Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Are you a fan of the game or the club/culture?

Parra

I think these points have nailed it.

The constant negativity from the games print and television media have really influenced people's opinion to the point whereby they can't seem to form an objective opinion.

I also think there is a tendency for people to overreact to minor things also.

There is no sport in the world that gets just poor treatment from its "own" media.

You've missed the point that RL is a local game that is centered around clubs and club loyalty. Fans don't change teams, in fact the sport loses fans when clubs are wiped out. People still applaud player loyalty to their club, even though local players are a thing of the past.

Also misses the point for the same sentiment for other sports. I'm the same with rugby - I'll watch Waratahs & Wallabies but not much when they aren't involved.

How many people watch cricket when the Aussies aren't playing? How many bother to watch the state comps? Yet they are still cricket fans. I barely watch the game outside of test matches, and only tests with Australia playing.

None of this is due to media influence.

Canard

You've missed the point that RL is a local game that is centered around clubs and club loyalty. Fans don't change teams, in fact the sport loses fans when clubs are wiped out. People still applaud player loyalty to their club, even though local players are a thing of the past.

Also misses the point for the same sentiment for other sports. I'm the same with rugby - I'll watch Waratahs & Wallabies but not much when they aren't involved.

How many people watch cricket when the Aussies aren't playing? How many bother to watch the state comps? Yet they are still cricket fans. I barely watch the game outside of test matches, and only tests with Australia playing.

None of this is due to media influence.

Your clearly not a big League fan so your perspective is somewhat different. But Im not sure why you think I stated people should change teams?? Club loyalty is a massive part of the game, but being loyal doesn't mean you never watch the game involving anyone else or at any other level.

And you have completely missed my point which is "the game is gone to shit", "It was better when there was tryless grand finals" etc. seems to be a position that CH9 and News take and therefore influences people.

As for watching the game, when your team is not involved, the ratings clearly show that it happens.

Parra

I'n not claiming you stated anything - just pointing out that fan & even player loyalty are very significant.

I'll watch more RL than any other sport & of course when the Eels are not there. Friday night/Sat arvo games being the main ones. The question was what comes first for RL, not what is exclusive. I personally wouldn't go out of my way on other timeslots unless the Eels are playng.

FWIW I'll do this with NFL as well - watch any match based on scheduling, bur for rugby or cricket only the matches that I have a direct interest in.

Parra

As far as putting the rulebook ahead of my team - no way. A prime example of public opinion on this was when the superleague treachery was launched. Fans of loyal ARL-aligned clubs generally wouldn't go anywhere near a SL match. Yet it was purported to be the same code.

Dav0c

Club. I'm a fan of the game when it's played a certain way.. Unfortunately it doesn't happen enough to motivate me to watch many games between teams I'm not interested in.

Canard

As far as putting the rulebook ahead of my team - no way. A prime example of public opinion on this was when the superleague treachery was launched. Fans of loyal ARL-aligned clubs generally wouldn't go anywhere near a SL match. Yet it was purported to be the same code.

This is where I agree with you. My club went to SL, guess what I still watched both comps. Because Im loyal to my club before Im loyal to board. But I like the game as a whole.

Club. I'm a fan of the game when it's played a certain way.. Unfortunately it doesn't happen enough to motivate me to watch many games between teams I'm not interested in.

This is more what Im talking about, Parra.

Frailty

Club.

It used to be the game. It was an awesome game to watch.

Now it's lost it's enjoyment, and aside from the Sharks games, I struggle to watch any other.

BLKOUT!

Club by far. I don't have time to consistently watch other teams play and even if I did I'm not sure I would. If I have no vested interest in either team involved in a game I'll only really enjoy it watching with other people, living in Victoria those options are pretty limited.

The game and club are equal for me. As far as viewing habits go I will go out of my way to ensure I am either at a roosters game or am able to watch it where possible. I will watch neutral games at home if they are on or at the pub etc. but I won’t build my social life around being able to see said games.

Game. But I don't like it as much as I used to. Something that seems to be a common theme. Take note arlc and circle jerkers.

I barely follow my club anymore. Cancelled my membership last year and haven't bought any merchandise for several years. Until today! There's a shop in armidale that's closing down and they had NRL jerseys for $19! Wouldnt buy anything otherwise.

Game for me. As I don't follow a particular NRL side I enjoy watching most games on TV. Love just watching footy live though, doesn't matter the grade or where it's being played. Particularly enjoy international RL games, SoO is OK but it's over hyped and that gives me the sh*ts about it.

Favourite game from last year. Belconned United Sharks vs Queanbeyan Blues at Northbourne oval, was the middle of winter, freezing cold and a fantastic game, won by the Blues 46 to 6 I think. Canberra Raiders Cup looks to be a great comp.

As a kid / teenager I was all about Parramatta. Wouldn't watch any other Club games but would watch SoO or Kanagaroo Tests.

Over the years I've come to love the game itself. If there's a Rugby league match on and I have the means to watch it, I'll watch it. Everything from Fox Memorial Shield to the English Championship to NSW Cup to French Elite, etc... all these competitions have their own distinct flavour to enjoy.

Having said this, I still get the biggest thrill out of watching the Eels. If they one day ceased to exist I would be devastated and would probably need to spend time in an institution recovering, but afterwards I think I would ultimately come back to the game.

Danish

5 years ago I'd say the game by far. 2-3 years ago it became much more club than code.This coming season I'm honestly not that fussed on either.

I'll watch all roosters games, mind, but I won't be wasting thousands following them around the country and to NZ like I have religiously over the past few seasons.

The other 7 games of the round used to also be mandatory viewing, although now I only find myself watching them if I am at home at the time and also tend to just have it on while doing other things. I used to also have a few other clubs that I liked to see do well (Panthers, Raiders, Sharks, and Cowboys) but I don't really give a stuff about them anymore, largely due to either someone involved in the club who is an enormous douche (Gould, Stuart), or the club in general having developed massive chips on their shoulders (sharks, Cowboys).

I also find myself much more interested in international footy than origin these days as well, largely due to the enormous wanker count in both the state squads. Same reason why I generally don't support australia on the international stage as well.

Club. I watch most games on tele and go to Roosters home games as well as the odd Jets game at Henson. If Easts got kicked out, the game would be lost to me.

game. I want rl to prosper and be better than it is currently. self interest, backward thinking and insularity about the 'heartlands' is holding the code back. for those who said club do you go to the games as sitting on the couch is not 'support'. I go to cowboys home games always, benefits of a Sat night game majority of the season.

Galeforce

Club , Souths. that is it.
Only watch other club games as a gauge on Souths.
When Souths were kicked out of the game , I stopped watching NRL and would do so again.

I am a proud NSW person , however have not supported NSW Origin team this decade , primarily due to some of the grubs that continue to be selected ( Gallen and Bird for starters) and fact that QLD had Souths players.

Prefer Soccer as an international sport and coach junior soccer teams, however i follow no soccer club team.

Parra

for those who said club do you go to the games as sitting on the couch is not 'support'. .

It is the best kind of support. The money comes from TV. In fact if you don't have a foxtel subscription you are sponging on the rest of us who do. That is how reliant NRL and most sport is on pay TV revenue.

tv is not the best support if anything the 'tv sport' excuses is responsible for the empty seats. those who watch on tv must love empty seats then since they never show up.

siv

Simple question you can ask yourself

If your club got kicked of the comp today

Wo I ld you watch othervteams play ?