Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

John Cartwright

Coffs dragon

With Mary showing some power and getting Mullholand & Cartwright, he is following the lead of the successful coaches whom surround themselves with the right people. Now all that is needed is to completely remove Craig Young and Robert Finch away. Does anyone know if they have been dumped or replaced in the restructuring??

Brown is more of a threat to take his job than Cartwright is. That's why he appointed Cartwright. Simples!

Surely, over the next 3 years, Brown would only be considered for the head coach position if Mary was not doing well. Other than that, Mary could have a very good offsider who could keep an eye on young talent, teach Rein how to be a hooker and give good ball at dummy half and maybe even together with Cartwright, turn our forwards into a competitive pack.

Big man

Cartwright is a top bloke. Not a top coach.

Mate that's why he is a good coach, the players respect him and trust him. He may not have the runs on the board as far as win percentages but that's not to say he cannot contribute to your coaching staff. I think he had a lot of off field issue at the Titans. In the past three years they were a basket case both financially and internally. I think Cartwright is what Mary Mc needs to make his mark in the NRL, if true, your chances of success have increased handsomely.

Blood Shot Eyes

The dragons have become the place to get a job when u can't get a job anywhere else...

Funny you say that....people bang on about jobs for the boys and in house positions being filled, yet we go outside and your still not happy
.....and as for people calling for Brown to be reinstated in some capacity IMO he wasn't much better than Price...and that's saying something

We wait and see because that's the only choice available. But everyone is entitled to an opinion on the matter.

My concern is that Cartwright was shown the door by club that wasn't exactly overflowing with options in their own camp.

I must say that I was surprised when Cartwright was given a 5 year extension by the Titans some time ago. He seemed to be at the end of his run then and looked to have overstayed his welcome. Turns out a lot of Titans supporters felt the same way.

DRAGONSNZ

Why say this,Cartwright has had success as a player and assistant to Rooters ,did reasonably well with a new team also.

What so your comparing our squad to the rooters??? did you watch the Titans and Dragons this season? then you know we have just fused Mary with a guy that got dumped after about 6 years of utter crap.

Sorry Trusaint, I'm typing on the phone and it's hard yakka lol. Will reply from home after i leave this sunny spot.

Edit ; wrong thread - told you it's hard

Dea

Good to see someone from "outside" getting in. Carty had numerous challenges off field at the Titans and I think his time had come to an end there. Hopefully the change will be good for him and us. It is also hoped that Mary is trying to establish his authority over the team and this again is a positive step forward IMO

BennyV

Funny you say that....people bang on about jobs for the boys and in house positions being filled, yet we go outside and your still not happy
.....and as for people calling for Brown to be reinstated in some capacity IMO he wasn't much better than Price...and that's saying something

You are entitled to your opinion...but when you say 'thats saying something ' all it says to me is that your opinion is one of the most useless and misinformed things I've read on this forum (which is actually saying something!)

Brownie, with zero coaching experience, consistently took the team to the finals in all but 2 of his years as coach. He brought through multitudes of talented youngsters and played an exciting brand of football. He is credited by Bennett himself for getting the team ready for the success of 09-10. And now he is in the ESL grand final against all odds, after years of pulling low lying teams into the 8 and topping the ladder with St Helens.

To compare him to Price, who had years of lower grade and assistant coaching experience and still failed to produce anything even close to.what Brown did, is laughable.

Get2dachopper!

You are entitled to your opinion...but when you say 'thats saying something ' all it says to me is that your opinion is one of the most useless and misinformed things I've read on this forum (which is actually saying something!)

Brownie, with zero coaching experience, consistently took the team to the finals in all but 2 of his years as coach. He brought through multitudes of talented youngsters and played an exciting brand of football. He is credited by Bennett himself for getting the team ready for the success of 09-10. And now he is in the ESL grand final against all odds, after years of pulling low lying teams into the 8 and topping the ladder with St Helens.

To compare him to Price, who had years of lower grade and assistant coaching experience and still failed to produce anything even close to.what Brown did, is laughable.

Brown would have been just ripe for the picking now at this stage of his career.
I hope Mary succeeds, but we surely should have brown earmarked for a return eventually, he is still only 41.

rainman44

Brown would have been just ripe for the picking now at this stage of his career.
I hope Mary succeeds, but we surely should have brown earmarked for a return eventually, he is still only 41.
It could be too late as i reckon he will get a start before Marry gets the punt, thats only if we stay shit like we are now.

Mr Red

So over the last few months we have seen the likes of Griffin, Henry, Taylor, Matt Parish all available for either head or assistant coaching gigs.... And we get Cartwright... Yeah I'm not happy ..