Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NSW Team 2016

gUt

If Semi is eligible then yeah he gets picked I reckon. You guys have some killer backs but most of the incumbents are pretty damn good too. The Morris boys have lost some of their x-factor but they're still great players. Dugan has to be there somewhere (maybe 5/8?) and Hayne might be back. Jennings is a match winner on his day. Hoppa is the obvious one to drop.

Johnnie Red

Merrin needs to start and he needs to play bulk minutes...he offers nothing off the bench.

Hoppa was always a poor selection

The halves.....I look forward to another painful 12months debating this tiresome topic. A Reynolds has to be there though.

Jackson and Cordner have little to no impact off the bench (in all three games)

I can see Daley sticking with this team to offer them a chance at redemption.

Semi? Really? You want to raid Fiji and steal a player who can barely speak English? Desperation. NSW shoulda picked Nadruku back in the day if that's the case.

Dazzat

Jackson and Cordner are just another couple of players in a long-line of forwards that NSW pick who are average, overpaid, over hyped plodders.

As a Queenslander I watch year after year as the NSW dominated footy media - Andrew and Matthew Johns, Phil Gould - pumping up the tyres of average players like Jackson and Cordner, telling us how amazing they are.

I just look and think, "Mate ... you must see something that I don't".

Then they are brought into Origin, fail to make an impression, and run around the NRL for the next six years as ex-Origin players (count 'em in the NRL now - stacks).

As far as halves go, Blake Austin has to be picked next year, but apart from that the cupboard is looking pretty bare. No wonder NSW is doing everything they can to lure Keary into the team.

Shorty

I think it'd be silly to make any huge changes, this is mostly the team that broke the drought.
The lead up to this game meant that Queensland was going to lift beyond measure and the crowd at Suncorp lifting all the players.
Pearce has to go though, the kicking options were atrocious, Hopoate as well, maybe move Dugan to wing and get a faster fullback.

Joker's Wild

Radradra is not eligible under the new rules.

Hokko I can cop in the halves but Pearce has got to go. Austin would be my pick as 5/8

Scott and Gal are done, its clear to see. Sims and Frizzell must get a shot surely, they are both dynamic for their clubs

BuderusIsaBeast

For mine I would have
1. Dugan
2. Ferguson
3. Jennings
4. Morris
5. Morris
6. J.Reynolds
7. A.Reynolds
8. Klemmer
9. Farah
10. Woods
11. Cordner
12. Cartwright
13. Gallen (c)
14. Tamou
15. Merrin
16. Fifita
17. Jackson

Did anybody see Sezer's performances before he got injured? He was dominant (3 moms, 1 in a losing side) and i'd pick him over Austin, Pearce, Hodgko etc as he is less likely to go missing.

betcats

Didn't we give away our home ground advantage again this year?

Two games in Brisbane next year isn't it?

Nah every third year one goes to Melbourne. We definitely have two games next year, then qld get two in 2017 then in 2018 one each and one for Melbourne.

big hit!

Can anyone really explain to me why Josh Jackson is playing SOO football?
I just dont understand it at all, every NRL team has a back rower like him. Cookie cutter average.

The back row needs serious work, i think the Blues need to move on from Gallen, Im a big fan of Boyd Cordner at club level but he's flopped at SOO, Hoffman on his last legs, same with Beau Scott.

Bird and Lewis probably not long for rep footy either. Need to blood new guys, Frizell, Joel Thompson, Merrin, Sims... those sorts of guys need to be given serious consideration.

I agree with the overarching premise of your post, but mate, Merrin is close to being finished too. Perhaps he'll be better in a team without Gallen, starting in the middle as the ball playing middle forward, and being used in a way that utilises his strengths, but he has rarely stood up to the QLD forwards when called upon.

And frankly, he's been stained by the current NSW origin culture and organisation.

Kiwi

Why doesn't Dylan walker get a mention? Bloody unbelievable athlete. Basically tears every team he plays. Also James Roberts ? Are we still pretending that this guy does not exist?

Dugan
Roberts
Walker
Morris
Morris
Reynolds
Reynolds
Woods
Farah
Tamou
Scott
Cartwright
Austin

Subs
Fifita
Klemmer
Vaughan
Lewis

Because Dylan Walker showed when playing for Australia he is out of his depth when it comes to rep footy.

Canard

Didn't we give away our home ground advantage again this year?

Two games in Brisbane next year isn't it?

This myth keeps getting perpetuated on LU.

When the new cycle kicked in years ago, that means its evenly split.

Knightmare

After Qld lost the series 3-0 and had 56 points put on them in a "dead rubber" back in 2000, mass changes were made to the organisation of the team and quite a few players were stamped "Never to play again". In 2001, with 2 home games and the foresight to invest in younger players, they reclaimed the shield (with a little help from Alf, but IIRC Webb, Parker and Petero all debuted in the forwards?)

This series was always going to be a transitional one for NSW- the drought was broken last year and the majority of the squad deserved another crack at Origin based on their gutsy effort to reclaim the shield. Losing to this Qld team, on enemy turf, would have been acceptable. But to lose their way like they did after they went 20 points down (irrespective of how much of a part the refs played in that score differential or not) can't be just dismissed as an "off night".

Coming into the second half, NSW needed to play percentages- no silly passes, discipline in the tackles and getting onside. They needed to patiently work their way back into the contest. In a tussle, I have faith in NSW. They have what it takes to get over Qld and wear them down in a grind. The problem is when Qld build a lead like they did in the first half last night- players lose their way, attack loses all structure and silly panic football costs them. Within the first 3 minutes of the second half, a stupid pass was thrown (forget by who) just 20 metres from the NSW line. Qld get a try from the ensuing set of 6. Honestly, what the f**k did Laurie tell the boys at halftime?

There are a few players who should have a line put through their name in permanent marker after last night. Daley should get one more series as coach. He has the luxury of two games in Sydney to aid him. But last night should be regarded as the closing of the book from the past decade. NSW broke the drought and foiled the Qlders' seeking the availability of '10NAROW' plates on PPQ. Mission accomplished. JT, Cronk, Smith and Slater only have a couple more years rep football left in them. It's time for NSW to start afresh, with new blood in the team. But firstly, some of the old blood has to be shed, the same as what Qld did 15 years ago. Thanks for the memories, but now's the time to plan not just for 2016, but for the decade following that. The law of averages says that NSW having a spine like Qld's over the last decade is a case of 'when' not 'if'. Time to get rid of the weeds and dying plants and prepare the soil. A new day is just on the horizon.

big hit!

Jackson and Cordner are just another couple of players in a long-line of forwards that NSW pick who are average, overpaid, over hyped plodders.

As a Queenslander I watch year after year as the NSW dominated footy media - Andrew and Matthew Johns, Phil Gould - pumping up the tyres of average players like Jackson and Cordner, telling us how amazing they are.

I just look and think, "Mate ... you must see something that I don't".

Then they are brought into Origin, fail to make an impression, and run around the NRL for the next six years as ex-Origin players (count 'em in the NRL now - stacks).

As far as halves go, Blake Austin has to be picked next year, but apart from that the cupboard is looking pretty bare. No wonder NSW is doing everything they can to lure Keary into the team.

A QLDer and a reasoned post? Flabbergasted.

Sums up the situation fairly well and many unbiased NSWelshman will agree with you. The only ones who don't are those who support the club any respective player comes from. Unfortunately, this is the major impediment to any discussion or consensus amongst NSW fans........rather than actually sitting back and really thinking about the structure and attributes a player will bring to an Origin squad, a supporter of any club with a fringe Origin player will just push for that player to be selected. That's the disadvantage when players are being contributed from 10-11 clubs rather than just 4 or 5.

With the actual selections themselves, they all have that Fulton-esque touch about them. He certainly needs to be detached from anything to do with NSW origin. He wasn't even an Origin player. What the f**k is he bringing to the organisation? You look at the culture QLD have built around theirs with the FOGs and the continued passing down of the QLD origin philosophy through their teams, both the shit ones that have upset better NSW origin teams, and the greats like this one. It will continue once these guys have retired.

In contrast, NSW have had geriatrics in the past who have never been involved in the Origin set up as players choose the current players, and Fulton seems to be immune from any review of this.

rabbitohs95

Too many politics involved. QLD picked the best players available and it worked out for them. We picked the players because 'Oh he's my mate's son he's doing alright' or 'He's a good clubman'. Get f*cked. If anyone needs to go it's Bozo.

My Two Cents:

1. Tedesco (Daley cannot keep ignoring him - he is a freak, or preferably we beg Hayne to come back)
2. B. Morris
3. Dugan
4. Jennings
5. Mansour (Radradra if he is eligible next year, or Ferguson, or Roberts. Gee we have some good wing options, how the f*ck did Hoppa get selected?)
6. Austin (hopefully he continues this seasons form into next year)
7. Reynolds (not that big a fan of him, but we have no one else)
8. Woods
9. Farah
10. Tamou
11. Cordner
12. Sims
13. Merrin

14. Cartwright
15. Klemmer
16. Fifita
17. Frizell