Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Board meeting with Anderson

Jimbo

Aries said:
Incase you hadn't noticed sullyfan, logic is one thing our board is not blessed with... :cry:

If the stories of this thread are true, you can add integrity to that as well.

millersnose said:
3 warnings

constant public conflict with the board

acussing the NRL and refferees of incompetance

ridding the club of experienced players and replacing them with nobodies
taking a team that was in the finals to the verge of the spoon

crowd figures down

sponsorship dollars about to dry up because we are not on TV anymore

tell me jimbo

how much more trouble can we possibly be in?

How about the club folding? I'm a lawyer and while I don't profess to know the intricacies of unfair dismissal law, much of whihc won't apply in this case because of his contract, Anderson would have a pretty good case and would be justified in taking the club to the cleaners. The media leaks and very public falling out suggests that he has been undermined and that this has made his position untenable. All the negative publicity means that his future earnings potential has also been compromised by the Board's actions and we could be facing a financial settlement well in excess of the remaining term of his contract.

I don't like to be all gloom and doom, but this looks very bad for the club. The potential for this to become bigger than Ben Hur and have a disastrous impact on the club is high. I just can't understand why we need to go down this track. The minimal risk strategy would have been to keep the club's dirty linen behind closed doors and let Anderson know in no uncertain terms how unhappy they are with the club's position (to put up or shut up), give him the 2004 season to put the third year of his plan for culture change into effect and live or die by the sword.

On that note, I'd rather have a well credentialled coach who is not afraid to make the tough decisions, than an under-credentialled former player who happens to have some connections at the club. There seems to be a fair bit of nepotism going on at the club and I'd rather see a shake up at Board level than one that is likely to lose us the services of the current Test coach and possibly some of our senior players.

millersnose

well i am not a lawyer but i know if you are employed on a contract you are entitled to the terms of that contract

everyone here blathering about "unfair dismissal" has got it wrong

"what they mean is breach of contract"

you are not covered by normal employment awards

therefor if the club wants to let mr anderson go they will have to pay out his contract

i am sorry but i dont see how this means closing the doors?

if you are talking about anderson suing the club for defamation then that is a different matter but it is clear he would have as much to worry about than the club

Jimbo

Eskimo Sharkie said:
How about the club folding? I'm a lawyer and while I don't profess to know the intricacies of unfair dismissal law, much of whihc won't apply in this case because of his contract, Anderson would have a pretty good case and would be justified in taking the club to the cleaners. The media leaks and very public falling out suggests that he has been undermined and that this has made his position untenable. All the negative publicity means that his future earnings potential has also been compromised by the Board's actions and we could be facing a financial settlement well in excess of the remaining term of his contract.

I don't like to be all gloom and doom, but this looks very bad for the club. The potential for this to become bigger than Ben Hur and have a disastrous impact on the club is high. I just can't understand why we need to go down this track. The minimal risk strategy would have been to keep the club's dirty linen behind closed doors and let Anderson know in no uncertain terms how unhappy they are with the club's position (to put up or shut up), give him the 2004 season to put the third year of his plan for culture change into effect and live or die by the sword.

On that note, I'd rather have a well credentialled coach who is not afraid to make the tough decisions, than an under-credentialled former player who happens to have some connections at the club. There seems to be a fair bit of nepotism going on at the club and I'd rather see a shake up at Board level than one that is likely to lose us the services of the current Test coach and possibly some of our senior players.

Couldn't have said it better myself. Take a bow.

Eskimo Sharkie said:

Lost me on about 4 points there, especially the ones where you agreed with so called tough decisions as being better or in the least good for the club.
None of them have.

The point about under credentialled.
He had the same as Ricky stuart did last year & hagan the year before.

The fact that the current test coach is more than likely to lose that job as well.

I agreed with the nepotism point though & I am glad that was nipped in the bud. Does anyone think that pierce junior was doing a bad job?

And after asking a few questions the only route for a win is he who spends the most money.
IMUO settlement will happen when the time is right.

PJ

$2 million payout. That's a fair amount for a club that generally struggles for every $.

In case you missed the news the State Gov is increasingbtaxes on our main revenue stream = decrease in profits + an increase in competition as all clubs try and get revenue up to return profits to previous levels.

Not a very nice scenario to be in.

True it may not mean that they'll have to close the doors, but it will take better management than what we have.

cheese

blacktip-griefer said:
insert something about me liking this year
well you're wrong and you're right, grief ...........I liked how ando stormed in and axed down plenty of the dead wood that could never go the distance(some not so dead...but meh, im over it) ......and i liked the fact that he blooded plenty of juniors...because 1st grade experience accounts for depth! ...........i f**king hated losing though, but considering it was our 1st lean patch in a long time i didnt feel the need to ring the alarm bells........the ol' take a step back to take a step forward analogy applies

HOWEVER

The fact that he and the board arent getting along, is tearing the place apart! IMO its gone past the point of repair, and im pi!ssed off it got to this point, but its obvious that the only way we're going to get out of the papers is if Anderson go'z .....closely followed by that bumbling waynka they call 'Bazza.......The only good thing that goose has ever done was not sign on the dotted line of the souths merger

But for the life of me i cant see the squad responding to that whiteanting nuff, Raper....................It will be VERY interesting to see how kimmorley reacts! I hope he proves the league world wrong and sticks by the club instead of the man.....i expect him to have a sook at 1st, but if he cant put it behind him and just play some footy, i'll be f**king dissapointed, and my opinion of him will no doubt change!
blacktip-reefy said:
Does anyone think that pierce junior was doing a bad job?
Considering he was skills coach ....(right?) ....I'd say he did a f**king terrible job! But he shouldnt worry ..daddy will still have a job for him there next year.....the hypocrisy of it all

Aries

PJ said:

In case you missed the news the State Gov is increasingbtaxes on our main revenue stream = decrease in profits + an increase in competition as all clubs try and get revenue up to return profits to previous levels.

Not a very nice scenario to be in.

The Clubs will just raise the prices of the "cheap" lunches and drinks and withdraw some of the money they put into other outside fascilities and charities to re-coup the money lost by the pokie tax increase. The only people to suffer will be the members and visitors to the clubs... in other words, the tax payer will end up paying for it...again, as they always do.

Why the clubs haven't pushed this arguement as well, of the tax payer will pay, is beyond me!!

Was Pierce the Skills coach??

And if he was Cheese , you sound very disappointed with the skill level of the New young guys.

hhhmmmm.....

and Raper not having the backing of the players you say.
Well we must have a very uneducated player roster if they resent Raper for things out of his control.
thats life, thats footy.
These guys in the squad are all having their crack because of a change of coach, now they say that should not happen.

Why is hypocrisy so thick around all things anderson?

Aries

cheese said:
I liked how ando stormed in and axed down plenty of the dead wood that could never go the distance(some not so dead...but meh, im over it) ......and i liked the fact that he blooded plenty of juniors...because 1st grade experience accounts for depth! ...........i f**king hated losing though, but considering it was our 1st lean patch in a long time i didnt feel the need to ring the alarm bells........the ol' take a step back to take a step forward analogy applies

I'll just ask you this cheese. If the rules weren't "changed" just before the semi's last year and our 11 match winning streak roll on that we had going, swept us all the way to a GF win...

a) would CA have let go or sacked all the players he did?
b) if he did, and as you now know we finished 12th, would you still have the same confidence in his ability?
c)reflecting on "b" would you want him to stay for 2004?

PJ

where does this 2 million dollar payout come from PJ?

are you a lawyer as well?

No I'm not a lawyer but have had a bit of experience with the Industrial laws.

The $2mill figure comes from 2 seperate, private conversations I have had with people who are generally pretty spot on, was posted here I believe by someone else as well and from simple maths. He has 1 year plus 2 bonus years to go so 3 years. I don't remember his exact wage but it was one of the highest for the coaches, as you would expect for a multi premiership winning coach and the Australian coach, but I'm pretty sure it was over $600,000. So 3 times that gives $1.8 minimum. Which ties in with what I was told.

uummmm...wasn't the extension only applicable if the top 8 is made twice .

But even 650k is too much.

it won't come to that.

PJ

The Clubs will just raise the prices of the "cheap" lunches and drinks and withdraw some of the money they put into other outside fascilities and charities to re-coup the money lost by the pokie tax increase. The only people to suffer will be the members and visitors to the clubs... in other words, the tax payer will end up paying for it...again, as they always do.

Why the clubs haven't pushed this arguement as well, of the tax payer will pay, is beyond me!!

I disagree.

I think the bigger clubs will, if anything, reduce them further to encourage patrons away from the smaller clubs, and get them to speng their money on the pokies. It's what is alrady happening in the club industry. It's what the big casinos OS do to lure punters in. Give them something away and get them where you make money..gambling.

Community services will also suffer though, I agree totally on that.

cheese

blacktip-reefy said:
And if he was Cheese , you sound very disappointed with the skill level of the New young guys.
I know what your implying grieftser .....

BUT ....yea, f**k oath, i was dissapointed with the general skill level at times.......But i wasnt expecting a foal to instantly perform like a racehorse..........

But young blokes like hilder were showing plenty more skill than of the older banged up nuffs, so it wasnt just the young blokes.....

Aries:

a) I doubt he would have chopped them all.........but aries, they DIDNT stand up, regardless of gameplan etc etc ....their intensity was dissapointing imo! Some of the blokes just didnt seem to want it enough...

Look at penrith the other night......they got the sh!t beat out of them in the opening 15 but you could just tell they werent going to lie down ....they really wanted it!

b) I think his record speaks for itself ....he's been able to go the distance on 5 previous occasions......who am i to say i know better?!

But aries its impossible for me to answer that .....because it didnt happen, so how am i know how i would have reacted

c) again ....impossible to say

But ...he has to go .......Cronulla sharks is no longer a suitable working environment for anyone.......It will only get worse i feel if he was to stay(as much as i think he could do great things next season)!

PJ

Yes it does apply if he makes it twice.

If he is removed before next year he won't be given the chane to fulfill that.

This was all discussed at the back me or sack me time. It is 3 years worth.

Aries

PJ said:

I disagree.

I think the bigger clubs will, if anything, reduce them further to encourage patrons away from the smaller clubs, and get them to speng their money on the pokies. It's what is alrady happening in the club industry. It's what the big casinos OS do to lure punters in. Give them something away and get them where you make money..gambling.

Community services will also suffer though, I agree totally on that.

The tax paying "memebr" can still lose out if their club goes broke due to those tactics... Not everyone is a pokies junkie and there are other things to bet on!

Heres an idea, everyone protest by playing Keno, or betting on the GG's or "the 2 flies crawling up the wall" at the TAB... lets drop that MASSIVE revenue that Carr already gets from the pokies... the clubs still get there cut on keno and the TAB, the government don't get any extra, sure they get there cut from Keno and the TAB but they get their cut of the pokies tax now!!

Aries

cheese said:
Aries:

a) I doubt he would have chopped them all.........but aries, they DIDNT stand up, regardless of gameplan etc etc ....their intensity was dissapointing imo! Some of the blokes just didnt seem to want it enough...

Look at penrith the other night......they got the sh!t beat out of them in the opening 15 but you could just tell they werent going to lie down ....they really wanted it!

b) I think his record speaks for itself ....he's been able to go the distance on 5 previous occasions......who am i to say i know better?!

But aries its impossible for me to answer that .....because it didnt happen, so how am i know how i would have reacted

c) again ....impossible to say

But ...he has to go .......Cronulla sharks is no longer a suitable working environment for anyone.......It will only get worse i feel if he was to stay(as much as i think he could do great things next season)!

The first part of "a)I doubt he would have chopped them all..." said it all for me cheese... you have then answered the rest according ;-)

Mate we had our share of injuries too, but my point is that CA's game plan went out the window when the Dominant Tackle came in. He was then expected to change his whole game plan, as it was now null and void and the chooks, who obviously studies us for a while and feared us when we wiped the floor with them a month or so earlier, show all other clubs how to beat us... (well the Stains couldn't :D)

It took CA half the year this year to finaly adjust to it!!