Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Buying A New Barbeque

Incorrect

I agree with your post - but I'd question this part. I expect to get many more years out of my BBQ's. I currently have a six burner that is around 13 years old - all of it spent in the weather with not even a cover. Just the hood. The chassis is finally crapping out & I have replaced a couple of burners, but it still works. Stainless body & plates - all they need is a wipe down. Empty out the water after it rains and it's good to go.

I probably should have pointed out it was a bit of an el-cheapo K-Mart bbq given to me by the in-laws... While it did the job Re cooking, the quality of the fittings etc was OK, nothing more. And like I say I gave it a decent workout, I'd typically use it Saturday and Sunday every weekend, sometimes 3-4 times a week during spring/summer. For what it was I was happy with the life I got out of it.

veggiepatch1959

Bought the Everdure Neo Grande Esse today for $729. Got a $55 240V rotisserie to go with it. Assembled it myself in 2 hours without any bits left over or misfittings of parts. That's a f**king change!

Six cast iron burners, ample hotplate and grill space and 2 x 240V lights.

For $870, I could have got a Weber Q3200 with their rotisserie kit and half a hotplate with a lot less cooking area.

Weber are way overpriced.

Thanks for everyone's input.

BTW...I was too stuffed to cook on it tonight. Tomorrow night I will give you an initial performance evaluation. Juicy rumps first up. Woohoo!!!

veggiepatch1959

By the way...I had to giggle at the Beefeater range of BBQs.

On their packaging it said...

Designed and engineered in Australia

Made in China

That was about the true difference in font size on the boxes. :lol:

veggiepatch1959

Good luck with it veggie... sounds like a ripper.

Man I could go a juicy rump right now! :)

Shoosh!! The damn gas bottle is downstairs and be f**ked if I want to get it.

A bowl of large shell pasta with mozzarella cheese, garlic salt and cracked pepper will do me for the moment.

I wouldn't say webers are over priced at all. In the long run you will go through more than double the gas than you would with a weber, maybe more.

Yeah you probably pay a bit for the brand, but their reputation is very good.

veggiepatch1959

I wouldn't say webers are over priced at all. In the long run you will go through more than double the gas than you would with a weber, maybe more.

Yeah you probably pay a bit for the brand, but their reputation is very good.

Get an Everdure.

Refer your post #2 in this thread.

Dogs Of War

When it comes to the webber all you need to be is a little organised. I always did the onions and snags before people came over and chucked them in the oven at a low heat. It also frees me up to entertain the guests. It sounds like you want a huge bbq to entertain the masses.

This thread was good though cause I got the idea of modding my webber to put in a grate further down to hold some flavoured chips to give my bbqing some oomph!

If Webber are made in Oz then its probabaly not a matter of being over priced as the materials (metals) will be far superior to the quality of raw materials sourced in China.

The metal will be inferior and most likely a thinner gauge and wont last anywhere near as long as Australian metals will.

You don't just close all the vents to stop the oxygen flow to the fire? I also use a chimney to start my coals, really couldn't be easier. I also find disposable gloves are great for handling coals prior to firing them up, makes it so you don't get the black shit under your finger nails.

For those who like to smoke their meat I highly recommend these guys:

http://www.aussiebbqsmoke.com/

Excellent product and some handy tips.

Bang on Munky.

I use aaussiebbqsmoke, I picked up a bag of cherry, apple and yellowbox chunks.

I use charcoal (from a BBQ chicken shop, not heat beads) and it couldn't be easier to start them than with a chimney. I use the natural Samba firefighters as they don't give any "petrol" flavour as some can.

Legs and shoulders of lamb and pork could not taste any better than when they are smoked on these types of wood.

These wood chunks still have all the oils in them and give more flavour than some of "boxes of smoke chips" you can see at Bunnings. These smaller chips shipped from USA have been kiln dried to remove moisture and oils to reduce weight for shipment, this results in less flavour.

I only use my gas barbie now if there look to be a larger group coming over.

Doing some fish on charcoal tonight which I saw on Rick Stein. Should be the bidness!!:)

Incorrect

Bang on Munky.

I use aaussiebbqsmoke, I picked up a bag of cherry, apple and yellowbox chunks.

I use charcoal (from a BBQ chicken shop, not heat beads) and it couldn't be easier to start them than with a chimney. I use the natural Samba firefighters as they don't give any "petrol" flavour as some can.

Legs and shoulders of lamb and pork could not taste any better than when they are smoked on these types of wood.

These wood chunks still have all the oils in them and give more flavour than some of "boxes of smoke chips" you can see at Bunnings. These smaller chips shipped from USA have been kiln dried to remove moisture and oils to reduce weight for shipment, this results in less flavour.

I only use my gas barbie now if there look to be a larger group coming over.

Doing some fish on charcoal tonight which I saw on Rick Stein. Should be the bidness!!:)

So this charcoal chicken shop happily sell you charcoal or do they sell it to the public anyway? What's the major difference between the coals they use and the heat beads you buy from most retail outlets would you say? Would you say you use the same volume of coals for a cook? Do they burn hotter or longer at all?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm just really interested. As I mentioned in one of my earlier posts, I only started cooking with coals < 6 months ago and I'm always looking for new ideas and techniques to improve the cook. I'll definitely be checking out that aussie bbq smoke site.

Thanks! :D

So this charcoal chicken shop happily sell you charcoal or do they sell it to the public anyway? What's the major difference between the coals they use and the heat beads you buy from most retail outlets would you say? Would you say you use the same volume of coals for a cook? Do they burn hotter or longer at all?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm just really interested. As I mentioned in one of my earlier posts, I only started cooking with coals < 6 months ago and I'm always looking for new ideas and techniques to improve the cook. I'll definitely be checking out that aussie bbq smoke site.

Thanks! :D

No probs.

I first got put onto the benefits of charcoal bbq'ing from a Greek bloke at the pub. Greeks tend to know a bit about charcoal cooking. ;-)

I started using heat beads and then he put me onto the lump charcoal. I reckon it gives a better flavour than heat beads. HB's probably burn slightly longer, but as the bags you get the lump charcoal in are quite big, the lump charcoal is probably more economical.

I first went to the BBQ Chicken shop my mate recommended to ask him for a bag and he was obliging, but he also pointed me in the direction where he got his from. It was a meat wholesaler, who also stocked lump charcoal. So it was a win/win. Good meat and good charcoal.

The charcoal comes in these yellow plastic bags, stand about 4ft and weigh maybe 25-35kgs, and only cost around $30.

It also just looks and feels a bit better. You can get some pretty interesting gnarled bits of root charcoal, just better than some over-manufactured, uniformed blocks of fuel, I suppose.

Incorrect

No probs.

I first got put onto the benefits of charcoal bbq'ing from a Greek bloke at the pub. Greeks tend to know a bit about charcoal cooking. ;-)

I started using heat beads and then he put me onto the lump charcoal. I reckon it gives a better flavour than heat beads. HB's probably burn slightly longer, but as the bags you get the lump charcoal in are quite big, the lump charcoal is probably more economical.

I first went to the BBQ Chicken shop my mate recommended to ask him for a bag and he was obliging, but he also pointed me in the direction where he got his from. It was a meat wholesaler, who also stocked lump charcoal. So it was a win/win. Good meat and good charcoal.

The charcoal comes in these yellow plastic bags, stand about 4ft and weigh maybe 25-35kgs, and only cost around $30.

It also just looks and feels a bit better. You can get some pretty interesting gnarled bits of root charcoal, just better than some over-manufactured, uniformed blocks of fuel, I suppose.

Thanks again, much obliged!

There's a pretty big meat wholesaler not far from where I live, I've never thought of getting charcoal from there. They stock a wide range of stuff besides meat so I might pop down there this weekend and take a look.

Cheers!

Thanks again, much obliged!

There's a pretty big meat wholesaler not far from where I live, I've never thought of getting charcoal from there. They stock a wide range of stuff besides meat so I might pop down there this weekend and take a look.

Cheers!

Also, if you are looking to get a chimney, Bunnings currently stock two varieties.

Go for the more expensive option. Its only an extra 10 or so dollars but well worth it. I burnt the other one out pretty quick and the quality is obvious in the better one. Im not sure if it was available previously. Pretty sure it is a "Heat Beads" brand.

veggiepatch1959

what should I do with a new bbq plate.

Honestly, wash it hot water (no detergents), dry it off then put it over the burners on full coated in a high smoke point oil.

When is the oil is mostly evaporated, cool the plate down then wipe clean with a lint free cloth.

Butto

Thanks. I looked for roadkill but could only find possum and rabbit near my place so I went for oil , 2 beers and salt.