Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nathan brown- MANLY COACH

dino2170

It has been reported heavily in the media that our ex coach is touted as being the manly coach as soon as this year. It looks like that TOOVEY is dead coach coaching.

What if he replaces him and he does real coaching instead of the crap he did when he was with us. Was it a mater of lost opportunities or wrong timing. Should we of sent him to england on a retainment package to learn coaching and then given him the coaching position after the Bennet experiment?

BennyV

Brownie always had the tools to be a good coach. Had a good eye for talent, good tactics, but didn't have the experience away from playing to be able to pull it together when it matyered. He needed to serve an apprenticeship, but what he has done in the ESL is good enough. Definitely a case of poor timing.

Would be a great pickup for Manly, they are coming to the end of and era of superstars and will pretty much be rebuilding over the next few years, Brownie would be a great guy to do it.

Qould prefer for him to do it here...but hey, Mary is like, a straight shooter...so y'know, we are totally in safe hands...

:(

i think we made a big mistake dropping price IMHO...

price > mcgregor

price > brown

price = bennett

A good management team would have handled the Brown coaching issue differently.

First up they could have convinced him that serving 3 years under Bennett would be a great period for his persanl development. Bennett leaves - Brown is coach again.

Second if Brown received a more attractive offer from the UK, the Dragons Board could have offered a return to the Club in 3 years. Bennett leaves - Brown is coach again.

Thirdly, Bennett leaves, Price is made coach, Price is sacked, Brown is very successful in the UK - Price is sacked - Braown is appointed coach, Mary assistant coach.

It can only be assumed that their were ill feelings between Dragons management and Brown at the time of Bennett's appointment. A good Board would have looked long term and made an offer that Brown could understand and feel comfortable with.

It is a real shame Brown will not be coaching the Dragons in the near future. I give the Mary experience the same weight that I gave Price after 6 rounds in 2012. I really hope I'm wrong however, no matter what I hope for, Mary either has waht it takes or he doesn't. Going on what I saw in round 1 where,in my opinion we lost the game mainly because of self inflicted mistakes or wrong decisions. Mary's job will be on the line after round 6.

I only hope that the Dragons have been keeping in touch with Brown letting him know that there may be a possibility of the top job this year.

grouch

I only hope that the Dragons have been keeping in touch with Brown letting him know that there may be a possibility of the top job this year.

Would be nice possm, but sadly i think the ship has sailed.
a) we can't afford to pay out the contract of the person currently occupying the head coach role, and
b) the board think that person is a, quote, "supercoach".

He'll be given 2 and a half years at least

Mr Red

Brown is already working in some capacity with the Melbourne storm, and is being groomed to replace Bellamy who has already stated he will most likely retire when his current contract expires.

jenninga

Said it before ,Browny was never coming back to us and under this current board don't think he would even consider us if a vacancy came up.
Agree with BennyV,his talent spotting is his strength and it gave us the core of our premiership team.

bottle

Isn't the scuttlebutt that Doust wanted Brown but it was vetoed by the majority? Apparently Dout stayed with Brown at his house over in the UK recently, so I don't think there are relationship issues there.

jenninga

Isn't the scuttlebutt that Doust wanted Brown but it was vetoed by the majority? Apparently Dout stayed with Brown at his house over in the UK recently, so I don't think there are relationship issues there.

My mate knows Browny and didn't give reasons but just said he wouldn't be coming back to us when he came back to Sydney.

Coffs dragon

My mate knows Browny and didn't give reasons but just said he wouldn't be coming back to us when he came back to Sydney.

That's a great pity as he will go on to become a very good and successful coach. Browny was instrumental in identifying and developing young talent at our club. This skill has deserted the club and so have many of the younger players left for opportunities elsewhere. Browny will go on to probably rebuild Manly imto a force agaim whilst our club continues along the path of struggle street.

giboz71

That's a great pity as he will go on to become a very good and successful coach. Browny was instrumental in identifying and developing young talent at our club. This skill has deserted the club and so have many of the younger players left for opportunities elsewhere. Browny will go on to probably rebuild Manly imto a force agaim whilst our club continues along the path of struggle street.

100%

Merrin is the last junior of note that's been rep standard and now he's leaving.

Our struggles in this space is one of the main reasons we've struggled the last 3-4 years.

smi962

100%

Merrin is the last junior of note that's been rep standard and now he's leaving.

Our struggles in this space is one of the main reasons we've struggled the last 3-4 years.

Agree, top talent has not been coming through to first grade like the mid 00's.

The people in charge of our Club have been subject to crisis management ever since Bennett left; maybe even in 2011. Trying to balance the books both on and off the field saw us buying bargains rather than one for one replacements. Off the field it is a matter of just paying the bills rather than building up our war chest.

The people in charge of our Club are well past their used by date and are more concerned about protecting their own jobs and finding jobs for former players than putting well credentialed smart people into key positions within the Club.

I have come to the conclusion that it is time for the NRL to take over the management of our Club short term in order to save what we have left and make the changes necessary to re-start positive development.

I think an NRL sale followed by a private ownership would give us the best chance of returning to being one of the top Clubs in the NRL. So I would like to see:

A new owner with deep pockets
Brown as coach with ex first grade coaches as his assistants
The Taj returned to its former glory and run in a professional way
Kogarah Jubilee Oval developed into a 30k stadium

Get2dachopper!

We have 6 centres, Neilsen, Farrell, aitken, matatuia, runciman, gerrard tuamavei. 5 halves in marshal, widdop, henry, crook, Hutchison. 4 hookers in rein, lestrange, keating and garvey. A plethora of second rowers.

Do we really need 6 centres, 5 halves and 4 hookers? talk about an unbalanced roster. Don't think Nathan Brown would be managing our roster like it currently is.

The fans would have to make a lot of noise before the nrl take over. And if they do, be prepared to play home games out of homebush. Compromises need to be made if we all want a successful footy team.

TonyT6

The fans would have to make a lot of noise before the nrl take over. And if they do, be prepared to play home games out of homebush. Compromises need to be made if we all want a successful footy team.

NRL just have to call in the loans to take over, which according to a mate at the NRL, isn't far off happening.They have little faith in our current football & leagues club management.

fedzy

NRL just have to call in the loans to take over, which according to a mate at the NRL, isn't far off happening.They have little faith in our current football & leagues club management.

The sooner the better

In action is not a plan

love my saints

The NRL isnt taking us over, and they wont be calling in the loans any time soon, take that as gold!
The repayments on the loans have been made on time, so there are no issues.