Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Walker fined 10% of salary and dropped from Roosters team

Rexxy

DJ1 said:
My understanding which may be wrong of Hughes sacking is that he was sacked due to the following.

1 - A player brought a woman back to the hotel complex. (which under normal circumstances would get the death penalty ....).

Death Penalty? Another poor choice of words.

simon says

What I find intruiging that it seems OK to bash a guy,but If you bash a girl is a "disgusting act".After the Hookesy incident I was hpoing OZ might grow up a bit and realise that its not cool to bash anyway.

Anyone who is that stupid that he cant verbally sort a problem out and BASHES someone deserves to get the book thrown at them IMHO.Bashing anyone is not OK.

melon....

Kiwi said:
melon.... said:
Walkers contract was split payments over th eterm. I think you'll find he was signed on 45K incentive after Souths AGREED to let him go.

This year I think you'll find he is probably on around 150K which equates to $15K fine.

I wasn't refering to you when I said rooster fans had been saying it. A few have said this year Walker is on 50,000.
Now dramas Kiwi, thats understandable. Some Roosters fans remember him signing up for peanuts, but dont have a clue what he or others are on this season....like so many fans here I guess...not referring to you though! :D

Pantherjim.

The fact is: Walker not only broke the Roosters code of conduct, he broke the law. He assaulted those who's job it is to enforce the law and protect the public. If a player were to strike a referee during a game, don't they get banned for life? Well, IMO, Police Officers should be given just as much respect outside the League arena that Rugby League Ref's are given inside! While not as reprehensible as "alleged" rape (And remember... It still is alleged) It is still a crime. On this issue, I think the N.R.L. need to be as tough on their players as the A.F.L. are. i.e. once you breach a code of conduct you are gooooooone. Banned for life, no second chances. I'm tired of Sports stars thinkng that they are "above the law" and can get away with murder.

Walker=Wanker.

You deserve all you get, and more dipsh*t!

Pantherjim.

icon_gun.gif
ChrisWalker.jpg
bigun.gif

Campbell,P-4040201L.jpg

The thing is Jim, you don't know the full story and neither do I. I'm not going to crucify the bloke, I'm not condoning what he did but to say that he should be barred from playing footy is going over the top. Compared to the Canterbury debacle this pales into insignificance.

Pantherjim.

Rooster Cogburn. said:
The thing is Jim, you don't know the full story and neither do I. I'm not going to crucify the bloke, I'm not condoning what he did but to say that he should be barred from playing footy is going over the top. Compared to the Canterbury debacle this pales into insignificance.

R.C. I'm not suggesting that what Walker has allegedly done is anywhere near as bad as what the Bulldogs players have allegedly done. All I'm suggesting is the N.R.L. needs to get tougher on players going wayward like this as there doesn't seem to be any end to it. They need to set deterrents to this sort of behaviour. Remember Julian O'Neils little endeavours at Jupiter's Casino years back? Opening his bowels on a craps table? - Disgusting! What normal everyday man or woman on the street would exhibit this sort of behaviour unless they had some sort of superior "above the law" mentality?

Pantherjim.

Campbell,P-4040201L.jpg

theVodkaCircle

Well, "Expert", seems youre as much a class act as walker.
Good on you chooks, shows some forward thinking to include this sort of stuff when he was originally contracted.

ibeme

Rooster Cogburn. said:
Compared to the Canterbury debacle this pales into insignificance.

Had charges been laid in the Bulldogs case, I'd have agreed with you. But as it stands, you're comparing what you think happened, despite evidence to the contrary, with actual criminal charges.

As it stands, no sexual assault occurred. Chris Walker has admitted to assaulting a police officer and charges have been laid. The two can't be compared.

ibeme

Rooster Cogburn. said:
Since when has resisting arrest been regarded as worse than rape?

Since when there was no rape. You're comparing nothing to something. Rape didn't happen.

I didn't say rape was better than assaulting a police officer or resisting arrest.

You referred to the Bulldogs 'debacle'. As it stands, no Bulldogs players committed rape. No Bulldogs players have been charged. The case has been dropped. Chris Walker committed a crime that he's admitted to, and charges have been laid, and he now has a case to answer to.

Therefore, you were comparing criminal charges against no criminal charges, only allegations which were investigated and dropped.

You can't compare the two.

ibeme

Rooster Cogburn. said:
Oh that's right, a rape didn't occur. The girl was making it up all along as was the other girl from last time. :roll:

Why don't you do a bit of research before you start jumping to conclusions. The DPP himself, in his findings, has concluded that a rape could not have occurred. If you can't accept his findings, after a ten week investigation, then you need help. Read this:

Documents explain decision to drop Bulldogs case
AM - Monday, 3 May , 2004 08:07:06
Reporter: Alison Caldwell
TONY EASTLEY: In what may be the final chapter to the Bulldogs rape allegations, AM has obtained documents which explain the legal decision not to proceed with sexual assault charges against Bulldogs players or officials.

Police last week decided that due to insufficient evidence, they would not be laying charges, after 10 weeks of investigations and a review by the Director of Public Prosecutions.

The reaction from the club was one of relief, but questions still remained about precisely what happened, after the detective in charge of the case said there was evidence of rape.

Alison Caldwell reports.

ALISON CALDWELL: The documents paint a picture of an immature and disturbed young woman, a group of young men who were prepared to exploit her, and a code of conduct which is worthless.

The young woman claimed she'd been raped by up to six Bulldogs players at the pool at the Pacific Bay Resort early Sunday morning on the 22nd of February.

But it was decided that, based on the available evidence, it wouldn't have been possible to prove beyond reasonable doubt that a sexual assault took place. According to the documents, even the opportunity for gang rape to have occurred that morning, didn't exist.

The medical evidence and photographs of the young woman's body were inconsistent with the treatment she claimed to have received from a group of players that day.

According to the documents, three days earlier on the Wednesday night, the young woman had consensual group sex with five Bulldogs players in a room at the Pacific Bay Resort.

She was out of town on the Thursday and Friday, but by Saturday she'd returned to Coffs Harbour.

That night she had consensual sex with a player in a room at the Plantation Hotel. At one point she was rejected by another player, and complained to the hotel about harassment, but her complaint was dismissed by a bouncer who witnessed the exchange.

According to the documents, she caught a taxi with another player back to the Pacific Bay Resort, the two ended up at the pool where they had consensual sex. Several people witnessed the events.

He left, but she stayed behind in the pool. According to several witnesses, when the player returned, he offered to call her a taxi but she declined.

She then went back up to the hotel, to the room of the player who rejected her advances earlier. He and his roommate saw her coming and barred the door.

She left the hotel and some time later was found in the car park in a hysterical state.

Since then she's received counselling.

The police may also have an obligation to consider a public mischief charge against her, if they receive a complaint.

As for the players concerned, the Bulldogs Club is considering disciplinary action, for taking her back to the hotel, but it's unlikely any contracts will be terminated as a result.

The documents suggest that while they didn't break the law, the Bulldogs acted beyond the pale, having taken advantage of a disturbed and immature young woman.

TONY EASTLEY: Alison Caldwell reporting.