Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed Signings with added crap - XXVI

But the NRL must have to know at any given time who's in each teams Top 25, otherwise how would they know who's used their second tier cap players.

It's ridiculous that clubs have a top 25 but are allowed to name a squad of 40 plus.

I guess they do know who is in the top 25 as at a given week, but whether a club breaches or complies with the cap is based on the situation at the end of the year. So, a bloke who was outside the Top 25 in April, may be in the Top 25 if another bloke moves on in June.

Clubs can contract 100 players if they like.

it was on ch9 news .... not much more to it - he was very adamant that Foran wanted to play #7 and take on more responsibility and that Norman plays #6

the whole time I had Pou's voice in the back of my head saying - IT DOESN'T MATTER, WHICH SIDE OF THE FIELD WILL THEY PLAY ON :lol: .... (and I kinda agree)

I had the volume turned up and I heard it too

Chipmunk

I guess they do know who is in the top 25 as at a given week, but whether a club breaches or complies with the cap is based on the situation at the end of the year. So, a bloke who was outside the Top 25 in April, may be in the Top 25 if another bloke moves on in June.

Clubs can contract 100 players if they like.

Well then you just adjust your Top 25 list each week as it changes. How hard can it really be to publish a list and update it from time to time.

Joshuatheeel

Link to a podcast?

Not sure if this is the interview he is referring to, but it's from this afo:

http://2smsupernetwork.com/nrl-catching-up-with-the-eels-coach-brad-arthur/

Good interview, key points

- definitely a stats man,
- we give away to many penalties, need better discipline. Will be a focus of the offseason
- Foran will be half back and will help free up Norman to use his running game more.
- has thought about moving Semi to centre but after reviewing tries he has scored it's unlikely others would have scored them. Too good of a finisher to move him yet.
- said 8 or 9 of our top 17 have not yet played 50 NRL games
- goal kicking has been at 62 % Hopefully Gordon will help improve this
- new training facilities are going to help the side
- would welcome Hayne back

Are we arguing about what he was on or what he will be on? I'm not sure everyone is talking about the same thing.

Given the increases in the salary cap and the rate at which the top players' salaries are likely to be increasing, you can hardly compare Hayne's salary in 2014 with Foran's salary in 2016 when talking about value. Remember Hayne was off contract as well. His 2016 salary was going to be much bigger than his 2014. When he left he said he's knocked back a deal that would make him the highest paid player in the NRL. Of course, that doesn't mean he would know what others are getting, but I think it's preposterous (or just dishonest) to pretend that Foran's price would even be close to Hayne's if they were both on the market at the same time (as they would have been this year if Hayne had stayed in league).

I'm glad we got Foran but Hayne is the best player I've ever seen. And I've been watching since the 80s.

Pau is changing it as he goes to try to justify an unsupportable argument.

Just the usual.

How does Hayne in our salary cap up to 2015 have any bearing on our ability to recruit Foran from 2016 on?

You're a slimy, weasely bloke aren't you? You twist f**king everything. I'm yet to see a direct quote of anything you claim I've said.

Moss might be = 25th with other blokes on min wage.

Yep. I don't think the top 25 has been decided. There will be cap room and a bunch of blokes on minimum salary, and sometime before round one (or maybe even after it) we will give a few of them upgrades and settle on a top 25.

Disclaimer: jsut to avoid histrionics, none of these opinions are facts.

I'm still lost on why each club doesn't have to publish who their Top 25 is at any given time. It would make things alot more transparent with salary caps as well as the second tier cap. It's a joke really.

Well it is transparent. I'm sure the NRL knows.

As for the fans, what good could possibly come from the fans knowing who earns more than whom?

it was on ch9 news .... not much more to it - he was very adamant that Foran wanted to play #7 and take on more responsibility and that Norman plays #6

the whole time I had Pou's voice in the back of my head saying - IT DOESN'T MATTER, WHICH SIDE OF THE FIELD WILL THEY PLAY ON :lol: .... (and I kinda agree)

Do we know the desire to take on more responsibility is linked to what number he wears, or are they two separate points?

Norman was obviously carrying more responsibility than anyone in our team this year and he never wore 7.

Do we know the desire to take on more responsibility is linked to what number he wears, or are they two separate points?

Norman was obviously carrying more responsibility than anyone in our team this year and he never wore 7.

ask Brad mate - his words not mine ... he knows more than us

Bigfella

How does Hayne in our salary cap up to 2015 have any bearing on our ability to recruit Foran from 2016 on?

You're a slimy, weasely bloke aren't you? You twist f**king everything. I'm yet to see a direct quote of anything you claim I've said.

You claimed we were better off by not having Hayne because intead we could afford Foran and an extra first grader.

When more than one other person pointed out that this was complete bullshit you tried to distort it by claiming we would have to pay Hayne more than Foran if he came back.

It's typical of you - false statement - when confronted change tack and bullshit more.

You are a sad little merkin who lies to make himself appear an expert on a footy forum.

You think your circular logic makes you smart but it just reveals how stupid and dishonest you are.

Woeful little merkin who no doubt went into the army because you couldn't cut it on private industry and got forced out of that because you have nothing to offer. Now you compensate by pretending expertise on a subject you have no idea about.

Tommy Coco

He has said at least 3-4 times that Hayne would be on more than Foran in 2016, I think that's true, I don't get why you keep chasing him around.

I recall Paul Kent saying Hayne was looking at more than 1.5m per season, is that not more than Foran? Is it not 300k odd, equivalent to an extra first grader, FFS put it away

WTF is circular logic anyways

Not sure if this is the interview he is referring to, but it's from this afo:

http://2smsupernetwork.com/nrl-catching-up-with-the-eels-coach-brad-arthur/

Good interview, key points

- definitely a stats man,
- we give away to many penalties, need better discipline. Will be a focus of the offseason
- Foran will be half back and will help free up Norman to use his running game more.
- has thought about moving Semi to centre but after reviewing tries he has scored it's unlikely others would have scored them. Too good of a finisher to move him yet.
- said 8 or 9 of our top 17 have not yet played 50 NRL games
- goal kicking has been at 62 % Hopefully Gordon will help improve this
- new training facilities are going to help the side
- would welcome Hayne back

Certainly was a good interview. Thanks for the link.

PS Hayne won't be playing NRL in 2016. That's what I reckon.

He has said at least 3-4 times that Hayne would be on more than Foran in 2016, I think that's true, I don't get why you keep chasing him around.

I recall Paul Kent saying Hayne was looking at more than 1.5m per season, is that not more than Foran? Is it not 300k odd, equivalent to an extra first grader, FFS put it away

We offered Hayne $1.4 million a year for 5 years and he turned it down and went to NFL. I heard that Foran was being targeted before Hayne left. Foran was always the target. Hayne was even consulted about possible recruits for 2016 before he left. IIRC I heard it from Hayne in a radio interview when he spoke about our cap being in a mess and paying money to other clubs for our former players.

Who knows mate? He's obviously very bitter about something.

:lol: You won't get an answer from that dope.

Bigfella

Land on our feet? We've swapped Hayne for Foran plus enough change for at least another first grader. We've won out of this transaction.

There's the lying little merkin right there.

Of course he changed his tune after he was caught out in this lie, that's the whole point.