Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 1 2015 Team

lingard

I also recall when we signed Peats people saying he is from souths reserves he aint that god, so even Peats wasn't considered a great first grade option prior too 2014.

I reckon we potentially will have the best pack in the competition that's how much faith I have in the guys there. I just know when Hindy-cayless-Ryan-Mannah all first started from the bench thinking there not bad players and 2 yrs later they where stars. I reckon same will happen here.

And when 2-3 guys get better than it makes it easier for Mannah and Lussick who will look better.Its a roll on effect. Just look at so many forwards who leave Melbourne and turn to mud.Or guys past it that have gone there and looked great.Do you really think bellamy transforms them with some secret training? Its more there just in a better team.

I knew Peats was good. I shouted it from the roof-tops. (Then again, I said Tom Humble was going to be great, too. Luckily, everyone here has forgotten all about that uncharacteristic error of judgement). But, seriously, I still think Peats is a bit under-rated here. I don't think people appreciate that he's not just a defender, but an extremely good attacking hooker. In fact, I think that's his forte'. I reckon he was forced into a more defensive role last year because of our deficits in that area. Maybe next year he'll be able to ease off the defence a bit and show everyone what he can do in attack. I've seen him play very similarly to Isaac Luke in attack. He's very good.

yy_cheng

I knew Peats was good. I shouted it from the roof-tops. (Then again, I said Tom Humble was going to be great, too. Luckily, everyone here has forgotten all about that uncharacteristic error of judgement). But, seriously, I still think Peats is a bit under-rated here. I don't think people appreciate that he's not just a defender, but an extremely good attacking hooker. In fact, I think that's his forte'. I reckon he was forced into a more defensive role last year because of our deficits in that area. Maybe next year he'll be able to ease off the defence a bit and show everyone what he can do in attack. I've seen him play very similarly to Isaac Luke in attack. He's very good.

What about you raving about Josh Davis?

lingard

Ok, so he's always wrong EXCEPT for Peats.

So listen to him this time!!

I was right one other time. I went with my father to Cumberland Oval when Brett Kenny played his initial first grade game. I said to my dad, "This bloke will play for Australia one day". And the rest is history.

I saw his starting team debut at Cumberland in 1980 with my old man (and pop I think). Probably same game. I was on the hill at one end of the ground. All I can remember of the opposition (Newtown) is that Graeme O'Grady (beardy boy) and Raudonikis played

Forty20

Daily Telegraph - Top 20 NYC players with the potential to make it big.

The unimportant merkins:

Kane Elgey (Titans)
Jack Bird (Sharks)
Jayden Nikorima (Broncos)
Kodi Nikorima (Broncos)
Matt Lodge (Wests-Tigers)
Nene McDonald (Roosters)
Andy Saunders (Panthers)
Fa'amanu Brown (Sharks)
Joseph Tapine (Knights)
Jake Mamo (Knights)
Cameron Munster (Storm)
Waqa Blake (Panthers)
Lloyd Perrett (Dogs)
Joe Ofahengaue (Broncos)
Sam Lisone (Warriors)
Kierran Moseley (Panthers)
Luke Batemen (Raiders)
Tuimoala Lolohea (Warriors)
Patrick Kaufusi (Cowboys)

The important merkin:

Ryan Matterson (Eels)

In June the 19-year-old local product and U20s club captain signed a new deal that will keep him in Parramatta until the end of the 2017 season — the club and player couldn’t be happier. The exciting five-eighth (and nephew of Terry Matterson) bagged 14 tries last season, including four in one game against Manly, and capped off an impressive season with a call-up to the Junior Kangaroos side, having already represented NSW at U20s Origin. Perhaps a little green to make a real breakthrough but should certainly see some game time in 2015.

Hey Forty20

Is Matterson the best halves prospect we have produced since Trent Hodkinson?

Gee I was hoping he was better than that.I just dont rate trent-One dimensional boring player behind a good pack.More a robot than a footy player.No thanks.

Obscene Assassin

Give Matto a year in the NSW cup with him being the dominant kicker and the half they give the ball to on the 5th tackle and he'll be ready for first grade. Defensively he's a rock, his running game is superb (quality not quantity), and his passing game is top notch too. Just needs to work on positional and tactical kicking, once he gets that down he'll be a very good NRL half.

With his size and strength Matterson only needs to be average at kicking and passing and he'll be a genuine first grader.

Obscene Assassin

Why not add more bows to his quiver? If he develops a better kicking game that sees him put it constantly into a corner and better tactical kicking when inside the opposition 10 he'll be better than just a genuine first grade player. The year in NSW cup will do him well, if there's heaps of injuries and suspensions we may see him coming off the bench in a middle half role.

I hope we don't move him into the middle permanently but he can do a job there if need be.

oldmancraigy

I am with Obscene re: Matterson.

Hearing the wraps early in the year, made sure i watched as mucb of him as possible. Was really surprised by his passing game. Didnt expect him to be so good in that facet.
just needs a short kicking game.

Forty20

Hey Forty20

Is Matterson the best halves prospect we have produced since Trent Hodkinson?

With his size and strength Matterson only needs to be average at kicking and passing and he'll be a genuine first grader.

OA and Poups cover in pretty good detail why he is the best halves prospect to come out of our system in quite a while. I agree with OA in that all he really needs at this stage is to refine and hone the finer points of his game. His short kicking game is actually pretty handy but his clearance kicks need work.

One other aspect of his game that doesn't get mentioned much is his leadership. It is hard to judge just how good a leader any NYC captain is but he was always the preferred (c) in 2014, even over noted hard arse (and former NYC captain) Kaysa Pritchard. Everyone and their dog loves to go on about the poor leadership at our club in recent years so hopefully Matterson is the forerunner in a new generation of genuine leaders.

good point forty - leadership is something our club really needs - shouldnt be under estimated