Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

vs knights

JJ

:lol: Tomkins

Weird game that, fun watch, but all this talk of a changed Warriors team is BS imo

Iron Lion

We deserved to lose. That was not a top 8 performance.

I think it is pretty clear this is not a top 8 team.

- Our best prop should be playing 2nd row
- Our other props apart from Lillyman lack any impact and go forward
- Bukuya should probably pack his bags and get ready to head back to sydney
- We actually looked better with friend on the field than Leaulai, that is pretty bad in itself
- Tomkins is playing like a plod
- It is arguable currentl if the team has infact improved under mcFadden or if it is just the same old story year after year after year after year, no matter the coach

Dont worry we wont beat the Roosters next week

its official

SEASON OVER

Very dissapointing.
To many penalties
Goal conversion poor.
Forwards not dominating, Mannering and Lousi only just making 100m.
Tomkin's still hot and cold!
Johnson obvious missed a few weeks.
Townsend just that step below NRL level.
Not sure of a top 8 team we would beat after the last 2 weeks.
Do we miss Hurrell that much?

JJ

- We actually looked better with friend on the field than Leaulai, that is pretty bad in itself
- It is arguable currentl if the team has infact improved under mcFadden or if it is just the same old story year after year after year after year, no matter the coach

its official

SEASON OVER

Agree with the underlined... been saying some of those things myself

Skinner

Well, it has to be said ; there are a few chicken counters in here, and they learned a lesson today. There are no givens in Rugby League. It's working hard to win every game. A few wins on the trot does not mean a march into finals footy - it never has. I'll get the usual suspects flaming me, but I'm saying these guys, on that performance are nowhere near finals footy.

Iron Lion

Well, it has to be said ; there are a few chicken counters in here, and they learned a lesson today. There are no givens in Rugby League. It's working hard to win every game. A few wins on the trot does not mean a march into finals footy - it never has. I'll get the usual suspects flaming me, but I'm saying these guys, on that performance are nowhere near finals footy.

Yeah not remotely in the frame - they should be so much sharper in their lines in attack and defense at this time of the year. What makes it worse is they were gunning for a top 4 spot. That in itself is a warriors illusion.

the rebel

its official

SEASON OVER

I agree with some of your comments. Warriors are one big forward short. Not sure why we are looking at recruiting outside back and backrowers when infact we need one big 120kg prop. Right now I would rather have Nobby at full back rather than Tomkins.

Iron Lion

Big call boss.

Agree our props are shite bar lillyman tho.

Big ben needs to go back to front row. Rapira is still off the pace. Matagi is just stupid. We need a straight running prop badly.

Mate their is nobody there to select. Reserve grade has been mud, the closest is Papaili and Vete and id argue they have made no progress on their talent this year. Papaili looks a talent but changes from week to week.

Lisone looks the most likely but he needs NSW time.

Not good.

And back depth is non existent - Kata - nowhere near ready, Lolohea - still green. Club has serious worries ahead for 2015. They need Matai like you wouldnt believe.

Iron Lion

I agree with some of your comments. Warriors are one big forward short. Not sure why we are looking at recruiting outside back and backrowers when infact we need one big 120kg prop. Right now I would rather have Nobby at full back rather than Tomkins.

If you look at the rugby union ranks there are tons of guys who are huge like Kasiano who cant even pick up super 15 contracts or who play super rugby but wont crack the All blacks. Warriors need to tap into the union market to compete. Forget England, start raiding the union ranks for guys who can play, have skill sets and can be converted.

SpaceMonkey

I don't know why you guys are getting so upset about this one. The Knights are in great form and spoiling plenty of parties, I said earlier that I thought this game would be at least as hard to win as the Chooks or Panthers games. Plus at least dropping this game doesn't give points to a team that is near us on the table- if we were gonna drop one of our last 5, this game was it.
We still played pretty good footy and hung in there for the whole game, and the Knights got a massive home-town leg-up. We're a good chance agains the Chooks next week if we get the same boost from the Auckland crowd. Do I think we're true contenders? No, not really, but I do think the team has improved, and are still a realistic shot at making the finals.

Iron Lion

I don't know why you guys are getting so upset about this one. The Knights are in great form and spoiling plenty of parties, I said earlier that I thought this game would be at least as hard to win as the Chooks or Panthers games. Plus at least dropping this game doesn't give points to a team that is near us on the table- if we were gonna drop one of our last 5, this game was it.
We still played pretty good footy and hung in there for the whole game, and the Knights got a massive home-town leg-up. We're a good chance agains the Chooks next week if we get the same boost from the Auckland crowd. Do I think we're true contenders? No, not really, but I do think the team has improved, and are still a realistic shot at making the finals.

We cant have watched the same game, the warriors had very little 2nd phase play, off loads locked away, surrendering big metres up the field, out enthused on almost all levels.

I agree the knights are playing much better football, and they outplayed us today but we were poor and undisciplined. Add in last weeks performance against the sharks, we are losing momentum rather than building into the finals. This is not good and it wont get us there, We could not afford to lose this game. Now we have to truly strike it hot and I am not sure the personal is there to take this team on the type of run required.

That was a must win game, to win this comp you have to finish top 4

We need matai, thank God Hoffman is coming,

sign some union guys up now before the new super contracts come out. we need dynamic depth

Iron Lion

And dont you get big discounts from the NRL for signing unions guys up ? why the hell arnt we raiding the rugby ranks with the salary cap we have to play with ?

go after Moala, Visinia, Ahki, Taufua etc

A loss always makes things look bad and to a team below you on the table doesn't help either.
But the amount of penalties and just plain dumb stuff happening is frustrating.
Say Tomkin's doesn't throw the intercept we score and win with a field goal, it just covers up the problems, that a top 4 side doesn't do and or would punish us for.

WithTheDawn

Man, I don't normally go off on the refs, but they were bloody ordinary today. Some of them went our way, but we were differently on the wrong end of plenty of dodgy calls.

Having said that, we never really looked like we turned up - attack just never clicked into gear, and we were giving the Knights way too much easy possession. At least we got away with the one last week so we are still in touch.

Diesel

We weren't up for this game and after last week I suspected a loss, but Newcastle has more then just pride to play for as the Storm found out last week. Newcastle are a much better side than their position on the table suggests.
A kick up the ass by McFadden to the team this week, hopefully he floggs a few of them.
As for the refs, they, like some of our players this week are not playing like they should be in first grade

ozbash

Man, I don't normally go off on the refs, but they were bloody ordinary today. Some of them went our way, but we were differently on the wrong end of plenty of dodgy calls.

Having said that, we never really looked like we turned up - attack just never clicked into gear, and we were giving the Knights way too much easy possession. At least we got away with the one last week so we are still in touch.

just too much dumb stuff...

Benek

Knights outplayed us on every level today. Faster, harder, smarter, more disciplined, and a bit more help from the refs. You could tell from the start we didn't really show up today and although we had a few decent periods where we fought back they were obviously the better team today.

Good news is, mentally they stayed in there and kept fighting. Bad news is, nobody seems to be doing their job very well. It's going to be really difficult to pick 3-2-1 for this game. I don't think anyone had a good performance.

YES, we need another prop! Wingers are taking the first 3 hitups in every set and then maybe one strong run from a prop. Not acceptable. As good as Manu is at it, it puts way to much workload on those guys. We need a few players who consistently get 100+ metres up the middle.

WE need more outside back depth. Despite the awesome superman try, Fusi doesn't look first grade to me and Ben Henry looked like a liability more today than I ever thought before. He's never in the right position as a centre. We need to have options to replace these guys so they can be held accountable BUT there's nobody to fill in. Pitty Tui got injured as he looked promising in glimpses and the ability to play multiple positions as cover.

Friend looks better coming off the bench. Knowing that he didn't need to play the 80 somehow gave him a bit more spark to expend energy on attack. The try was good but there were a few other times he stole some metres out of dummy half. I was expecing more from TL at hooker though. He didn't offer anything more than Friend.

This is starting to look a lot like the late season slides of the past few years. I was certain the team had turned a corner under Cappy but now I'm not so sure. A loss next week and we're fighting for our lives to make the 8.