Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings and More Crap XVIII

emjaycee

I have the luxury of knowing both Ray Dib (Bulldogs Chairman) and Arthur Coorey, they know that many people with money who put into the Bulldogs club it's not funny. They both put in their fair share of money also. Ray runs a very successful insurance company and also has his hands in multiple building projects. Arthur runs the successful Stewarts man clothing as well as some investments. They put in money like it's their own even though they have a successful leagues club.

They have a system and it works. Hasler recruited Inu, he had a blinder of a season in 2012, had an average 2013 and did what every other coach Did and moved him off to France.

Look at the kind of players they recruit, if they want someone, they get them. If they had Hayne and lost him, they would get the best player either contracted or off contracted.

It's irrelevant who I voted for, But we don't have a Ray Dib on our board.

You know that motion to get Mr Moss on wasn't done properly and that's why Dennis killed that. It didn't go through the right channels and if it went through, Dennis even said his lawyers would be all over this. Mr Moss isn't even a member.

The bloke doesn't have to be on the board, he can support the club like how he said he would from outside the board room if he really cares.

You mean like be the patron of the Eels Executive Club or whatever it is called? You know that newly formed group that is a bit like the Thoroughbreds the Broncos have. The one where cashed up business savvy people bring lots of their knowledge and business contacts to help the Eels be successful. The one that the previous administration/board didn't want a thing to do with.

Bigfella

Is Morris better? And they paid a fortune for him.

Why don't you give eels/arthur credit, arthur has identified that we lack experience in the pack thus if rumours are correct we have picked up a current origin player in Watmough who is also under contract ?

All to easy to bag out the eels isn't it!!

I wasn't bagging anyone or anything. But if I had been I would be perfectly entitled to.

I was responding to a suggestion that somehow the signing of Brett Morris means that the fullback position isn't important.

I don't know why people need to suggest that someone expressing a different opinion is somehow death riding the club.

There have been massive f**k ups over a long period of different administrations.

We just came off a season where we again missed the 8. We faded embarrassingly and were not competitive at the back end of the season. Not only did we fail to add players capable of seriously adding to deficiencies in our playing group, we lost the dally m winner whose ability was the source of the moderate success we did have.

And being blindly optimistic in the face of all evidence doesn't help. It allows mediocrity to be perpetuated.

Wow. Jarryd leaving is certainly getting under everyone's skin.

It's not the Board or CEO's fault that he left with the lack of notice he did. It is their fault they gave him permission to leave, but what choice did they have - seeing the guy has come out and said he was disinterested in the past two years anyway? If we held onto him for another year, we ran the risk of him becoming a true cancer at the club in 2015 - the last thing we need.

The timing was appalling, Hayne has f**ked our 2015 season, but we need to look beyond that (to 2016) with positiity, and not try to blame anyone else who stcuk around and didn't walk out on the Eels.

Don't tell me what I can or can't say you whiny little prick.

I wasn't bagging anyone or anything. But if I had been I would be perfectly entitled to.

I was responding to a suggestion that somehow the signing of Brett Morris means that the fullback position isn't important.

I don't know why people need to suggest that someone expressing a different opinion is somehow death riding the club.

There have been massive f**k ups over a long period of different administrations.

We just came off a season where we again missed the 8. We faded embarrassingly and were not competitive at the back end of the season. Not only did we fail to add players capable of seriously adding to deficiencies in our playing group, we lost the dally m winner whose ability was the source of the moderate success we did have.

I don't have to keep eating shit sandwiches and pretending its caviar to be considered a real fan.

And being blindly optimistic in the face of all evidence doesn't help. It allows mediocrity to be perpetuated.
spot on mate, at least some of us on here can see where the club is actually heading.

all hail the whiney bitches of LU ... us poor blind f**ks would be lost without all your never ending whinging and moaning - none of us would be able to see losing jarryd is a massive blow

emjaycee

Strider, I dont think anyone (except maybe PouPou) is saying it isnt a massive blow. But it is only a massive blow to season 2015 and even then, only if the club and BA cannot assemble a squad of 25 that can be competitive. We havent even started pre-season training yet so still some time to see how the squad gets finalised before we claim it as a total write-off.

2016 is currently no different to how it was a month ago, except we have signed a couple of players that may or may not make it that we didnt have on the books a month ago.

Joshuatheeel

Don't tell me what I can or can't say you whiny little prick.

I don't have to keep eating shit sandwiches and pretending its caviar to be considered a real fan.

Ok mate, looks like we will disagree on the direction the club is potentially taking. Time will tell who is right. Go the eels!!

Joshuatheeel

Not only did we fail to add players capable of seriously adding to deficiencies in our playing group, we lost the dally m winner whose ability was the source of the moderate success we did have.

so isn't adding watmough ( if rumours are correct) identifying a player that will add a lot to our squad ?

Also Arthur said after our last game we have a lack of experience in the pack which isnt helping along with his final interview that we just weren't physical enough. So he has recruited Wicks, Richie and Macpherson ( yes budget buys but it aren't arthurs fault the cap was f**ked)

I do credit those signings appear very underwhelming but before we bag out those players we should remember Arthur recruited two players in 2014, gower / Issac - and these two were also bagged out by most but they were two of our better players towards the end of 2014.

spiderdan

f**k a duck. of course losing hayne is a blow to the club but it isn't something the club can't recover from, or work around.

how many fullbacks in the league are there like hayne? zero. while some may play the same style none that play that style are anywhere near as good.

since hayne came into grade, how many teams have won grand finals without him? I think it's about 6.

how many have won with hayne? 0.

moral of the post- while hayne is a freakishly talented nrl player, he still hasn't achieved anywhere near as much as what a player of his talent should have achieved while plenty of other lesser players have achieved heaps more.

hopoate will go fine at fullback. if arthur knows his shit, which I believe he does, he will be coaching a new structure to cater for hopoate playing at the back.

yy_cheng

But stick those lesser players at Parra and they would be playing in Wenty.

It's not a valid argument.

The only thing he hasnt achieved is a premiership.

After his NFL, stint, he can come back, join the chooks or souths and complete that goal. But then if he wins a superbowl, then an NRL premiership is meaningless in comparison

Bigfella

Ok mate, looks like we will disagree on the direction the club is potentially taking. Time will tell who is right. Go the eels!!

Fair enough mate.

Hopefully we will both be right and this situation will become an opportunity to improve the joint by doing things differently.

There's no doubt there's an opportunity to fix some of the holes by spreading tent and experience more broay around the group.

I'm just very concerned about the lack of explanations and apparent lack of intent coming out of the joint. It would be nice if someone had said, when some of the post hayne signings were announced, that they were already being signed and they aren't replacements. It would be nice if there was a statement explaining that they have a plan and some targets in mind.

If we could pick up at least two and preferably three quality players to replace jarryd I would agree we could potentially be a better squad and a more realistic top 6 chance.

If we pulled off say watmough Merrin and a centre or fullback that would be almost exactly what we need. Probably the inconsistent halves and some size up front might be our only real weaknesses. If it was a dugan or Brett Stewart or even josh Hoffman I think that would all serve us well. I wouldn't worry about the salary cap implications of trying to fit hayne back in and wave goodbye to him.

Delboy

Not sure if this helps the nervous nellies , the coach only returned on Friday. I hear he was taking calls from managers, and players were calling him personally re coming to the club.

He did nor want anyone signed until he had discussed it with his asst coaches and Peter Sharp, wanes to make sure nothing is rushed and it is part of the plan to ma ke 2015 a success.

Think we need to trust BA, at least he won't be rushed and has a near term and medium term success initiative for the club. Anyone that doesn't think he is anything but blue and gold really need to a refocus.lets give it a while and have faith. The club seems to be building oin a strong foundation

f**k a duck. of course losing hayne is a blow to the club but it isn't something the club can't recover from, or work around.

how many fullbacks in the league are there like hayne? zero. while some may play the same style none that play that style are anywhere near as good.

since hayne came into grade, how many teams have won grand finals without him? I think it's about 6.

how many have won with hayne? 0.

moral of the post- while hayne is a freakishly talented nrl player, he still hasn't achieved anywhere near as much as what a player of his talent should have achieved while plenty of other lesser players have achieved heaps more.

hopoate will go fine at fullback. if arthur knows his shit, which I believe he does, he will be coaching a new structure to cater for hopoate playing at the back.
Very good point. For all his individual talent and achievements, apart from SOO this year his TEAM achievements have been relatively lacking.

Hayne's pro timing has meant 2015 is now possibly a non-competitive year - through no fault or Arthur, the Board, the club, or the players left behind - but it's hardly an issue we can't now plan for and recover from to again be competitive from 2016 without Hayne.

Not sure if this helps the nervous nellies , the coach only returned on Friday. I hear he was taking calls from managers, and players were calling him personally re coming to the club.

He did nor want anyone signed until he had discussed it with his asst coaches and Peter Sharp, wanes to make sure nothing is rushed and it is part of the plan to ma ke 2015 a success.

Think we need to trust BA, at least he won't be rushed and has a near term and medium term success initiative for the club. Anyone that doesn't think he is anything but blue and gold really need to a refocus.lets give it a while and have faith. The club seems to be building oin a strong foundation

:clap:

Bigfella

I see Phil rothfield is suggesting that a club is shopping around its superstar winger as he wants to play fullback.

It's not Brett Morris. If it was Alex Johnston Id be very keen. Not sure how many superstar wingers are left, man sour is great but not sure he'd make a fullback