alternate the HOME & AWAY designation every two years.

NOTE: SoO and ANZAC Test just slotted in and are stand alone weekends and BYES from club footy. I'd even play it on Saturday night.

Scheduling EXAMPLE:

Year 1
South Sydney
Rd 1 HOME Roosters
Rd 2 AWAY Bulldogs
Rd 3 HOME Panthers
ANZAC Test
Rd 4 AWAY Sharks
Rd 5 HOME Cowboys
Rd 6 AWAY Broncos
State of Origin 1
Rd 7 HOME Knights
Rd 8 AWAY Dragons
Rd 9 HOME Tigers
State of Origin 2
Rd10 AWAY Sea Eagles
Rd11 HOME Warriors
Rd12 AWAY Raiders
State of Origin 3
Rd13 HOME Titans
Rd14 AWAY Storm
Rd15 HOME Eels
FINALS 4 weeks

Year 2
South Sydney
Rd 1 AWAY Roosters
Rd 2 HOME Bulldogs
Rd 3 AWAY Panthers
ANZAC Test
Rd 4 HOME Sharks
Rd 5 AWAY Cowboys
Rd 6 HOME Broncos
State of Origin 1
Rd 7 AWAY Knights
Rd 8 HOME Dragons
Rd 9 AWAY Tigers
State of Origin 2
Rd10 HOME Sea Eagles
Rd11 AWAY Warriors
Rd12 HOME Raiders
State of Origin 3
Rd13 AWAY Titans
Rd14 HOME Storm
Rd15 AWAY Eels
FINALS 4 weeks

23 weeks of footy and perhaps a Tri Series at season's end?

If we expand to 18 teams :
Year 1
South Sydney
Rd 1 HOME Roosters
Rd 2 AWAY Bulldogs
Rd 3 HOME Panthers
ANZAC Test
Rd 4 AWAY Sharks
Rd 5 HOME Cowboys
Rd 6 AWAY Broncos
State of Origin 1
Rd 7 HOME Knights
Rd 8 AWAY Dragons
Rd 9 HOME Tigers
State of Origin 2
Rd10 AWAY Sea Eagles
Rd11 HOME Warriors
Rd12 AWAY Raiders
State of Origin 3
Rd13 HOME Titans
Rd14 AWAY Storm
Rd15 HOME Eels
Rd 16 AWAY Pirates
Rd 17 HOME Bombers
FINALS 4 weeks

Still 25 weeks of footy and maybe end of season Tri Nations.

Of course, the cap would need to be revised and be increased.
30 man squads or what not.
TV deals re-brokered.
But I reckon that less is more, if you know what I mean.
And if it's all locked in by the NRL, scheduling wise...then sold to TV...well, I personally believe it's better. I may not be right of course.

The Engineers Room

The author is an idiot.
He gives us 3 options - but neglects a fourth:

Play Origin on Monday night (OR the Sunday night, but at the end of the round, so no Monday night game following), and schedule just one game for the following Friday (and put the Warriors on Friday?)

Effectively this way the Origin plays only miss one week (the weekend before Origin is played), and should all be fine to back up on the weekend following.
It has the double benefit of taking 3 normal round Monday night games out of the 'pool' of games, making it easier to schedule games for the future.

I love this idea.