Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who have you met ??

gerg

This is cross code

mate was as bouncer at a bar in world square

Barry hall was about to get jumped by five thugs and my bouncer mate and me had to jump in and protect him from a flogging

he was so scared he dropped his men’s gallery vip card which we made good use of years after

another was in the 90s

i was standing in a parking spot holding it whilst my mate was going around the block to get it

Ian Roberts pulls over in his car and tries to get it and I’m like nah mate I’m holding this for someone

he wasn’t too happy with this but ended up driving off

Is "it" code for your penis?

There is a bloke who I work with who played reserve grade for the Steelers. He also played juniors at Parramatta with one of Ray Warrens sons becoming friends with Ray himself.

Last Wednesday at work he gave him a call and put me on the phone to him. I had a chat with the great Ray Warren for a few minutes. Thanked him for being one of the voices of my childhood and for making some great memories for me. He was humbled by this greatly. I could only chat for a few minutes because I always want to get work done but he calls him often so more opportunities to chat are going to come up. My colleague said he hadn’t seen a smile so big as mine was that day.

Rabs also came off as a good humble person who is up for a joke as well which left an even bigger impression on me. My mate called him again on monday but they were talking about a more serious thing but there is so much novelty to hearing that voice through your trucks Bluetooth.
I'm pretty sure you also met Larry Corowa at a certain trivia night. Correct me if I'm wrong.

My nan knew Ken Irvine - does that count?
I knew Ken really well. Played indoor cricket in rep teams with his son Mark for over a decade. Played a couple of seasons of indoor with Ken in about 85-88. Extremely nice bloke, warm and easy to chat to. He took his sport very seriously, Ken demanded everyone have a pre game meeting at his house an hour before any semi or final. No wonder he was such a success at footy, even years after he retired he took b-grade indoor cricket extremely seriously and hated losing any game.

King hit

I'm pretty sure you also met Larry Corowa at a certain trivia night. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Did I? I honestly don’t remember that part. I remember having a chat with Rowdy shearer and getting his autograph. I still have it as well.

Larry Corowa was there. We ended up having a chat, a real gent. I later told him where he could get a good steak at that time of night.

It was some years ago. Good night was had by those in attendance. In Southport... "Dan's Trivia Night" I recall.

After one of the rounds they gave me an old Big League magazine with Larry on the cover. He signed it - I still have that as well.

I also recall you were bloody good with the trivia answers.

SpaceMonkey

I work with Steve “Teddy” Lyons al the time, top bloke.
Have run into plenty of players out on the town over the years, though not really in recent times.

MKCS

Growing up I lived next door to Paul McGregor's parents, Paul's kids are around my age so I got to know the family really well especially his dad who was an absolute legend of a bloke. Mary himself was a very nice guy, would always crack jokes about how I should back the Dragons because I'm a Roosters fan and taught me about punting on horses when I was maybe 9 or 10 years old.

I remember one particular morning I was out on my front veranda waiting for my mum to take me to school and I saw a very hungover Trent Barrett emerge from the house, him and McGregor must've hit the beers with McGregor's dad that night or something. Amos Roberts came out of there one morning before school as well but he didn't look hungover or anything.

James Tamou was at an event I was hosting just as an attendee not a guest or anything, my mate is a mad West Tigers fan so he went up to him and said hello, I went over as well and he was a top bloke and gigantic.

Saw James Graham at the post office a few years back when he was injured, top bloke as well although not as big as you'd expect an NRL prop forward to be.

Meth

Played (Monday-night social) cricket against Richie Barnett. Bowled him out, but not before he scored some runs. Really quick between the wickets. Obvious that cricket wasn't his game, but he was a cut above everyone as an athlete.

horrie hastings

Family friends we used to visit back in the late 60 s and early to mid 70's who lived at Chifley were next door neighbours to Eric Simms, even though i was young he seemed like a nice guy and would often take us kids on mini bike rides in the bush at the end of the street. He used to give me and my father a bit of stick for following the Easts but it was all in good fun.

A few years at the Gold Coast I met Kevin Campion, Dale Shearer and Colin Scott. I believe it was for some charity night, auctioning off jerseys and memorabilia. A pretty good night and I believe it was a big Friday night game, possibly Broncos Vs Storm.

Campion was good, Shearer was drunk but also good to talk to, Scott was down to earth.

More recently I was at my usual pub near my work when this random bloke started talking to me when I was watching the cricket and asked if the Aussies could get 350, this was when the World Cup was on, I said as long as Maxwell and Head stay in. That random bloke was David Morrow, commentator, had a good conversation, he returned to his table I believe Matty Thompson, 9 commentator, was there with him.

Ricky Walford works in the same building as me, Ive had some conversations with him.

simmo05

Met Nik Kosef at work on barrow island. He is a mechanical fitter and a mad lad!

Met Kurt Sorrenson at work in Darwin him and his son were both dogging a crane, and met Wayne Bartrim at work in Mackay. All good blokes

Ray Warren told me and my mates to f**k off when we said g'day to him and sterlo at campbelltown stadium would have been mid 90s

sheepbender

Think it was 1998, I was about 11 or 12, with my Dad driving in Auckland somewhere, and I thought I saw Marc Ellis. I wasn't 100% but Dad insisted finding a park and saying hello.

Played a backyard footy game with Tana Umaga (I know..) and a couple other non All Blacks the year before that in the Far North while they were on holiday.

A mate and I harassed Joey at the Melbourne casino in 2012.

Also said hello to Laurie Daley in a sketchy pub in Melbournes Chinatown.

And as a young bloke growing up in Brisbane, I saw many a Bronco on the town in clubs.

SpaceMonkey

Met Nik Kosef at work on barrow island. He is a mechanical fitter and a mad lad!

Met Kurt Sorrenson at work in Darwin him and his son were both dogging a crane, and met Wayne Bartrim at work in Mackay. All good blokes

Ray Warren told me and my mates to f**k off when we said g'day to him and sterlo at campbelltown stadium would have been mid 90s
Craig Hancock is up on Barrow at the moment, say hi if you see him, top bloke. I work with him when he’s in Sydney.

A mate of mine reckons he met Brett Plowman at some pub or club when he was playing for Parra in mid 90s.
Built like a brick shithouse. Some other loudmouth punter had a crack about Parra so Plowman punched the bloke through a wall. Said it was like some wild west movie, dust and broken Timbers and Plowman just casually returned to his beer.
My mate said place was silent, just got on with their drinks and the bloke dusted himself off and just left.
These days, it’d be six weeks of outrage.

Banger

I met Scott Prince once. Top bloke. A real larrikin.

That’s about it.

Would love to meet Cam Smith and tell him how much I once hated him, but then tell him he’s the best player I ever saw. This will happen one day.

kdalymc

Jason Smith is in Thailand right now playing in an all stars charity match. i imagine hed be running a muk with the cheap sniff over there