Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

You replace Brian Smith. What would you say to the troops?

Misty Bee

First, I'd chat to each player individually. This is what I'd say to whom...

ARMIT: You are doing well. You will get a few opportunities in firsts, but on't be despondent with time in the premmies. Use it to learn the trade. Give me 2 good seasons and I'll give you a good contract at the end of it.

BURT: You are in a battle with Peterson for a first grade wing spot. Keep practicing your goal kicking. Get it around 85% and you'll have the jump on him. There isn't room for you elsewhere on the field.

CANNINGS: Get well soon!

CAYLESS: Your job is secure. But you need to lead the club - inspire the young blokes and keep them on their toes. Work on your relationships with the referee - we need to be on their good side at all times. As a former Test captain, the stuff v the Cowboys was not on.

DYKES. Here are 2 maps. One is the way to the opponents tryline. The other is the way out of Parramatta. Take your pick.......
BTW, work on your grubbers in the opponents 20, and run the ball more. Oh, and you are now in direct competition with Thorman for the 5/8 spot. You can start your campaign in premier league next weekend, if you don't recapture your form this week. Good luck.

GRAHAM: You are in a direct battle for the first grade fullback spot with Wade McKinnon. If you lose that battle, you had better put on a yard of speed, and bulk up for a run in the centres. Be warned, though. We are cashed up and looking to replace Lyon with a similar level player.

GROTHE: Look, Eric. You are big. So bury whoever you are marking, boy! Otherwise, keep up the good work. Improve on your defense in the second half of the year, and we'll give you a decent long term contract.

HINDMARSH: Sign this life long contract now, please!!! With Cayless leading the side, it's up to you to provide the extra inspiration for the young blokes. Take 'em under your wing - show 'em the ropes. Keep it up, you are THE MAN!!!

HOPKINS: Have you considered a career in Rugby Union...? UNless you bulk up and get involved more, I don't know that we can use you in coming seasons.

KATIVERATA: UNless your attacking involvement improves dramatically, and you start making mincemeat out of your premier league opponents, you won't have much of a shot in first grade.

LANGI: Due to injuries, you have a golden opportunity to get first grade experience that you probably haven't earned yet. You need to make Peterson look good. You need to work in defence a lot smarter. Don't let the opposing centre get the better of you. By the end of the year you need to be a first grade centre, or you will be a premmy league centre next year.

LYON: Jamie, Smithy's gone, and Justin Hodges is looking for you. I'll shout you 2 pigs and a heifer if you come back!!!!!

McKINNON: You are doing fine. Keep it up, and we;ll look after you.

MOI MOI: Expect to spend a bit of time in the premmies to learn your craft properly. Meanwhile, if you think you can do better elsewhere....

MORRIS: You know what you can do. Go out there and DO IT!!!

MUCKERT: Remind us why we bought you. You are over your injuries. Go out there and rip and tear.

MUSPRATT: Your chances depend on the form of Dykes and Thorman. Take whatever chances we can give you to impress . Or you can seek a release...

O'DWYER: Doing well. Keep it up.

PEARSON: We need somone to fill up the water bottles. Are you up to it?

PEEK: Don't let the door hit you in the arse on the way out of the club.

PETERSON: It's either you or Burty - loser out of the club. You have the talent. I'll make sure the 5/8 gives you decent ball. You make sure you and Junior patch up those bloody holes. Either that or join Smithy at Souths.

PRINCE: Get well and get to work on the fitness and speed. There is a first grade winger's and fullback spot up for grabs if you are good enough, and we think you are. Next year - be ready.

STAPLETON: Keep going, mate!

THORMAN: I reckon you and Witty are the answer to our halves dilemma. Bench this week - unless Dykes plays a blinder and we win by 20. Keep up the good work.

TSOULOS: Good stuff. Improve the sting in your defence and watch the team respond to you. Well done!

VAEALIKI: More aggro in attack, please.

VELLA: Next contract is a yearly performance contract. If you play as you should you will become a very rich man. Otherwise, I believe Castleford is looking for a front rower....

WAGON: Goodbye.

WEBSTER: Keep going. Work on your kicking game.

WIDDERS. Wagon's waiting in the car for you.

WITT: First grade is yours. Make a fist of it. And don't be afraid to give it to thos lazy overpaid forwards if they slacken off. You have the rest of this season to make it work. And be afraid of Tim Smith.

parra pete

I am your new coach..I'm here because Misty Bee and Ray Hadley didn't like Brian. They orchestated a campaign to undermine him and the players confidence. Despite Brian being strong enough mentally, it took toll on his family, especially his kids. Despite him resurrecting and creating careers for so much talent in the NRL people didn't like him, people in high places. They kept telling everyone he was no good for the place. His loyalty to his players and to the Club was not enough. Because he wasn't someone like Nathan Brown and Ricky Stuart who jump around on the sideline and mouth "Fxxxx" everytime things don't go their way, he is not one of the popular personalities. He liked to see and say things how he saw things. He liked to take positives out of situations. Negative thoughts breed negative actions. Brian was always positive. A man's Man. That's why he had to go.
He resticted you players from obtaining a high profile off the paddock. I know you wish you could have the same attention as the Canterbury players, especially Willie Mason. I am going to loosen up in that regard. Think I might recruit Reg Regan into the Club to give us a funny profile.
We are going to replace Denis with Bob Hagan. That should enable us to pick up a few more players.. blokes like Matt Orford, Luke Ricketson Frankie Pritchard, Lote, Joey Johns Vinnie Anderson Brian Fletcher and every other high profile player off contract. Those of you who are under contract next year. Take a hike. We are going to do a Jamie Lyon on you. Don't take us to court. We don't have to honour a contract if we don't want to
You keep going the way you are going boys. If you haven't got heart, or you wish to walk away from the Club and not honour contracts, see ya later. And if we won't release you, tell the media you don't like me.
Daniel Wagon, forget about doing a bucketload of defence, just concentrate on your attack.
Sideshow Bob.. stop showing so much passion in your work. Its not appreciated.
Peek a boo. Too much agression from you old son.
Mick Witt. We signed you for four years. You'rte ready now. Even though you are struggling in Premier League you'll be different in first grade. The opposing half backs, because you are a pretty boy, will go easy on you.
Hope I can do a good job. Ding Dong the Witch is Dead.

nöyd

parra pete said:
Think I might recruit Reg Reagan into the Club to give us a funny profile.

WOOHOO!!! Out of the dole queue!! :lol: \\:D/ :clap:

I'd say the following

ARMIT: You need to intimidate the opposition more, I rate you as a player, but consistency is the key, I'll play you off the bench till you get used to first grade. If you're not up to the task back to premier league. Watch the games of Cayless and Vella closely.

BURT: You've got the potential, you just need to be more confident with the football and look for gaps and watch the playmakers closely

CANNINGS: We paid big money for you so show us your worth it. You've got the potential to be a rep player so show us what you've got

CAYLESS: Lead us up front, you know how. Your experience is essential for the younger forwards like Armit and Tsoulos so look after them

DYKES. You're on big money and I don't think you deserve it. Prove me wrong.

GRAHAM: I'm trying to decide whether you're a regular first grader or a fringe player, by playing consistently well you're keep a spot in the first grade side, if not, then back to first division.

GROTHE: You've got the potential, and you've been going great, defence needs work at times but we can work on that

HINDMARSH: You're doing everything right and nothing wrong, i'd like you to take a few of the younger guys under your wing and show them what Parramatta passion means

HOPKINS: You can hold onto a bench spot if you play good enough footy, I know you try hard every week but consistency is important.

McKINNON: You're doing well the way you're going, keep it up. To be honest I wasn't expecting too much from you but you're definately improving as a player every week.

MOI MOI:

MORRIS: You're a good dummy half runner, stick with it, look to take a more dominant role in playmaking arena.

O'DWYER: You're young and could go far, don't worry if you don't get much first grade this year because you're inexperienced and it will only help you learn.

PETERSON: You try hard every week i'll give you that and you've got passion. There are a lot of things in your game that need work and until you fix them you won't be first choice for a spot in the starting side.

PRINCE: You've got the speed and we need some of that.

STAPLETON: You're also doing better than I expected, keep it up, and just try try and try.

THORMAN: You, Witt and Dykes will compete for the two halve spots for the rest of the season, If you want to stay in first grade you have to show me why you are better than these other two.

TSOULOS: You're coming along nicely, Look up to Vella and Cayless to see what makes a representative prop, you could be one too.

VAEALIKI: You've got the game, you're a rep player, yet we don't see it every week. Show us your stuff more often.

VELLA: We need you to be more consistent, you should be showing an example for the younger guys. You're playing for a contract here, I can promise you that next year you won't be on anywhere near the money you are on now so if you want to rectify that play harder.

WAGON: You're a good luck, unlike Smith that's where I'll be playing you so I hope that takes the pressure of you a bit. Think back to 2001, watch the old tapes, think of what inspired you to play so well and try and get back to it.

WEBSTER: Keep going. Work on your kicking game.

WIDDERS: If you want a first grade spot then you have to earn it. There are others ahead of you at this stage.

WITT: Run at the line more, show us what you can do. I have confidence in you as our long-term halfback. You'll be under pressure to perform because we have you Dykes, and Thorman competing for 2 spots.

PEEK: PEARSON: MUSPRATT: MUCKERT: MOI MOI: LANGI: KATIVERATA:

I Honestly don't think any of who are first grade players at the moment. Only you can improve your games, I can help you, but you must show you're willing. If you can't, you're out the door.

Parra_Boy

What you'd say to the players? How about.....

"Smith's gone, you boys got what you wanted so let's see you playing some footy now aye?"

Y2Eel

You replace Brian Smith. What would you say to the troops?

well whos into heading to the casino and a brothel anyone got a phone i can call some chick on.... oh wait

yeah anyway just get ut there guys and witty now your captain you basically own the team for 80 dont let the fans down :clap:

First I'd get a stack of water bottles, and call a full squad meeting. Then I'd call out a list of names and hand them the water bottles. Dykes would get a gold one, and maybe ten of the 17 from Friday night would receive them.

Then I'd tell the people with the water bottles to make sure that those who will be playing first grade this weekend get plenty of water.

Then I'd show the rest of them a selection of games on tape, headed by the 92 win over Great Britain. The 94 come back against Newcastle when we were 20-0 down at halftime. The 86 Grand Final. The 98 semi against Norths.........and then last Friday's game.

half

i'd say "hey hindy, once the protest is over behind the mick cronin stand, let's go make love there"

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
parra pete said:
Mick Witt. We signed you for four years. You'rte ready now. Even though you are struggling in Premier League you'll be different in first grade. The opposing half backs, because you are a pretty boy, will go easy on you.

what does micks looks have to do with anything??

dude, people here refer to him by form, you're the one that doesn't like him cos he's pretty!!!

bit jealous ay old boy?? :lol: ;-)

parra pete

Wrong Jess. Looks mean nothing to me form counts, and Mick is NOT producing it. If he can't produce in Premier League with a team that is leading or near the lead he is not going to produce it in first grade. Get the message. You're the one who likes him because he's a pretty boy. Football is about ability. Mick is NOT producing his untold ability at this stage.
Wish he would, but he ain't just yet. (I ain't gonna say ain't no more, no I ain't)

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
i know that mick is pretty but i would not be calling for him in first grade unless i thought he could do it. get the message. and a " :lol: " at the end of a sentence usually means have a laugh... when the team is in as dire a situation as we are, sometimes the odd :lol: makes all the difference

The Godfather

Sorry Jess, but Pretty Witt is really struggling in the Premier League.

Could be a good thing though - he does not have to be playing in a beaten team every week.

Y2Eel

The Godfather said:
Sorry Jess, but Pretty Witt is really struggling in the Premier League.

Could be a good thing though - he does not have to be playing in a beaten team every week.

dunno if you could say he is struggling he guides the team around pretty well which the first grade lacks

I never agree with parra pete at all but his spot on with Witt.

Witt is over rated by some fans on this board he can't direct a team around the field and does not know how to control a game he is very much an ad lib player. there is no plan to what he does. He has a good kicking game but thats it.

Tim Smith on the otherr hand is the one to watch, he is what u call a tru talent. Everyone knows this he should be elevated to 1st div in the near future from Jersey Flegg. This kid shows qualities beyond his years and the best quality is that he has vision. He see thye play before hand and knows what to do. He will be playing for Australia one day.

WA Eel

"OK, Brian Smith is gone. It's time for you to perform as individuals and as a team. No more excuses."