Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Corey Norman scandal thread

Cockadoodledoo

I would say every police officer has used illegal drugs at some point. At least in their early years.

Pretty much all the guys who were the small time drug dealers at my school joined the police force. The one exception was the guy who got his kicks out of making prank calls even well into his 20's sending police to fake domestic assaults etc.. He is now a federal police officer.

Last Week

I would say every police officer has used illegal drugs at some point. At least in their early years.

You should take it to the media and name and shame them. You have vital information that the public deserves to know about..

T-Boon

Pretty much all the guys who were the small time drug dealers at my school joined the police force. The one exception was the guy who got his kicks out of making prank calls even well into his 20's sending police to fake domestic assaults etc.. He is now a federal police officer.

Yep, every kid from my youth who has now become a cop (I can think of 4) was well and truly into at least the pot scene.

Wizardman

Man, we have some cockheads in here

THE CHAMP

Whilst I accept some police officers use illicit substances, to say that 'most' police do, is utter bullshit.

Snappy until they allow themselves to be blanket drug tested I'll always have my suspicions. To use the term most you only require 51% to use illegal drugs. Considering they get them for free tells me this is definitely possible.

Snappy

The NRL said today that Parramatta Eels player, Corey Norman will be suspended for eight rounds of the 2016 Telstra Premiership.

The suspension will run from Round 19 (when Norman was stood down) through to the end of Round 26.

In addition, he will be fined $20,000.

NRL Head of Integrity, Nick Weeks said the penalty relates to the following matters involving Norman:
• His conviction for drug possession at The Star casino
• A police warning for consorting with known criminals at the casino
• Filming incidents involving apparent drug use and sexual activity
• Distributing video of those incidents to other NRL players

Mr Weeks said the Integrity Unit had interviewed Norman this week and had decided, with the support of the Parramatta club, to impose the penalties described above.

"The message is clear… players cannot put themselves in a position where they may damage their own reputations and that of the game," Mr Weeks said.

"We have been consistent this year in imposing strong penalties where players bring the game into disrepute through actions off the field.

"Whether it is drug possession, criminal associations or social media use, players understand the consequences that can flow from illegal or other unacceptable conduct.

"While it is a regrettable trend in society for people to look to sell footage of sports stars in their private lives there is an easy solution for our players – do not engage in activity which will damage their reputation or that of the game."

http://www.nrl.com/nrl-suspends-corey-norman/tabid/10874/newsid/99422/default.aspx

Maybe Norman actually has to pay his fine?

Uncle Nick won't be forgetfully leaving bags of cash lying around Norman's locker room....

I'm sorry have you been living under a rock the past year? He plays for Parra ffs. The club who has literally admitted to handing out brown paper bags in their board meetings.

You clown

God-King Dean

So Parra have been able to rort the cap, but able to still win the premiership.

And Norman is a druggie, but only gets a 1 game suspension.

And most Parra fans will try to convince you they've been hard done by this season .....

Nice Beaver

I'm sorry have you been living under a rock the past year? He plays for Parra ffs. The club who has literally admitted to handing out brown paper bags in their board meetings.

You clown

Oops. Panties twisted in 5..4..3..2..1..

I am well aware of the goings on the past 12 months, thanks Sunshine.

I am also well aware of the Uncle Nick's Modus Operandi for the past 2 decades.

As you were.

Chook

Oops. Panties twisted in 5..4..3..2..1..

I am well aware of the goings on the past 12 months, thanks Sunshine.

I am also well aware of the Uncle Nick's Modus Operandi for the past 2 decades.

As you were.

Fixed any matches lately?

20K and 8 weeks is extremely leanient for what he's done when you comapre it to what Pearce did and his penalties.

Chook.

lynx000

So Parra have been able to rort the cap, but able to still win the premiership.

And Norman is a druggie, but only gets a 1 game suspension.

And most Parra fans will try to convince you they've been hard done by this season .....
I don't get whether you are trying to be funny, obtuse or you can't read, the article said he had been suspended until Round 26, where does the one game come from?

Nice Beaver

Fixed any matches lately?

20K and 8 weeks is extremely leanient for what he's done when you comapre it to what Pearce did and his penalties.

Chook.

Nah mate. Yourself?

I think the fine seems pretty spot on really. Lesser monetary fine than Pearce but same suspension. Pearce's fine was really $75k also given the $50k suspension.