Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Worst rugby league commentator?

ThrashViking

Jason Costigan can piss off back to Australia, he's even more clueless when it comes to basketball.
Daryl Halligan's a shocker also - "Erm, er, Warriors look er, erm, good..wait that's not the right word, erm.."

Parra_Eels

by far bomber. can;t control his voice and is the most biased commentator in the league including the kiwi ones

J-Man

I think Ray Warren calling the game with colour comments from Wally Lewis and Gary Freeman, would be good for a laugh.

And sideline reports from that Ropati guy from NZ to top it off.

m0j0

1) The entire NZ commentary team.
2) Any of the 2NC or 2HD team calling a Knights game.

The above 2 groups are far more biased than Phil Gould calling a Roosters game and it's excruciating to watch/listen to.

...and my third nomination for worst rugby league commentator.

3) The goons calling the ESL games... "That's a T-R-Y!!!"

The Engineers Room

Ray Warren shows week in week out that although he has commentated league for years he still doesn't know anything about the game.

Jae

3) The goons calling the ESL games... "That's a T-R-Y!!!"

That is potentially the most annoying thing to every happen in rugby league. Especially over there where every week unless it's Leeds vs St Helens or something the score is 78-4 yet that same guy insists on spelling out the word over and over.

The worst I've heard are whoever calls the Knights games on whatever station Hadley works for. I used to live in Newcastle, and they could be getting flogged 50-0 and Gary Harley would still make it sound like they were in front by 20.

Hindyscrack

Gary Freeman, how can an international half back be so stupid??

Chris Bombalas is terrible, think Gould with the Roosters then multiply it by a thousand, then you have bomber

JJ

Hindyscrack said:
Gary Freeman, how can an international half back be so stupid??

C'mon he looks like a genius standing beside Tommy Raudonikis...

Many comentators are awful:

Freeman
Daley
Green
Pearce
Costigan
Ropati
Halligan
Mclaughlan
the list goes on...

Gould is very good when he doesn't have a personal interest in the team, Warren and Voss both call the games well, and Sterling is just magnificent (hehem forgot to add Hughes to the list above)

Daize said:
Ray Warren shows week in week out that although he has commentated league for years he still doesn't know anything about the game.

Mate his a f'n gun doing the footy compared to when he does the swimming or any other athletics, you literally have to mute it or put your fist through the TV.

ozbash

the entire bunch of nz sky nrl commentators

ropati is an embarrasment.
costigan is a tool
halligan is anti nz
mcgivor is a wanker