Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured Signings

Billythekid

Rumors are Tui Lolohea wants out from the Warriors and the Tigers are very much interested in him.

Is that a rumour at this point? I thought it was made abundantly clear that he wants out. Not sure who's interested or where he'll go but it seems likely it won't be at the warriors.

Tiger5150

he might not have a choice the way things are going....

townsend staying at sharks - townsend + maloney
widdop staying at dragons - widdop + hunt (unless widdop moves to fb could happen)
foran going to dogs - foran + frawley/reynolds/mbye
moses going to eels - moses + norman

it's looking like either pleb club or retirement

Manly? - EDIT - already addressed, I should try to keep up.

RazorRam0n

Manly? - EDIT - already addressed, I should try to keep up.

It wouldnt make sense though to see them tie up so much money on two players who are playing the same role as game managers.. And one expected to take a dominant role.

Also worth noting Thurston and DCE have been tried at origin level without success

I don't believe it but The Mole is saying he is hearing about a possible Tedesco backflip.

To me he is just throwing it out there on the off chance it happens so he can claim he broke it.

super_coach

I don't believe it but The Mole is saying he is hearing about a possible Tedesco backflip.

To me he is just throwing it out there on the off chance it happens so he can claim he broke it.

Chooks and the NRL are just working out how they can get the contract on the books without to much flak. It will happen but the Chooks might be forced to release a reserve grader to squeeze Tedy onto their books for next year. Love the way they are saying they might have to release SKD, Gurea and Topou...They are not under contract for next year anyway, so no dollars are coming off their cap even if they do go. Expect another snow job

Cockadoodledoo

Chooks and the NRL are just working out how they can get the contract on the books without to much flak. It will happen but the Chooks might be forced to release a reserve grader to squeeze Tedy onto their books for next year. Love the way they are saying they might have to release SKD, Gurea and Topou...They are not under contract for next year anyway, so no dollars are coming off their cap even if they do go. Expect another snow job

I love it when incredibly stupid people come here and post away. The type of people who cannot do the basics themselves, feed themselves, tie up their shoelaces, or in super_coach's case basic comprehension.

If a club is spending 7m this year (whatever the cap is) and Guerra is on $500K, SKD is on $350K and Topou $180K. This is a hypothetical example btw, then if those players leave, it does free up space on next years cap because those players salaries come off what the club is spending next year. They go from 25 to 22 players or however it maybe. So of course that money is there to spend on someone else. I realize if 3 go out, 3 must come in, a lot of people here don't.

The situation is more complex though, other players will also leave from the top 25 and some existing will extend their contracts for more money. Some people have back ended contracts and will get paid more, some may even have front ended contracts and get paid less, additionally the cap is rising significantly, however it will do this for all teams. That said if highly paid players come off contract this year for any club and they leave, logically this can free up money to bring new players in. Logical except for extremely stupid people like super_coach.

super_coach

I love it when incredibly stupid people come here and post away. The type of people who cannot do the basics themselves, feed themselves, tie up their shoelaces, or in super_coach's case basic comprehension.

If a club is spending 7m this year (whatever the cap is) and Guerra is on $500K, SKD is on $350K and Topou $180K. This is a hypothetical example btw, then if those players leave, it does free up space on next years cap because those players salaries come off what the club is spending next year. They go from 25 to 22 players or however it maybe. So of course that money is there to spend on someone else. I realize if 3 go out, 3 must come in, a lot of people here don't.

The situation is more complex though, other players will also leave from the top 25 and some existing will extend their contracts for more money. Some people have back ended contracts and will get paid more, some may even have front ended contracts and get paid less, additionally the cap is rising significantly, however it will do this for all teams. That said if highly paid players come off contract this year for any club and they leave, logically this can free up money to bring new players in. Logical except for extremely stupid people like super_coach.

What a load of rubbish...but what else would you expect from a person who supports a club that has done nothing for the game of Rugby league except exploit the game

Pedge1971

What a load of rubbish...but what else would you expect from a person who supports a club that has done nothing for the game of Rugby league except exploit the game

So if he is talking rubbish can you explain your logic? If they are off contract they are off the cap and their contract money is freed up next year to sign other players. If they are on contract the roosters have to move them on to get them off the cap.

Isnt that what he said?

No fan of the Roosters and how they do business but his points make sense to me.

So if he is talking rubbish can you explain your logic? If they are off contract they are off the cap and their contract money is freed up next year to sign other players. If they are on contract the roosters have to move them on to get them off the cap.

Isnt that what he said?

No fan of the Roosters and how they do business but his points make sense to me.

Mate some people let their emotions over rule common sense. I think it is safe to say that is what has occurred here with "super_coach".

davi

The drums are beating louder for Josh Reynolds departing the Bulldogs..........

IT’S being reported the Wests Tigers have made a monster offer to Josh Reynolds in an effort to lure him away from Belmore.

Channel Seven says the Tigers have offered the Bulldogs five-eighth a contract worth $3 million over four years.

While Canterbury is trying to keep the playmaker, Channel Seven reports their offer to Reynolds is worth half as much of that from the Tigers.

Reynolds’ future at Belmore is uncertain as he’s off-contract and the club has recruited international half Kieran Foran for 2018 and beyond.

The futures of Reynolds, Moses Mbye, and Michael Lichaa have been hot topics for discussion in recent weeks.

The Daily Telegraph reported last week Foran has agreed to join the Bulldogs next year, casting the careers of Reynolds and Mbye in particular in further doubt.

The Tigers have lost current five-eighth Mitchell Moses to Parramatta and are in the market for a replacement No.6."

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nrl...s/news-story/99e7df87db2f00b3405b119d5270d04e

Life's Good

The drums are beating louder for Josh Reynolds departing the Bulldogs..........

IT’S being reported the Wests Tigers have made a monster offer to Josh Reynolds in an effort to lure him away from Belmore.

Channel Seven says the Tigers have offered the Bulldogs five-eighth a contract worth $3 million over four years.

While Canterbury is trying to keep the playmaker, Channel Seven reports their offer to Reynolds is worth half as much of that from the Tigers.

Reynolds’ future at Belmore is uncertain as he’s off-contract and the club has recruited international half Kieran Foran for 2018 and beyond.

The futures of Reynolds, Moses Mbye, and Michael Lichaa have been hot topics for discussion in recent weeks.

The Daily Telegraph reported last week Foran has agreed to join the Bulldogs next year, casting the careers of Reynolds and Mbye in particular in further doubt.

The Tigers have lost current five-eighth Mitchell Moses to Parramatta and are in the market for a replacement No.6."

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nrl...s/news-story/99e7df87db2f00b3405b119d5270d04e
I reckon this would be a good signing for the Tigs. You have a bloke who has a desire to win, can lift his team mates and plays a running/passing game that would suit Brooks. Hopefully it comes off for them .

Spot On

Lots of money in the game atm. And the RLPA wants more.

Too many players on way too much.

For those who watched NRL.360 tonight ..... what did you think of Kevin Walters faux pas re TPA $$$ to keep Dugan if he was in charge of the Dragons?

Exsilium

I reckon this would be a good signing for the Tigs. You have a bloke who has a desire to win, can lift his team mates and plays a running/passing game that would suit Brooks. Hopefully it comes off for them .

I agree. Reynolds is certainly a strong team player. He can produce when needed and just adds that spark to a side. I know a lot of people dont think much of him but I cant fault his attitude toward getting the 'W'.

The Tigers need people who want to win because losing is in their culture. E.T for instance hates to lose. Will break down before he's given up. Reynolds is similar.

Life's Good

Lots of money in the game atm. And the RLPA wants more.

Too many players on way too much.

For those who watched NRL.360 tonight ..... what did you think of Kevin Walters faux pas re TPA $$$ to keep Dugan if he was in charge of the Dragons?
I missed that. Can you summarise??