Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Barba

Generalzod

The funny thing is I'm watching Sky news and not once have they mentioned the Barba incident in Nrth Qld.

shaggs

Let’s have a look at barba’s season timeline
2012 good
2013 bad leaves for broncos
2014 average
2015 sharks bad
2016 great
2017 bad England/France
2018 great
2019 bad

Cannot string more than 12 months together without a f**k up.
Gifted athletically and physically but lacking the brain cells to put it all together and get his life right.

As much as Cam Smith is an absolute merkin on the field, the bloke is consistentaly great every year and never gets done with coke or drinks too much and beats his missus or a cab driver.
Most idiot footballers could learn a lot from him.

Let’s have a look at barba’s season timeline
2012 good
2013 bad leaves for broncos
2014 average
2015 sharks bad
2016 great
2017 bad England/France
2018 great
2019 bad

Cannot string more than 12 months together without a f**k up.
Gifted athletically and physically but lacking the brain cells to put it all together and get his life right.

As much as Cam Smith is an absolute merkin on the field, the bloke is consistentaly great every year and never gets done with coke or drinks too much and beats his missus or a cab driver.
Most idiot footballers could learn a lot from him.
"That's a penalty right there...."

snout

The funny thing is I'm watching Sky news and not once have they mentioned the Barba incident in Nrth Qld.
Ive seen it at least half a dozen times on news snippets.

Every time - every single time - he's wearing a sharks jumper.

jc155776

The fact that half of Townsville is flooding and shit is about to get a whole lot worse is probably why.

No cover up, just more important shot to worry about at the moment up there.

RandyAndy

im sorry but seriously how dumb are footballers period! I just got back from a bit of a bbq and got a bit heated talking about the off season with some of the neighbours and family.

how many infractions have we witnessed over off season 20 or so? this is exactly why I fell out of the game years ago and put very little effort in besides for my nephew - who by the way cried when he worked out he wont get to see barba play in australia...again.

it makes me want to throw my beer up at how dumb these players can be and ultimately how they are actually lowlife scum for bashing women.

because of this i wont be attending an nrl game this year

AJB1102

f**k, I forgot all about Andy's nephew's feelings in all of this. Really puts things in perspective.

If 20 blokes have f**ked up, there are 460 (going off 30 man squads) who haven't.

I've enjoyed the shit outta the off season but I probably won't go to a game either; I've got a Fox subscription so no need.

And throwing beer away is never the answer.

RandyAndy

f**k, I forgot all about Andy's nephew's feelings in all of this. Really puts things in perspective.

If 20 blokes have f**ked up, there are 460 (going off 30 man squads) who haven't.

I've enjoyed the shit outta the off season but I probably won't go to a game either; I've got a Fox subscription so no need.

And throwing beer away is never the answer.

it is really upsetting to see youngesters get let down time and time again. it is not a good look on the game and with way too much negativity leading into the season - drink driving, drugs, sex tapes, bashings, alleged rape cases, pub brawlings, scandal after scanal

these blokes get paid excellent quid but go around with rocks in there heads and babra has what it is 4 girls also. i think these guys need to go do some hard yakka work for low money to see how easy they do actually have it

sitting on a 18 year old scotch in an attempt to calm me down

AJB1102

it is really upsetting to see youngesters get let down time and time again. it is not a good look on the game and with way too much negativity leading into the season - drink driving, drugs, sex tapes, bashings, alleged rape cases, pub brawlings, scandal after scanal

these blokes get paid excellent quid but go around with rocks in there heads and babra has what it is 4 girls also. i think these guys need to go do some hard yakka work for low money to see how easy they do actually have it

sitting on a 18 year old scotch in an attempt to calm me down

I think it doesn't matter how much they're on or what they do to earn it, a woman basher is a woman basher. These grubs exist, some play footy.

Hope the scotch does the trick, mate, but try drinking it and sitting on a couch instead. Enjoy either way.

Generalzod

Great article makes sense:

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/my...n-for-ben-barba-s-family-20190205-p50vu7.html

I love rugby league with a passion. Brought up on it my whole life. Go Bunnies. But I do not love the National Rugby League.

Here’s why. On Tuesday, Ben Barba, tainted but talented, was finally banned from the game for lifefor assaulting his partner Ainslie Currie at a Townsville casino on Australia Day. He was sacked by the Cowboys last week. Currie had pleaded with the club to take him back.

My question for rugby league is this: when you take back a genius player with a history of alleged violence and drugs, how much coaching and support do you provide him and his family? And when it all goes horribly wrong, what did you have in place beyond dumping Barba and dumping his entire family? These men need coaching off the field as well as on because they are examples to all of us.

There was absolutely no question about his acts of violence, thanks to the CCTV, and no question Barba had to lose his registration. There must be zero tolerance for violence against women, zero tolerance against any violence, although that’s hard to argue as any actual fan of rugby league would see on the field any day, any round. I’d also argue that there should be zero tolerance for drug, gambling and alcohol offences although the NRL might struggle to get the latter past its sponsors.

There's no room for you if you tarnish the game: Quayle
NRL gender adviser Catharine Lumby of Macquarie University tells me I'm wrong about NRL inaction. She has just completed her third review for the NRL into off-field behaviour and says that while there is violence against women in society in general it will continue in the NRL.

"It's a cohort of entitled young men which we find in many places, including elite university colleges."

"What pleases me is that we are beginning to see consistency of penalties, including zero tolerance."

Jonathon Louth, research fellow at the Australian Alliance for Social Enterprise, University of South Australia, has researched the link between sport and violence and says the culture of rugby league will only change when women participate equally across all levels – from community to elite.

The spokesperson for the NRL says Peter Beattie, chairman of the Australian Rugby League Commission, wants to increase the number of women commissioners, beyond Megan Davis and Amanda Laing. But as Louth of UNISA reminds me, “At this stage, the training facilities are not even close to equal and while that disparity remains, progress won’t be quick.”

On the one hand, the NRL desperately seeks women players and women spectators to broaden its financial base. On the other hand it refuses to make the culture of the game safe. Last year, I revealed that there was a massive spike in the rate of family violence in NSW on State of Origin game days, based on six years worth of crime data. I begged the NRL for comment on how they could respond to these terrible numbers. Nothing.

It’s the right thing to do to ban Barba. But the NRL must act change the culture and support the women who have been betrayed by their partners. Whatever it is doing now is not enough. The public is losing trust. That’s one quick way to lose audiences.

Jenna Price is an academic at the University of Technology who researches family violence.

AJB1102

Great article makes sense:

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/my...n-for-ben-barba-s-family-20190205-p50vu7.html

I love rugby league with a passion. Brought up on it my whole life. Go Bunnies. But I do not love the National Rugby League.

Here’s why. On Tuesday, Ben Barba, tainted but talented, was finally banned from the game for lifefor assaulting his partner Ainslie Currie at a Townsville casino on Australia Day. He was sacked by the Cowboys last week. Currie had pleaded with the club to take him back.

My question for rugby league is this: when you take back a genius player with a history of alleged violence and drugs, how much coaching and support do you provide him and his family? And when it all goes horribly wrong, what did you have in place beyond dumping Barba and dumping his entire family? These men need coaching off the field as well as on because they are examples to all of us.

There was absolutely no question about his acts of violence, thanks to the CCTV, and no question Barba had to lose his registration. There must be zero tolerance for violence against women, zero tolerance against any violence, although that’s hard to argue as any actual fan of rugby league would see on the field any day, any round. I’d also argue that there should be zero tolerance for drug, gambling and alcohol offences although the NRL might struggle to get the latter past its sponsors.

There's no room for you if you tarnish the game: Quayle
NRL gender adviser Catharine Lumby of Macquarie University tells me I'm wrong about NRL inaction. She has just completed her third review for the NRL into off-field behaviour and says that while there is violence against women in society in general it will continue in the NRL.

"It's a cohort of entitled young men which we find in many places, including elite university colleges."

"What pleases me is that we are beginning to see consistency of penalties, including zero tolerance."

Jonathon Louth, research fellow at the Australian Alliance for Social Enterprise, University of South Australia, has researched the link between sport and violence and says the culture of rugby league will only change when women participate equally across all levels – from community to elite.

The spokesperson for the NRL says Peter Beattie, chairman of the Australian Rugby League Commission, wants to increase the number of women commissioners, beyond Megan Davis and Amanda Laing. But as Louth of UNISA reminds me, “At this stage, the training facilities are not even close to equal and while that disparity remains, progress won’t be quick.”

On the one hand, the NRL desperately seeks women players and women spectators to broaden its financial base. On the other hand it refuses to make the culture of the game safe. Last year, I revealed that there was a massive spike in the rate of family violence in NSW on State of Origin game days, based on six years worth of crime data. I begged the NRL for comment on how they could respond to these terrible numbers. Nothing.

It’s the right thing to do to ban Barba. But the NRL must act change the culture and support the women who have been betrayed by their partners. Whatever it is doing now is not enough. The public is losing trust. That’s one quick way to lose audiences.

Jenna Price is an academic at the University of Technology who researches family violence.

It's absolute horse shit.

If you f**ked up enough to get the sack, would your former employer have any responsibility to financially support your wife and kids?

Barba has earned a f**kton more in the last 5 years than most will in 15. If they're broke it is not the NRL's fault or problem. Why don't his f**ken "managers" (great job they've done managing ey) pull their finger/wallet out?

That'd be like endorsing women to stay with their abusive NRL player because even if it all goes to shit you'll be on the NRL tit - beats Centrelink. How long are the NRL supposed to foot the bill and for how much? Pay off the big house Ben couldn't? The Merc?

00zyRyder

Millennials are just the latest cannon fodder for a more harsher hard line leftist agenda. Some Footy players (greats included) from the 50's through to the 80's with evidence, would have spent a large chunk of their playing career in Long bay.
'The more things change - The more they stay the same'
No PHD needed, just common sense.