Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

James McManus to sue Knights

POPEYE

The only way to stop that is to stop the head injuries.

I genuinely don't know how you can do that in league without major changes.
There we have it, RL will one day have stretcher bearers for grass burns as does Soccer . . . whereas Soccer doesn't need body contact RL does, therein lies the conundrum . . . what will the new game with the major changes be called

BuffaloRules

There we have it, RL will one day have stretcher bearers for grass burns as does Soccer . . . whereas Soccer doesn't need body contact RL does, therein lies the conundrum . . . what will the new game with the major changes be called

AFL or Soccer

Seems clubs still not learning. Seena number of occasions again this weekend where players clearly take head knocks and stay on. Clubs will get what they deserve.

davi

Nathan Brown calls for 18th man available for concussions.

"Newcastle coach Nathan Brown has renewed his calls for an 18th man to be available in NRL games to cover concussions.

The Knights lost Sione Mata'utia and Brendan Elliot to concussions in the second half of their 24-18 loss to South Sydney on Saturday, leaving them with just two players on the bench.

Aggravating the situation was winger Nathan Ross struggling with an ankle injury and Brown said he was forced to stay on the field due to the lack of cover.

Such a problem would be eradicated if a reserve were available for concussed players, Brown said.

"We're supposed to be protecting the players but we're leaving blokes who are out there hurt, out of position," he said.

"How's that make sense? The game has got to address this."

The Knights are embroiled battle over their management of former winger James McManus's concussions late in his career.

McManus retired on medical grounds in 2016 following his final on-field concussion the year before, and his case was mentioned in the NSW Supreme Court on Friday.

Newcastle have denied any wrongdoing in the matter.

Brown, who was not at the club at the time, said NRL teams were on board with the concussion protocol and doctors were extra-cautious and eager to rule players out.

However, he worried about the effect that might have on the likes of Ross, who he was concerned would further aggravate his ankle worry on Saturday night.

"All these players that are playing when they're under duress are at risk," he said.

"We know why (the concussion rule) has been addressed - which is great, we're all on side.

"But we're not addressing the rule that needs addressing."

Meanwhile, winger Elliot was lucky to remain on the field following a first-half high shot from Rabbitohs centre Hymel Hunt.

He passed an on-field check before being removed following a separate incident in the second half.

But Brown questioned how it would have been fair for him to lose a player with a failed test, while Hunt, who was on report, stayed on the field.

"There's no common sense at all," Brown said.

Brown said he had no issue with captain Trent Hodkinson being sin-binned late in the match after he accused referee David Munro of costing the Knights the contest."

http://www.sbs.com.au/news/article/2017/03/18/brown-renews-calls-18th-man-nrl

tumbidragon

Elgey couldn't even pull his mouth guard out, Duges having a 10 sec snooze. Nah, your good to go fellas...
Just like everything else in the NRL, there is f**k all consistency.
Surely the NRL could hire a few quacks and set them up in the bunker to make calls on this. The clubs and their appointed docs have proven they can't be trusted with the responsibility of player welfare...

Knight76

Elliot yesterday, concussed for all money but stays on, only to be concussed a second time.

Funny though, get a player bumped who needs to be subbed off and see how readily the trainers tap their heads. Tapping away like it's on fire.

tumbidragon

Elliot yesterday, concussed for all money but stays on, only to be concussed a second time.

Funny though, get a player bumped who needs to be subbed off and see how readily the trainers tap their heads. Tapping away like it's on fire.
Yeah, that's the other bloke I was trying to think of. The NRL can't beat their chests about concussion and it's affects on player welfare and then not heavily fine the clubs that are taking the piss... Perhaps McManus does have a decent case after all.

DiegoNT

There doesn't have to be an 18th man for concussion. Each team has 4 on the bench to cover injuries and fatigue. If you want to run the gauntlet of going with 4 big forwards on the bench instead or having a utility or forwards capable of playing in the backs then that's your fault

Caped Crusader

There doesn't have to be an 18th man for concussion. Each team has 4 on the bench to cover injuries and fatigue. If you want to run the gauntlet of going with 4 big forwards on the bench instead or having a utility or forwards capable of playing in the backs then that's your fault
Thats fine for 1 injury mate but im pretty sure Brown is referring to having multiple concussions in one game.

jc155776

Dugan was out.

The game stopped because he was crook.

The game then resets allowing the Dragons to set a defensive line and Dugan stays on.

Behind the jaw is a sweet spot to knock people out. It's obvious that's where he got hit.

If you slump to the ground so badly the game has to be stopped you should go off until at least a break in play.

Dugan wasn't being a cat or faking injury to slow the game by the way. He was hurt.

DiegoNT

Thats fine for 1 injury mate but im pretty sure Brown is referring to having multiple concussions in one game.
You have 4 bench players to cover injuries.
Some people are even calling for full benches for concussed players. If team a gets 5 concussions then they can replace them with fresh players and still have 17 players, team b suffers 5 acl injuries and they have to play with 12.

Caped Crusader

You have 4 bench players to cover injuries.
Some people are even calling for full benches for concussed players. If team a gets 5 concussions then they can replace them with fresh players and still have 17 players, team b suffers 5 acl injuries and they have to play with 12.
Well ive not heard of anyone advocating bringing in more than an 18th man so i think thats a bit of an irrelevant point

Players having to be taken off for HIAs occurs far more than an ACL rupture. Its a safely issue and effects teams far more than any other reason for a player leaving the field

I think from a player safely POV, its more than reasonable to suggest that bringing 1 player in to cover a concussed player is a good idea

DiegoNT

Well ive not heard of anyone advocating bringing in more than an 18th man so i think thats a bit of an irrelevant point

Players having to be taken off for HIAs occurs far more than an ACL rupture. Its a safely issue and effects teams far more than any other reason for a player leaving the field

I think from a player safely POV, its more than reasonable to suggest that bringing 1 player in to cover a concussed player is a good idea
You can bring in 1 player to replace a concussed player. You can pick any of the 4 players you have on your bench. Free interchange as well

Knight76

So the Dragons, Knights and Titans have all been fined with the NRL taking a tough stance on player welfare. Its just a pity they don't also take an equally tough stance against the players causing these concussions. Hunt in the Knights game stayed on the field and contributed to their win.

And isn't fining the knights and titans kind of symbolic more than anything else?

NRl clubs are dumb frickers! Seriously the NRl cant be clearer on the process, there is clearly long term legal ramifications for what they are doing if ignoring concussions, yet they continue to do it. No wonder most of them cant make ends meet financially when they cant even implement something as straight forward as a concussion rule ffs!

Disagree, more players go off for non concussion injuries than concussion ones, should we have more subs for them as well in case a team loses two players to knee injuries in a game? If clubs were decent honest and could be trusted not to rort it we could have a specific head injury sub, but they aren't, clubs know they aren't and that's why they voted against it last year.