Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WTH is going on?

http://www.nrl.com.au/news.cfm?ID=9929

Ricketson to miss grand final

29 September 2004

Roosters stalwart Luke Ricketson will miss the Grand Final after being found guilty of a grade three striking charge at tonight's judiciary hearing.

After taking the early guilty plea Ricketson sought to have the charge downgraded to a level one, however the level three finding will see him miss the Roosters next three matches with 25 carry over points.

BD5733

I dont get it?

I think the article is pretty self explanitory as to whats going on? Isnt it?

I'm shocked.

When was the last time a deserving Rooster got one or two or three game bans at the judiciary?

Sucked in is all I can say. Serves them right for trying and using the sympathy factor as a reason to let him off. If he performs the act, he should be guilty simple as that. No room for negotiating.

Utey

Dead set I thought Priceys defense with having is eyes closed is bad. But If ricko had go off I wouldve snapped. He deserved that and I hope the Roosters get belted.

What a ******* wanker!

"I just think that a Grand Final is worth at least 10 club games!"

You can't go around bashing people and then whinging, "Oh, but it's the Grand Final! Let me off!"

What an arsehole.

I hope they get flogged by a million points.

Man, Ricketson and the Chooks must be dumber than I thought.

"It was more my intention to get Nathan Fien out of there.

"It [the shove on Fittler] was right in front of my face and I felt I had to do something about it. But I didn't clinch my [fist], cock it and punch him [Fien] in the face. I just threw my arm out.
"I understand what I've done." Ricketson said his team made a pact not to let any club be overly aggressive after a round 25 match involving Warriors forward Awen Guttenbeil.

Guttenbeil came from an off-side position to smash Ned Catic then sledged his dazed opponent while he lay on the ground.

"It was an embarrassment to me and my team," said Ricketson.

"Nothing was done about it and we were bashed for the next half an hour of football. Afterwards we made a pact that we would stick up for our players."

Fittler told the panel Fien initiated the third-minute brawl.

"I copped a belt to the head and I struck back as if to say: 'You just can't go around hitting blokes'," Fittler said.

"He had no reason to hit me - it was unnecessary.

"He is a cheeky halfback trying to make a stance and he was trying to make a statement."

Roosters coach Ricky Stuart added: "Luke's actions were instinctive and instantaneous. It was out of character - he's not a fighter."

So many hypocritical statements.

"You can't just go around hitting blokes?" But obviously it's fine if you're a Rorter.

*Violins* "I copped a belt to the head..." *Violins* What an assclown! I've seen MUCH worse shoves than that. What a bloody sook! And we're supposed to respect him and farewell him? Good riddance to bad scum I say.

"Out of character..." Sure, that's why he goes around smashing people in tackles and then sledging them and ordering them to get up...

Hurriflatch

They have just grown acustomed to getting their players off suspensions, so are in total shock now that the jokedicary has stood up for this 1st time in their lives