Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL is the most balanced league in Australia since '85

Last Week

Our salary cap can take alot of credit for rebuilding the competition after Super League. It is a great thing for us. It could be improved as time goes on, such as the importance of TPAs in today's competition, but overall, it's worked well for us when clubs aren't cheating it.

Artificial engineering will usually get you the results you want, be it success of a new club or creating chances for small clubs to overcome big clubs.

Since 2000 the only clubs not to make a GF are Cronulla-Sutherland, Gold Coast and Canberra but there's a good chance 1 or both (or neither) will make the 2016 decider.

The only teams not to win a GF since 2000 are Canberra, Cronulla, Gold Coast, Parramatta (made 2 GFs), Warriors (made 2 GFs).

However, in that time frame (since 1985), both Parramatta have won (1986) and Canberra (1989, 1990, 1994 and were beaten Grand Finalists in 1987 and 1991). Cronulla-Sutherland made it to the SL GF in 1997.

Pretty good IMHO.

We could split hairs: since 1985 Western Suburbs Magpies, Illawarra Steelers, North Sydney Bears, Hunter Mariners, Adelaide Rams, Gold Coast (three incarnations), Sth Qld Crushers, Western Reds and Northern Eagles never competed in a GF. LOL. Balmain Tigers made it in 1988/89 and St George made it 1992/93 and 1996.

With the Sharks making and winning the comp (well done and congrats), just leaves Raiders and Titans to make and win a gf (since 2000) [and at least raiders made a prelim for first time since 1995], and leaves Eels and Warriors to win one.

I could see Titans and Raiders going close in next 2-3 years if form and rosters improve on 2016. Love to see Warriors win one too, would do wonders for rl in NZ.

Canard

Artificial engineering will usually get you the results you want, be it success of a new club or creating chances for small clubs to overcome big clubs.

Oh yes, this sort of thing is totally foolproof......

Shorty

What does this even mean?
If it means the NRL has tried to make it an even comp then....yes? And?

The AFL has a draft and yet it looks more like the EPL.
This is the first time I have seen an exciting winner in that comp and have been loosely following it for years.
West Coast,Collingwood, Hawthorne, Geelong etc most of these teams were dominating decades ago too.

thorson1987

Oh yes, this sort of thing is totally foolproof......
What does this even mean?
If it means the NRL has tried to make it an even comp then....yes? And?

The AFL has a draft and yet it looks more like the EPL.
This is the first time I have seen an exciting winner in that comp and have been loosely following it for years.
West Coast,Collingwood, Hawthorne, Geelong etc most of these teams were dominating decades ago too.

Normally I would say give PR a break.

He has had a pretty shit weekend.

His beloved Hull KR were relegated after being in front by 8 with 2 minutes to go against Salford.

Then Cronulla win their 1st premiership after years of him whinging about them still being in the comp whilst there is no Perth team and to top it off they beat the team he apparently follows in the NRL.

But f**k him, merkin can bitch and moan all he likes whilst the Sharks fan can bask in the glory of being premiers.

Pete Cash

That was a great finals campaign as an aside. Heaps of close games with the decider alive on the final play.

The only real letdown was sharks v cowboys but cowboys were just stuffed from their epic game the week before.

The nrl is great because of its closeness.

Tommy Smith

Sliding doors and all, but had Hodgson not gone down injured in the 1st week I reckon it would have been the Raiders holding the trophy aloft.

But take nothing away from Cronulla. I'm happy for their long suffering fans and they were an example of a great team. No out and out superstar of the comp but a brilliantly balanced team across the park. Such a tough footy side.

I reckon the Raiders will break their drought next year. Although as with every year, injuries will have one of the biggests says on who wins.

Cronulla made it 14 of the 16 current teams to be in a GF in the NRL era with 12 different winners. In the same time the AFL has also had 15 of their 18 current teams in a GF with 11 different winners. Sothe difference is that the AFL premiers from 1998-2000 haven't won it or since.

Agree with Tommy about the raiders, this could and should have been them. They never should have lost in week 1. They may not necessarily be back there next year, a lot can change year to year