Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings and More Crap XVIII

i at present will just expect that the players recruited so far are mostly for depth.
Now we have money to spend that we didn't have a week ago we need to spend it wisely. A half, centre of FB is what is needed.
I hope that our cap wasn't that buggered that Hayne leaving only allows for Watmough to come.

Joshuatheeel

The club can't win, we don't want to waste big money attempting to sign an aged and injured stewart or an over rated Hoffman or Barba so the club considers moving our million dollar centre in hoppa to fullback. Thus we need another centre back up thus we are considering a cheapie in Takairangi (who is s fair player) as there are f**k all centre options available and yet we are still complaining. f**k me!!!

I reckon some on here would complain if they had to take Elle macpherson home from a night on the piss at the pub!!

emjaycee

The club can't win, we don't want to waste big money attempting to sign an aged and injured stewart or an over rated Hoffman or Barba so the club considers moving our million dollar centre in hoppa to fullback. Thus we need another centre back up thus we are considering a cheapie in Takairangi (who is s fair player) as there are f**k all centre options available and yet we are still complaining. f**k me!!!

I reckon some on here would complain if they had to take Elle macpherson home from a night on the piss at the pub!!

And they would be pissed off at their mate for being their wingman and landing Jennifer Hawkins leaving them with Elle.

Well, there's been a video doing the rounds for about 15 years of what happens if you take Elle's sister home after a night on the piss at the pub,.

Bigfella

I take the point that we haven't had much time since he resigned (although reading between the lines I'm not sure there weren't some signs that couks or should have been picked up on. And Seward announced halfway through the year that the club's no 1 priority was resigning hayne. By that measure that is worse than a failure, because they didn't even hold him to his current contract).

Even if he'd stayed, our finish to the season strongly suggested we needed to supplement our roster to become a force in the comp. All we did was add some depth and no starch.

I dont really see this as an unreasonable rant. We should be realistic and analyse what's going on.

And I certainly don't believe fans have an obligation to be blindly positive and optimistic.

We haven't won a comp for nearly thirty years. We have lost our greatest player in that time to a competitor who we courted a relationship with. We continue to offload some of our most tented juniors, and can only sign players who are not in real demand at other clubs.

It suggests that our management remains dysfunctional and some of our key appointments are not true market leaders.

In that situation we shouldn't simply wave the Pom poms and accept the same mediocre results - we should speak up.

Bigfella

Having said all that, if we can get watmough next year it wil help a lot.

If he isn't coming unti 2016 I will have massive concerns.

I take the point that we haven't had much time since he resigned (although reading between the lines I'm not sure there weren't some signs that couks or should have been picked up on. And Seward announced halfway through the year that the club's no 1 priority was resigning hayne. By that measure that is worse than a failure, because they didn't even hold him to his current contract).

Let's say that there were signs that could have been picked up on. Until he said 'Hooroo', what could the club do? You can't replace a$1m player who might not be going.

Chipmunk

Having said all that, if we can get watmough next year it wil help a lot.

If he isn't coming unti 2016 I will have massive concerns.

If Watmough doesn't end up playing for us next year I doubt he will end up playing with us at all.

Jodeci

Even if he'd stayed, our finish to the season strongly suggested we needed to supplement our roster to become a force in the comp. All we did was add some depth and no starch.

I dont really see this as an unreasonable rant. We should be realistic and analyse what's going on.

And I certainly don't believe fans have an obligation to be blindly positive and optimistic.

We haven't won a comp for nearly thirty years. We have lost our greatest player in that time to a competitor who we courted a relationship with. We continue to offload some of our most tented juniors, and can only sign players who are not in real demand at other clubs.

It suggests that our management remains dysfunctional and some of our key appointments are not true market leaders.

In that situation we shouldn't simply wave the Pom poms and accept the same mediocre results - we should speak up.

STAND AND CHEER BIGFELLA

Well said mate

Completely agree with everything you have stated.

:p

Joshuatheeel

I hate us losing every year as well but I believe with the current recruit (before hayne left us with a shit load of cash) the club was trying to just create some more depth on cheap (like what penrith has done) due to restricted cap issues. While the signings might not bring much joy, they do create depth ensuring our young players have to fight for spots not just for the NRL but for NSW cup. Also they would have cost bugger all. Looking at our signings:

Macpherson - is on a summer trial contract
Champion - good player when fit, souths would be paying some of his contract. We needed another experience centre with Tonga leaving. What other options did we have?
Wicks - would be cheap, probably minimum contract or second tier. Has potential bit of lotto on how he will go.
Richie - arthur probably wanted his aggressive style to try and help influence our young players. Wouldn't be expensive
Nelson - probably signed for his ability to play a few positions. Probably second tier
Robinson - obviously not signed as Haynes replacement. Apart from hunt (who was rumoured to be going to the sharks) we had no other real back up for fullback. Gives squad some depth.
Crook - gentle probably thinks he can be a decent centre.

emjaycee

I agree 100% that we should speak up - however I would challenge about the timing and manner in which we do this.

Up until we (the members) spoke up and installed 3P we had gone 20+ years without a premiership and we demanded significant change from the new board and management. They delivered (albeit on the back of Hayne and Fui) a short term panacea in the form of a 2009 GF appearance however that could not be sustained and cracks began appearing all over the joint.

The cracks continued widening to the extent that in 2013/14 we again spoke up and replaced most of the 3P influence at the Board level (and subsequently the management and coaching level) with Sharp, Seward, BA and co. This team has been in place for one full season only in which until our players capitulation in the final 2 rounds of 2014 we were fighting for a spot in the 8 for the first time since 2009.

Up until the 13th October 2014, the current team of Sharp, Seward, BA and co. had identified what they believe were weaknesses in our playing squad (for all external appearances these looked to be experience; attitude; merkinness) and were recruiting to not only provide these characteristics to our young and inexperienced squad through players like Watmough and Wicks but also to build depth and competition for spots in the starting 17 with players like Robinson, Crooks, Champion, McPherson, Nelson. This was a good approach given we have skilled and talented youngsters but have clearly lacked the characteristics I mentioned above and the depth to keep the pressure on the young guys.

On October 14th (whether known in advance or not) our marquee player decides to announce that he is leaving the club effective immediately. Since then and while our coach has been on holidays and no doubt unable to dedicate the effort he would like to closing this sudden gap, we have announced the signing of Robinson (already done before the Hayne announcement), potentially a Super League prop and possibly an experienced NRL standard centre in Takairangi - all within 7 days only.

This doesn't suggest to me that our management are dysfunctional, but rather that they had identified what needed to be done and were doing that and then were hit with the Hayne departure and have yet to finalise and implement a mitigation plan.

I think we need to give it more than a week to see what transpires before we hit the panic button and start accusing management of being amateur and dysfunctional but maybe that's just me - I'd rather planned and considered action than reactive behaviour to satisfy the demands of impatient members who want instant cures all the time. RS was hired as a reaction to SK's dismal performance and look how well that did us.

If Bellemy signed them for Storm he'd be a genius. We do it and we have NFI.
yeah but the Storm have 3 elite players they pay the majority of their cap too. They take that risk and have no other choice.

Our set up is completely different.

yeah but the Storm have 3 elite players they pay the majority of their cap too. They take that risk and have no other choice.

Our set up is completely different.

More like Storm's set up is one off. The rest of the teams take chances on bargain buys and hope that they get their acts together. Refer what Toovey does.

We have Hayne's money unused and I'm glad we're not rushing in. Yes 2015 might be a right off, but that's an issue you might wanna bring up with Jarryd rather than shift blame on the coaching staff.

But Gronk Manly have plenty of star players that those cheap buys are built around.

Honestly with Hayne gone how many star players do we have in the squad???

Hoppa, Peats and ???????

The plan was always to build the team around Hayne. That plan was in existance up until we offered him $7 million over 5 years. To get to this stage takes time. Hayne decided at the 11th hour to not accept. Nothing more could have been done. I don't blame the club at all for this. I blame Hayne. We now have 20 percent of our cap free. We should not jump and sign anyone. 1 November is 9 days away. There will be more players available to negotiate with for 2016 then ever before and if it means front
loading some contracts and writing off 2015 so be it.

I have huge trust in Arthur and Seward. They know more than any of us what they are doing.

But Gronk Manly have plenty of star players that those cheap buys are built around.

Honestly with Hayne gone how many star players do we have in the squad???

Hoppa, Peats and ???????

Agree. Now you get your chance as we transition from a one mega star player club to a club who has a bunch of pretty good ones. You will note that the Cows have been doing it tough the same as us.

The pretty good ones are hard to get. Manly grooms a few kids and ended up with gun halves and fullback. A lot of luck there. Storm have been riding the same lucky wave for 10 years.

So we either strike gold with a few kids like Manly or Storm or begin to behave like Dogs or Roosters and just buy players like Singo at the yearling sales. Can we really compete with the 3rd party deals like those clubs ? Not so sure.

Bigfella

And seriously, hoppa is a big downgrade at fullback.

He was defensively poor, uninvolved, and error ridden after his premature return from injury this year. He hasn't huge experience in first grade; his body is underdone after his stint away; and he is now further impeded by that injury.

There's no guarantee he will meet the very high standards that the modern game has for a fullback.

You can't even be competitive without a top class fullback.

I have some very grave concerns about the short to mid term playing strength.

There is no doubt that everyone needs depth; everyone needs value.

But everyone also needs a certain amount of real grunt in key positions.

We have no star props; out back row is unheralded; we have an up and coming hooker; an untested fullback; erratic and inconsistent halves; and journeymen centres.

Adding depth players may not be sufficient.

Bigfella

More like Storm's set up is one off. The rest of the teams take chances on bargain buys and hope that they get their acts together. Refer what Toovey does.

We have Hayne's money unused and I'm glad we're not rushing in. Yes 2015 might be a right off, but that's an issue you might wanna bring up with Jarryd rather than shift blame on the coaching staff.

I agree storm are not necessarily a fair comparison.

They acquired all time great players in spine positionsthrough cheating the cap and maintain their advantage by retaining them. Makes it far easier to add depth.

Their success also allows them to get their depth players much more cheaply as people want to go there.

We are in the opposite position and our management have to battle with that.

The reason why we are in this predicament is because Hayne did not satisfy the agreed terms of his contract. He broke his contract all be it with our permission but has screwed us whilst chasing his own personal dreams.