Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WORLD CUP '08 Rnd 2: Papua New Guinea v New Zealand

The Front Row

Forum 7s - WORLD CUP Round 2 - 2008
PAPUA NEW GUINEA KUMULS v NEW ZEALAND KIWIS
badge_PNG_trans_100x104.gif
-v-
logo_kiwi_NZ.jpg

Willow (c) ------------ Jesbass (c)

Game Thread:
* Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game posts can be made here (Teams, Articles).
* Any other posts may result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee
* Only original articles, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.​

Naming Teams (F7s WC conditions):
* 3v3 (+ 2 reserves for each team)
* No 'TBA' or changing players named
* Captains must stick with original teams named​

FULL TIME (F7s WC conditions): Sunday 26 October 2008 at 9pm (Syd time)

REFEREE: Misanthrope​

Venue: The Front Row Stadium​

**The Referee Blows Game On!**
whistle_2.gif

CLICK HERE FOR OFFICIAL WORD COUNTER

Jesbass

Battered and bruised from their Irish brawl, the Kiwis encounter a hostile home crowd at the Papua New Guinea end of the Front Row Stadium as they limp onto the field...

KiwisLogo2.jpg

NEW ZEALAND

STARTERS
Jesbass (c) (Warriors)
[furrycat] (Panthers)
rayroxon (Warriors)

BENCH
byrne_rovelli_fan82 (Warriors)
dragon_psa (Dragons)

The F7s PNG Kumuls have dropped anchor in The Front Row harbour, and are ready do battle with the Kiwis.

flag_PNG_1.gif

Willow (c)
Titanic

Amadean

Res:
tits&tans
bdgc

Good luck one an all. :thumn

Willow | Kumuls

flag_PNG_1.gif

1975-2008

TV-old-new.jpg

In 1975 I learned a hard lesson.

While some teens of note were already on the path to fame and fortune, I merely slotted into the middle ground of following football while being totally confused about everything else.

It was grand final day 1975 when I sat down in front of our second-hand 20-inch Pye TV. My dad, well aware of the NSWRL's blackout of any Sydney telecast, was on the roof tinkering with the antenna and hoping to pick up some far-flung coverage from Wollongong or Newcastle.

We had a simple and sure-fire method: he'd yell out, we'd yell back.

“How's that look?”

“No, it's all fuzzy... wait, that looked great... no, its all gone fuzzy again.”

My dad knew his stuff. At the time, one of his four jobs was that of the local TV antenna man. Every month he would take a day off and we'd all go for a drive - He'd make a point of proudly showing off his handiwork on the red roof tops of Sydney's western suburbs.

On this warm September day in 1975, he struck gold. While other plebs resigned themselves to radio coverage, we suddenly had an almost clear picture of the day's events. We could watch the grand final in the black-and-white glory of live TV!

Unfortunately, for me, that's where the fun ended.

People often remember what they were doing on the day that a catastrophe unfolds. The modern equivalent is the 9/11 disaster when airplanes crashed into New York's World Trade Centre. Some slightly older Sydney-siders will recall the Granville train wreck. Others may recall what they were doing the day when Cyclone Tracey obliterated Darwin.

In 1975, I knew exactly what I was doing when Graeme Langlands ran onto the SCG wearing white boots. I can still taste the bitterness as I watched my St George Dragons go down by the then record 38-0 margin to arch-rivals, the Eastern Suburbs Roosters.

It's a day I will never forget.

To fully understand this, keep in mind that St George was a club that had grown accustomed to winning. For over a decade, we were the club that others feared. But, in 1975, we came up against a red-hot Roosters outfit - Their backline and forward pack could played for Australia, and they showed no mercy.

It was on this sobering day that I fully understood what it was to be a St George supporter. To put it simply, I discovered that to truly support my team, I had to take it one match at a time. It was a profound moment.

Fast forward to 2008 and to a time where watching the grand final live on TV is a right, not a privilege. The Melbourne Storm, a club with just 10 years of history, has just been thrashed 40-0 by the Manly Sea Eagles.

I can understand what Storm supporters are going through.

Or can I?

There's at least one similarity. Namely that the Storm have enjoyed a decade of success and it's fair to say that plenty of Storm supporters are right now experiencing that same thud back down to earth that I underwent.

But there are also a few differences. Firstly, the Storm enjoyed almost immediate success in their short history. I only had to read a book to know that my club had a long history with plenty of ups and downs, especially during the pre-war decades. Secondly, I was brought up on Rugby League, not Aussie Rules. Should things go pear-shaped, I didn't have another football code to fall back on.

So where does this leave the Melbourne Storm? They have just suffered the worst grand final defeat in the competition's history. St George supporters have had to wear that particular bruise for 33 years. Are these newbie Storm followers able to ride it out? Are they just fair weather supporters? Or are they made of sterner stuff?

I'm watching from the sideline and I see a Melbourne club in apparent disarray - a CEO threatening litigation and then being threatened with litigation, a coach prone to emotional outbursts, and sections of a supporter base that must be split between loyalty and walking away. It seems that they are heading for an off-season meltdown, and possibly a downturn in crowd numbers going into 2009.

Time will tell. Perhaps history will repeat itself for the Melbourne club, and the more resilient supporters of 2008 will take stock and use 1975 as their guide.

| 746 words |

LeagueNut

By special request from Kiwi captain Jesbass, LeagueNut performs a cameo appearance for his country to lead the haka ...

_44231684_haka416.jpg

RINGA PAKIA

UMA TIRAHA

TURI WHATIA

HOPE WHAI AKE

WAEWAE TAKAHIA KIA KINO!

KA MATE KA MATE
KA ORA' KA ORA'
KA MATE KA MATE
KA ORA' KA ORA'

TENEI TE TANGATA PUHURUHURU
NANA I TIKI MAI WHAKAWHITI TE RA
UPANE UPANE
UPANE KAUPANE
WHITI TE RA!

HE!!

Go the Kiwis! :D

Jesbass

3dflags_nzl0001-0002a.gif

With a scream from left of field, Jesbass thanks LeagueNut for his unwavering support, then bares his mouth guard at the nearby Kumuls. He attempts to bring a blast from the past, to prove he isn't stuck in his ways - or something...

The Show Must Go On...The Bandwagon (750 words between the stars, and including title and image content)

CommandPromptTimeMachine.gif

You hit the ground with a thump. As you climb to your feet and brush yourself down, you find yourself on a dimly lit cobblestone street in an unknown city. A foul stench lingers in the air, pervading your senses and stinging your nostrils. The murmured chatter of the surrounding streets echoes against the brick walls as people go about their daily business.

“
Greetings, stranger!”

You turn towards the voice just as its owner. A short, cheerful looking gentleman wearing a fine black suit and a tall top hat steps out of the shadows.

“
Welcome to 1848,” he continues, briefly checking his timepiece. “You've just travelled more than a century and a half upstream in the river of time. Please don't mind the smell – disposing of human waste is not the easiest thing these days, and coal gas is an unfortunate byproduct of our need to power the street lights. Oh, and watch where you step! The horses that pull our wagons have nowhere else to do their business...”

●

You know how these stories work, right? You're thrust into the middle of a plot line as the protagonist, and it's up to you as the reader to decide the next course of action for the main character. From there, the plot expands and diversifies, until one of the multiple endings is encountered.

The settings are usually futuristic or historical, and can often result in the main character's death. Fortunately, the Forum Sevens equivalent is slightly more forgiving...

In the above example, The Mysterious Race For Mister Rice*, the reader finds themselves in 19th Century America in a year when the likes of gunslinger Wyatt Earp and English cricketer W. G. Grace are born, and novelist Emily Brontë is breathing her last. Queen Victoria rules the Commonwealth, New Zealand has been a British colony for less than a decade, and the world is basking in the glow of the Industrial Revolution.

The plot centralises around Zachary Taylor's campaign for the American Presidency, but he can only win the election with the help of Dan Rice, a popular circus clown. It is up to the reader to ensure that Rice stays true to history by inviting Taylor to ride on the back of the circus bandwagon during parades in order to increase the aspirant leader's popularity.

As other politicians clamber to join him in the hopes of improving their own fortunes, cliché experts will recognise this as the birth of the saying “jumping on the bandwagon”.

If the reader fails, and Taylor does likewise, the future will be altered forever, and there will be no present day for the protagonist to return to...

Back in the world of non-fiction, the disdain
º held for 'bandwagoners' very much remains.

The back end of the Warriors' 2007 and 2008 seasons saw the turnstiles run into overdrive as fans filled Mt Smart Stadium to overflowing for their club's finals campaign. The majority of these spectators had not attended home matches when the New Zealand-based side appeared unlikely to make the cut.

As a season ticket holder, I am well aware of the sense of ownership that one gets from attending – or even just watching – every match that a team plays. I've seen more than enough “I'm more of a fan than you because...” arguments over the years.

But I also know that adopting a Gollum-esque approach, clinging to our 'precious' team and pushing away the fair weather fans, does nothing for the game. If anything, it becomes a farce; complaining that these people aren't coming to enough matches while simultaneously ushering them out the back door.

How can bandwagoners become hardcore “true” fans without being afforded the opportunity to get involved and claim their own piece of team ownership?

As with the interactive storybooks, we are presented with a crucial choice...

●

What would you like to do?

If you would like to look to the future with an eye towards embracement and a welcoming mindset so that the sport's fan base can be increased, continue to 2009.

If you would prefer to play Gollum by retaining exclusiveness and restricting bandwagoners from becoming hardcore fans, go back to 1848.

* Not a real book.

º Examples of the disdain exhibited towards fair weather fans:
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=4612720&postcount=64
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=4597432&postcount=299
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=4576220&postcount=33

Sources:
http://www.boston.com/ae/books/arti...highs_lows_and_smells_of_19th_century_london/
http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/502312/Dan-Rice
http://www.clown-ministry.com/History/Dan-Rice.html
http://content-nz.cricinfo.com/england/content/player/13424.html
http://www.encyclopedia.com/doc/1E1-coalgas.html
http://www.nzhistory.net.nz/politics/treaty/the-treaty-in-brief
http://www.picturehistory.com/product/id/19062
http://www.poetsgraves.co.uk/bronte.htm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bandwagon_effect
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dan_Rice
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zachary_Taylor
http://www.wyattearp.net/birth.html

rayroxon

Rayroxon for the Kiwi's follows his brave, if somewhat megalomaniac Skipper onto the field.

Once Was Jesbass

After an inauspicious debut in 2006, the New Zealand Warriors Forum Sevens side has an enviable track record bettered by only two clubs over the past two seasons. Grand finalists in 2007 and semi-finalists in 2008, the Warriors seem to be a club on the rise.

The truth, though, is far from pleasant. The side has been rocked by internal squabbles and controversy that may affect the club’s viability next season.

It all started when player payment anomalies were unearthed. Rumblings of missing match payments to players were doing the rounds and upon investigation, there was evidence of under the table payments to Jesbass who siphoned player salaries into his personal accounts. How he has done so remains unclear, although what is certain is that the harmony of the squad has subsequently hit a discord. The virtual club is now in big trouble with only one man to blame: Jesbass.

To understand where it went wrong we need to go back and explore events.

It started back in 2006/07 when Polar Bob, (renamed Lossy under witness protection), left the club and joined the Bluebags. Lossy looks back on these events with mixed feelings: “The club had the world at their feet, but Jesbass was out of control. He won Rookie of the Year in 2006 and it went to his head. He undermined byrne_rovelli_fan82 at team meetings, sought control, and offered a cash incentive for me to join the Bluebags and report back about their internal workings. I was hurt. I mean, how could a team dispense with their talent so easily? He treated me like a mercenary. I’m a writer; not a spy. So I stuck with the ‘Bags and things have been good.”

That they have. Jesbass’ plans have had the opposite effect, and the ‘Bags have gone on to be the benchmark team of the last two seasons. Many Forum Sevens followers will know that their dominance came to an end at the hands of 2008 debutants, the Titans, in the Grand Final.

But the Titans also have that indelible taint of Jesbass floating in their wake. Warriors founding member Robster headed over and started anew with the Titans during the 2007/08 off season as a result of the very public and messy falling out with Jesbass. Insiders, however, say that it was an act and once more, Jesbass wanted an “inside man” with an opposition club. Again his plan backfired as Robster found a true team environment over on the Sunshine Strip and masterminded the semi-final win over the Warriors from behind the scenes.

Privately, the Warriors players are fuming at the bungling administration. They feel that Jesbass should have kept an eye on talent retention and spent more time posting in their own locker room and match threads rather than flirting in the other teams’ threads. Always the first to congratulate or commiserate with the opposition, one can only wonder at the machinations of this master plotter.

One Warriors player, who wished to remain anonymous, said: “The guy is meant to have a full time job, and yet he finds the time to post all over the place. He must be getting kickbacks from the club. He has a new house, he’s just come back from a lengthy overseas trip, and he has a post count on nzwarriors.com that would make anyone blush. What does this bloke actually do? What about us? Where are our payments? He will answer to Lord Xenu eventually.*”

Fellow Warrior byrne_rovelli_fan82 was more forthright. “I guess it’s bad that he talks to the other teams but it’s up to you at the end of the day how you view it.”

Other members of the squad have been harder to reach. MKEB... isn’t answering his phone. He was last seen drowning his sorrows at a casino before getting into a cab with some strange men#. Sportsthought’s manager has enforced a media ban after shopping his player around to rival clubs. Rumours persist that he is about to sign with the Panthers. Is this another Jesbass ploy, or is this evidence of the widening cracks at this shaky organisation?

The Warriors scandal is a dark day for the club and the code, however F7s has a way of relaunching itself for the better. The only way forward is for the F7s administration to act quickly and severely by removing Jesbass.

Once a Warrior and now a tyrant. Sadly, it seems the future will be brighter without him.

748 Words between the stars

References
* http://forum.nzwarriorsonline.com/showpost.php?p=226656&postcount=30
# http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=4489447&postcount=5

tits&tans

flag_PNG_1.gif

tits&tans screams on to the pitch for the Kumuls at the last minute for his World Cup debut ...

750 Words (OWC)

Decisive Indecisions

It's 6:00am and the morning is cool and crisp. The sun is lazily making its way through the clouds of pollution that enshroud the city and the temperature has dropped to around 10°C. For the locals and, indeed, any resident of the city, it's a welcome, long-awaited relief from the intense humidity and searing heat of a Chinese summer.

As I gaze out the office window, I can idly watch the world coming to life: breakfast markets are setting up; children are heading to early morning classes and old people are making their way to the park, swords in hand.

It's that time of the week again. I have designated this morning to sit down and conjure up another F7s article. Ideas have been invading my head all week, and had I had the forethought to jot down a few notes or even simply to remember them, this task would be a sight easier. But I still haven't learned from past mistakes, and I am once again staring at a blank Word document. Now, if only I can extract the ghost of those ideas from my, somewhat, addled brain.

Just need to get started.

I think I'll brew some coffee. The soothing sound of the water percolating through Colombian coffee granules is intellectually stimulating, I find.

I'll just pop out and pick up a few steamed buns. The delicious aroma of steamed pork and bread is mentally inspiring, I find.

I'll have a shower and then I'll write. The low-pressure, luke-warm water in my apartment is emotionally cleansing, I find.

It's not that I don't know what to write or how to write it (well, perhaps), it's the frustrating task of condensing and designing the content to fit into 750 words or less. And therein lies the infuriating, yet academically rewarding, beauty of this competition. Combining originality, creativity and innovation, it's like a crash-course combination of journalism, novel-writing and blogging rolled into one.

Should I go historical and delve into the depths of Rugby League's Australian or international history?

Perhaps something more personal - an anecdote from my playing and coaching days, perhaps? Hmmm, a little trite. Fun as a fan? Boring.

What about espousing the values and virtues of some of the key personalities who have helped shape League's character? A comparative study of players' talents of today and yesteryear? Nope, that's been written about many times.

An obituary for David Myers with an in-depth look at his career highlights?

The selection process for the Dreamtime team to take on the Maori - should Soward have been picked?

An opinionated piece on whether clubs should cut discretionary spending? Hmmm, maybe.

A speculative piece into why Hagan really quit? Nah, I'm sure that's been done to death in the Aussie press. A brutal assessment of the performance of each of Melbourne Storm's players on the day? See above.

An article bemoaning the lack of UK media coverage of League - matches relegated to SkySports (occasionally) and only ESL highlights on BBC2 and only in the north of the country? That has potential.

How about a good, old-fashioned rant about the vices of today's players? Hmmm, but that's been covered a lot recently. A cutting and insightful analysis into the evil scheming of those behind the scenes of the NRL? I'm sure everyone is already aware and sick of News Corp's machinations.

Aha! A review of the 2008 NRL season? Nah, too unoriginal.

The World Cup! Of course, a myriad of opportunities here. Predictions, upcoming hopes and thoughts. Should Moimoi and Tuiaki have been ruled ineligible to play for Tonga? This could lead to a rant about, or a defence of, players' ability to switch nationality - Anthony Tupou and Mark Calderwood for example. Possible, although I'm not sure I've fully made my mind up about this issue. Sticking England, the Roos and the Kiwis in the same group - insightful or idiotic? Will this World Cup help rebuild League's international reputation? England going for its first World Cup win as England? Should the England Rugby League team even have been reformed? Perhaps some recollections of the previous World Cup, particularly Lebanon's matches?

I could infuse my writing with some comical genius, although I'm generally not very funny.

So many choices now. So many ideas swirling around. How can I possibly choose just one?

Inspiration suddenly hits.

How about writing about writing? It begins to come together in my mind and I start to type:
It's 6:00am and the morning is cool and crisp...

Titanic

flag_PNG_1.gif

Titanic takes the field for PNG, ignoring the barbs from the opposition and taking immense pleasure watching one of them being stretchered off after suffering tongue cramps during the haka - didn't their mothers tell them that if they pull faces and the wind changes then they will be stuck like that forever? (750 OWC)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
face.jpg

A huka by any other name…

Anybody who has flown Air Niugini or frequented a travel agent that advertises Papua New Guinea (PNG) as a tourist destination will be familiar with the PNG Tourism Promotion Authority’s catch cry: the Land of the Unexpected. Of course anybody who has visited this fascinating country where a stroll around every corner is a mini-adventure will tell you that this cliché is spot on.

When the ancient Romans first mumbled “paradoxum” it must have been with PNG in mind. Nowadays, paradox is the common derivative, meaning “a statement or proposition that seems self-contradictory or absurd but in reality expresses a possible truth.” Therefore it is fitting as the pre-amble to the World Cup that Rugby League followers, not familiar with the vagaries of Australia’s nearest neighbor, should be introduced to the concept – PNG style.

“You can trust a man with your life but not with your footy boots”.

The average Papua New Guinean is a loyal and hospitable friend however sometimes the application of this relationship can be misunderstood. My first experience in PNG was managing a hotel in the Highlands where early in my stay I ran into some strife in the public bar. In short, I was saved from a potential “panel beating” by a burly local who quickly sorted the problem out, in no uncertain terms, and then recruited me into his local League club. After our first match, which incidentally we won, I was astounded to find that my boots and my “friend” disappeared never to be sighted again.

“Lovers will not hold hands but good mates do.”

In the space of two days I stopped twice to pick up my fullback as I drove towards training. On the first occasion he was walking alone or so I thought. When I stopped and offered him a lift he was grateful but asked if could I give his wife a lift too. No problems… she was the lady laden with all the market goods about three yards behind him whilst he walked head up and unencumbered, breathing in the cool mountain air. The second time he was walking hand-in-hand with our new halfback. When I discreetly asked one of the other players about this exceptionally friendly set of circumstances it was pointed out that the halfback was shy because he was new to town.

“People can patiently hang around for hours on end but as soon as a queue is required all semblances of common courtesy fly out the window.”

Melanesia’s laidback subsistence lifestyle applies almost no pressure on the average villager’s time management skills. Most people like to farm a little then congregate in small huddles, chew betel nut and swap the latest yarns. It is totally out of character to see these same individuals who live in the shadow of the local RL grounds suddenly emulate sands in an hour glass as they push and shove against the turnstiles rather than queue. This often causes the local police to fire warning shots in an effort to prevent crushing, rather than to quell riots.

“A person’s wealth is measured by what they give away rather than by what they accumulate.”

I was surprised, after winning the local premiership, to find the star of our team giving away his uniform, piece by piece to various fans hanging around the changing rooms. When asked if he didn’t have any sentimental attachment to his gear, he replied that by judiciously distributing his kit he would be held in good stead when he ran for councilor in the on-coming elections.

“It is much easier to raise money for the dead than what it is for the living.”

Not so long ago, one of the Kumul props was tragically killed when he lost control of his car. He was unemployed and without enough money to buy petrol. The car had run out and was coasting towards his village when it left the Highlands Highway. The public outpouring of grief and charitable donations gave his wife enough support to stabilize their small family.

“There is no word for paradox in Tok Pisin”

This is perhaps PNG’s greatest paradox. With over 750 separate languages where the lingua franca is Tok Pisin or Pigeon English, there are countless examples of unique and colourful vocabulary, my favourite being mixmasta bilong Jisas Krist (helicopter).

Fortunately for international Ragbi Lig sapotas the terminology of our great game has largely been preserved albeit by pronunciation.

A huka is still a hooker.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jesbass

After a concerted effort, rayroxon is finally successful in injuring [furrycat] by shaving all of his fur off, thereby making him [unfurrycat]. The naked feline is stretchered off, and replaced by byrne_rovelli_fan82.

OUT: [furrycat] [-(
IN: byrne_rovelli_fan82 :clap:

byrne_rovelli_fan82

Byrne_rovelli_fan82 taking the field for the Kiwis.

Not So Innocent? (716 words)

In recent times, off-field antics by rugby league players have become commonplace. Every so often, players are found to have committed disorderly acts in public, behaved indecently towards women, and damaged their own reputations as role models. The worst incidents involve the opposite sex. Following the traditional pattern, a player’s name crops up following a night of celebration with friends when an apparently innocent woman gets tangled up in a web of high drama and excitement. She comes out of it, dazed and confused at what may have happened, and, scared for her reputation, she does the only sensible course of action - she claims her innocence. It is thereby easy for her to say that:

1- She didn’t expect the events of the previous night to take place.
2- She didn’t personally know the player(s) involved.
3- She wouldn’t ever bring such harm to herself if she'd known she would be left alone with the player(s).

However, eyebrows have risen over the true integrity of events that have occurred, including the rape allegations last year involving one Michael Crockett. I will get to that story a little later.

In a recent issue of a popular womens
’ magazine, a group of women claimed they wanted to ‘bag a footballer’. Some also admitted that their aim is to attract a footballer, as the player is most desirable and these women reckon the players are always keen for ‘extra action’.

These claims, and similar remarks from other women, have thus led me to constantly question the women in the case of sexual assault and rape allegations. On occasion, they are the innocent party and the man should be held responsible. But in situations with footballers, I really wonder if these women are as innocent as they proclaim.

Let’s not forget that when two mature adults consult to sex, they need to be aware of the consequences that arise from their actions.

Women by nature enjoy public attention and affection, showing off their bodies and flirting. After all, just like in the animal world, the best females will attract the most males when looking for a mate.

In humans, the exact same situation happens.

Spend a night on the town in pubs, clubs and the streets, and you will see large groups of women dolled up and dressed up in killer clothes. Although some are out simply for a good time, many are on the prowl for their next conquest. They see; they want; they get. But the process of what was considered just a little bit of fun is sometimes viewed as the grave mistake the following morning, and their innocent act comes to the surface.

Now, back to the Crockett incident: the story was that Michael and the young lady met at an after party following a Roosters’ player
’s birthday and got along well enough for her to invite him home. Whatever else happened there progressed to what can be considered as a one night stand. From there, it gets a bit murky - it concerns a missing phone and Crockett not returning to the team hotel with a fellow Warriors team mate the next morning.

Notwithstanding the morning’s events, and looking solely at what occurred the previous night, one thing is for certain: Crockett and the young woman are both responsible for their actions.

The young lady only got to know Michael at the party, and perhaps led him on throughout the evening, giving him the impression she wanted more out of this meeting. Whether he committed the offense or not is unknown in my mind, but I do feel for certain that in many respects, she may have brought it upon herself by giving the impression of a woman looking to get what she could from him. Then, realising what she had done and how wrong it was, the only way out without looking like a fool was to frame him - hypothetically, of course.

Many players are married with families, and stable in their relationships, and accusations of foul play can ruin a young family for all the wrong reasons; single women with conquests on their minds should take note.

So, the next time you hear these cases creep up, don’t be so quick to assume it’s the man’s fault. Women aren’t always innocent.

Thank you time keeper, and best of luck to one and all in what looks like a great contest. Over to you ref. :thumn

Jesbass

Well done to both teams. Good luck! May the New Zealand-est team win! :sarcasm: :lol:

Over to you, ref! :thumn

Misanthrope

[FONT=바탕]PAPUA NEW GUINEA KUMULS[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕][/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]1975-2008[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]I really enjoyed the reflective, nostalgic portion of this. It tied in nicely to more contemporary events, but I feel it lost a little when it produced a [/FONT]‘[FONT=바탕]moral[/FONT]’[FONT=바탕]. A quality read, all the same.[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]SCORE: 84[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]Decisive Indecisions[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]Really loved this. Living abroad and having to [/FONT]‘[FONT=바탕]conjure up[/FONT]’[FONT=바탕] articles made this all too familiar for me, and the images and humor employed in it made it flow well. Even though it really didn[/FONT]’[FONT=바탕]t [/FONT]‘[FONT=바탕]say[/FONT]’[FONT=바탕] a great deal, it managed to say quite a bit at the same time. Wonderfully written.[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]SCORE: 89[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]A Huka by an Other Name[/FONT]…
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]Another well crafted and intriguing article, again with a setting in a culture not so often discussed in league circles. Maybe it[/FONT]’[FONT=바탕]s the traveler in me, but I really enjoyed this brief look into Papua New Guinean culture. A real joy to read.[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]SCORE: 89[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]TOTAL: 262[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]NEW ZEALAND KIWIS[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕][/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]The Show Must Go On[/FONT]…[FONT=바탕]Bandwagon[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]This had a wonderfully start, much like the article preceding it. The description, the entirely unique opening [/FONT]–[FONT=바탕] but like Willow[/FONT]’[FONT=바탕]s article, it also seemed to lose a little in the almost abrupt change from opening to moral.[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]SCORE: 85[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]Once Was Jesbass[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]An intriguing and amusing look at the inner workings of my latest F7s club. I liked the tongue in cheek style and the way it read like one of the countless [/FONT]‘[FONT=바탕]NRL club in crisis[/FONT]’[FONT=바탕] articles we get each season. Well written.[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]SCORE: 87[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]Not So Innocent?[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]A good look at a real issue in our game, and from a perspective that lends its argument a little more weight. It[/FONT]’[FONT=바탕]s true of one night stands and flings elsewhere, but particularly true when one of the people involved is high profile and there[/FONT]’[FONT=바탕]s publicity to be had.[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]SCORE: 87[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]TOTAL: 259[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕][/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]Papua New Guinea Kumuls 262 def. New Zealand Kiwis 259[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕] [/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]POTM: tits & tans (PNG) & Titanic (PNG) - 89[/FONT]

rayroxon

You could've been slightly more partial to your team mates there Mis :p

Just jokes, thanks for the marks and feedback.

Well done Kumuls, I really enjoyed your article especially Titanic, not to take anything away from T&T or Willow at all :p

Finally, well played Kiwi's, I guess it's a nervous wait now, GO IRELAND!