Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Zac Lomax

thebigredv

They will be looking at all the best players available.
The likes of Zac Lomax, once rated an Origin player, is under contract at St George-Illawarra but unhappy about being shunted to the wing.
Not entirely sure if Bird at centre has a decent shelf life, nor am I sure how long Flanagan will persist with Sloan at 1 if his defence continues to leak tries. There's two places you could put Lomax and he'd be happy, but if at the end of the day we lose Lomax it is not the end of the world. He would be replacable.

Carlton

Not entirely sure if Bird at centre has a decent shelf life, nor am I sure how long Flanagan will persist with Sloan at 1 if his defence continues to leak tries. There's two places you could put Lomax and he'd be happy, but if at the end of the day we lose Lomax it is not the end of the world. He would be replacable.
A lot of talk about Sloans poor defence but conveniently overlook his tackle on papalii which saved a try or his effort to hold up the player in goal (even if the bunker found a way to give a try).

People said they wanted to see improvement and more commitment and physicality. Took bombs, was in position to clean up the kicks safely, ran harder with his carries, was trying to support more and did make some good tackles. Well he did that, he's not there yet but if he improves at the rate hes going he will be a very good player.

Auntie.Gerald

Do we think there is a chance that Flano doesnt really want Lomax's skill vs pay packet $700kish in the salary cap vs other opportunities in 2025 and or 2026?

Can you achieve a similar output to Lomax on the wing and not have to spend $700k pa? Or can you get a whole lot more at the price point?

Kyle can take over kicking at goal.
Bird has taken over his centre role and has a MO for 2025 which Bird will no doubt trigger even if only $400k for him.
FB we didnt see Lomax get a sniff really besides pre season training.
Lomax aint that quick for a winger really and may get exposed by the best teams and best winger FBs.
Allan has been kept on for 2025 who can play wing, FB or centre.
Tui and Sione both could play wing also if needed.....only back up at this stage.

Flano knows there are a stack of good backline players out there for 2025 at $700k ish pa.

Plus Flano will still want that spearhead prop $700k pa min.

Plus we have some very exciting young guys to start extending contracts with like Latu etc

Plus Kyle probably signed on for negligible $250-$300k pa ? and if he keeps evolving will be a $550k pa plus player.....even if he becomes a no9....no14 if we do secure a serious half in 2025 onwards.

I wonder if Changa and Billy Smith belly-ached when they were moved from the centres to fullback and half respectively? Probably not, and I don't think Lomax is either.
He's making a good fist of life on the wing, imo. There are faster wingers, but he's an aggressive defender and ball-runner and takes the high kicks with confidence. His goal-kicking was near faultless too and I've yet to hear of him shopping himself around to other clubs and asking for a release like some others.

thebigredv

N
A lot of talk about Sloans poor defence but conveniently overlook his tackle on papalii which saved a try or his effort to hold up the player in goal (even if the bunker found a way to give a try).

People said they wanted to see improvement and more commitment and physicality. Took bombs, was in position to clean up the kicks safely, ran harder with his carries, was trying to support more and did make some good tackles. Well he did that, he's not there yet but if he improves at the rate hes going he will be a very good player.
Not saying he hasn’t improved and if he keeps on that trajectory he might end up one of the greats at fullback because what he does in attack is silky and smooth. The improvement is noticeable much like Ramsay who had similar issues and then came back bigger and better before his illness.

That being said, we all ended up less than impressed with Dufty, who could spark attack and score at will sometimes but always seemed to let in more at his end. That won’t fly with Shane but I believe he might be the man to get the best defence out of Sloan. Deserves every chance and looks a key player.

TheRev

700k is not that much anymore for a quality hard player who can cover centre, wing, fullback potentially.. and goalkick.. we need more than 1 goalkicker also to get through the year to cover injury.

The reality is we arent the Roosters, we cant go out and pluck other ready-to-roll 1st grade talent like Dom Young etc.. right now Lomax is so far in front of our other outside backs in reserve grade.. and if Bird or Sloan break a leg tomorrow, Lomax is gonna fill that void immediately.

Flanno has 99 problems with our roster, but imo Lomax is not one of em.. hopefully in 2yrs time our roster is much better and money is tighter.. but right now hes one of the better uses of our cash.. and hardest workers.

Dragon David

I keep reading that some of you are saying Lomax is unhappy playing wing.
Can you guys please post the link to him saying this. I just can't find it/them.

There is mention in this article that Phil Rothfield stated that Lomax isn't happy at the Dragons. So if you believe in Phroth, then ...

OneEyedDragon

There is mention in this article that Phil Rothfield stated that Lomax isn't happy at the Dragons. So if you believe in Phroth, then ...
Phrothfield sprouts so much gibberish that he may occasionally fluke it and get something correct. But I don't think this story re Lomax is that fluke. No matter what Phroth says, I still think that unless the club forces Zac out, he will choose to stay at the Dragons for as long as he can. Just my opinion.

Dragonslayer

Thanks for that DD.

Good ol' Rothfield throwing darts again.

From what I believe, Zac is more than happy on the wing with the occasional switch to fullback. He was overplaying his hand at centre, a position he could certainly move back to, and it was even effecting his goal-kicking, to which I see has improved in both trial games.

A more settled Lomax will bring out the best in him, and I think Flanno knows that his strike weapon needs some downtime to reinvigorate his uptime.

Auntie.Gerald

I keep reading that some of you are saying Lomax is unhappy playing wing.
Can you guys please post the link to him saying this. I just can't find it/them.

Lemon biting face on game day in both trials?

I mean who is to say he didn’t cop some flack from his ex abdominal ooooh la la pre game when there was rumours he might head to the Roosters ????

He may have?

But boy oh boy he has looked sour !

Did u see his facial expressions when Birdy was telling him……what to do ?………. too many times.

But last 15mins when playing tight centre with Rava right wing he was gleaming last night. Bula Bula !!!

since77

Lemon biting face on game day in both trials?

I mean who is to say he didn’t cop some flack from his ex abdominal ooooh la la pre game when there was rumours he might head to the Roosters ????

He may have?

But boy oh boy he has looked sour !

Did u see his facial expressions when Birdy was telling him……what to do ?………. too many times.

But last 15mins when playing tight centre with Rava right wing he was gleaming last night. Bula Bula !!!
He always has that look on his face.
He's busting a gut out there every game. That game face seems like its a mixture of exertion and intent to me.
For what it's worth I think he's been pretty productive on the wing in the 2 games he's played. Still think he's going to be swapping around with Sloan a bit during the season.

Dragon David

Thanks for that DD.

Good ol' Rothfield throwing darts again.

From what I believe, Zac is more than happy on the wing with the occasional switch to fullback. He was overplaying his hand at centre, a position he could certainly move back to, and it was even effecting his goal-kicking, to which I see has improved in both trial games.

A more settled Lomax will bring out the best in him, and I think Flanno knows that his strike weapon needs some downtime to reinvigorate his uptime.
You are welcome Dragonslayer. In just the two games Lomax has played on the wing there appears to be less panic with the players knowing that they have him on the wing to better the defence and to get more involved in the attack. Flanno knows what he is aiming to achieve which is a lot more than our previous no hoper coaches. I think that he has looked at each of the squad players and several reserves with a fine tooth comb to record their strengths and weaknesses and devising ways to improve a lot of the aspects of the players abilities and toughen them up to be able to play hard and fast footy as a result.

Dean Young would have learnt heaps being the main defensive coach at the Cowboys the past two years and would also have learnt a thing or two with attack. Ryan Carr and Ben Wolfe also doing good jobs in my opinion. So Flanno does have good men around him including the trainers and conditioners.

SEAT 1A

Lomax may just be disappointed that that he's been moved out of his preferred position.

He might be doing it with gritted teeth however, at this stage, he is doing the job and I reckon he will be back at centre at some point.

dungay dragon

Lomax may just be disappointed that that he's been moved out of his preferred position.

He might be doing it with gritted teeth however, at this stage, he is doing the job and I reckon he will be back at centre at some point.
Yep
Just as much pressure on Bird to continue to perform
Thinking its refreshing that almost the entire Squad are vying for a position in the top 17 each week
Perform or perish