Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NSW Team 2017

Hutty1986

geez, some flogs still whining about the squad selections, and Pearce in particular. hey everyone, get your criticism of Pearce in now so when he stinks it up, you can say I told you so........or slink away if he has a decent game. so easy on a forum.

team has been named, support the f**king team. it's rep footy and they're all NSW. club shit is ridiculous.

This isn't club shit, it's people who have had the misfortune of watching Pearce's absolutely disgraceful Origin 'career.' Do you think this side can come up with the skill and execution to win the series?

big hit!

This isn't club shit, it's people who have had the misfortune of watching Pearce's absolutely disgraceful Origin 'career.' Do you think this side can come up with the skill and execution to win the series?

of course it can.

granted, it's not the exact squad i would've picked, but i don't think a loss will be solely Pearce's fault either. they lost the series last year without him. and the calls for Moylan in the halves is a sample size of 1 game. he played at FB in the other two they lost. there were several changes for the final match, and by then, the series was over anyway.

Hutty1986

of course it can.

granted, it's not the exact squad i would've picked, but i don't think a loss will be solely Pearce's fault either. they lost the series last year without him. and the calls for Moylan in the halves is a sample size of 1 game. he played at FB in the other two they lost. there were several changes for the final match, and by then, the series was over anyway.
fair enough. I hate the little turd (I know, surprising stuff) but I just want the team to win. Maybe it's 7th series lucky...

OldPanther

of course it can.

I have this weird feeling we are going to end up with Pearce/Moylan halves at some point.

Exsilium

Would have been happy with a Wallace. Through all the sh*t the Panthers have dished up this year he can hold his head high so it's a real shame he copped the injury.
On Hayne his selection shows they weren't choosing strictly on loyalty(using the point you made about Peats, unless I have read that incorrectly??).

My point being that their selection process is flawed.

Loyalty would have had Farah in the side. Hayne hasn't played for years and his form is garbage. He was chosen.

Gallen is in form (somewhat) but loses his spot.

Whilst I agree with Gallen and Farah being excluded I do not agree with Hayn
Wallace was injured on the weekend. Out for 4 to 6 weeks.

I was referring to his original origin campaign when he busted his right nut for NSW :)

RazorRam0n

logic and common sense don't really have a place on here when it comes to Pearce.

and muppets like you are the worse of the lot

"selection should be based on form.....unless it's pearce"
"selection should be based on past performances....unless it's hayne"

it's almost like you like taking 2 pieces of everything so you can change your mind whenever needed.....oh hang on....

OldPanther

and muppets like you are the worse of the lot

"selection should be based on form.....unless it's pearce"
"selection should be based on past performances....unless it's hayne"

it's almost like you like taking 2 pieces of everything so you can change your mind whenever needed.....oh hang on....

It's the exact opposite. Pearce was picked on current form and Hayne was picked on reputation. The selectors caused this argument by not having a set standard.

big hit!

well, we're seeing two approaches just with the two squad selections........

one (Daley) has selected a player (Hayne) who hasn't played much rugby league in 2 years. the other (Walters) hasn't selected a player (Slater) in much the same boat re rugby league field time.

further to this, Daley has basically opted for a couple of fullbacks to be centres. walters has gone for specialised centres. kev could've re-jigged the backline like Daley has to fit in players, but he didn't.

RazorRam0n

It's the exact opposite. Pearce was picked on current form and Hayne was picked on reputation. The selectors caused this argument by not having a set standard.

that's your own interpretation of their selection model.

my interpretation is they won't consider anyone at all until they've demonstrated being able to compete at a higher level wether that be grand finals, past selection, test football before state, or have maintained form for an extraordinary amount of time....

that is the selection pool.

at that point it is then a case by case basis on form reputation and role played to suit a game plan.

the selection pool criteria is black and white, the selections from the pool are subjective and so they should be based on coach's preference.

big hit!

It's interesting that Hayne can be judged on his past yet Pearce can't. There is far too much emotion around the wrong parts of the game. Like selections etc.

pearce has been lucky that there haven't been many decent consistent halves to take the opportunity to be NSW rep. it's why they go back to him.

talk is that he can finally run the team around the field in this series. you cannot deny that with Farah, Gal and Bird, he never had the authority. indeed, many NSW forwards have also struggled at origin because the trio above would play among themselves. if any NSW supporter couldn't see this (many folks just look at stats and the obvious 'wow he's getting through heaps of work on the field') over the many series, then you're part of the problem too. if pearce ends up f**king up this opportunity, you know he's gone and Daley is gone with him.

i say it's more a blight on daley who would select players without anticipating how their play at club level would transfer to the origin arena with other personalities. soccer managers deal with this all the time and the ones who nut this out properly are the successful ones.

OldPanther

pearce has been lucky that there haven't been many decent consistent halves to take the opportunity to be NSW rep. it's why they go back to him.

talk is that he can finally run the team around the field in this series. you cannot deny that with Farah, Gal and Bird, he never had the authority. indeed, many NSW forwards have also struggled at origin because the trio above would play among themselves. if any NSW supporter couldn't see this (many folks just look at stats and the obvious 'wow he's getting through heaps of work on the field') over the many series, then you're part of the problem too. if pearce ends up f**king up this opportunity, you know he's gone and Daley is gone with him.

i say it's more a blight on daley who would select players without anticipating how their play at club level would transfer to the origin arena with other personalities. soccer managers deal with this all the time and the ones who nut this out properly are the successful ones.

This is probably the best post on the subject. I read in the paper this morning Pearce has been given the lead on video sessions and other aspects of training to form that leadership he needs within the team. I hope it works but if not then, like you said, he should be done.

It's sad to see how bad our halves situation is.