Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

Listening to Qld radio the jock made a good point when he said Hayne will have 150kg bodyguards if he's a running back and the best running backs are around 180cm and 90-100kgs with great elusive running skills . . . sounds like Hayne. If he's any good he'd get the equivalent of the League salary cap so why not.

In Australia's 20 odd million you'd have a better chance of finding a League player that would succeed in NFL than you would finding an NFL player in their 200 odd million that could replicate what Hayne does and he only puts in for 40 or so minutes. The difference in the two games is as simple as indoctrination . . . horses for courses.

Imo Hayne leaving is a godsend for Arthur and Parramatta, the bloke is too much of a distraction for a coach trying to make players concentrate on his methods alone. Potter would have been better off had Farah went to Soccer where he could piss his pants to his heart's content

POPEYE

Everyone will sleep well knowing the salary cap is doing it's job, we even have clubs confessing to irregularities before they get caught such is the fear the mighty NRL has instilled in wrongdoers. Supporters everywhere can examine the report cards and talk about how their team may have only been a little bit naughty and others tell of squeaky cleanness . . . thank f**k for naivety in a game for the common people

If you have to believe that players play better the more they are paid you'd have to believe that they'll hold back if they're not getting enough or if they think a team mate is getting more than he should. A Titan's journeyman 80 minute player should be really pissed that the players behind the salary cap rort were probably among the pretenders that only play occasionally

Funnily enough the NRL won't take anything off the cap if a player doesn't play 26 games let alone 80 minutes in each but they certainly jump up and f**king down if players are 'rewarded' under the table for going the distance. Tedesco for example, using a bit of poetic licence, would be earning $1000 a minute if Cam Smith was earning $10 a minute.

Good luck to any club that tells a player if you earn every cent you're paid under the cap rules we'll pay you extra in brown paper bags to the same value you could get away with ripping us off if you didn't play. All the tree huggers and do-gooders that compare the worth of players simply by the deeds they do when indeed they turn up or are in the mood to the worth of big minute players can go f**k themselves

Slug

Hey popsy, mate. I've noticed a number of stars have popped up on my very popular 'Greatest Team in the Last Century' thread...3 of 'em. Stars everywhere. Read 'em and weep:D

If you need some tips I'd be happy to help champ.

Up the Bunnies. Ding, dong the witch is dead.

Slug

Just popped in 'cause the thread is struggling.

Pops...what about these thug kids out on the piss? the cane would have fixed 'em.

POPEYE

Great to see Packer backing a team, anything to put another nail in the coffin of the salary cap. Imagine the off-season, the boys visit the new Sydney casino and miracle of all miracles, turn a $50k bet into a $200k win

If the NRL really wanted to create an even playing field all they have to do is put a cap on poaching. If Morris wanted to join his brother the Dogs would have to let one of their poached players go to a club that hasn't reached it's 'poached' limit. The Dogs could pay Folau a million bucks a season if they wanted to but he'd be waiting for a pass from someone they had to nurture

Greenberg won't mind if Hasler does go back to Manly, he could use Meninga, Stuart or even bring back Bozo, anyone who can coach a team of prefabricated champions

POPEYE

Good result, Kiwis won and the Pommy ref showed our blokes how it's done, linesmen made more mistakes and they weren't earth shattering. Had to have a giggle at Rabs when he said the Kiwis perform better in structured competitions and fail in one-off mid year tests.

Poor old Rabs can't comprehend the Australian team is full of Origin players at the time of year when everyone's trying to impress and the Kiwis are thrown together stone cold. This time of the year players on both sides are prepared equally so we get to see a contest.

Kearney a supercoach? . . . certainly puts on a good show for his players

Cloudsurfer

May not be a super-coach but his choices this past year have been the good...debuted a few in the one-off to get a taste, left out the right ones & proclaimed they are building a new culture with an eye on the next world cup.
While the Kangaroos weren't as strong as they ought to be for the first game, they misread this one I think & the Kiwis got some good time to build further. Kearney's strategy is working (early days yet) but part of the culture is building a band of brothers & it can be seen.

The crowd at the games put paid to how supporters feel about international RL (pride in your country goes a long way) and there's a lesson for the powers that be in that...whether they heed it is another story. And shame on all those players who made themselves unavailable (or should I say NRL clubs that don't rate international footy?).

Seriously don't seem to have given a smart thought to succession imo.
Perhaps if the pre-requisite Aussie dominance doesn't win the day in this tournament, maybe pride in the Kangaroo jersey won't be secondary

I expect the Kangaroos to improve (would be stupid to write them off after one game) but don't know if the right cattle are there this time to go all the way...the likes of Smith & Cronk will hate that performance & will be instrumental in getting it as good as it can be under the circumstances .

POPEYE

Forget the 4 Nat's, Nines, Origin and 'Grand' Final for the time being, all eyes should be on the State Cups and how to make them bigger and better. Northern Pride and Souths in a trial is a good start and Fiji and Samoa should be introduced to create a strong second tier competition. Genuine League supporters should soapbox the fact we need a better alternative for players outside the NRL to aim for

Watmough should be good for the Eels, no worse for a different reason than Hayne was. Choc will teach them not to wait to step up, when he is fit players will want to follow his example and won't feel they're outclassed in the effort. Like Glenn Stewart with the Rabbitohs there will be games when these blokes will be match winners or show the way . . . a point to prove should last half a season at least

POPEYE

Unless players harm people other than themselves I've always either ignored their misdemeanors or at least supported their right to make one or two of the mistakes a lot of people make, Gallen is no different. He must have known he was in trouble from the moment the ASADA bullshit hit the fan, his only solace was that he was not alone but my guess is he was always prepared to cop punishment

He's certainly alone now but if he plays his cards right and plans his every interview, controls his emotions and keeps that oversize chin up he will slowly do a Ned Kelly with League followers. What's happening to him now began with ignorance but is escalating into scapegoatism, something many of us will burr up at

I'm not a great fan of Gallen, maybe he was even the player others took the lead from in turning a blind eye to what has turned out to be a major f**kup and I reckon he's overrated by people trying to sell newspapers or with agendas. That aside those same f**king wankers are going too far in the other direction now they sense blood in the water.

It's not because Gallen is as bad as they say he is but to get mileage from him being as bad as they want him to be . . . therein lies the difference. If he doesn't shoot any Victorian Policemen I'll take great pleasure every time he has a win in everything he does against overzealous bullying from anyone

POPEYE

One good thing to come out of the Gallen mini series is Shane Flanagan is allowed back to business as usual. Seems the NRL can't have simultaneous miscarriages of justice against the one club, so something had to give. Not sure what I'd like to see most in '15, Hayne go gangbusters or the Sharks snag 8th spot and pinch League's Holy Grail

Had a laugh at someone saying the Roosters trying to poach Taumalolo is a get square for all the ex Bondi boys playing for NQ. That's like swapping Charlize Theron for a nunnery, just because some tossed away their habits and showed potential is not the fault of the Cowboys but the preference of the Roosters.

The NRL should put an exorbitant transfer price on Jason's head and tell Politis to cultivate not captivate. Having the Cowboys deprived of Taumalolo is just another Warriors being ripped of Maloney . . . this sort of shit has to made more difficult than it is

POPEYE

If the Kiwis smack Samoa I'll have to relinquish my desire to see them win 4 Nations, it's only ever been about NZ not given a fair go in one off tests that has had me wanting them to wipe the smug Aussie face. I still reckon the NZ playmakers are not up to scratch but that's not due to manipulation by Australia so my tongue-in-cheek traitorous glee when they win will have to take a back seat to genuine Aussie compatriotism

Australia at full strength is streets ahead of Australia when patched up, not because talent diminishes but because familiarity suffers badly. The Kiwis have always lived with uncertainty in roster and commitment which is why Origin hardened Australia has finished their games better. Samoa and England are just gremlins but gremlins are well known for causing the odd plane crash

I wouldn't be surprised if NZ wallop Samoa because Johnson and Luke have blinders but there is every chance when and if Australia play the Kiwis next the same blokes will implode. If there's any smile on my face from here on in after a Kiwi win it will be purely for Kearney

Cloudsurfer

Nothing wrong with a bit of patriotism ...makes these games what they should be.

You're dead right about the Kangaroos, Origin makes them formidable in the internationals when the crew is kept together.
The kiwi halves (well, one in particular) could well implode if the PI unpredictability ends up getting to him - I think this will be the Kiwis hardest game of them all (and that's not saying they'll win any of the others) simply because of what they'll have to contain in their opposition. If they can keep their focus and stick to their plan in this game we will see if they have what it takes to go all the way this time.

I too want the much-maligned Kearney to do well...

Jason Maher

Did I just see Pops say Shaun Johnson and Keiran Foran are not up to scratch? I know you like to take the piss occasionally Pops, but come on. Perhaps one too many celebratory shandies after Hayne pissed off has clouded your judgement? :p

POPEYE

Foran is not a playmaker and Johnson is not up to scratch often enough which I've been saying since well before Elliott dropped him to snap his head out of his arse. Then again I always thought Stacey Jones was barely passable so what I think can only remain just an opinion . . . maybe only worth one of those little orange helpers you need

POPEYE

There you go, if the NRL has no consideration for it's clubs at least have some for International football and make Origin stand alone. If ever the Island Nations deserved an equal playing field it's now. NZ/Samoa or NZ/Combined Fiji/Samoa on Saturday and NSW/Qld on Sunday of 3 stand alone weekends.

Every top player in the NRL would get a run, everyone would be prepared for end of Season Tests and no NRL club would be disadvantaged. People who didn't enjoy today's NZ/Samoa game and couldn't enjoy an Origin type format is a derelict

For the religious . . . Ben Roberts giveth, Ben Roberts taketh away and Shaun survives another ordinary one

POPEYE

Pops becomes disorientated among the general population and teenagers try to steal his hat.

Not really, I originally used this thread to attract rednecks, saved me the trouble of searching every thread for blokes like you . . . easier than most because your avatar depicts a facsimile of one

This thread now is merely a vehicle for crypticism, I'm sure most people don't agree with everything I write but the novelty of deciphering it keeps them interested. It's beyond most rednecks so the thread is a contradiction but the administration see there's no harm in it, may even attract more readers than it deters.

All a bit of fun but there is an antidote, if it bothers you don't comment, better still don't read it . . . no-one reads it I don't write it. If you're not going to contribute something challenging you're wasting everyone's time including yours even if it is not overly valuable